You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Children's aid > Reporting child abuse and neglect > Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect: It's Your Duty

Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect: It's Your Duty


Download PDF

Your responsibilities under the Child, Youth and Family Services Act

The Child, Youth and Family Services Act (CYFSA) recognizes that each of us has a responsibility for the welfare of children.

Introduction

We all share a responsibility to protect children from harm. This includes situations where children are abused or neglected in their own homes. Ontario's CYFSA provides protection for these children.

Section 125 of the CYFSA states that the public, including professionals who work with children, must promptly report any suspicions that a child is or may be in need of protection to a children's aid society (society). The CYFSA defines the phrase "child in need of protection" and explains what must be reported to a society. It includes physical, sexual and emotional abuse, neglect, and risk of harm.

This brochure explains the "duty to report" section of the CYFSA and answers common questions about your reporting responsibilities. It also includes relevant portions of Section 125 for your reference. It does not provide specific legal advice. Please consult a lawyer or a society about any specific situation.

Who is a "child in need of protection"?

The CYFSA defines a child in need of protection and clearly specifies how you can identify these children in Section 125 (1). (See pages 8 to 11). [CYFSA s. 125 (1)] This includes a child who is or may be suffering from abuse or neglect.

Who is responsible for reporting a child in need of protection?

Anyone who has reasonable grounds to suspect that a child is or may be in need of protection must promptly report the suspicion and the information upon which it is based to a society. Section 125 (1) describes the specific circumstances that must be reported (See pages 8 to 11). [CYFSA s.125 (1)]

What are "reasonable grounds" to suspect child abuse or neglect?

It is not necessary for you to be certain a child is or may be in need of protection to make a report to a society. "Reasonable grounds" refers to the information that an average person, using normal and honest judgment, would need in order to decide to report.

What is the age of the children to whom the "duty to report" applies?

The duty to report applies to any child who is, or appears to be, under the age of 16 years.

On January 1, 2018, Ontario raised the age of protection from 16 to 18. A professional, or member of the public, who is concerned that a 16-or 17- year-old is or may be in need of protection may, but is not required to, make a report to a society and the society is required to assess the reported information. [CYFSA, s 125 (4)]

What does an "ongoing duty to report" child abuse or neglect mean?

Even if you know a report has already been made about a child who is under 16, you must make a further report to the society if there are additional reasonable grounds to suspect that the child is or may be in need of protection. [CYFSA s. 125 (2)]

Can I rely on someone else to report?

No. You have to report directly to a society. You must not rely on anyone else to report on your behalf. [CYFSA s. 125 (3)]

Do professionals and officials have any special responsibilities to report?

Professionals and officials have the same duty as the rest of the public to report their suspicion that a child is or may be in need of protection. However, the CYFSA recognizes that people working closely with children have a special awareness of the signs of child abuse and neglect, and a particular responsibility to report their suspicions. Any professional or official who fails to report a suspicion is liable on conviction to a fine of up to $5,000, if they obtained the information in the course of their professional or official duties. Reporting is not mandatory in the case of 16- and 17- year-olds and the offence/penalty provisions do not apply. [CYFSA s. 125 (5), (8), (9)]

Who does the CYFSA consider a person who performs professional or official duties?

In addition to the professionals and officials outlined above, directors, officers or employees of a corporation also have a legislated duty to report if they have knowledge that a child who is under 16 is or may be in need of protection. [CYFSA s. 125 (8)]

These are examples only. If you are unsure whether you fall into any of these categories, ask your local society, or legal counsel for your professional association, regulatory body, or organization. [CYFSA s. 125 (6)]

What about professional confidentiality?

A professional must report that a child is or may be in need of protection, even when the information is otherwise confidential or privileged. This duty overrides any other provincial statutes, including the Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004, and specifically overrides any provisions that would otherwise prohibit someone from making a disclosure. Only lawyers may not divulge "privileged" information about their clients. [CYFSA s. 125 (10), (11)]

Will I be protected from liability if I make a report?

