You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Adoption > I've decided to adopt > Private adoption

Private adoption process

Step 1: Getting started

Contact a private adoption practitioner or a licensed agency or individual and gather information about the private domestic adoption process.

Step 2: SAFE Homestudy and PRIDE

You will need to hire a private adoption practitioner. The Adoption practitioner will help guide you through the two phases of the approval process - a homestudy and adoption preparation. You will be eligible to adopt once these are completed.

Homestudy
The Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE) homestudy identifies your skills and readiness to raise an adopted child and assess your home environment. It helps you to better understand all that is involved in becoming adoptive parents and raising an adopted child.

This is a mandatory process and can consist of four to six interviews spanning over four to six months. The homestudy determines whether you are ready to be an adoptive parent and what type of child you are best suited to adopt. Learn more about all documents you must provide as part of the homestudy and what to expect during the homestudy.

Once you’ve completed the homestudy, prepare a parent profile with the assistance of your practitioner and contact one or more licensees and private agencies, If they agree to accept your profile and homestudy, send both to them.

Adoption preparation
The Parent Resources for Information and Development and Education (PRIDE) program helps to prepare you for the responsibilities involved in raising adopted children. This is a mandatory and standardized training program. It has a 27-hour curriculum and runs at the same time as your homestudy.

Find more detailed information about the PRIDE program and the topics that will be covered.

Step 3: Finding a match

You may be contacted by a licensed agency or individual about a proposed match. It will be important to maintain your parent profile. You should ensure licensed agencies and individuals have up to date information.

Networking
Consider networking via websites where you can post your profile for private adoption. For example, Adoption Connections, Adoptive Parents or Canada Adopts.

The birth parents of the prospective adoptive child will review your profile and may select you as someone they want to adopt their child. Generally, you receive a proposal from the birth parent(s) through the licensee. However, if you are approached by birth parents directly, you must notify your licensed agency or individual as soon as possible.

Step 4: Being matched

Considering the Proposal
You will have a meeting in person with your adoption practitioner to discuss the proposal, including the social and medical histories of the birth parents.

The adoption Plan
You will meet with a combination of your adoption practitioner, birth parent counsellor, the licensee and the birth parents - if they wish. You will discuss the adoption plan and placement of the child. The frequency and type of contact will be specified in the case of an open adoption.

Consent
If the birth parents agree to place the child for adoption with you, they will confirm their consent in writing. The child may be placed with you from hospital or after a period of time. An infant has to be at least seven days old before the birth parents can consent to the adoption.

Placement
The government must approve the proposed adoption plan prior to placement of the child. A birth parent has 21 days after he or she consented to adoption, to change his or her minds about the adoption. The infant is returned to the birth parents by the licensee if this occurs.

Adjustment Period
The adoption practitioner is required to make a minimum of three visits during the first six months after a child has been placed to see how your family is adjusting.
The practitioner will complete a Report on the Adjustment of the Child (ROACH). The report is submitted to the ministry by the licensee for review and approval or refusal.

Step 5: Finalization

An application is made to an Ontario court to finalize the adoption. A judge issues an adoption order making you the legal parent of your adopted child.

Open adoptions

In certain circumstances it may be in the best interests of an adoptive child to maintain contact with their birth parents or someone else with whom the child had a meaningful relationship. This is called an open adoption.

An open adoption can also be arranged in a private adoption with the agreement of both the adoptive and birth parents of the child. Open agreements are not all the same. An open adoption does not necesarily mean having access visits. It does allow some form of contact between the child, new family and the agreed upon significant individuals from the child's past.

Learn more

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Adoption > J’ai décidé d’adopter un enfant > Processus d’adoption privée

Processus d’adoption privée

1re étape : Amorce de la démarche

Communiquez avec un intervenant en adoption privée ou avec une agence ou un particulier titulaire d’un permis, et renseignez-vous sur le processus d’adoption privée en Ontario.

2e étape : Étude du milieu familial selon la méthode SAFE et modèle PRIDE

Vous devrez faire appel aux services d’un intervenant en adoption privée, qui vous aiguillera tout au long des deux phases du processus d’approbation : l’étude du milieu familial et la préparation à l’adoption. Vous serez apte à adopter une fois ces démarches effectuées.

Étude du milieu familial
L’étude du milieu familial selon la méthode SAFE évalue vos capacités, votre degré de préparation à éduquer un enfant adopté et votre cadre de vie. Elle vous aide à mieux comprendre le cheminement à suivre pour devenir parent adoptif et élever un enfant adopté.

