C. Samples LGBT2SQ-Affirming Policies

C.1 Policy Principles in Creating a Non-Discrimination Policy


Below are sample principles that can be considered when an organization is developing a non-discrimination policy. The process for developing such a policy benefits from the input of staff, volunteers, youth, caregivers and community partners, and individuals of all sexual orientations and gender identities.

Rate your organization using the following scorecard:

Policy Principle Example Rate your organization
1 to 10
Changes to be made
Policies clearly set out your organization's commitment to creating inclusive and affirming environments. "[XXXXXX] organization is committed to creating strategies to address harassment and discrimination."
Policies clearly set out the organization's objectives in establishing the policy. “The goal of this policy is to ensure that all clients and employees understand that all forms of discrimination and harassment are unacceptable. These actions are not compatible with the standards of this organization and violate the law.”
Policy statements clearly set out steps of how the organization will achieve each goal. "We will provide training and education to ensure everyone is aware of their rights and responsibilities."
Policy goals, objectives, and organizational roles and responsibilities be explicitly stated. "All persons are expected to uphold and abide by this policy. Supervisors have additional responsibilities to immediately act on observation or allegations of harassment or discrimination."
Policy clearly outlines the mechanisms by which the organization will deal with any potential complaints. "The following actions will be taken if an individual does not follow this policy."

* Non-discrimination policy principles and examples from the 519 Church Street Community Centre: Creating Authentic Spaces Toolkit (http://www.the519.org/media/download/2392)

C.2 Sample Inclusion Policy Statement


Inclusion policies support affirming services in all programs and services an organization provides, and also informs individual behaviour within an organization. Below is an example of an organization's inclusion policy statement.

Inclusion statement
(Insert your organization’s name here) is committed to providing a safe and inclusive environment for all employees, volunteers and children, youth and families receiving services. As an organization, we are committed to including all people regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or expression and to respecting everyone’s sexual orientation, gender identity and expression. We are committed to creating an organizational environment that recognizes the dignity and worth of each person. We are committed to maintaining privacy and confidentiality. We are committed to respecting the diverse social and cultural backgrounds of each person. We are committed to values of respect, integrity, and honesty. As an organization we are committed to these basic principles so that everyone can thrive and reach their fullest potential.

Policy statement
This organization believes that all people have the right to access services regardless of their sexual orientation, gender identity and expression. The organization strives to remove barriers based on sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, and we work to create an inclusive environment. The organization will ensure that all transgender and gender non-conforming people are treated with dignity. This policy is applicable to all management, staff, board members, volunteers, and children, youth and families receiving services.

The organization encourages all people regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or expression to participate fully and to access our services, employment, governance structures, and volunteer opportunities. We will make every effort to see that our structures, policies, and systems reflect the entire community and promote equitable access for all.

This policy is intended to act as a positive force for equity and the elimination of all discriminatory behaviour. Board members, staff, and service users will refer back to the Ontario Human Rights Code for areas of discrepancy or concern.

Scope of this policy
This policy applies to all of our organization's employees, contractors, volunteers, students, community members/participants, board of directors, and visitors.


*Sample inclusion policy statement from the 519 Church Street Community Centre: Creating Authentic Spaces Toolkit (http://www.the519.org/media/download/2392)

C.3 Sample Washroom Signage Policy: The 519


Policy Overview Statement
The 519 is committed to promoting respect, inclusivity and equality for all program users, staff, volunteers and members of the public. As a community centre serving a diverse community, we endeavour to provide a space that is welcoming to everyone, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, family make-up or ability. In order to extend this welcoming and affirming nature to our washroom facilities, we have enacted the following Washroom Policy in order to provide for a variety of abilities, uses and gender expressions.

Scope of Policy
This policy applies to all employees, volunteers, program participants and visitors to The Centre.

Gendered Washrooms
The Centre offers traditional men-only and women-only washrooms on the second and third floors, and individuals may use the washroom of the gender in which they identify. Individuals who self-identify as male may use the 'Men's Washroom' and individuals who self-identify as female may use the 'Women's Washroom'. Self-identity is the only criteria to determine which washroom a person uses.

All-gender Washrooms
We acknowledge the fact that there are many individuals using The 519 who will benefit from "All-Gender Washrooms". These would allow for a father and his daughter, or a mother and her son, to enter the same washroom together. "All-Gender washrooms" will also benefit those whose gender identity or gender expression is more complex than simply "male" or "female". For individuals who fall outside the gender binary, access to washrooms can be a constant source of frustration. To support these families and individuals, and to recognize the diversity within our communities, The 519's first floor multi-stall washrooms are designated "All-Gender Washrooms". They are not labelled for men or for women exclusively. Any person may use these facilities.

