You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Early childhood > Healthy Babies Healthy Children > Ontario's enhanced 18-month well-baby visit

Download print version (PDF)

Ontario's enhanced 18-month well-baby visit
Information for physicians & other health professionals

Introduction

Healthy child development is a key indicator of health and 18 months is a pivotal age in a child’s growth.

The 18-month well-baby visit is a key appointment for immunization and may be the last regular check-up before a child starts school. This is a crucial opportunity to determine whether a child is meeting important developmental milestones and to make any necessary connections among primary care practitioners, parents and community resources.

The Ontario government recognizes that physicians and other health professionals are in a unique position, through their continuing contact with patients and families, to improve the odds that children will meet their developmental potential. Following the advice of an expert panel to expand the 18-month visit, the province now funds a longer and more in-depth 18-month well-baby visit. The new OHIP fee code came into effect in October 2009.

How is the enhanced 18-month well-baby visit different?

The goal of the enhanced visit is to promote increased communication between parents and physicians or other health professionals to improve outcomes for children.

The enhanced visit allows health professionals to engage in a broader discussion with parents on topics that include their child’s motor and communications skills development, as well as feeding and behavioural issues. The visit is an opportunity to monitor growth and development for early identification of risk, and for referral for necessary early intervention and treatment.

The enhanced visit allows the physician or other health professional to take the time they need, using standardized tools, to:

Useful Websites

Reports

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Petite enfance > « Bébés en santé, enfants en santé » > Le bilan de santé amélioré à 18 mois en Ontario

Format PDF

Le bilan de santé amélioré à 18 mois en Ontario
Information pour les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé

Introduction

Le développement sain des enfants est un indicateur clé de la santé et 18 mois est un âge charnière dans la croissance d’un enfant.

Le bilan de santé à 18 mois est un rendez-vous clé pour la vaccination et peut être le dernier examen médical régulier avant que l’enfant commence l’école. Il s’agit d’une occasion cruciale pour déterminer si un enfant a atteint les étapes importantes du développement et établir tous les liens nécessaires entre les praticiens de soins primaires, les parents et les ressources communautaires.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario reconnaît que les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé sont dans une situation unique, grâce à leur contact continu avec les patients et les familles, afin d’augmenter les chances des enfants de réaliser leur potentiel de développement. À la suite de l’avis d’un groupe d’étude sur l’amélioration du bilan de santé à 18 mois, la province finance désormais l’établissement d’un bilan de santé à 18 mois dans le cadre d’une visite plus longue et plus approfondie. Le nouveau code d’honoraires de l’Assurance-santé est entré en vigueur en octobre 2009.

En quoi le bilan de santé amélioré à 18 mois est-il différent?

Le but du bilan de santé amélioré est de favoriser une communication accrue entre les parents et les médecins, ou d’autres professionnels de la santé, afin d’améliorer les résultats pour les enfants.

Le bilan de santé amélioré permet aux professionnels de la santé d’engager une discussion plus large avec les parents, sur des sujets comme le développement moteur et les aptitudes à la communication, ainsi que l’alimentation et les problèmes de comportement de leur enfant. Cette visite sera l’occasion de contrôler la croissance et le développement afin d’assurer un dépistage précoce des risques et, le cas échéant, un aiguillage vers une intervention et un traitement précoces nécessaires.

Le bilan de santé amélioré permet aux médecins et aux autres professionnels de la santé de prendre le temps dont ils ont besoin, à l’aide d’outils normalisés, pour accomplir les tâches suivantes :

Sites Web utiles

Rapports