You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Adoption > Adoption Resource Exchange Conference

Adoption Resource Exchange Conference

Time and location of the conference

Date: Sunday, April 17, 2016
Time: 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. (registration will start at 8:30 a.m.)
Location:
International Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre – Plaza Room
655 Dixon Road
Toronto, Ontario, M9W 1J3

What Is the Adoption Resource Exchange Conference?

The conference helps locate and match adoptive families with Ontario children needing adoption and is hosted in the Spring and Fall each year by the Ministry of Children and Youth Services.

Talk. Children’s Aid Societies (CASs) attend the event to profile children and youth in their care who are available for adoption. CAS staff are available to speak with prospective parents about a child or youth of interest, the public adoption process, and post-adoption supports available to adoptive families.

Explore. Attendees will have an opportunity to view written profiles and videos of the children and youth by participating CASs. This information is also made available online through the AdoptOntario Online Platform one week in advance and two weeks following the Adoption Resource Exchange conference.

Learn. Attendees are encouraged to spend some time exploring the Resource Village where they will find foster and adoptive parents who are available to speak with prospective parents about their experiences. Representatives from organizations specializing in adoption, such as the Adoption Council of Ontario, AdoptOntario, and Adopt4Life will be in available to speak with you about adoption in Ontario. Experts will also be available to talk about raising a child with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD), in utero exposure, and other special needs. Adoptive and foster parents who have experience with same-sex parenting, parenting children and youth with special needs, older children and sibling groups will also be there to share their experiences.

Respond. Attendees who are “AdoptReady” (have completed a Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE) homestudy assessment and Parent Resources for Information, Development and Education (PRIDE) training) may submit a Child and Youth Response Form, which informs the CAS that they are interested in a child, youth or sibling group profiled at the event.

Who can attend?

The conference is free to attend and open to anyone interested in adopting a child from Ontario.

Can I bring my child(ren) with me?

Minors under the age of 18 years will be admitted to the event if accompanied by their adult parent(s); however, prospective adoptive parents are encouraged to attend the event without children so that thorough discussions with CAS workers may occur, and to respect the privacy of the children and youth who are profiled.

Due to the sensitive nature of information pertaining to children and youth in the care of a CAS, prospective adoptive parents who attend the event with their children should be aware that CAS workers may not be able to share information with you in the presence of a minor.

AdoptOntario Online Platform

The AdoptOntario Online Platform provides AdoptReady families with the opportunity to view profiles, pictures and videos of the children and youth being profiled at the conference. To access the Online Platform, you must register online for the Adoption Resource Exchange Conference. Registration information is listed below.

Once you have registered online, if you are an AdoptReady applicant and your CAS Adoption Worker or private Adoption Practitioner has already verified to AdoptOntario your AdoptReady status, you will automatically be verified to access the Online Platform. If your AdoptReady status is not verified, or has changed and needs to be updated, please ask your CAS adoption worker or private adoption practitioner to contact info@adoptontario.ca.

AdoptReady users will receive an email to view the Online Platform when it launches on April 10, 2016, one week before the conference.

If you require further information about registration or the AdoptOntario Online Platform, please contact AdoptOntario at info@adoptontario.ca.

How to register for the conference

There are two ways to register for the Adoption Resource Exchange Conference:

1. Register online

Attendees are encouraged to register online for the Adoption Resource Exchange Conference.

Benefits to registering online:


Online registration closes at 3:00 p.m. on Friday, April 15, 2016.

2. In-Person

Attendees may also register on-site at the registration desk. The registration desk will open at 8:30 a.m. on the day of the event and will remain open throughout the day.

Need more information?

Contact Vrinda Kohli at Vrinda.Kohli@ontario.ca or (416) 327-0341.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Adoption > Conférence sur l'échange des ressources en matière d'adoption

Conférence sur l'échange des ressources en matière d'adoption

Heure et endroit de la conférence

Date : samedi le 18 novembre 2017
Heure : 9 h à 15 h (inscription dès 8 h 30)
Endroit :
Detal Hotels by Marriot Toronto Airport Conference Centre
655 Dixon Road
Toronto (Ontario) M9W 1J3

Qu'est-ce que la Conférence sur l'échange des ressources en matière d'adoption?

Cette conférence est une activité annuelle organisée au printemps et à l'automne par le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse qui vise à trouver des familles adoptives et à les jumeler aux enfants ontariens en attente d'adoption.

Discuter. Les Sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (SAE) assistent à l'événement et brossent le portrait des enfants et des jeunes en attente d'adoption confiés à leurs soins. Le personnel des SAE est là pour discuter avec les parents potentiels d'un enfant ou d'un jeune qui suscite leur intérêt, du processus d'adoption publique et des soutiens offerts aux familles adoptives.

