You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Adoption > I've decided to adopt > Public adoption

Public adoption process

Step 1: Getting started

All public adoptions are handled by children's aid societies (CAS). You will first need to contact a CAS in your local community.

You will be asked to attend a CAS orientation session. Here you will learn about becoming an adoptive parent of a child who is in the permanent care of a CAS. This child is known as a Crown ward.

You will then be asked to complete an application form that formalizes your intent to adopt. It provides the CAS with your adoption preferences.

Step 2: SAFE Homestudy and PRIDE

An adoption worker, also known as an adoption practitioner, will be assigned to you. They will help guide you through the two phases of the approvals process which includes a homestudy and adoption preperation. You will be eligible to adopt once these two components are complete.

Homestudy
The Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE) assesses your skills, readiness to raise an adopted child and home environment. It helps you to better understand what is involved in becoming adoptive parents and raising an adopted child.

This is a mandatory process and can consist of four to six interviews spanning over three to eight months. The homestudy helps to determine whether you are ready to be an adoptive parent and what type of child you are best suited to adopt.

Learn more about the documents you must provide as part of the homestudy and what to expect during the homestudy.

Adoption Preparation
The Parent Resources for Information and Development and Education (PRIDE) program helps to prepare you for the responsibilities involved in raising adopted children. This is a mandatory and standardized training program that has a 27-hour curriculum. It can be completed at the same time as your homestudy.

Find more detailed information about the PRIDE program and the topics that will be covered.

Step 3: Finding a match

Your CAS adoption worker will work with you to match a child with your family.

There are resources available to improve the chances of finding a match. This includes applying to be added in the Adoption Resources Database and the Adoption Resource Exchange Conference. Regardless of how a match is found, the most important consideration is whether the match is in the best interest of the child.

These are some programs that can help you find a match:

Step 4: Being matched

When a match has been found, you will be given the social and medical history of the child and their birth family. You will be given time to consider the placement.

If you decide to move forward, the child will make several visits to your home. This allows the child to get to know your family and surroundings before moving into your home. These visits are called pre-placement visits.

Adoption probation
Once a child is officially placed in your home, an adoption probation begins. This lasts for at least six months to ensure that the placement is appropriate for both your family and the child before the adoption is finalized.

The adoption worker will visit your home regularly during the probationary period. They will to provide support, resources and assess how the child is adjusting into your family. Usually, the probationary period lasts six months, but it can be longer.

Step 5: Finalization

The adoption can be finalized once the probation period is over and the match is determined to be a good fit for both your family and the child., It is then finalized in an Ontario court and you will become the legal parent of your adoptive child.

Financial assistance
Families may be eligible for financial support when they adopt a child from a CAS. It is evaluated and provided on a case by case basis through your CAS.

Financial support may be available to help parents cover identified needs and special needs, if parents are unable to meet those costs. You can talk to your local CAS about financial help.

Eligible families who adopt or take legal custody of specific groups of Crown wards will receive subsidies from a CAS to help with the cost of caring for these children. Families must meet the following criteria to be eligible for subsidies:

  • have a combined net family income of $93,700 or less
  • adopt or take legal custody of a Crown ward who is 8 years or older, or
  • adopt or take legal custody of two or more Crown wards who are siblings.

Eligible families will receive $1,035 per month or $12,420 annually for each eligible child up until the child turns 21.

Open adoptions

Open adoptions allow for some form of on-going contact between the child and individuals from the child's birth family that is of benefit to the child. Open adoptions are decided by the court. They are voluntary agreements that allowing consent for continued contact between the child and individuals from the child’s birth family.

Learn more

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Adoption > J’ai décidé d’adopter un enfant > Processus d’adoption publique

J'ai décidé d'adopter un enfant — Adoption publique

1re étape : Amorce de la démarche

Toutes les adoptions publiques sont gérées par les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance (SAE). Vous devrez donc communiquer en premier lieu avec la SAE de votre collectivité locale.

Vous serez invité(e) à assister à une séance d’orientation dans une SAE. À cette occasion, vous en apprendrez davantage sur la façon de devenir parent adoptif d’un enfant confié de façon permanente à une SAE, c’est-à-dire un ou une pupille de la Couronne.

Vous devrez ensuite remplir un formulaire de demande qui officialisera votre désir d’adopter un enfant. Vous pourrez ainsi faire connaître à la SAE vos préférences en matière d’adoption.

2e étape : Étude du milieu familial selon la méthode SAFE et modèle PRIDE

Un intervenant en adoption sera désigné et vous aiguillera tout au long des deux phases du processus d’approbation, qui prévoit une étude du milieu familial et une préparation à l’adoption. Vous serez apte à adopter une fois ces deux démarches effectuées.