Cette étape est obligatoire et peut s’accompagner de quatre à six entrevues menées sur quatre à six mois. L’étude du milieu familial permet de décider si vous êtes prêt(e) à devenir parent adoptif et de déterminer l’âge de l’enfant que vous devriez adopter. Renseignez-vous sur les documents à fournir et sur les points abordés lors de l’étude du milieu familial.

Une fois l’étude achevée, préparez un profil parental avec l’aide de votre intervenant et communiquez avec un ou plusieurs titulaires de permis et agences privées. S’ils sont d’accord, envoyez-leur votre profil ainsi que votre étude du milieu familial.

Préparation à l’adoption
Le programme de ressources à l’intention des parents en matière de développement et d’éducation élaboré selon le modèle PRIDE vous aide à assumer les responsabilités associées à l’éducation d’un enfant adopté. Il s’agit d’un programme de formation obligatoire et normalisé d’une durée de 27 heures, qui se déroule en même temps que votre étude du milieu familial.

Renseignez-vous sur le programme PRIDE et sur les divers sujets qu’il aborde.

3e étape : Recherche d'un enfant

Une agence ou un particulier titulaire d’un permis est susceptible de vous présenter une proposition d’adoption. Veillez à actualiser votre profil parental afin que chaque organisme dispose de renseignements à jour vous concernant.

Réseautage
Envisagez de faire du réseautage en utilisant les sites Web où vous pouvez afficher votre profil en vue d’obtenir une adoption privée, comme Adoption Connections, Adoptive Parents ou Canada Adopts. Il est à noter que ces trois sites sont en anglais seulement.

Les parents biologiques de l’enfant examineront votre profil et pourront vous choisir comme personne susceptible d’adopter leur enfant. En règle générale, le titulaire de permis vous fera parvenir une proposition des parents biologiques. Toutefois, si les parents biologiques prennent directement contact avec vous, vous devez en informer l’agence ou le particulier titulaire d’un permis dans les plus brefs délais.

4e étape : Jumelage avec un enfant

Étude de la proposition
Vous rencontrerez votre intervenant en adoption afin de discuter de la proposition, de même que des antécédents sociaux et médicaux des parents biologiques.

Le plan d’adoption
Vous rencontrerez votre intervenant en adoption, un conseiller des parents biologiques, le titulaire de permis et les parents biologiques, s’ils le souhaitent. Vous discuterez des détails du plan d’adoption et du placement de l’enfant. Le type et la fréquence des contacts seront établis dans le cas d’une adoption ouverte.

Consentement
Si les parents biologiques acceptent que vous adoptiez l’enfant, ils devront confirmer leur consentement par écrit. L’enfant pourra faire l’objet d’un placement chez vous à sa sortie de l’hôpital, ou après quelque temps. Un nourrisson doit être âgé d’au moins sept jours avant que ses parents biologiques puissent officiellement signer le consentement à l’adoption.

Placement
Le gouvernement doit approuver le plan d’adoption proposé avant le placement de l’enfant. Les parents biologiques disposent de 21 jours après avoir consenti à l’adoption pour changer d’avis et retirer leur consentement. Dans ce cas, le titulaire de permis rend l’enfant à ses parents biologiques.

Période d’adaptation
L’intervenant en adoption est tenu de faire au moins trois visites durant les six premiers mois après le placement d’un enfant dans une famille pour voir comment se passe l’adaptation. Il remplit ensuite un rapport sur l’adaptation de l’enfant, que le titulaire de permis remet au gouvernement à des fins d’examen et d’approbation ou de refus.

5e étape : Finalisation

Il faut faire une demande auprès d’un tribunal de l’Ontario pour finaliser l’adoption. Un juge émet une ordonnance d’adoption qui fait de vous le parent légal de votre enfant adopté.

Adoptions ouvertes

Dans certaines circonstances, il peut être dans l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant adopté de maintenir le contact avec ses parents biologiques ou une autre personne importante pour lui. C’est ce qu’on appelle une adoption ouverte.

Une adoption ouverte peut être traitée dans le cadre d’une adoption privée, avec l’accord des parents adoptifs et des parents biologiques de l’enfant. Les ententes ouvertes ne sont pas toutes identiques. Une adoption ouverte ne signifie pas nécessairement que les visites sont permises. Ce type d’adoption permet une certaine forme de contact entre l’enfant, la nouvelle famille et les personnes importantes qui ont fait partie du passé de l’enfant et qui sont nommées dans l’entente.

En savoir davantage