You are hereSkip Navigation Links

I've decided to adopt — Frequently asked questions

  1. Who is eligible to adopt a child in Ontario?

    You must be a resident of Ontario.

    Single individuals, couples and people from diverse cultural backgrounds, make up a broad range of Ontarians who become adoptive parents. Having the desire and being capable of providing a safe, loving home for a child are the most important criteria for becoming an adoptive parent.

  2. What are the different routes available to adopt a child in Ontario?

    There are several ways you can adopt a child in Ontario. Families may want to explore all types of adoption before determining what best suits their needs.

    • Public adoption services are provided through children's aid societies (also known as CASs).
    • Private adoption services are provided through a ministry-licensed agency or individual.
    • International adoption services are provided through ministry-licensed agencies that can facilitate the adoption of a child outside Canada.
    • Relative and step-parent adoptions – a relative (as defined by the Child and Family Services Act) or step-parent may apply to court to adopt a child and is not required to work with a licensee.

    To find out more about what type of adoption may be right for you, see the overview and detailed description of each option. You can also contact your local children's aid society, a private adoption practitioner or AdoptOntario, which holds 'how to adopt' seminars and webinars.

  3. How do I get approved to adopt a child in Ontario?

    Potential adoptive parents in Ontario – including those choosing the route of private or international adoptions – are required to:

    1. Participate in a Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE) homestudy to assess and evaluate the suitability of the family to provide a child with a safe and permanent home.
    2. Undergo an intensive adoption preparation training program - Parenting Resources for Information Development and Education (PRIDE) – to better prepare them for the responsibilities of welcoming and raising their adopted child.

    The homestudy and approval process are required by the legislation for pubic, private and international adoptions.

  4. Who are the children available for adoption?

    There are many children right now in Ontario waiting for someone to welcome them into a family.

    Children of all ages - from infants to teens - are available for public adoption. They come from diverse religious and cultural backgrounds. Groups of siblings are available. Some children have special needs and require parents willing to address them.

    Regardless of how old they are and their background, they all need a nurturing and loving family to call their own. Children become available for public adoption when a judge decides they must be permanently removed from the home of their parents. Sometimes parents also approach a children's aid society and request that their child be placed for adoption for a number of reasons.

    Private adoptions tend to involve newly born infants. But there are not many newborns available for adoption compared to the number of parents who are searching, so the wait can be much longer.

    For international adoptions, children can be older infants, toddlers, school age and sibling groupings. Most of these children have spent time in an orphanage before they are adopted.

  5. How long does it take to adopt a child?

    The length of time it takes to complete an adoption varies from case to case. There is no set time as the time is related to how long it takes to match a child with an appropriate adoptive family. Finding the right match is the overwhelming consideration.

  6. What are the costs involved?

    All the services involved in a public adoption are free.

    Private adoptions cost about $15,000 to $25,000. International adoptions cost approximately $20,000 to $50,000.

  7. How do I find a child to adopt?

    For public adoptions, your local children's aid society will work to connect you with a child to adopt. There are also a number of resources – some supported by the government – that try to bring together potential adoptive parents with children waiting to be adopted: adoption Resource Exchange, AdoptOntario and Adoption Council of Canada.

    For private adoptions, adoption licensees and adoption agencies facilitate networking to match adoptive children with potential parents. You must connect with a licensee and an agency to find families who are giving their child up for adoption. Here is a list of approved licensees and private agencies.

    For international adoptions, authorities in the child's country of origin usually select a child who is available to you for adoption based on the recommendation your adoption practitioner made during your homestudy assessment. A licensee and licensed agency will facilitate the adoption process in a child's home country. Here is a list of agencies licensed to handle the adoption of a child outside Canada.

  8. Can I adopt as a single parent?

    You can adopt as a single parent. Ontario's adoption laws prohibit bias against factors such as marital status, race, gender, ethnic origin, sexual orientation and physical disability. Many children's aid societies actively recruit a diverse range of potential adoptive parents, including single parents.

    As long as you are over 18 years of age, the main criteria for you being eligible to adopt is having a genuine interest in becoming an adoptive parent and being able to provide a child with a secure and nurturing home.

  9. Why aren't there many infants available for adoption?

    It takes time for a children aid society to establish which permanency plan would be in the best interest of a child and to take steps to obtain the appropriate court order.

