Minister's Working Group on Child and Family Wellbeing

The Child Youth and Family Services Act, 2017, is a historic piece of legislation. This legislation puts young people at the centre of decisions about their care, supports more accountable, culturally appropriate, responsive and accessible child and youth services and strengthens oversight for children’s services and licensed residential services.

The Minister's Working Group on Child and Family Wellbeing will provide insights to support the implementation of the act. Members bring a diverse range of interests and perspectives related to child and family wellbeing.

Working Group Members

  • Mary Anne Chambers, Former Ontario Minister of Children and Youth Services and Former Ontario Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
  • Karen Baker-Anderson, Executive Director, Ottawa Inuit Children’s Centre
  • Mary Ballantyne, Chief Executive Officer, Ontario Association of Children’s Aid Societies
  • Darian Baskatawang, Independent First Nations Primary Advocate for Youth, Ontario First Nations Young Peoples Council - Chiefs of Ontario
  • Marv Bernstein, Child Advocacy Consultant, Child Rights
  • Professor Jennifer Clarke, Professor, School of Social Work, Ryerson University
  • Julie Despaties, Founder, Adopt4Life
  • Stephen Doig, Executive Director, Chatham-Kent Children’s Services
  • Derrick Drouillard, Executive Director, Family and Children’s Services St. Thomas & Elgin County
  • Thora H.Espinet, Barrister and Solicitor
  • Dr. Barbara Fallon, Associate Professor and Factor-Inwentash Chair in Child Welfare, University of Toronto
  • Selwyn Hicks, Board Chair, Bruce Grey Child and Family Services
  • Gary Innes, Band Representative, Moose Cree First Nation
  • Mark Kartusch, Executive Director, Highland Shores Children’s Aid
  • Michele Lupa, Executive Director, Canadian Mothercraft Society
  • Barb MacQuarrie, Community Director, Centre for Research and Education on Violence Against Women and Children, University of Western Ontario
  • Mohamed Malik, Child Protection Worker, Peel Children’s Aid Society
  • Denise Morrow, Executive Director, Kina Gbezhgomi Child and Family Services
  • Dr. Chris Mushquash, Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Mental Health, Lakehead University
  • Rod Potgieter, Retired Children’s Aid Society Executive Director
  • Bruce Rivers, Executive Director, Covenant House Toronto
  • Jim Spyropoulos, Executive Superintendent, Equitable and Inclusive Schools, Toronto District School Board
  • Theresa Stevens, Executive Director, Association of Native Child and Family Service Agencies of Ontario

Learn more