You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > About the Ministry > Published plans and annual reports > Published Plan 2015-2016 > Young People At Risk are Achieving Improved Outcomes

Young People At Risk are Achieving Improved Outcomes

Child Protection Services

Child protection services help children and youth who have been or are at risk of being abused or neglected grow up in safer, more stable, caring environments. In 2015-16, the ministry now funds 47 Children's Aid Societies (CASs), including nine Aboriginal CASs, to perform the following functions: investigate allegations of child abuse, neglect and/or risk of harm; provide protection services to children and prevention/protection services designed to strengthen the ability of families to safely care for their children; provide and supervise alternate living arrangements when children cannot remain safely at home; and facilitate adoptions.

The former Commission to Promote Sustainable Child Welfare submitted its final report to the ministry in September 2012. Based on the commission's key recommendations and discussions with the sector, the ministry implemented a new funding model and new approach to accountability in 2013-14.

The funding model allocates funds based on a combination of socio-economic and volume-based factors. These factors reflect the relative need for child protection services in each community, the services that CASs provide, and the commitments made to children in care.

The new approach to accountability broadens the focus from compliance and financial management to include measuring and reporting on outcomes for children and youth and organizational capacity. This is being facilitated through the introduction of several mechanisms, including:

  • Collection of Performance Indicators (PIs) in all CASs;
  • Public reporting of five PIs;
  • Cyclical reviews to facilitate an assessment of a CAS's performance and capacity to improve;
  • Performance management strategy to recognize CAS performance that exceeds expectations and to identify opportunities for improvement where performance does not meet expectations; and
  • Accountability Agreements between the ministry and each CAS.

Regulation 70 of the Child and Family Services Act requires CASs to submit a budget plan demonstrating that they can manage within their approved budget allocations. The Accountability Agreements require that CASs operate within their approved budget allocations.

Starting in 2014-15, the ministry has set up the Balanced Budget Fund to support CASs in meeting the balanced budget requirement set out in Regulation 70 and in proactively managing the risks associated with the multi-year budget planning process. Through the Balanced Budget Fund, CASs may request access to their prior year surpluses under certain circumstances to balance their budgets.

In 2015-16, the ministry continues to support the collection of PIs in all CASs, the public reporting on five PIs, cyclical reviews and the performance management strategy, and the implementation of two-year Accountability Agreements between the ministry and each CAS.

The ministry is working collaboratively with the Ministry of Education (EDU) on initiatives to improve educational outcomes for children and youth in care and those who receive services from CASs. In 2015, a provincial template for a Joint Protocol for Student Achievement (JPSA) was released to facilitate collaboration between CASs and school boards to support educational success for children and youth. The ministry and EDU are also working together to develop data sharing agreements between EDU and CASs to monitor the educational outcomes of children and youth in care and those who receive services from CASs.

The sector is also working with the Ministry of Government Services and the Ministry of Children and Youth Services to develop a comprehensive program of shared services, including back-office and service delivery functions, to enhance capacity, value for money, and service quality of individual CASs and the entire sector.

Work will continue on the implementation of the Child Protection Information Network (CPIN) to modernize the province's child protection system. The new information system helps agencies more easily manage case files and finances, share information with each other, make decisions for the children they serve, and make it possible to track and report on outcomes.

CPIN was declared ready for use in June 2014 and was implemented at five CASs by the end of 2014-15. 5,355 families being served by CASs (20% of families in the child protection system across Ontario) are recorded and are actively being supported in the CPIN system.

The ministry will continue working with the child protection sector to develop tools and initiatives to help achieve the goals of prevention, permanency and preparation for life for all children and youth receiving child protection services.

In 2015-16, the ministry will invest $1.6 billion in Child Protection Services.

Reducing Poverty

The ministry has continued to focus on initiatives that mitigate the effects of poverty for children and youth and that reduce child poverty in our province. Highlights include:

  • 47,000 children and their families have been lifted out of poverty between 2008 and 2011;
  • About one million children in over 500,000 families are being helped by the Ontario Child Benefit. In addition, indexing the Ontario Child Benefit to keep pace with inflation which will result in the maximum annual child benefit increasing to $1,336 per child as of July 1, 2015; and
  • Starting in 2014, investing $32 million over three years to expand the Student Nutrition Program to serve about 56,000 more school-aged children and youth. During the 2013-14 school year, the program served more than 756,000 children and youth.

Ontario Child Benefit and Ontario Child Benefit Equivalent

The Ontario Child Benefit (OCB) is a non-taxable, income-tested financial benefit that helps with the cost of raising children under the age of 18. In 2015-16, about one million children, in over 500,000 low- to moderate-income families will receive the benefit. The maximum benefit will increase to $1,336 per child per year in July 2015 from $1,310 per year, when the OCB is indexed to the Ontario Consumer Price Index. To be eligible for the benefit, parents need to file their annual income taxes and register for the Canada Child Tax Benefit.

