Your Right to Complain to a Children’s Aid Society Or Indigenous Society

If you have a question or concern about services from a children’s aid society, you can talk to the worker who is helping you, the worker’s supervisor, or someone else at the society. If you do not want to first speak to them or if speaking to your worker or others at the society does not answer your questions, you have the right to start a formal process to complain to the society at any time. Societies are required, by law, to establish an Internal Complaints Review Panel to review formal complaints submitted in writing. Your society may also offer alternate complaints processes (for example, an Elders Forum).

Make a complaint

You can make a complaint about a society by submitting a complaint:

Review the complaint

If you've submitted a complaint directly to a society’s Internal Complaints Review Panel, the society will respond within seven days to determine if a review is needed. If so, a meeting will be scheduled with the society’s Internal Complaint Review Panel within 14 days.

If you've submitted a complaint to the Board, you'll receive a response within seven days. If your complaint requires a review, notice of a hearing will be sent to you within 20 days.

For information on submitting a complaint to the Ontario Ombudsman and respective timelines, please call 1-800-263-1830 or visit the website.

Receive a decision

If you've met with the society’s Internal Complaint Review Panel, you'll receive a decision in writing within 14 days.

If you were required to attend a Board hearing, you'll receive a decision in writing within 10 days.

Keep in mind that the society and Board review processes cannot consider:

Learn more details about filing a complaint about a society with the Board.

Complaining directly to a Society

If you are submitting a formal complaint directly to a society, the first step in the process is to complete a Formal Complaint to a Society’s Internal Complaints Review Panel Form and submit it to your local society in person, by delivery, mail, fax or e-mail.

Explain your problem clearly and include all the details that are important to you, so that those reviewing your complaint will understand your concerns.

Reviewing the complaint

The society’s Internal Complaint Review Panel will consist of a small number of people who have not been directly involved with your case. The society’s executive director will select panel members from society staff, including one senior manager, and will also choose one person not employed by the society.

Meeting with the society’s Internal Complaint Review Panel

The society’s complaint review process is designed to be fair and objective. You will be able to discuss your complaint with people who are not directly involved with your case. The goal is to deal with your complaint as quickly as possible in a way that works for everyone. An interpreter may be provided by the society if you need one. You can bring one person to support you at the meeting. A representative from each of your bands or First Nations, Inuit or Métis communities may also attend, if appropriate.

The review panel may ask questions to better understand your concerns. Within 14 days after the meeting, the Internal Complaints Review Panel will send you and the executive director of the society a written summary of the results of the meeting, including any agreed upon next steps. If at any point in the complaint review process the complaint is resolved to your satisfaction, the society will send you confirmation of the resolution in writing.

Complaining to the Child and Family Service Review Board

You do not always need to go through the society’s Internal Complaints Review Panel process before complaining to the Child and Family Services Review Board (the Board). In most situations, you can file a complaint with the Board directly and follow their steps on how to proceed.

When you have concerns about the Board

Decisions of the Board cannot be appealed. However, if you have concerns about the Board, the Ontario Ombudsman may investigate complaints about the Board and may report and make recommendations arising from such reviews.

Complaining to the Ombudsman

As of May 1, 2019, the Ombudsman’s office is responsible for investigating complaints about services provided by children’s aid societies and residential licensees to children and youth. You may complain to the Ombudsman at any time about your concerns.

As of May 1, 2019, the Ombudsman may also investigate matters related to French language services. You may complain to the Ombudsman at any time when you believe that your right to be served in French was not respected.

For information on submitting a complaint to the Ontario Ombudsman, please call 1-800-263-1830 or visit https://www.ombudsman.on.ca/home/.

Contact information

Child and Family Services Review Board
655 Bay Street,
14th Floor
Toronto ON M7A 2A3
Telephone: (416) 327-0111
Toll Free: 1-888-777-3616
TTY: (416) 327-9247
Fax: (416) 327-0558

Ontario Ombudsman
483 Bay Street,
10th Floor, South Tower
Toronto, ON M5G 2C9
Telephone: 416-586-3300
Toll-Free: 1-800-263-1830
TTY: 1-866-411-4211
Email: info@ombudsman.on.ca

Votre droit de porter plainte auprès d’une société d’aide à l’enfance ou d’une société autochtone

Si vous avez des questions ou un doute au sujet des services d’une société d’aide à l’enfance, vous pouvez en parler avec votre chargée ou chargé de cas, son supérieur ou une autre personne qui travaille à la société. Si vous ne souhaitez pas parler avec ces personnes d’abord, ou si une discussion avec votre chargée ou chargé de cas ou une autre personne qui travaille à la société ne vous a pas permis d’obtenir de réponses à vos questions, vous avez le droit d’amorcer le processus de dépôt de plainte officielle en tout temps. La Loi oblige les sociétés à créer un comité interne d’examen des plaintes pour examiner les plaintes officielles transmises par écrit. Votre société a peut-être d’autres processus de dépôt de plainte (par exemple, un forum des aînés).