The CYFSA provides that no action for making the report will be instituted against a person who makes a report unless the person acts maliciously or without reasonable grounds for the suspicion. [CYFSA s. 125 (10)]

What happens when I call a society?

The society will investigate the information. The society has the responsibility and authority to investigate allegations and to protect children. The society may involve the police and other community agencies. All societies provide emergency service 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Consistent with the best interests, protection and well-being of children, services from a society will take the following into consideration:

How do I contact a society or get more information?

You can find your local society in your local telephone listings or, where available, by dialing 411. In some communities, the society is known as "family and children's services" or "child and family services".

You can also find information about all of Ontario's societies at www.oacas.org, the web site of the Ontario Association of Children's Aid Societies.

Anyone who has a reasonable suspicion that a child is or may be in need of protection must contact a society immediately.

If you think the matter is urgent and you cannot reach the society, call your local police.

Section 125 (1) of the Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017

Despite the provisions of any other Act, if a person, including a person who performs professional or official duties with respect to children, has reasonable grounds to suspect one of the following, the person shall forthwith report the suspicion and the information on which it is based to a society:

  1. The child has suffered physical harm, inflicted by the person having charge of the child or caused by or resulting from that person's,
    1. failure to adequately care for, provide for, supervise or protect the child, or
    2. pattern of neglect in caring for, providing for, supervising or protecting the child.
  2. There is a risk that the child is likely to suffer physical harm inflicted by the person having charge of the child or caused by or resulting from that person's,
    1. failure to adequately care for, provide for, supervise or protect the child, or
    2. pattern of neglect in caring for, providing for, supervising or protecting the child.
  3. The child has been sexually abused or sexually exploited, by the person having charge of the child or by another person where the person having charge of the child knows or should know of the possibility of sexual abuse or sexual exploitation and fails to protect the child.
  4. There is a risk that the child is likely to be sexually abused or sexually exploited as described in paragraph 3.
  5. The child requires medical treatment to cure, prevent or alleviate physical harm or suffering and the child's parent or the person having charge of the child does not provide, or where the child is incapable of consenting to the treatment under the Health Care Consent Act, 1996, refuses or is unavailable or unable to consent to, the treatment on the child’s behalf.
  6. The child has suffered emotional harm, demonstrated by serious:
    1. anxiety
    2. depression
    3. withdrawal
    4. self-destructive or aggressive behaviour, or
    5. delayed development,
      and there are reasonable grounds to believe that the emotional harm suffered by the child results from the actions, failure to act or pattern of neglect on the part of the child's parent or the person having charge of the child.
  7. The child has suffered emotional harm of the kind described in subparagraph 6 i, ii, iii, iv or v and the child's parent or the person having charge of the child does not provide services or treatment or access to services or treatment, or, where the child is incapable of consenting to treatment under the Health Care Consent Act, 1996, refuses or is unavailable or unable to consent to, treatment to remedy or alleviate the harm.
  8. There is a risk that the child is likely to suffer emotional harm of the kind described in subparagraph 6 i, ii, iii, iv or v resulting from the actions, failure to act or pattern of neglect on the part of the child's parent or the person having charge of the child.
  9. There is a risk that the child is likely to suffer emotional harm of the kind described in subparagraph i, ii, iii, iv or v and that the child's parent or the person having charge of the child does not provide services or treatment or access to services or treatment, or, where the child is incapable of consenting to treatment under the Health Care Consent Act, 1996, refuses or is unavailable or unable to consent to, services or treatment to prevent the harm.
  10. The child suffers from a mental, emotional or developmental condition that, if not remedied, could seriously impair the child's development and the child's parent or the person having charge of the child does not provide the treatment or access to the treatment, or where the child is incapable of consenting to the treatment under the Health Care Consent Act, 1996, refuses or is unavailable or unable to consent to, treatment to remedy or alleviate the condition.
  11. The child's parent has died or is unavailable to exercise custodial rights over the child and has not made adequate provision for the child's care and custody, or the child is in a residential placement and the parent refuses or is unable or unwilling to resume the child's care and custody.
  12. The child is younger than 12 years old and has killed or seriously injured another person or caused serious damage to another person’s property, services or treatment are necessary to prevent a recurrence and the child’s parent or the person having charge of the child does not provide services or treatment or access to services or treatment, or where the child is incapable of consenting to treatment under the Health Care Consent Act, 1996, refuses or is unavailable or unable to consent to, treatment.
  13. The child is younger than 12 years old and has on more than one occasion injured another person or caused loss or damage to another person's property, with the encouragement of the person having charge of the child or because of that person's failure or inability to supervise the child adequately.