Explorer. Lors de la conférence, il sera possible de lire les portraits d'enfants et de jeunes et de voir des vidéos préparés par les SAE participantes. Ces renseignements sont aussi accessibles en ligne sur la plateforme AdoptOntario une semaine avant et deux semaines après la tenue de la conférence.

Apprendre. Nous incitons aussi les parents potentiels à se rendre au Resource Village pour discuter avec des parents adoptifs et des familles d'accueil de leur expérience. Des représentants d'organismes spécialisés en adoption, tels que l'Adoption Council of Ontario, AdoptOntario et Adopt4Life, pourront aussi vous informer sur l'adoption en Ontario. Des experts seront sur place pour vous renseigner sur les particularités d'élever un enfant ayant des besoins particuliers, dont le trouble du spectre de l'autisme (TSA), l'ensemble des troubles causés par l'alcoolisation fœtale (ETAF) et des expositions in utero. Les parents adoptifs et les familles d'accueil de même sexe, d'enfants et de jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers, d'enfants plus âgés et de groupes de frères et sœurs pourront aussi vous faire part de leur expérience.

Répondre. Les personnes qui sont « AdoptReady » (ayant fait l'objet d'une étude du milieu familial SAFE (Structured Analysis Family Evaluation) et reçu une formation PRIDE [PPSFR] (Parent Resources for Information, Development and Education) peuvent présenter un formulaire de déclaration d'intérêt en vue d'indiquer à la SAE qu'elles sont intéressées par un enfant, un jeune ou un groupe de frères et sœurs dont on a brossé le portrait lors de l'événement.

Qui peut participer?

La conférence est ouverte à toute personne qui souhaite adopter un enfant de l'Ontario. L'inscription est gratuite.

Est-ce que je peux y aller avec mes enfants?

Les mineurs (moins de 18 ans) seront admis s'ils sont accompagnés par leur mère ou leur père adulte. On incite toutefois les parents adoptifs potentiels à assister à l'événement sans leurs enfants afin de pouvoir discuter librement avec des travailleurs des SAE et de respecter la vie privée des enfants et des jeunes dont on brosse le portrait.

En raison de la confidentialité des renseignements sur les enfants et les jeunes dont s'occupent les SAE, si vous vous présentez avec vos enfants, les travailleurs des SAE ne pourront peut-être pas vous fournir certains renseignements en présence de mineurs.

Plateforme en ligne AdoptOntario

La Plateforme en ligne AdoptOntario donne aux familles qui ont le statut AdoptReady l'occasion de prendre connaissance des portraits et de visualiser les photos et les vidéos des enfants et des jeunes qui seront présentés lors de la conférence. Pour avoir accès à la Plateforme en ligne, il faut s'inscrire en ligne à la Conférence sur l'échange des ressources en matière d'adoption. Les instructions relatives à l'inscription sont présentées ci-dessous.

Une fois l'inscription en ligne achevée, si vous êtes un demandeur AdoptReady et si la personne qui s’occupe de votre dossier d’adoption SAE a confirmé auprès d’AdoptOntario que vous avez le statut AdoptReady, on vérifiera automatiquement si vous avez le droit d'accéder à la Plateforme en ligne. Si ce statut n'est pas confirmé ou s'il a changé et doit être mis à jour, veuillez demander à la personne chargée de votre dossier d'adoption (SAE ou intervenant en adoption privée) d'envoyer un message à l'adresse info@adoptontario.ca.

Les utilisateurs ayant le statut AdoptReady recevront un courriel qui les autorisera à accéder à la Plateforme en ligne dès son lancement le 11 novembre 2017, soit une semaine avant la conférence

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'inscription ou sur la Plateforme en ligne d'AdoptOntario, veuillez communiquer avec AdoptOntario à l'adresse courriel info@adoptontario.ca.

Pour s'inscrire à la conférence

Il y a deux façons de s'inscrire à la Conférence sur l'échange des ressources en matière d'adoption :

1. Inscription en ligne

Les participants sont encouragés à s'inscrire en ligne à la Conférence sur l'échange des ressources en matière d'adoption.

Les avantages de l'inscription en ligne :


Il est possible de s'inscrire en ligne jusqu'à 12 h le vendredi 17 novembre 2017.

2. Inscription en personne

Les participants peuvent aussi s'inscrire sur place au bureau d'inscription. Le bureau d'inscription ouvre dès 8 h 30 le jour de la conférence et reste ouvert tout au long de la journée.

Besoin d'autres renseignements?

Communiquer avec Rosa Loiero par courriel à Rosa.Loiero@ontario.ca ou par téléphone au 416 327-4690.