    As well, there are more families wanting to adopt an infant than infants available for adoption. Also, many foreign countries have developed domestic adoption programs to care for their own children.

  10. Do I have to use an adoption agency? How do I choose one?

    For a public adoption, you must work through your local children's aid society.

    For a private adoption in Ontario, you must use an Ontario agency or individual licensed by the government. Here is a list of approved licensees and agencies.

    For international adoptions, you must use an Ontario agency licensed to facilitate adoptions from the child's country. Here is a list of approved international adoption agencies.

    To choose a private or international agency, you can attend information, orientation or interview sessions held by the agency. For international adoption, you will first have to choose the country from which you wish to adopt a child.

    Ask lots of questions and make sure to get references from the agency you are considering and contact the references. You can also seek information and advice from people who have recently adopted a child. But keep in mind that rules for international adoptions in particular can change depending on the country, so try to ensure you are getting the most up-to-date information.

  11. How do I adopt my step-child?

    To adopt a step-child or a relative like a nephew or grandchild living in Ontario, you can make an application directly to an Ontario court for an adoption order. You may need a lawyer to assist you.

    Contact the Law Society if you need help finding a lawyer. An assessment by an adoption practitioner is not needed for this type of adoption unless the judge requires it.

  12. How do I adopt a child who is a relative living outside Canada?

    To adopt a relative from outside Canada, you will be required to complete a Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE) homestudy assessment and adoption preparation training – Parenting Resources for Information Development and Education (PRIDE).

    You will need to be approved as a suitable adoptive parent by the ministry before you can make an adoption application to the child's home country. You will have to contact an adoption practitioner to conduct the SAFE homestudy and arrange the PRIDE training. The practitioner will also facilitate the approvals process through the ministry.

    You also will have to apply through an Ontario agency licensed to handle adoptions in the child's home country. Here is a listing for adoption practitioners and a list of agencies licensed to handle adoption of a child outside Canada.

    You will also be required to submit an application to Canadian immigration to get permission for your adopted child to move to Canada.

  13. Can I adopt more than one child at the same time?

    Yes, it is possible to adopt siblings at the same time through public adoptions handled by a children's aid society or through the private process in the case of multiple births.

  14. What is meant by a child with special needs?

    In the adoption field, the term special needs can refer to children with specific medical, physical, behavioural or emotional issues that require special attention and consideration.

    However, special needs can also be used to describe children who are harder to place for adoption. This may be because they are older, are part of a sibling group or certain racial/ ethnic backgrounds. It doesn't necessarily equate to a child with a developmental delay, for example.

    Most children who have been removed from their homes because of parental abuse or neglect, will have needs that are unique and will require support to help them overcome their past experiences.

  15. Do older children want to be adopted?

    Many school-aged children and teenagers are eagerly waiting and hoping to be adopted. They can tell you what they are looking for in a family and potential adoptive parents can have a better understanding of the personalities and needs of an older child. Legislation requires that a child age seven and older cannot be adopted without his or her consent, unless a court dispenses with the child's consent.

    Children who reach adulthood as part of a family have a better chance of finding happiness and success in their lives. At every stage, children benefit from having the strong and supportive connections of belonging to a family.

  16. What laws govern adoption in Ontario?

    There are two pieces of legislation in Ontario that govern adoption.

    The Child and Family Services Act sets the rules for the adoption of children who are living in Ontario. It also regulates the adoption of children from other provinces or other countries, when their adoptions are finalized in an Ontario court.

    The Intercountry adoption Act, 1998 sets out requirements that must be satisfied in Ontario for adoptions that will be finalized in other countries.

  17. What is an open adoption?

    This is an adoption where contact is maintained between the adoptive parents, the child and the child's birth parents or other significant relationship. It has to be determined whether this approach is in the best interest of the child and what is acceptable to the birth and adoptive parents.

  18. How does openness in adoption work?

    Sometimes it may be in the best interests of an adoptive child to keep in touch with his or her birth parent or other persons that are important to the child. This type of contact is called "openness".

    There is a broad range of openness in adoption. Openness can be exchanging cards for holidays, letters and photographs - directly or through the agency - to visits with birth family members. This type of openness might be maintained with a child's birth parents, grandparents, brothers and sisters or aunts and uncles.

    The degree of openness is explored by the children's aid society early in the adoption process, before the child is placed with the family.