If someone has reasonable grounds to suspect that a child under 16 is or may be in need of protection, they must make a report directly to a society. A report may be made regarding 16- and 17- year-olds if you are concerned that they are, or may be, in need of protection.

For more information

To order by phone

1-800-668-9938
TTY: 1-800-268-7095

Visit

ServiceOntario Publications

Learn More

Ontario.ca/children

ISBN 978-1-4868-1810-5 (Print)
ISBN 978-1-4868-1811-2 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4868-1812-9 (PDF)

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > L'aide à l'enfance > Signaler un cas de mauvais traitements ou de négligence à l'égard d'un enfant > Signaler les cas d’enfants victimes de mauvais traitements et de négligence : C’est votre devoir

Signaler les cas d’enfants victimes de mauvais traitements et de négligence : C’est votre devoir


Télécharger la version PDF

Vos responsabilités aux termes de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille

La Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille (LSEJF) reconnaît que chacun de nous est responsable du bien-être des enfants.

Introduction

Nous avons tous la responsabilité de protéger les enfants contre toute forme de préjudice, y compris lorsque ceux-ci sont victimes de mauvais traitements et de négligence dans leur propre foyer. La Loi de 2017 sur les services à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille (LSEJF) du gouvernement de l'Ontario prévoit la protection de ces enfants.

L'article 125 de la LSEJF précise que le public, y compris les professionnels qui interviennent auprès des enfants, doit communiquer promptement, à une société d'aide à l'enfance (société), tout soupçon selon lequel un enfant a ou peut avoir besoin de protection. La LSEJF définit le terme « enfant ayant besoin de protection » et énonce les situations qui doivent être déclarées à une société. La définition englobe en outre les maux physiques, les maux affectifs, les mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel, la négligence et le risque de préjudice.

La présente brochure concerne l'« obligation de faire rapport » prévue dans la LSEJF et répond aux questions courantes sur la nature de vos responsabilités à cet égard. Elle comporte aussi des passages pertinents de l'article 125 de la Loi à titre de référence. Elle ne renferme aucun conseil juridique précis. Vous devez consulter un avocat ou une société pour des renseignements sur une situation donnée.

Qu'entend-on par « enfant ayant besoin de protection »?

La LSEJF définit un enfant ayant besoin de protection et précise clairement au paragraphe 125 (1) les moyens pour déterminer si un enfant se trouve dans une telle situation. (Voir les pages 8 à 11.) [LSEJF, paragraphe 125 (1)] La définition comprend un enfant qui est victime ou qui semble être victime de mauvais traitements ou de négligence.

Qui a l'obligation de déclarer le besoin de protection d'un enfant?

Quiconque a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner qu'un enfant a ou peut avoir besoin de protection doit communiquer promptement ses soupçons et les renseignements sur lesquels ils sont fondés à une société. Le paragraphe 125 (1) énumère les situations précises qui doivent être déclarées (voir les pages 8 à 10). [LSEJF, paragraphe 125 (1)]

Qu'entend-on par « motifs raisonnables » de soupçonner qu'un enfant est victime de mauvais traitements ou de négligence?

