You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Adoption > I'm thinking about adopting > What to know before you adopt

What to know before you adopt

Adopting in Ontario

In Canada, provincial law regulates adoption. This means that the rules for adopting a child in Ontario are different than other provinces or territories.

There are five different ways to adopt in Ontario. Each type of adoption varies greatly in cost and length of time it will take to adopt a child.

There is no set length of time to adopt and it is not a first-come, first-served service. The goal is to match a child with a family that meets the needs of both the child and the adoptive family, and this can take time.

Becoming an adoptive parent

To become an adoptive parent, you must be over 18 years of age and a resident of Ontario.

Adoptive parents come from many different backgrounds regardless of their religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or whether they are an individual or a couple. Having the desire and being capable of providing a safe, loving home for a child is one of the most important criteria for becoming an adoptive parent.

If you’re interested in becoming an adoptive parent for any type of adoption, you are required to:

  • Complete a Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE) homestudy conducted by an adoption practitioner to assess your skills and readiness to raise an adopted child. Adoption practitioners are approved by the ministry.
    • The homestudy process includes assessing your home environment, and discussions on being a parent and the specialized aspects of parenting an adopted child.
    • The homestudy will help decide whether you are ready to be an adoptive parent and what type of child you are best suited to adopt.
  • Complete a 27-hour training program called, Parent Resources for Information Development and Education (PRIDE). PRIDE helps to prepare you for the responsibilities involved in raising adopted children.

Where to get started

For public adoptions, you must work with a children's aid society to discuss your interest in adopting. There are also other supports available such as the Adoption Resource Exchange and AdoptOntario that focus on matching children in need of adoption with the appropriate family.

For a private adoption, you must work with an Ontario agency or individual who is licensed to place a child for adoption.

For international adoptions, you must work with an Ontario agency licensed to facilitate international adoptions and a private adoption practitioner. However, a child is usually selected by authorities in the child’s country of origin based on the recommendation provided by the approved adoption agency and practitioner you are using.

When choosing an agency, you can attend information sessions given by private licensees. Private licensees are approved by the ministry to place children for adoption in Ontario or to facilitate the adoption of a child outside of Canada.

Be sure to ask for references from agencies or adoption practitioners. Follow up and talk to other families who have used their services and generally to other families who have recently adopted.


Learn more

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Adoption > Je pense à adopter un enfant > Ce qu’il faut savoir avant d’adopter un enfant

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant d’adopter un enfant

Adopter en Ontario

Au Canada, l’adoption relève du droit provincial. Cela signifie que les règles régissant l’adoption d’un enfant en Ontario sont différentes de celles des autres provinces ou territoires.

Il existe cinq types d’adoption en Ontario, sachant que les coûts et les délais varient grandement selon la voie choisie.

Aucun délai n’est fixé. Il ne s’agit pas d’un service premier arrivé, premier servi. Le but est de jumeler un enfant à une famille en veillant à répondre aux besoins de chacun. Cela peut donc prendre du temps.

Devenir parent adoptif

Pour devenir parent adoptif, vous devez avoir plus de 18 ans et être résident(e) de l’Ontario.

Les parents adoptifs sont issus de différents milieux, indépendamment de leur religion, de leur origine ethnique, de leur orientation sexuelle et de leur état familial. L’un des critères les plus importants pour devenir parent adoptif est d’avoir le désir, et la capacité, d’offrir à un enfant un foyer où il sera en sécurité et aimé.

Si vous souhaitez devenir parent adoptif, quelle que soit la voie choisie, vous êtes tenu(e) de :

  • participer à une étude du milieu familial selon la méthode SAFE menée par un intervenant en adoption pour évaluer vos capacités et votre degré de préparation à élever un enfant adopté. Les intervenants en adoption sont agréés par le ministère.
    • L’étude du milieu familial prévoit l’évaluation de votre cadre de vie, et des discussions sur le rôle parental et les points plus particulièrement liés à l’éducation d’un enfant adopté.
    • L’étude du milieu familial permet de décider si vous êtes prêt(e) à devenir parent adoptif et de déterminer l’âge de l’enfant que vous devriez adopter;
  • suivre un programme de formation de 27 heures, élaboré selon le modèle PRIDE (programme de ressources à l’intention des parents en matière de développement et d’éducation), pour mieux vous préparer à assumer les responsabilités associées à l’éducation d’un enfant adopté.

Marche à suivre

Dans le cas d’une adoption publique, vous devez collaborer avec une société d’aide à l’enfance pour discuter de votre désir d’adopter un enfant. D’autres organismes de soutien sont également à votre disposition, comme la Conférence sur l’échange des ressources en matière d’adoption et le programme AdoptOntario, lesquels visent à trouver des familles appropriées aux enfants en attente d’adoption.

Pour une adoption privée, vous devez faire appel à une agence ou un particulier de l’Ontario autorisé(e) en vertu d’un permis à placer des enfants en adoption.

Pour les adoptions internationales, vous devez faire appel aux services d’une agence de l’Ontario titulaire d’un permis pour faciliter les adoptions à partir du pays d’origine de l’enfant et d’un intervenant en adoption privée. Toutefois, un enfant est généralement choisi par les autorités de son pays d’origine, selon la recommandation fournie par agence et l’intervenant agréés avec qui vous faites affaire.

Avant de choisir une agence, vous pouvez assister à des séances d’information données par des titulaires de permis du secteur privé. Ces derniers sont autorisés par le ministère à placer des enfants en vue d’une adoption en Ontario et à faciliter l’adoption d’enfants vivant à l’extérieur du Canada.

N’oubliez pas de demander des références aux agences ou aux intervenants en adoption. Discutez avec d’autres familles qui ont fait appel à leurs services et parlez avec d’autres personnes qui viennent d’adopter un enfant.

En savoir davantage