    Under Ontario's public adoption system, there are two types of post-adoption openness:

    • An openness agreement is between the adoptive parents and the person(s) seeking openness with the child. This arrangement may or may not have been arranged by the children's aid society who placed the child for adoption. It can happen at any time before or after an adoption order has been made.
    • An openness order is made by a court to help maintain a relationship between the child and a birth family member or another person with a significant relationship to the child.

  19. Is there any financial support available for adoptive parents?

    Families may be eligible for financial support when they adopt a child from a children’s aid society. This support is provided on a case by case basis at the discretion of the individual children’s aid society. It is intended to respond to the needs of the child and the ability of the adoptive parents to cover the costs of meeting those needs. Prospective adoptive parents can talk to their local children’s aid society about financial help that they may be eligible for.

    For example, eligible families will receive subsidies from a children’s aid society to help with the cost of caring for these children. These are families:

    • with a combined net family income of $85,000 or less
    • who adopt or take legal custody of a Crown ward who is 10 years or older, or
    • who adopt or take legal custody of two or more Crown wards who are siblings.

    Adopting families will receive $950 per month or $11,400 annually for each eligible child.

Learn more

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links

J'ai décidé d'adopter un enfant — Vous posez-vous ces questions?

  1. Qui peut adopter un enfant en Ontario?

    Les personnes qui résident en Ontario.

    Les célibataires, les couples et les personnes issues de divers milieux culturels font tous partie des Ontariens qui peuvent devenir des parents adoptifs. Les critères les plus importants pour devenir un parent adoptif sont d'avoir le désir et la capacité d'offrir à un enfant un foyer où il sera en sécurité et aimé.

  2. Quelles sont les différentes voies qu'il est possible de choisir si l'on veut adopter un enfant en Ontario?

    Il existe plusieurs moyens d'adopter un enfant en Ontario. Il est conseillé aux familles d'explorer tous les types d'adoption pour déterminer ce qui répond le mieux à leurs besoins.

    • Les services d'adoption publique relèvent des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (les SAE).
    • Les services d'adoption privée sont offerts par l'intermédiaire d'une agence ou d'un particulier titulaire d'un permis du ministère.
    • Les services d'adoption internationale sont dispensés par des agences titulaires d'un permis du ministère, lesquelles peuvent faciliter l'adoption d'un enfant venant de l'extérieur du Canada.
    • Les adoptions par un parent et par un beau-parent – un parent, au sens de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille ou un beau-parent qui demande à la Cour d'adopter un enfant n'est pas tenu de faire appel à un titulaire de permis.

    Pour en savoir davantage sur le type d'adoption qui vous convient le mieux, lisez l'aperçu et la description détaillée de chaque option. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec la société d'aide à l'enfance (en anglais seulement) de votre région, un intervenant en adoption privée ou AdoptOntario, programme dans le cadre duquel sont organisés des séminaires et des webinaires sur l'adoption.

  3. Comment obtient-on l'approbation pour adopter un enfant en Ontario?

    Les parents adoptifs potentiels de l'Ontario, y compris ceux qui choisissent la voie de l'adoption privée ou de l'adoption internationale, sont tenus de :

    1. participer à une étude du milieu familial élaborée sur le modèle SAFE pour déterminer dans quelle mesure la famille peut convenir à un enfant qui a besoin d'un foyer sûr et permanent;
    2. suivre une formation complète de préparation à l'adoption (élaborée selon le modèle PRIDE) pour être mieux préparés à accepter la responsabilité liée à l'accueil et à l'éducation d'un enfant adopté.

    L'étude du milieu familial et le processus d'approbation sont exigés par la loi dans le cas des adoptions publiques, privées et internationales.

  4. Qui sont les enfants qui attendent d'être adoptés?

    Il y a de nombreux enfants en Ontario qui attendent en ce moment d'être accueillis dans une famille.

    Des enfants de tous les âges sont admissibles à l'adoption publique, du nourrisson à l'adolescent. Ils sont d'origine culturelle variée et ont des antécédents religieux divers. Il y a aussi des frères et sœurs. Certains enfants ont des besoins particuliers et les parents qui les accueilleront doivent être prêts à y répondre.