Il n'est pas nécessaire que vous soyez certain qu'un enfant a ou peut avoir besoin de protection pour faire rapport à une société. On entend par « motifs raisonnables » les renseignements dont une personne ordinaire, exerçant un jugement normal et honnête, aurait besoin pour décider de déclarer ou non un cas.

Quel est l'âge des enfants auquel s'applique l'« obligation de faire rapport »?

L'obligation de faire rapport s'applique à tout enfant qui a ou qui semble avoir moins de 16 ans.

Le 1er janvier 2018, l'Ontario a porté l'âge de la protection de 16 à 18 ans. Une personne qui exerce des fonctions professionnelles ou un membre du public qui s'inquiète qu'un jeune de 16 ou 17 ans ait besoin ou semble avoir besoin de protection peut, sans y être tenue, faire un rapport à une société, et cette dernière doit évaluer les renseignements déclarés. [LSEJF, paragraphe 125 (4)]

Que signifie l'expression « obligation continue de faire rapport » relativement à un enfant victime de mauvais traitements ou de négligence?

Même si vous savez qu'un rapport au sujet d'un enfant de moins de 16 ans victime ou pouvant être victime de mauvais traitements ou de négligence a déjà été fait, vous devez faire un nouveau rapport à la société si vous avez d'autres motifs raisonnables de soupçonner que l'enfant a ou peut avoir besoin de protection. [LSEJF, paragraphe 125 (2)]

Puis-je compter sur une autre personne pour faire rapport en mon nom?

Non. Vous avez l'obligation de déclarer directement une situation à la société. Vous ne devez pas demander à une autre personne de le faire en votre nom. [LSEJF, paragraphe 125 (3)]

Est-ce que les personnes qui exercent des fonctions professionnelles ou officielles ont une obligation spéciale de faire rapport?

Les personnes qui exercent des fonctions professionnelles ou officielles ont la même obligation que toute autre personne du public de déclarer leurs soupçons qu'un enfant a ou peut avoir besoin de protection. Cependant, la LSEJF reconnaît que les personnes qui travaillent avec les enfants connaissent mieux les indices de mauvais traitements et de négligence, et qu'elles ont une obligation particulière de déclarer leurs soupçons. La personne qui exerce des fonctions professionnelles ou officielles et qui ne déclare pas ses soupçons est passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité, d'une amende d'au plus 5 000 $ si elle a obtenu les renseignements dans l'exercice de ses fonctions professionnelles ou officielles. Faire rapport n'est pas obligatoire dans le cas des jeunes âgés de 16 et 17 ans et les dispositions relatives à l'infraction et à la pénalité ne s'appliqueront pas. [LSEJF, paragraphes 125 (5), (8), (9)]

Quelles sont les personnes que la LSEJF considère comme exerçant des fonctions professionnelles ou officielles?

En plus des personnes qui exercent des fonctions professionnelles ou officielles susmentionnées, les administrateurs, les dirigeants ou les employés d'une personne morale ont aussi une obligation de faire rapport s'ils savent qu'un enfant de moins de 16 ans a ou peut avoir besoin de protection. [LSEJF, paragraphe 125 (8)]

Ce sont uniquement des exemples. Si vous n'êtes pas sûr de faire partie de l'une ou l'autre de ces catégories, communiquez avec la société de votre région ou avec le conseiller juridique de votre association professionnelle, de l'organisme qui réglemente votre profession ou de l'organisme pour lequel vous travaillez. [LSEJF, paragraphe 125 (6)]

Qu'advient-il du secret professionnel?

La personne qui exerce des fonctions professionnelles doit déclarer qu'un enfant a ou peut avoir besoin de protection même si les renseignements sur lesquels se fondent ses soupçons sont autrement confidentiels ou privilégiés. Cette obligation l'emporte sur toute autre loi provinciale, y compris la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé, et prime expressément sur les dispositions qui empêcheraient autrement une personne de divulguer des renseignements. Cependant, les avocats ne peuvent pas divulguer des renseignements « privilégiés » sur leurs clients. [LSEJF, paragraphes 125 (10), (11)]

Suis-je protégé contre toute action si je fais un rapport?