The ministry will also continue to provide funding to CASs equivalent to the maximum OCB for children and youth in the care of CASs and in Formal Customary Care. This funding helps provide access to recreational, educational, cultural, and social opportunities such as tutoring and skills building to these children and youth. Older youth also participate in a savings program to help them prepare for independence and the transition to adulthood. These youth gain access to their savings when they leave care.

In 2015-16, the ministry will invest $1.1 billion in the Ontario Child Benefit and $19.7 million in the Ontario Child Benefit Equivalent.

Youth Justice Services

In 2015-16, the ministry will continue to provide evidence-informed community and custodial programs, ranging from diversion to reintegration of youth after detention or custody. Fewer youth continue to come into custody, with the majority of youth receiving service/supervision in the community including diversion, rehabilitation, probation and supports for youth with mental health needs.

Youth who are placed in custody and detention facilities are given the opportunity to participate in educational and rehabilitative programs that help them develop the skills they need to achieve success in the community. Programs include skills development, substance abuse counselling, life skills and anger management. Probation officers will continue to provide case management support to youth who have been sentenced by the courts and will work with youth in detention to enhance the transition to community supports and services.

The ministry will build on its achievements, strengthen response to special populations, and foster continuous improvement in the youth justice service system. Priorities include evidence-informed programs and services; responding to special populations (Aboriginal, mental health, gender); maintaining probation officer support to youth in detention by providing an individualized community release plan that assists a youth's transition to the community; using a strengths-based approach to probation case management; improving educational outcomes for youth in the youth justice system; developing a multi-year strategy to work with gang-involved youth residing in identified custody facilities; optimizing the use of youth justice facilities; improving capacity to report on outcomes for youth as a result of service; projects and collaboration for opportunities for a broader system-level approach to prevention/diversion; and improved coordination/collaboration for youth who require supports from multiple programs/sectors.

In 2015-16, the ministry will invest $366.2 million in Youth Justice Services.

Residential Services

Children and youth may be placed in residential care as a result of a court order under the Child and Family Services Act (CFSA), a temporary care agreement, or being in conflict with the law. Other children and youth may be placed in residential care as a result of treatment needs associated with developmental and physical challenges, medically-fragile conditions, behavioural difficulties, mental health issues or substance abuse.

Residential services are largely provided through group homes or foster care settings or youth justice custody/detention facilities. In 2014-15, the ministry funded approximately 3,300 beds in 434 group homes, approximately 12,000 beds in more than 7,500 foster homes, and capacity for approximately 816 beds in youth justice dedicated residential settings.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Au sujet du ministre > Plans publiés et rapports annuels > Plan Publié 2015-2016 > Les jeunes à risque obtiennent de meilleurs résultats

Les jeunes à risque obtiennent de meilleurs résultats

Services de protection de l’enfance

Les services de protection de l’enfance aident les enfants et les jeunes qui ont été victimes de mauvais traitements ou de négligence, ou qui risquent de le devenir, à grandir dans un environnement plus sécuritaire, stable et chaleureux. En 2015-2016, le ministère finance maintenant 47 sociétés d’aide à l’enfance (SAE), dont neuf sont autochtones, pour l’exercice des fonctions suivantes : enquêter sur les allégations de mauvais traitements, de négligence ou de risque de préjudice envers les enfants; fournir les services de protection aux enfants et les services de prévention ou de protection renforçant la capacité des familles à prendre soin de leurs enfants en toute sécurité; offrir aux enfants qui ne sont pas en sécurité à la maison un hébergement en famille alternative et en assurer la supervision; faciliter l’adoption.

L’ancienne Commission de promotion de la viabilité des services de bien-être de l’enfance a présenté son rapport final au ministère en septembre 2012. À partir des principales recommandations de la Commission et de discussions avec le secteur, le ministère a mis en œuvre en 2013-2014 un nouveau modèle de financement et une nouvelle approche de reddition des comptes.

Le modèle de financement alloue les fonds en fonction d’une combinaison de facteurs socio-économiques et fondés sur les volumes. Ces facteurs reflètent le besoin relatif de services de protection de l’enfance dans chaque collectivité, les services fournis par les SAE et les engagements contractés à l’égard des enfants pris en charge.