Accessibility
One washroom on each floor of The Centre has been designed with a variety of accessibility needs in mind. These washrooms are single-use spaces with door-opening technology, enough space to manoeuvre mobility devices and in some cases, a change table. Accessible washrooms provide additional privacy to the user(s) and allow for families and individuals requiring the assistance of a support person the space they require to comfortably use the facility.

Signage
Signage shall be placed on each washroom designating if the washroom is a “Men’s” or “Women’s” or “All-Gender” washroom. Signage for the “All-Gender Washroom” shall provide direction to the nearest gendered washroom and vice versa.

Washroom Signage shall not utilize images of people, so as to avoid gender stereotyping, but shall instead indicate which fixtures exist inside the washroom (i.e., toilet, sink, urinal, change table, etc.). All signage will include Braille.

* Sample washroom signage policy from The 519
http://www.the519.org/policies

C. Exemples de politiques affirmatives à l’égard des personnes LGBT2SQ

C.1 Principes de la création de politiques de non-discrimination


Les tableaux ci-dessous présentent des exemples de principes qu’un organisme peut envisager lors de l’élaboration d’une politique de non-discrimination. Le processus d’élaboration d’une telle politique bénéficiera de l’apport du personnel, des bénévoles, des jeunes, des fournisseurs de soins et des partenaires communautaires, ainsi que des personnes de toutes orientations sexuelles et identités de genres.

Évaluez votre organisme selon l’échelle suivante :

Principes des politiques Exemple Évaluez votre organisme
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Changements à apporter
La politique définit clairement l’engagement de votre organisme à créer des environnements inclusifs et affirmatifs. « L’organisme [XXXXXX] est déterminé à créer des stratégies relatives au harcèlement et à la discrimination. »
La politique définit clairement les objectifs de l’organisme dans l’élaboration de la politique. « Le but de cette politique est d’assurer que tous les clients et employés comprennent que toutes les formes de discrimination et de harcèlement sont inacceptables. De tels actes sont incompatibles avec les normes de cet organisme et enfreignent la loi. »
Les énoncés politiques définissent clairement les étapes que suivra l’organisme pour atteindre chacun des buts. « Nous dispenserons la formation et l’éducation nécessaires pour que tous soient au courant de leurs droits et responsabilités. »
Les buts et les objectifs de la politique et les rôles et responsabilités organisationnels sont énoncés de façon explicite. « Toutes les personnes doivent respecter cette politique et s’y conformer. Les superviseurs ont en outre la responsabilité de prendre immédiatement les mesures qui s’imposent en cas d’observation ou d’allégations de harcèlement ou de discrimination. »
La politique décrit clairement les mécanismes selon lesquels l’organisme fera le suivi de toute plainte éventuelle. « Les mesures suivantes seront prises lorsqu’une personne ne respectera pas cette politique. »

* Les principes de politiques de non-discrimination et les exemples sont tirés de The 519 : Creating Authentic Spaces Toolkit (http://www.the519.org/media/download/2392)

C.2 Exemple d’énoncé d’une politique d’inclusion


Les politiques d’inclusion appuient les services affirmatifs dans tous les programmes et services que fournit un organisme et documentent le comportement des personnes au sein d’un organisme. L’encadré ci-dessous est un exemple d’énoncé de politique d’inclusion.

Énoncé d’inclusion
(Insérer le nom de l’organisme ici) est déterminé à fournir un environnement sûr et inclusif à tous ses employées et bénévoles, ainsi qu’aux enfants, aux jeunes et aux familles qui bénéficient de ses services. En tant qu’organisme, nous sommes déterminés à inclure toutes les personnes, sans égard à leur orientation sexuelle, à leur identité ou expression de genre, et à respecter l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité et l’expression de genre de chacun. Nous sommes déterminés à créer un environnement organisationnel qui reconnaît la dignité et la valeur de toutes les personnes. Nous sommes déterminés à protéger la vie privée et la confidentialité. Nous sommes déterminés à respecter le contexte socio-culturel diversifié de chaque personne. Nous nous vouons aux valeurs de respect, d’intégrité et d’honnêteté. En tant qu’organisme, nous souscrivons à ces principes fondamentaux, de sorte que chacun puisse prospérer et atteindre son plein potentiel.

Énoncé politique
Le présent organisme croit que tous ont le droit d’accéder aux services, peu importe leur orientation sexuelle, identité et expression de genre. L’organisme s’efforce d’éliminer les obstacles fondés sur l’orientation sexuelle, identité et l’expression de genre, et nous œuvrons pour créer un environnement inclusif. L’organisme veillera à ce que toutes les personnes transgenres et au genre non conforme soient traitées avec dignité. Cette politique s’applique à tous les cadres, employés, membres des conseils, bénévoles, ainsi qu’aux enfants, aux jeunes et aux familles recevant des services.

