You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Adoption > I've decided to adopt > International adoption

International adoption process

Step 1: Getting started

First, contact an Ontario licensed international adoption agency to facilitate the adoption of children from outside Canada.

With each agency you contact, you will have an orientation session interview about the adoption process, timelines and country-specific requirements. You will then choose a country from which to adopt a child and select an agency to facilitate the adoption process.

You will sign a service agreement with the agency once you are sure of your choice. You will not be able to proceed to the next step until this has been completed. You will also need to find a private adoption practitioner, who will provide information about the homestudy process.

Step 2: SAFE Homestudy and PRIDE

The practitioner will help guide you through the two phases of the approval process, which include a homestudy and adoption preparation.

Homestudy
The Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE) homestudy assesses your skills, readiness to raise an adopted child, and home environment. It helps you to better understand what is involved in becoming adoptive parents and raising an adopted child.

This is a mandatory process and can consist of four to six interviews spanning over four to six months. The homestudy helps to determine whether you are ready to be an adoptive parent and what type of child you are best suited to adopt. Learn more about the documents you must provide as part of the homestudy and what to expect during the homestudy.

Once the homestudy is completed, it will be submitted to the government for review and approval. If the review is approved, the government will issue you a letter that confirms your eligibility to adopt. This approval is valid for two years.

Adoption Preparation
The Parent Resources for Information and Development and Education (PRIDE) program helps to prepare you for the responsibilities involved in raising adopted children.

This is a mandatory and standardized training program that has a 27-hour curriculum and can be completed at the same time as your homestudy. Along with the SAFE homestudy, the training will helps you apply your learning for a smoother adoption process when a child is placed in your home.

Find more detailed information about the PRIDE program and the topics that will be covered.

Step 3: Finding a match

The agency will prepare a file with all the necessary information, including translations if necessary, and send it to the country from which you are applying to adopt.

The wait time to receive a response regarding a child available for you to adopt varies from country to country. Your agency can give you information about usual timelines.

If you do not receive a proposal regarding a child available for adoption within two years, then you will have to update your homestudy and get a new letter of approval from the government. Some countries may require certain documents to be updated before the two-year period ends.

Step 4: Being matched

Once the agency you're working with receives a proposal for a child available for you to adopt, the agency will review the details to ensure it matches with the recommendations in your homestudy. Your adoption practitioner will inform you of the details of the proposal.

You will review the details of the proposal with your practitioner and decide whether you want to proceed with the adoption. If you decide to proceed and accept the proposal, your practitioner will prepare a consent report. The proposal will be sent to the Ontario government for review and approval.

You must travel to the child’s country of origin to receive the adoption proposal and to meet the child. While there you will need to decide, with support from your practitioner, whether you want to proceed with the adoption.

Step 5: Finalization

Authorities in the child's country will grant you permission to come and meet the child you are planning to adopt. Some countries may require you to make two visits or remain for a specified period of time

You will complete the necessary steps for adoption in the child's country. Your child must remain in their birth country until you receive the required documents allowing you to bring your child home.

You must make an application to Citizenship and Immigration Canada, the Canadian immigration authority for your child to enter Canada. The adoption agency can assist you in navigating the immigration process. Citizenship and Immigration Canada has forms and information available.

Most international adoptions are finalized in a court in the child's birth country and the adoption order is issued there. Some international adoptions are finalized in an Ontario court. In this instance, there is a six-month period during which your practitioner will make visits to your home.

At the end of this period, the practitioner will prepare a Report on the Adjustment of the Child in the Home (ROACH). The agency will submit the report to the Ontario government for review and approval. You will then apply to the court to issue an adoption order, which finalizes the process.

Post-adoption reports are required by most countries and they are considered to be a very important part of the adoption process. Your agency can provide details and assistance.

Learn more

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Adoption > J’ai décidé d’adopter un enfant > Processus d’adoption internationale

Processus d’adoption internationale

1re étape : Amorce de la démarche

Pour commencer, communiquez avec une agence en adoption internationale titulaire d’un permis de l’Ontario pour faciliter l’adoption d’enfants venant de l’extérieur du Canada.

Demandez à toutes les agences avec lesquelles vous prenez contact de prévoir une séance ou une entrevue d’orientation concernant le processus d’adoption, les délais et les exigences propres à certains pays. Vous choisirez ensuite le pays dans lequel vous voulez adopter un enfant et l’agence qui s’occupera du processus d’adoption.

Vous signerez une entente de services avec l’agence lorsque vous serez sûr(e) de votre choix. Il est impératif d’accomplir ces démarches avant de passer à la prochaine étape. Vous devrez également trouver un intervenant en adoption privée qui vous renseignera sur le processus d’étude du milieu familial.

2e étape : Étude du milieu familial selon la méthode SAFE et modèle PRIDE

L’intervenant vous aiguillera tout au long des deux phases du processus d’approbation, qui prévoit une étude du milieu familial et une préparation à l’adoption.

