You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > About the Ministry > Accessibility Plan > Accessibility Plan 2008-2009

ISSN 1708-3222

Accessibility Plan 2008-2009

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Report on Status of Customer Service Commitments
  3. Report on Other Accessibility Commitments
  4. For More Information

Introduction

The Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001, requires Ontario Public Service ministries to create and publish an annual accessibility plan. This document is the sixth annual accessibility plan developed by the Ministry of Children and Youth Services.

This plan builds on the foundation created by five years of accessibility planning. It highlights the results of the commitments that were in the ministry’s 2007-2008 plan. These include accessibility training for reception and other frontline staff to help provide better customer service for people with disabilities. As well, the ministry has worked hard to improve access to its services by expanding the use of technologies such as videoconferencing and TTYs and by making its buildings more accessible.

The plan also includes the ministry’s commitments for 2008-2009; commitments that will continue the work of making policies, programs and services more accessible to Ontarians with disabilities. In creating these commitments, the ministry considered both current and future accessibility requirements.

On January 1, 2008, the first accessibility standard under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 came into force. The Accessibility Standards for Customer Service sets out the rules that businesses and organizations must follow in order to make services more accessible to customers with disabilities. Public sector organizations, including the Ontario government, will need to comply with this standard by 2010. Private sector and non-profit organizations will need to comply by 2012.

In 2009, other standards will be released for:

Ontario is committed to building an accessible province by 2025. This accessibility plan is another important step toward reaching that goal.

An executive summary of the accessibility plans of all Government of Ontario ministries is available.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Au sujet du ministre > Plans d'accessibilité > Plans d'accessibilité 2008-2009

ISSN 1708-3222

Plan d'accessibilité 2008-2009

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Mise à jour sur les exigences relatives aux services à la clientèle
  3. Mise à jour sur les autres engagements relatifs à l'accessibilité
  4. Renseignements

Introduction

La Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario exige des ministères du gouvernement de l'Ontario qu'ils publient un plan d'accessibilité chaque année. Le présent document est le sixième plan d'accessibilité produit par le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse.

Ce plan s'appuie sur cinq années de planification des mesures d'accessibilité. Il fait état des résultats des engagements pris par le ministère dans son plan de 2007-2008. Au nombre de ceux-ci, mentionnons la formation dispensée au personnel préposé à l'accueil et aux autres membres du personnel de première ligne pour assurer de meilleurs services à la clientèle aux personnes handicapées. Le ministère a également déployé des efforts soutenus pour faciliter l'accès à ses services, notamment par l'utilisation accrue de technologies comme la vidéoconférence et l'ATS, et en rendant ses immeubles plus accessibles.

Le plan rend également compte des engagements du ministère pour l'exercice 2008-2009. Ces engagements assurent la poursuite du travail entrepris pour rendre les politiques, les programmes et les services du ministère plus accessibles aux Ontariens et aux Ontariennes qui vivent avec un handicap. En prenant ces engagements, le ministère a tenu compte des exigences actuelles et prévues en matière d'accessibilité.

Le 1er janvier 2008, la première norme d'accessibilité élaborée en vertu de la Loi de 2005 sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario est entrée en vigueur. La Norme d'accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle énonce les règles que doivent suivre les entreprises et les organisations pour rendre leurs services plus accessibles aux clients handicapés. Les organismes du secteur public, notamment le gouvernement de l'Ontario, devront se conformer à cette norme d'ici 2010. Les organisations du secteur privé et les organismes sans but lucratif, quant à eux, auront jusqu'à 2012 pour le faire.

En 2009, des normes seront élaborées pour d'autres domaines importants, dont les suivants :

L'Ontario est déterminé à devenir une province accessible d'ici l'an 2025. Le présent plan d'accessibilité représente une autre étape importante dans la démarche entreprise pour atteindre cet objectif.

On peut obtenir un résumé de tous les plans d'accessibilité des ministères de l'Ontario en se rendant sur le SITE