You are hereSkip Navigation Links

I'm thinking about adopting — FAQs

Here are some questions often asked by people considering becoming adoptive parents. The answers provided are a starting point. Many additional resources are available to provide you with a greater understanding of what is involved in adoption and guide you step-by-step through the process.

  1. How do I find a child to adopt?

    For public adoptions, please contact your local children's aid society to discuss your interest in adopting. There are also other supports available such as the Adoption Resource Exchange and AdoptOntario that focus on matching children in need of adoption with the appropriate family.

    For private adoptions, you should contact an approved licensed agency or practitioner.

    For international adoptions, a child is usually selected by authorities in the child’s country of origin based on the recommendation provided by the approved adoption agency or practitioner you are using.

    Families may want to explore all types of adoption before determining what best suits their needs.

  2. Do I have to use an agency?

    You must work with a children's aid society for a public adoption.

    For a private adoption, you must work with an Ontario agency or individual who is licensed to place a child for adoption. For international adoption, you must work with an Ontario agency licensed to facilitate adoptions from the child’s home country.

  3. How do I choose an agency?

    For public adoption, contact your local children's aid society. Here are the lists of private and international adoption agencies.

    You can also attend information sessions given by private licensees. Be sure to ask for references from agencies or adoption practitioners. Follow up and talk to other families who have used their services and generally to other families who have recently adopted.

  4. Where can I get step-by-step information about the entire adoption process?

    A step-by-step guide to the process can be found in the I’ve decided to adopt a child section.

    Adoption information sessions are also offered by your local children's aid society and private licensed agencies. The Adoption Council of Ontario also offers how-to-adopt sessions.

    If you are interested in learning more about international adoption, you can also arrange a consultation with an agency licensed for the country from which you wish to adopt a child. Always seek out the most up-to-date information as processes can change, particularly with international adoptions, where individual countries may change their legislation, policies and practices.

  5. How much does it cost to adopt a child?

    The cost varies greatly depending on which adoption route you choose.

    • Public — no cost
    • Private — $15,000 to $25,000
    • International — $20,000 to $50,000

  6. How long does it take to adopt a child?

    No two adoptions are exactly alike. There is no set length of time. It is not a first-come, first-served service.

    The overriding goal is to find the family that best meets the needs of an individual child and this can take time. Some families may be matched with a child within a year. But it can take several years, particularly in the case of international adoptions which are much more complex to complete.

Learn more

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links

Je pense à adopter un enfant — Vous posez-vous ces questions?

Voici quelques questions que posent souvent les personnes qui pensent devenir des parents adoptifs. Les réponses fournies constituent une piste de réflexion. Vous pouvez consulter de nombreuses sources d'information supplémentaires pour mieux comprendre les questions liées à l'adoption et vous aider à franchir toutes les étapes du processus.

  1. Comment puis-je trouver un enfant à adopter?

    Dans le cas d'une adoption publique, communiquez avec la société d'aide à l'enfance de votre région pour discuter de votre désir d'adopter un enfant. D'autres organismes de soutien sont également à votre disposition, comme la Conférence sur l'échange des ressources en matière d'adoption et le programme AdoptOntario, lesquels visent à trouver des familles appropriées aux enfants en attente d'adoption.

    Pour les adoptions privées, vous devriez communiquer avec une agence ou un intervenant en adoption, autorisés et titulaires d'un permis.

    Pour les adoptions internationales, un enfant est généralement choisi par les autorités du pays d'origine de l'enfant, selon la recommandation fournie par l'agence ou l'intervenant autorisé avec qui vous faites affaire.

    Il est conseillé aux familles d'explorer tous les types d'adoption pour déterminer ce qui répond le mieux à leurs besoins.

  2. Dois-je faire appel à une agence?

    Vous devez collaborer avec une société d'aide à l'enfance s'il s'agit d'une adoption publique.

    Pour une adoption privée, vous devez faire appel à uneagence ou un particulier de l'Ontario, qui est autorisé à placer des enfants en adoption. Pour une adoption internationale, vous devez utiliser les services d'une agence de l'Ontario titulaire d'un permis pour faciliter les adoptions à partir du pays d'origine de l'enfant.

  3. Comment choisit-on une agence?

    Dans le cas d'une adoption publique, communiquez avec la société d'aide à l'enfance de votre région. Vous trouverez dans le site suivant une liste des agences d'adoption privée et internationale.

    Vous pouvez aussi assister à des séances d'information données par des agences privées. N'oubliez pas de demander des références aux agences ou aux intervenants en adoption. Discutez avec d'autres familles qui ont fait appel à leurs services et parlez avec d'autres personnes qui viennent d'adopter un enfant.

  4. Où puis-je trouver des renseignements précis sur le processus d'adoption complet?

    Un guide pas à pas pour le processus d'adoption est disponible à la section J'ai décidé d'adopter un enfant.

    La société d'aide à l'enfance de votre région et des agences privées autorisées offrent aussi des séances d'information sur l'adoption. L'organisme Adoption Council of Ontario offre également des séances d'information sur l'adoption.

    Si vous voulez en savoir davantage sur l'adoption internationale, vous pouvez demander une consultation auprès d'une agence autorisée concernant le pays où vous souhaitez adopter un enfant. Il faut toujours chercher l'information la plus récente, car les processus sont susceptibles de changer, surtout dans les adoptions internationales, où chaque pays peut modifier sa législation, ses politiques et ses pratiques.

  5. Combien en coûte-t-il d'adopter un enfant?

    Le coût varie grandement selon le type d'adoption que vous choisissez :

    • Adoption publique — sans frais;
    • Adoption privée — de 15 000 $ à 25 000 $;
    • Adoption internationale — de 20 000 $ à 50 000 $.

  6. Combien de temps faut-il compter pour adopter un enfant?

    Il n'y a pas deux cas d'adoption exactement pareils. Aucun délai n'est fixé. Il ne s'agit pas d'un service premier arrivé, premier servi.

    Le but ultime consiste à trouver la famille qui répond le mieux aux besoins d'un enfant particulier, et cela peut demander un certain temps. Il arrive que des familles soient jumelées avec un enfant en moins d'un an, mais d'autres doivent parfois attendre plusieurs années, surtout dans le cas d'une adoption internationale dont le processus est beaucoup plus complexe.

En savoir davantage