Étude du milieu familial
L’étude du milieu familial selon la méthode SAFE évalue vos capacités, votre degré de préparation à éduquer un enfant adopté et votre cadre de vie. Elle vous aide à mieux comprendre le cheminement à suivre pour devenir parent adoptif et élever un enfant adopté.

Cette étape est obligatoire et peut s’accompagner de quatre à six entrevues menées sur quatre à six mois. L’étude du milieu familial permet de décider si vous êtes prêt(e) à devenir parent adoptif et de déterminer l’âge de l’enfant que vous devriez adopter. Renseignez-vous sur les documents à fournir et sur les points abordés lors de l’étude du milieu familial.

Une fois achevée, l’étude est remise au gouvernement à des fins d’examen et d’approbation. Si l’évaluation est concluante, vous recevrez une lettre du gouvernement indiquant que vous êtes apte à adopter. Cette approbation est valable deux ans.

Préparation à l’adoption
Le programme de ressources à l’intention des parents en matière de développement et d’éducation élaboré selon le modèle PRIDE vous aide à assumer les responsabilités associées à l’éducation d’un enfant adopté.

Il s’agit d’un programme de formation obligatoire et normalisé d’une durée de 27 heures, qui peut être suivi en parallèle de votre étude du milieu familial. Ces deux formalités vous aideront à mettre en pratique vos connaissances afin que le processus d’adoption se déroule de façon harmonieuse dès le placement d’un enfant dans votre famille.

Renseignez-vous sur le programme PRIDE et sur les divers sujets qu’il aborde.

3e étape : Recherche d'un enfant

L'agence d’adoption montera un dossier avec tous les renseignements nécessaires, y compris les traductions, le cas échéant, et l’enverra dans le pays où vous faites une demande d’adoption.

Le temps d’attente d’une réponse indiquant qu’un enfant vous sera confié diffère d’un pays à l’autre. Votre agence pourra vous renseigner sur les délais habituels.

Si vous ne recevez pas de proposition vous indiquant qu’un enfant est admissible à l’adoption dans un délai de deux ans, vous devrez faire mettre à jour votre étude du milieu familial et obtenir une nouvelle lettre d’approbation du gouvernement. Certains pays peuvent exiger que des documents soient mis à jour avant la fin de la période de deux ans.

4e étape : Jumelage avec un enfant

Lorsque l’agence avec laquelle vous faites affaire reçoit une proposition concernant un enfant à adopter, elle examine les détails de la proposition pour s’assurer qu’elle correspond aux recommandations tirées de l’étude de votre milieu familial. Votre intervenant en adoption vous informera des détails de la proposition.

Vous serez appelé(e) à examiner les détails de la proposition avec votre intervenant et à décider si vous souhaitez continuer le processus d’adoption. Si vous décidez d’accepter la proposition, votre intervenant préparera un rapport de consentement. La proposition sera envoyée au gouvernement de l’Ontario à des fins d’examen et d’approbation.

Vous devez vous rendre dans le pays d’origine de l’enfant pour recevoir la proposition d’adoption et pour rencontrer l’enfant. Durant votre séjour là-bas, vous devrez décider, avec l’aide de votre intervenant, si vous voulez continuer le processus d’adoption.

5e étape : Finalisation et procédures du système d’immigration

Les autorités du pays de l’enfant vous accorderont la permission de venir sur place rencontrer l’enfant que vous prévoyez adopter. Dans certains pays, il faut se rendre sur place deux fois ou rester pendant un certain temps.

Vous effectuerez les étapes requises pour l’adoption dans le pays de l’enfant. Votre enfant doit demeurer dans son pays de naissance tant que vous n’avez pas reçu les documents qui vous permettent de le ramener chez vous.

Vous devez présenter une demande à Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada , l’autorité canadienne de l’immigration, pour que votre enfant puisse entrer au Canada. L’agence d’adoption peut vous aider à vous orienter dans les procédures du système d’immigration. Vous trouverez des formulaires et de l’information sur le site d’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada.

La plupart des adoptions internationales sont finalisées devant un tribunal du pays de naissance de l’enfant et l’ordonnance d’adoption est émise là-bas. Certaines adoptions internationales sont finalisées dans le cadre d’un tribunal en Ontario. Dans ce cas, il est prévu une période de six mois au cours de laquelle votre intervenant fera des visites à votre domicile.

À l’issue de cette période, l’intervenant rédigera le rapport sur l’adaptation de l’enfant. L’agence présentera le rapport au gouvernement de l’Ontario à des fins d’examen et d’approbation. Vous demanderez ensuite au tribunal d’émettre une ordonnance d’adoption, laquelle finalisera le processus.

La plupart des pays exigent de recevoir des rapports post-adoption et ces documents sont considérés comme un élément très important du processus d’adoption. Votre agence peut vous fournir des détails et de l’aide à cet effet.

En savoir davantage