La nouvelle approche de reddition des comptes élargit la portée, jusque-là centrée sur la conformité et la gestion financière, à la mesure et au compte rendu des résultats pour les enfants et les jeunes et de la capacité organisationnelle. Cela est facilité par la mise en place de plusieurs mécanismes, notamment :

  • la collecte d'indicateurs de rendement dans toutes les SAE;
  • la présentation au public de comptes rendus sur un maximum de cinq indicateurs de rendement;
  • des examens cycliques visant à faciliter une évaluation du rendement d’une SAE et de sa capacité à s’améliorer;
  • une stratégie de gestion du rendement pour reconnaître les SAE qui dépassent les attentes et repérer les améliorations possibles lorsque le rendement ne répond pas aux attentes;
  • des ententes de responsabilité entre le ministère et chaque SAE.

Le Règlement 70 pris en application de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille exige des SAE qu'elles présentent un plan d'affectation montrant qu'elles ne dépasseront pas l'enveloppe budgétaire approuvée. Les SAE sont en effet tenues, en vertu des ententes de responsabilisation, de respecter leur enveloppe budgétaire approuvée.

En 2014-2015, le ministère a établi le Fonds pour un budget équilibré pour aider les SAE à satisfaire l'exigence de budget équilibré exposée dans le Règlement 70 et à gérer, de façon proactive, les risques associés au processus de planification budgétaire pluriannuelle. Par l'intermédiaire de ce fonds, les SAE peuvent demander l'accès à leurs excédents de l'année antérieure, dans certaines circonstances, pour parvenir à équilibrer leur budget.

En 2015-2016, le ministère continue de soutenir la collecte des indicateurs de rendement dans toutes les SAE, la présentation au public de comptes rendus sur cinq indicateurs de rendement, des examens cycliques et la stratégie de gestion du rendement ainsi que la mise en œuvre d’ententes de responsabilité sur deux ans entre lui et chacune des SAE.

Le ministère travaille, en collaboration avec le ministère de l'Éducation (EDU), sur des initiatives visant à améliorer les résultats scolaires des enfants et des jeunes pris en charge et de ceux qui reçoivent des services des SAE. En 2015, un modèle provincial de Protocole commun concernant le rendement des élèves a été publié pour faciliter la collaboration entre les SAE et les conseils scolaires aux fins de soutien à la réussite scolaire des enfants et des jeunes. Le ministère et l'EDU ont aussi travaillé ensemble à l'élaboration d'accords de partage des données entre l'EDU et les SAE pour la surveillance des résultats scolaires des enfants et des jeunes pris en charge et de ceux qui reçoivent des services des SAE.

Le secteur travaille également avec le ministère des Services gouvernementaux et le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse à l’élaboration d’un programme complet de services communs pour le secteur, y compris les activités de soutien administratif et de prestation de services, en vue de renforcer la capacité, l’optimisation des fonds et la qualité du service de chaque SAE et de l’ensemble du secteur.

On poursuivra la mise en œuvre du Réseau d’information pour la protection de l’enfance (RIPE) afin de moderniser le système provincial de protection de l’enfance. Le nouveau système d’information aide les organismes à mieux gérer leurs dossiers et leurs finances, à s’échanger des renseignements, à prendre des décisions pour les enfants à qui ils offrent des services et à rendre possibles le suivi des résultats et la production de rapports sur ces résultats.

Le RIPE a été déclaré prêt à l'usage en juin 2014 et mis en œuvre dans cinq SAE vers la fin de 2014-2015. Cinq mille trois cent cinquante-cinq familles servies par les SAE (soit 20 % des familles dans le système de protection de l'enfance en Ontario) sont enregistrées et activement soutenues dans le RIPE.

Le ministère continuera de travailler avec le secteur de la protection de l'enfance afin d’élaborer des outils et des initiatives visant l’atteinte des objectifs de prévention, de permanence et de préparation à la vie pour tous les enfants et les adolescents qui reçoivent des services de protection de l’enfance.

En 2015-2016, le ministère investira 1,6 milliard de dollars dans les services de protection de l’enfance.

Reducing Poverty

Le ministère a continué de se concentrer sur des initiatives qui atténuent les effets de la pauvreté chez les enfants et les jeunes et réduisent la pauvreté infantile dans la province. Voici quelques-uns des faits saillants :

  • 47 000 enfants et leur famille sont sortis du cycle de la pauvreté entre 2008 et 2011;
  • environ un million d’enfants, dans plus de 500 000 familles, sont soutenus par la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants; avec l'indexation de la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants à l'inflation, la prestation maximale annuelle passera par ailleurs, le 1er juillet 2015, à 1 336 $ par enfant;
  • l'investissement de 32 millions de dollars sur trois ans, qui a débuté en 2014, pour l'élargissement du Programme de bonne nutrition des élèves permettra de servir environ 56 000 enfants et jeunes d'âge scolaire de plus; au cours de l'année scolaire 2013-2014, le programme a servi plus de 756 000 enfants et jeunes.