La LSEJF prévoit que sont irrecevables les actions intentées contre l'auteur du rapport sauf s'il agit dans l'intention de nuire ou sans motif raisonnable de soupçonner la situation en question. [LSEJF, paragraphe 125 (10)]

Qu'arrive-t-il lorsque je déclare une situation à une société?

La société fait enquête sur les renseignements que vous communiquez. La société est tenue d'enquêter au sujet des allégations et de protéger les enfants. La société peut faire appel à la police et à d'autres organismes communautaires. Toutes les sociétés fournissent des services d'urgence 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept.

Conformément à l'intérêt véritable, au besoin de protection et au mieux-être des enfants, les services d'une société tiendront compte des éléments suivants :

Comment puis-je communiquer avec une société ou obtenir plus de renseignements?

Vous pouvez trouver le numéro de téléphone de la société de votre localité dans l'annuaire téléphonique ou en composant le 411 si ce service est disponible dans votre région. Dans certaines localités, la société s'appelle « services à l'enfance et à la famille » ou « services aux enfants et aux familles ».

Vous pouvez aussi trouver des renseignements au sujet de toutes les sociétés de l'Ontario sur le site Web de l'Association ontarienne des sociétés de l'aide à l'enfance, à l'adresse www.oacas.org.

Quiconque soupçonne qu'un enfant a ou peut avoir besoin de protection doit communiquer immédiatement avec une société.

S'il s'agit, à votre avis, d'une situation urgente et que vous n'arrivez pas à joindre la société, téléphonez à votre service de police local.

Paragraphe 125 (1) de la Loi de 2017 sur les services à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille

Malgré les dispositions de toute autre loi, une personne, notamment celle qui exerce des fonctions professionnelles ou officielles en rapport avec des enfants, qui a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner l'existence de l'une ou l'autre des situations suivantes doit immédiatement déclarer ses soupçons à une société et fournir les renseignements sur lesquels ils se fondent :

  1. Un enfant a subi des maux physiques infligés par la personne qui en est responsable ou, selon le cas :
    1. causés par le défaut de cette personne de lui fournir des soins, de subvenir à ses besoins, de le surveiller ou de le protéger convenablement, ou résultant de ce défaut,
    2. causés par la négligence habituelle de cette personne pour ce qui est de lui fournir des soins, de subvenir à ses besoins, de le surveiller ou de le protéger, ou résultant de cette négligence.
  2. Un enfant risque vraisemblablement de subir des maux physiques infligés par la personne qui en est responsable ou, selon le cas :
    1. causés par le défaut de cette personne de lui fournir des soins, de subvenir à ses besoins, de le surveiller ou de le protéger convenablement, ou résultant de ce défaut,
    2. causés par la négligence habituelle de cette personne pour ce qui est de lui fournir des soins, de subvenir à ses besoins, de le surveiller ou de le protéger, ou résultant de cette négligence.
  3. Un enfant a subi des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel ou a été exploité sexuellement par la personne qui en est responsable ou par une autre personne si la personne responsable de l'enfant sait ou devrait savoir qu'il existe un risque de mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel ou d'exploitation sexuelle et qu'elle ne protège pas l'enfant.
  4. Un enfant risque vraisemblablement de subir des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel ou d'être exploité sexuellement dans les circonstances mentionnées à la disposition 3.
  5. Un enfant a besoin d'un traitement en vue de guérir, de prévenir ou de soulager des maux physiques ou sa douleur et son parent ou la personne qui en est responsable ne fournit pas le traitement ou n'y donne pas accès ou, si l'enfant est incapable de consentir à un traitement, au sens de la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé, refuse ou n'est pas en mesure de donner son consentement à ce traitement au nom de l'enfant, ou n'est pas disponible pour le faire.
  6. Un enfant a subi des maux affectifs qui se traduisent, selon le cas, par :
    1. un grave sentiment d'angoisse,
    2. un état dépressif grave,
    3. un fort repliement sur soi,
    4. un comportement autodestructeur ou agressif marqué,
    5. un important retard dans son développement,