    Peu importe leur âge et leur origine, tous ces enfants ont besoin d'une famille où ils se sentiront protégés et aimés. Un enfant devient admissible à l'adoption publique quand un juge décide de le retirer de sa famille de façon permanente. Il arrive aussi que des parents s'adressent à une société d'aide à l'enfance et demandent que leur enfant soit confié à l'adoption pour un certain nombre de raisons.

    L'adoption privée s'occupe davantage de nouveau-nés. Cependant, puisque le nombre de nouveau-nés admissibles à l'adoption est moins élevé que le nombre de parents qui veulent les adopter, le temps d'attente peut être beaucoup plus long pour avoir un nourrisson.

    En adoption internationale, les enfants sont parfois des nourrissons plus âgés, des tout-petits, des enfants d'âge scolaire ou des frères et sœurs. La plupart d'entre eux ont vécu quelque temps dans un orphelinat avant d'être adoptés.

  5. Combien de temps faut-il compter pour adopter un enfant?

    La durée du processus d'adoption varie d'un cas à l'autre. Il n'y a pas de délai prédéterminé. La période d'attente dépend du temps qu'il faut pour jumeler un enfant avec une famille adoptive appropriée. La recherche de l'enfant et des parents à jumeler est la considération la plus importante du processus.

  6. Quels frais sont reliés à un processus d'adoption?

    Tous les services inclus dans un processus d'adoption publique sont gratuits.

    Les adoptions privées coûtent de 15 000 $ à 25 000 $. Les adoptions internationales coûtent environ de 20 000 $ à 50 000 $.

  7. Comment puis-je trouver un enfant à adopter?

    Dans le cas d'une adoption publique, la société d'aide à l'enfance de votre région (en anglais seulement) veillera à vous trouver un enfant à adopter. Il existe aussi un certain nombre de ressources, dont quelques-unes relèvent du gouvernement, qui visent à réunir des parents adoptifs potentiels et des enfants en attente d'être adoptés, notamment la Conférence sur l'échange des ressources en matière d'adoption, AdoptOntario et le Conseil d'adoption du Canada (en anglais seulement).

    Pour les adoptions privées, les titulaires de permis en adoption et les agences d'adoption facilitent le réseautage en vue de jumeler les enfants à adopter à des parents potentiels. Vous devez communiquer avec un titulaire de permis et une agence pour trouver des familles qui ont des enfants à faire adopter. Vous trouverez une liste des titulaire de permis et des agences d'adoption privée agréés.

    Pour les adoptions internationales, les autorités du pays d'origine de l'enfant choisissent généralement pour vous un enfant à adopter, selon la recommandation que votre intervenant en adoption aura formulée durant votre étude du milieu familial. Un titulaire de permis et une agence agréés faciliteront le processus d'adoption dans le pays d'origine de l'enfant. Vous trouverez une liste des agences agréées qui sont en mesure de s'occuper de l'adoption d'un enfant de l'étranger.

  8. Je suis célibataire. Puis-je adopter un enfant?

    Vous pouvez adopter un enfant même si vous êtes célibataire. En Ontario, les lois sur l'adoption interdisent les préjugés associés aux facteurs tels que l'état matrimonial, la race, le sexe, l'origine ethnique, l'orientation sexuelle et la déficience physique. Bon nombre de sociétés d'aide à l'enfance recrutent activement un éventail de parents adoptifs potentiels, dont des parents célibataires.

    Si vous avez 18 ans ou plus, le principal critère qui vous permet d'être admissible à l'adoption est le désir véritable de devenir un parent adoptif et d'être en mesure de fournir à un enfant un foyer où il sera en sécurité et protégé.

  9. Pourquoi n'y a-t-il pas beaucoup de nourrissons admissibles à l'adoption?

    Il faut du temps pour qu'une société d'aide à l'enfance établisse un plan de garde permanente qui correspondra à l'intérêt supérieur d'un enfant et pour franchir les étapes menant à l'obtention de l'ordonnance appropriée de la Cour.

    De plus, les familles en attente d'un nourrisson à adopter sont plus nombreuses que les bébés admissibles à l'adoption. En outre, de nombreux pays étrangers ont mis au point des programmes d'adoption nationaux pour prendre en charge leurs enfants.

  10. Dois-je faire appel à une agence d'adoption? Comment choisir une de ces agences?

    Dans le cas d'une adoption publique, vous devez passer par la société d'aide à l'enfance (en anglais seulement) de votre région.