Prestation ontarienne pour enfants et Subvention équivalant à la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants

La Prestation ontarienne pour enfants (POE) est une aide financière non imposable accordée en fonction du revenu et pour subvenir aux besoins des enfants de moins de 18 ans. En 2015-2016, environ un million d'enfants dans plus de 500 000 familles à revenu faible ou modéré la recevront. La prestation maximale, auparavant de 1 310 $ par an, passera en juillet 2015 à 1 336 $ par enfant par an avec l'indexation de la POE à l’indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) de l’Ontario. Pour être admissibles à la prestation, les parents doivent produire leur déclaration annuelle de revenus et s'inscrire à la Prestation fiscale canadienne pour enfants.

De plus, le ministère continuera de verser aux sociétés d’aide à l’enfance (SAE) une aide financière équivalente au maximum de la POE pour les enfants et les jeunes pris en charge par les SAE et bénéficiant de soins structurés conformes aux traditions. Ce financement contribue à donner à ces enfants et ces jeunes accès à des programmes récréatifs, pédagogiques, culturels et sociaux, comme du tutorat et des activités d’acquisition de compétences. Les enfants plus âgés participent aussi à un programme d’épargne qui les aidera à se préparer à la vie autonome en tant qu’adultes. Ces jeunes pourront toucher leurs économies une fois qu’ils ne seront plus sous garde.En 2015-2016, le ministère investira 1,1 milliard de dollars dans la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants et 19,7 millions de dollars dans la Subvention équivalant à la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants.

Services de justice pour la jeunesse

En 2015-2016, le ministère continuera d’offrir des programmes communautaires et de garde en milieu fermé fondés sur les résultats, que ce soit en matière de déjudiciarisation ou de réinsertion sociale des jeunes après la détention ou la garde. Le nombre de jeunes incarcérés continue de baisser. La plupart des jeunes en conflit avec la loi ont bénéficié de services ou de supervision dans la collectivité, qu’il soit question de déjudiciarisation, de réadaptation, de probation ou du soutien des jeunes présentant des besoins en matière de santé mentale.

On offre aux jeunes placés sous garde ou en établissement de détention des programmes éducatifs et de réadaptation qui les aident à acquérir les compétences nécessaires à leur réussite dans la collectivité. Ces programmes couvrent l’acquisition de compétences, les services de consultation en cas d’abus d’alcool ou de drogues, la préparation à la vie et la gestion de la colère. Les agentes et agents de probation continueront d’apporter un soutien en matière de gestion de cas aux jeunes à qui la cour a imposé une peine. En outre, ils travailleront avec les jeunes en détention afin de favoriser leur transition vers les mesures de soutien et services communautaires.

Le ministère prendra appui sur ses réalisations, renforcera ses interventions auprès des populations spéciales et favorisera l'amélioration continue du système de justice pour la jeunesse. Les priorités comprennent : des programmes et des services fondés sur des résultats; une attention particulière apportée aux populations spéciales (Autochtones, jeunes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale ou liés au genre); le maintien du soutien des agents de probation aux jeunes en détention par l'exécution d'un programme individualisé de mise en liberté favorisant leur transition vers la collectivité; l’emploi d’une approche fondée sur les forces pour la gestion de cas en matière de probation; l’amélioration des résultats scolaires des jeunes dans le système de justice pour la jeunesse; l’élaboration d’une stratégie pluriannuelle en vue de travailler auprès des jeunes membres de gangs résidant dans des établissements de garde ciblés; l’optimisation des établissements de garde réservés aux jeunes; l’amélioration de la capacité à rendre compte des résultats des services offerts pour les jeunes; la réalisation de projets et l'établissement de collaborations afin de créer des possibilités d'approche systémique élargie en matière de prévention et de déjudiciarisation; une meilleure coordination/collaboration pour les jeunes ayant besoin du soutien de multiples programmes/secteurs.

En 2015-2016, le ministère investira 366,2 millions de dollars dans les services de justice pour la jeunesse.

Services en établissement

Les enfants et les jeunes pourraient être placés en établissement en vertu d'une ordonnance rendue par un tribunal aux termes de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille (LSEF), d'une entente relative à des soins temporaires ou par suite d’une infraction. D’autres pourraient être placés en établissement en raison de besoins de traitement liés à des problèmes physiques et développementaux, d’un état de santé fragile, de difficultés de comportement, de troubles de santé mentale ou d’abus d’alcool ou de drogues.

Les services en établissement sont en grande partie offerts en foyers de groupe ou en familles d’accueil ou dans les établissements de garde et de détention. En 2014-2015, le ministère a financé environ 3 300 lits dans 434 foyers de groupe, quelque 12 000 lits dans plus de 7 500 familles d’accueil et une capacité de quelque 816 lits dans des établissements spécialisés offrant des services de justice pour la jeunesse.