      et il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire que les maux affectifs que l'enfant a subis résultent des actes, du défaut d'agir ou de la négligence habituelle de son parent ou de la personne qui en est responsable.
  7. Un enfant a subi le type de maux affectifs visés à la sous-disposition 6 i, ii, iii, iv ou v et son parent ou la personne qui en est responsable ne fournit pas des services ou un traitement afin de remédier à ces maux ou de les soulager ou n'y donne pas accès ou, si l'enfant est incapable de consentir à un traitement, au sens de la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé, refuse ou n'est pas en mesure de donner son consentement à ce traitement, ou n'est pas disponible pour le faire.
  8. Un enfant risque vraisemblablement de subir le type de maux affectifs visés à la sous-disposition 6 i, ii, iii, iv ou v résultant des actes, du défaut d'agir ou de la négligence habituelle de son parent ou de la personne qui en est responsable.
  9. Un enfant risque vraisemblablement de subir le type de maux affectifs visés à la sous-disposition 6 i, ii, iii, iv ou v et son parent ou la personne qui en est responsable ne fournit pas des services ou un traitement afin de prévenir ces maux ou n'y donne pas accès ou, si l'enfant est incapable de consentir à un traitement, au sens de la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé, refuse ou n'est pas en mesure de donner son consentement à ce traitement, ou n'est pas disponible pour le faire.
  10. L'état mental ou affectif ou le trouble de développement d'un enfant risque, s'il n'y est pas remédié, de porter gravement atteinte à son développement et son parent ou la personne qui en est responsable ne fournit pas un traitement afin de remédier à cet état ou à ce trouble ou de le soulager ou n'y donne pas accès ou, si l'enfant est incapable de consentir à un traitement, au sens de la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé, refuse ou n'est pas en mesure de donner son consentement à ce traitement, ou n'est pas disponible pour le faire.
  11. Le parent de l'enfant est décédé ou ne peut pas exercer ses droits de garde sur l'enfant et n'a pas pris de mesures suffisantes relativement à la garde de l'enfant et aux soins à lui fournir ou, si l'enfant est placé dans un établissement, le parent refuse d'en assumer à nouveau la garde et de lui fournir des soins, n'est pas en mesure de le faire ou n'est pas disposé à le faire.
  12. Un enfant a moins de 12 ans et a tué ou gravement blessé une autre personne ou a causé des dommages importants aux biens d'une autre personne et doit subir un traitement ou recevoir des services afin d'empêcher la répétition de ces actes et le parent ou la personne qui est responsable de l'enfant ne fournit pas ces services ou ce traitement ou n'y donne pas accès ou, si l'enfant est incapable de consentir à un traitement, au sens de la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé, refuse ou n'est pas en mesure de donner son consentement à ce traitement, ou n'est pas disponible pour le faire.
  13. Un enfant a moins de 12 ans et a, à plusieurs reprises, blessé une autre personne ou causé une perte ou des dommages aux biens d'une autre personne, avec l'encouragement de la personne qui en est responsable ou en raison du défaut ou de l'incapacité de cette personne de surveiller l'enfant convenablement.

Quiconque a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner qu’un enfant a ou peut avoir besoin de protection doit le signaler directement à une société d’aide à l’enfance.

Pour plus d’information

Pour les commandes par téléphone :

1 800 668-9938
TTY: 1 800 268-7095

Ou visiter
Serviceontario.ca/publications

Pour en savoir davantage, rendez-vous sur:
Ontario.ca/enfants

ISBN 978-1-4868-1813-6 (Imprimé)
ISBN 978-1-4868-1814-3 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4868-1815-0 (PDF)