    Pour une adoption privée en Ontario, vous devez faire appel à une agence ontarienne ou à un particulier titulaire d'un permis du gouvernement. Vous trouverez une liste de titulaires de permis et d'agences agréés.

    Pour une adoption internationale, vous devez utiliser les services d'une agence de l'Ontario titulaire d'un permis, qui facilitera l'adoption à partir du pays d'origine de l'enfant. Clique d'ici pour une liste des agences d'adoption internationale agréées.

    Pour choisir une agence privée ou une agence d'adoption internationale, vous pouvez participer aux séances d'information et d'orientation et aux entrevues organisées par l'agence. Dans le cas d'une adoption internationale, vous devrez d'abord choisir le pays dans lequel vous souhaitez adopter un enfant.

    Posez beaucoup de questions et assurez-vous d'obtenir des références de l'agence avec laquelle vous pensez faire affaire et communiquez avec les personnes nommées comme références. Vous pouvez aussi obtenir des renseignements et des conseils auprès de personnes qui viennent d'adopter un enfant. Il faut toutefois que vous gardiez en tête que les règles concernant l'adoption internationale, en particulier, peuvent changer selon le pays. Vous devez donc vous assurer de recueillir l'information la plus à jour possible.

  11. Comment faire pour adopter l'enfant de mon conjoint?

    Si vous voulez adopter l'enfant de votre conjoint ou d'un parent, comme un neveu ou un petit-fils vivant en Ontario, vous pouvez présenter une demande directement auprès d'un tribunal de l'Ontario pour obtenir une ordonnance d'adoption. Il se peut que vous ayez besoin d'un avocat.

    Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour trouver un avocat, communiquez avec le Barreau du Haut-Canada. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'obtenir une évaluation par un intervenant en adoption pour ce type d'adoption, à moins que le juge l'exige.

  12. Comment faire pour adopter un enfant de ma parenté vivant à l'extérieur du Canada?

    Pour adopter un membre de la parenté vivant à l'extérieur du Canada, vous devez faire l'objet d'une étude du milieu familial (selon la méthode SAFE) et suivre une formation de préparation à l'adoption, élaborée selon le modèle PRIDE.

    Vous devrez recevoir l'approbation à titre de parent adoptif répondant aux critères établis par le ministère avant de faire une demande d'adoption dans le pays d'origine de l'enfant. Vous devrez communiquer avec un intervenant en adoption pour qu'il mène l'étude du milieu familial selon la méthode SAFE et organise la formation basée sur le modèle PRIDE. L'intervenant facilitera également le processus des approbations avec le ministère.

    Vous devrez en outre demander à une agence agréée de l'Ontario d'effectuer les procédures d'adoption dans le pays d'origine de l'enfant. Vous trouverez une liste des intervenants en adoption et une liste des agences titulaires d'un permis et pouvant s'occuper de l'adoption d'un enfant vivant à l'étranger.

    Vous serez par ailleurs tenu de présenter une demande aux autorités canadiennes de l'immigration afin d'obtenir la permission de faire venir votre enfant adopté au Canada.

  13. Puis-je adopter plus d'un enfant à la fois?

    Oui, il est possible d'adopter des frères et sœurs au cours d'un même processus dans le cas d'une adoption publique gérée par une société d'aide à l'enfance ou dans le cas d'une adoption privée, s'il s'agit d'une naissance multiple.

  14. Qu'entend-on par enfant ayant des « besoins particuliers »?

    Dans le domaine de l'adoption, l'expression « besoins particuliers » peut s'appliquer aux enfants ayant des problèmes de santé, une maladie physique, ou des problèmes émotifs ou comportementaux qui exigent une attention particulière.

    Toutefois, on peut également parler de « besoins particuliers » pour décrire un enfant difficile à placer en adoption. Ce peut être parce que l'enfant est plus âgé, qu'il a des frères ou des sœurs ou qu'il est issu d'un certain milieu racial ou ethnique. Il ne s'agit pas nécessairement d'un enfant ayant un retard au niveau de son développement, par exemple.

    La plupart des enfants qui ont été retirés de leur famille parce que les parents les maltraitaient ou les négligeaient ont des besoins tout à fait uniques et ils requièrent du soutien pour pouvoir surmonter leurs expériences passées.