Déposer une plainte

Vous pouvez déposer une plainte concernant une société en la soumettant :


Examen de la plainte

Si vous avez porté plainte directement auprès du comité interne d’examen des plaintes d’une société, cette dernière répondra dans les sept jours en précisant si un examen est nécessaire. Si tel est le cas, une réunion sera prévue dans les 14 jours avec le comité d’examen interne des plaintes de la société.

Si vous avez porté plainte auprès de la Commission, vous recevrez une réponse dans les sept jours. Si votre plainte nécessite un examen, on vous enverra un avis d’audience dans les 20 jours.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la soumission d’une plainte auprès de l’Ombudsman de l’Ontario et des délais, veuillez téléphoner au 1 800 263-1830 ou visiter le site web.


Réception de la décision

Si vous avez rencontré le comité d'examen interne des plaintes de la société, vous recevrez une décision écrite dans les 14 jours.

Si vous avez dû vous rendre à une audience devant la Commission, vous recevrez une décision écrite dans les 10 jours.


 

N'oubliez pas que les processus d'examen de la société et de la Commission ne peuvent pas prendre en considération :

Renseignez-vous sur la soumission d’une plainte contre une société auprès de la Commission.

Dépôt d’une plainte directement auprès d’une société

Si vous soumettez une plainte officielle directement à une société, la première étape consiste à remplir le formulaire de plainte officielle soumise au comité d’examen interne des plaintes d’une société et de le soumettre à la société en question en personne ou par livraison, courrier, télécopieur ou courriel.

Exposez clairement votre problème en incluant tous les détails qui vous paraissent importants, de sorte que les personnes qui examineront votre plainte comprennent bien la situation.

Examen de la plainte

Le comité d’examen interne des plaintes de la société est formé d’un petit nombre de personnes qui ne sont pas directement concernées par votre dossier. Le directeur général ou la directrice générale de la société sélectionnera les membres du comité parmi le personnel de la société, notamment un cadre supérieur, et choisira également une personne qui n’est pas employée par la société.

Réunion avec le comité d’examen interne des plaintes de la société

Le processus d’examen des plaintes de la société est conçu pour être équitable et objectif. Vous aurez l’occasion de discuter de votre plainte avec des personnes qui ne sont pas directement concernées par votre dossier. Le but est de régler votre plainte le plus vite possible d’une façon qui convient à tout le monde. La société vous proposera au besoin des services d’interprétation. Une personne peut vous accompagner à la réunion pour vous aider. Un représentant ou une représentante de votre bande ou communauté de Première Nation, inuite ou métisse peut aussi participer à la réunion, selon le cas.

Le comité d’examen vous posera peut-être des questions pour mieux comprendre votre problème. Dans les 14 jours suivant la réunion, le comité d’examen interne des plaintes vous enverra, de même qu’au directeur général ou à la directrice générale de la société, une synthèse écrite des résultats de la réunion, notamment tout accord concernant les prochaines étapes. Si à tout moment au cours du processus d’examen, la plainte est réglée à votre convenance, la société vous fera parvenir une confirmation écrite.

Dépôt d’une plainte directement auprès de la Commission

Il n’est pas toujours nécessaire de suivre le processus du comité d’examen interne des plaintes de la société avant de porter plainte auprès de la Commission de révision des services à l’enfance et à la famille (la Commission). Dans la plupart des cas, vous pouvez déposer directement une plainte auprès de la Commission et suivre ses étapes.

Si vous avez des doutes au sujet de la Commission

Il n’est pas possible de faire appel des décisions de la Commission. Par contre, si vous avez des doutes au sujet de la Commission, l’Ombudsman de l’Ontario peut enquêter sur les plaintes concernant la Commission, produire des rapports d’enquête et formuler des recommandations.

Soumission d’une plainte auprès de l’Ombudsman

À compter du 1er mai 2019, le bureau de l’Ombudsman sera responsable des enquêtes sur les plaintes au sujet des services fournis par les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance et les établissements titulaires de permis. Vous pouvez soumettre votre plainte auprès de l’Ombudsman à tout moment.

À compter du 1er mai 2019, l’Ombudsman peut aussi enquêter sur les cas concernant les services en français. Vous pouvez soumettre une plainte auprès de l’Ombudsman à tout moment si vous croyez que votre droit d’obtenir un service en français n’a pas été respecté.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la soumission d’une plainte auprès de l’Ombudsman de l’Ontario, veuillez téléphoner au 1 800 263-1830 ou visiter le site https://www.ombudsman.on.ca/accueil/.

Coordonnées

Commission de révision des services à l'enfance et à la famille
655, rue Bay, 14e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2A3
Téléphone : 416 327-0111
Sans frais : 1 888 777-3616
ATS : 416 327-9247
Télécopie : 416 327-0558

Ombudsman de l’Ontario
483, rue Bay
10e étage, Tour Sud
Toronto (ON) M5G 2C9
Téléphone : 416 586-3300
Sans frais : 1 800 263-1830
ATS : 1 866 411-4211
Courriel : info@ombudsman.on.ca