L’organisme encourage toutes les personnes, peu importe leur orientation sexuelle, l’identité ou l’expression de genre, à participer pleinement et à accéder à nos services, emplois, structures de gouvernance et occasions de bénévolat. Nous ferons tous les efforts nécessaires pour que nos structures, politiques et systèmes reflètent l’ensemble de la collectivité et soient en faveur de l’accès équitable pour tous.

La présente politique a pour but d’agir en tant que force positive en faveur de l’équité et de l’élimination de tout comportement discriminatoire. Les membres des conseils, le personnel et les bénéficiaires de services doivent consulter le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario en cas de divergence ou de préoccupation.

Champ d’application de cette politique
La présente politique s’applique à tous les employés de l’organisme, ses fournisseurs et bénévoles, aux étudiants, aux membres et participants de la communauté, au conseil d’administration et aux visiteurs.


*Exemple d’énoncé de politique d’inclusion tiré de The 519 : Creating Authentic Spaces Toolkit (http://www.the519.org/media/download/2392)

C.3 Exemple de politique d’affichage dans les toilettes : The 519


Énoncé de Présentation de la Politique
The 519 est déterminé à promouvoir le respect, l’inclusivité et l’égalité de tous les bénéficiaires du programme, du personnel, des bénévoles et des membres du public. En tant que centre communautaire desservant une collectivité diversifiée, nous nous engageons à offrir un espace accueillant pour tous, peu importe l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité de genre, la composition ou la capacité de la famille. Afin d’offrir cet espace accueillant et affirmatif dans nos toilettes, nous avons adopté la politique ci-dessous pour offrir une variété de capacités, d’utilisations et d’expressions de genres.

Champ d’application de la Politique
La présente politique s’applique à tous les employés, bénévoles, participants aux programmes et visiteurs du Centre.

Toilettes Genrées
Le Centre offre des toilettes pour hommes ou femmes seulement au deuxième et au troisième étages et les clients peuvent utiliser les toilettes du genre auquel ils s’identifient. Les personnes qui s’identifient en tant qu’homme peuvent utiliser les « toilettes pour hommes » et celles qui s’identifient en tant que femmes peuvent utiliser les « toilettes pour femmes ». L’identité de chacun est le seul critère qui détermine les toilettes qu’une personne utilise.

Toilettes Pour Tous Les Genres
Nous reconnaissons le fait que de nombreuses personnes utilisant The 519 bénéficieront des « toilettes pour tous les genres ». Cela permettrait à un père et à sa fille ou à une mère et à son fils d’entrer ensemble dans les mêmes toilettes. Les « toilettes pour tous les genres » sont aussi à l’avantage de ceux dont l’identité ou l’expression de genre est plus complexe que tout simplement « homme » ou « femme ». Pour les personnes qui n’entrent pas dans le binarisme de genre, l’accès aux toilettes peut être une source constante de frustration. Pour appuyer ces familles et ces personnes, et pour reconnaître la diversité qui existe au sein de nos communautés, les toilettes à plusieurs compartiments du premier étage de 519 sont conçues en tant que « toilettes pour tous les genres ». Elles ne sont pas identifiées comme étant pour hommes ou pour femmes seulement. Tout le monde peut les utiliser.

Accessibilité
À tous les étages du centre, une toilette a été conçue en fonction de divers besoins en matière d’accessibilité. Ces toilettes sont des espaces à utilisation unique, avec technologie d’ouverture des portes, suffisamment d’espace pour manœuvrer les dispositifs de mobilité et, dans certains cas, une table à langer. Les toilettes accessibles offre une plus grande intimité aux utilisateurs et donnent aux familles et aux personnes qui ont besoin d’aide l’espace dont elles ont besoin pour les utiliser confortablement.

Affichage
Des affiches doivent être apposées sur chacune des toilettes, les désignant comme toilettes pour « hommes », ou pour « femmes » ou pour « tous les genres ». Les affiches des toilettes pour « tous les genres » doivent indiquer où se trouvent les toilettes genrées les plus proches et vice versa.

Les affiches placées dans les toilettes ne doivent pas contenir d’images de personnes, de manière à éviter les stéréotypes de genres, mais doivent au contraire indiquer les installations qui existent à l’intérieur (p. ex. toilette, lavabo, urinoir, table à langer, etc.). Les affiches doivent aussi être en braille.

* Exemple de politique d’affichage dans les toilettes tirée The 519 (http://www.the519.org/policies)