  15. Les enfants plus âgés veulent-ils être adoptés?

    Bon nombre d'enfants d'âge scolaire et de nombreux adolescents attendent impatiemment d'être adoptés et espèrent avoir un nouveau foyer. Ils peuvent exprimer ce qu'ils recherchent dans une famille et les parents adoptifs potentiels peuvent avoir une meilleure idée de la personnalité et des besoins d'un enfant plus vieux. La loi stipule qu'un enfant de 7 ans et plus ne peut pas être adopté sans son consentement, sauf si un tribunal exclut la nécessité d'obtenir le consentement de l'enfant.

    Les enfants qui atteignent l'âge adulte au sein d'une famille ont de meilleures chances d'être heureux et de réussir dans la vie. À chaque étape de leur vie, les enfants ont tout avantage à avoir établi des liens forts et affectueux, comme ceux qui unissent les membres d'une famille.

  16. Quelles lois régissent l'adoption en Ontario?

    En Ontario, deux lois s'appliquent à l'adoption.

    La Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille de 1990 réglemente l'adoption des enfants qui vivent en Ontario. Elle régit aussi l'adoption des enfants provenant d'autres provinces ou pays, quand le processus d'adoption est finalisé devant un tribunal ontarien.

    La Loi de 1998 sur l'adoption internationale énonce les exigences auxquelles il faut satisfaire en Ontario pour les adoptions qui seront finalisées dans d'autres pays.

  17. Qu'entend-on par « adoption ouverte »?

    Selon ce type d'adoption, le contact est maintenu entre les parents adoptifs, l'enfant et les parents biologiques de l'enfant ou une autre personne importante dans la vie de l'enfant. Il faut déterminer si cette approche correspond à l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant et ce qui est acceptable pour les parents biologiques et les parents adoptifs.

  18. Qu'entend-on par ouverture en adoption?

    Il est parfois dans l'intérêt supérieur d'un enfant adoptif de garder contact avec ses parents biologiques ou une autre personne importante pour lui. On dit que ce type de contact est « ouvert ».

    L'ouverture en adoption désigne plusieurs choses. Elle peut se traduire par un échange de cartes d'anniversaire, de lettres et de photographies, envoyées directement ou par l'intermédiaire de l'agence, et par des visites à des membres de la famille biologique. Ce type d'ouverture peut se faire avec les parents biologiques de l'enfant, ses grands-parents, ses frères et sœurs ou ses oncles et ses tantes.

    La société d'aide à l'enfance établit le degré d'ouverture tôt dans le processus d'adoption, avant le placement de l'enfant dans la famille.

    En vertu du système d'adoption publique de l'Ontario, il existe deux types d'ouverture postadoption :

    • Une entente ouverte est condue entre les parents adoptifs et la ou les personnes qui veulent garder contact avec l'enfant. Cet arrangement peut être organisé ou non par la société d'aide à l'enfance qui a placé l'enfant en adoption. Il peut être pris à n'importe quel moment avant ou après l'ordonnance d'adoption.
    • Une ordonnance de communication est émise par un tribunal dans le but de maintenir les contacts entre l'enfant et un membre de sa famille biologique ou une personne importante pour lui.
  19. Les parents adoptifs ont-ils droit à une aide financière?

    Les familles peuvent être admissibles à une aide financière lorsqu'elles adoptent un enfant par l'intermédiaire d'une société d'aide à l'enfance. Ce soutien, qui est offert au cas par cas à la discrétion de chacune des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance, vise à répondre aux besoins de l'enfant et à aider les parents adoptifs à régler les dépenses engagées pour élever leur enfant. Les futurs parents adoptifs peuvent s'adresser à la société d'aide à l'enfance (en anglais seulement) de leur région pour savoir s'ils sont admissibles à une aide financière.

    Pour example, les familles admissibles recevront une aide financière d'une société d'aide à l'enfance pour leur permettre de subvenir aux besoins de ces enfants. Pour être admissible, une famille doit :

    • avoir un revenu familial net combiné de 85 000 $ ou moins;
    • adopter ou avoir la garde d'un pupille de la Couronne âgé de 10 ans ou plus;
    • adopter ou avoir la garde d'au moins deux pupilles de la Couronne provenant d'une même famille.

    Les familles adoptives reçoivent 950 $ par mois ou 11 400 $ par année pour chaque enfant admissible.

En savoir davantage