Étude du milieu familial
L’étude du milieu familial selon la méthode SAFE évalue vos capacités, votre degré de préparation à éduquer un enfant adopté et votre cadre de vie. Elle vous aide à mieux comprendre le cheminement à suivre pour devenir parent adoptif et élever un enfant adopté.

Cette étape est obligatoire et peut s’accompagner de quatre à six entrevues menées sur trois à huit mois. L’étude du milieu familial permet de décider si vous êtes prêt(e) à devenir parent adoptif et de déterminer l’âge de l’enfant que vous devriez adopter.

Renseignez-vous sur les documents à fournir et sur les points abordés lors de l’étude du milieu familial.

Préparation à l’adoption
Le programme de ressources à l’intention des parents en matière de développement et d’éducation élaboré selon le modèle PRIDE vous aide à assumer les responsabilités associées à l’éducation d’un enfant adopté. Il s’agit d’un programme de formation obligatoire et normalisé d’une durée de 27 heures, qui peut être suivi en parallèle de votre étude du milieu familial.

Renseignez-vous sur le programme PRIDE et sur les divers sujets qu’il aborde.

3e étape : Recherche d'un enfant

L’intervenant en adoption de votre SAE travaillera à vos côtés afin de jumeler un enfant à votre famille.

Diverses ressources sont mises à disposition pour améliorer les chances de jumeler un enfant avec des parents. Vous pouvez notamment demander à figurer dans le système Adoption Resources Databank et à participer à la Conférence sur l’échange des ressources en matière d’adoption. Peu importe la façon dont on a trouvé l’enfant en attente d’être adopté, le facteur le plus important à prendre en considération vise à savoir si le jumelage est dans l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant.

Certains programmes peuvent vous aider à trouver un enfant en attente d’adoption :

4e étape : Jumelage avec un enfant

Quand un enfant correspondant au profil recherché est trouvé, on vous communique les antécédents sociaux et médicaux de l’enfant et de sa famille biologique. Vous aurez le temps de réfléchir avant d’accepter le placement.

Si vous décidez de poursuivre le processus, l’enfant fera plusieurs visites chez vous. Cette procédure permet à l’enfant d’apprendre à connaître votre famille et son cadre de vie avant d’emménager. Ce sont les visites « préalables au placement ».

Période d’essai
Une fois l’enfant officiellement placé dans votre famille, une période d’essai d’au moins six mois commence. Elle vise à s’assurer que le placement convient tant à votre famille qu’à l’enfant avant de procéder à la finalisation de l’adoption.

L’intervenant en adoption vous rendra régulièrement visite pendant cette période d’essai pour veiller à ce que tout se passe bien et pour évaluer l’adaptation de l’enfant au sein de votre famille. La période d’essai dure généralement six mois, mais elle peut être plus longue.

5e étape : Finalisation

À l’issue de la période d’essai, l’adoption peut être finalisée devant un tribunal de l’Ontario si le jumelage est jugé satisfaisant tant pour la famille que pour l’enfant. Vous deviendrez alors le parent légal de votre enfant adoptif.

Aide financière
Les familles peuvent être admissibles à une aide financière lorsqu’elles adoptent un enfant par l’intermédiaire d’une SAE. Ce soutien est évalué et offert au cas par cas par votre SAE.

Cette aide financière peut aider les parents à régler les dépenses engagées pour couvrir certains besoins identifiés et besoins particuliers, le cas échéant. Vous pouvez vous adresser à la SAE de votre localité pour en savoir plus sur l’aide financière disponible.

Les familles admissibles qui adoptent ou ont la garde de pupilles de la Couronne faisant partie de groupes particuliers recevront une aide financière d’une SAE pour leur permettre de subvenir aux besoins de ces enfants. Pour être admissible, une famille doit répondre aux critères suivants :

  • avoir un revenu familial net combiné de 93 700 $ ou moins;
  • adopter ou avoir la garde d’un ou d’une pupille de la Couronne âgé(e) de 8 ans ou plus;
  • adopter ou avoir la garde d’au moins deux pupilles de la Couronne provenant d’une même famille.

Les familles admissibles reçoivent 1 035 $ par mois ou 12 420 $ par année pour chaque enfant admissible jusqu’à son 21e anniversaire.

Adoptions ouvertes

Les adoptions ouvertes sont des ententes volontaires autorisant une certaine forme de contact continu entre l’enfant et les personnes issues de sa famille biologique en veillant à l’intérêt supérieur de ce dernier. Les adoptions ouvertes sont décidées par le tribunal.

En savoir davantage