Affirming Programs and Activities for LGBT2SQ Children and Youth

Tailored programs for LGBT2SQ children and youth promote peer and community connections, build identity and positive self-regard, and provide an opportunity for fun social events. Programs that are not specific to LGBT2SQ children and youth, but that support their presence and actively affirm their rights and dignity, can also help LGBT2SQ children and youth feel they do not have to keep their identity a secret.77 In northern, remote, and rural communities, child welfare workers can be creative and collaborate with other community organizations and agencies to ensure children and youth have access to affirming programs and activities.

Some agencies have established LGBT2SQ peer support or social/recreational groups. These groups may include allies, be offered in partnership with other community organizations, and include LGBT2SQ children and youth who are not in the child welfare system. Sponsoring or participating in Pride events (e.g., LGBT2SQ Pride, Trans Pride) are also important ways to affirm LGBT2SQ children and youth. If peer support and social groups for LGBT2SQ children and youth are not available, child welfare workers, as allies, may wish to assist in developing them.

It is important that child welfare organizations collaborate with other identity-based organizations, for example, Indigenous organizations that provide culture-based and holistic services. Two-Spirit or LGBTQ Indigenous children and youth can be referred to a local Indigenous Friendship Centreix to access culturally-based services and programming, or be provided with information about the Native Youth Sexual Health Network, which is an organization led by and for Indigenous youth that works across issues of sexual and reproductive health, rights, and justice.x

SOY – Supporting Our Youth

Located at Sherbourne Health Centre in Toronto, Supporting Our Youth (SOY) works to support the health and wellbeing of all queer and trans spectrum youth by running groups, programs, and events. For more information, visit http://www.soytoronto.org


Transcend Drop-In Trans Youth Group

The Transcend Drop-In Trans Youth Group is operated by gender diverse facilitators for gender diverse youth in Ottawa. Transcend Drop-In gives youth who identify as gender diverse or who are questioning and/or exploring their gender expression a chance to make friends, get support, work on projects, and have fun. The group meets on the last Monday of each month from 6 to 8 p.m. at Family Services Ottawa and eats together. Guest speakers are occasionally invited to the group. For more information on the Transcend Drop-In, visit:

http://familyservicesottawa.org/children-youth-and-families/around-the-rainbow/


El-Tawhid Juma Circle

The El-Tawhid Juma Circle (ETJC) is an LGBTQI2S affirming mosque in Toronto that is welcoming of everyone regardless of sexual orientation, gender, sexual identity, or faith background. Read more about them here: http://www.jumacircle.com


ix A listing of local Indigenous Friendship Centres is available at: http://www.ofifc.org/about-fc/centres/map.

x Further information on resources, programs and supports offered by the Native Youth Sexual Health Network is available at: http://www.nativeyouthsexualhealth.com.

Des activités et des programmes affirmatifs pour les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ

Les programmes conçus sur mesure pour les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ favorisent les liens avec les pairs et les communautés, renforcent l’identité, contribuent à une estime de soi positive, en plus d’être des occasions de tenir des activités sociales agréables. Les programmes qui ne sont pas conçus spécifiquement pour les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ, mais qui encouragent leur présence et qui affirment activement leurs droits ainsi que leur dignité, peuvent également aider les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ à sentir qu’ils n’ont pas besoin de cacher leur identité77. Dans les collectivités nordiques, éloignées et rurales, les préposées et préposés au bien-être de l’enfance peuvent être créatifs et collaborer avec d’autres organisations et organismes communautaires afin de veiller à ce que les enfants et les jeunes aient accès à des activités et des programmes affirmatifs.

Certains organismes ont formé des groupes de soutien ou de loisirs et sociaux pour les personnes LGBT2SQ. Ces groupes peuvent inclure des personnes alliées, être organisés en partenariat avec d’autres organismes communautaires et inclure des enfants et des jeunes LGBT2SQ qui ne sont pas pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance. Parrainer des événements de la fierté (p. ex. Fierté LGBT2SQ, Fierté trans) et y participer sont également des moyens importants d’affirmer les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ. S’il n’y a pas de groupes de soutien par les pairs ou de groupes sociaux pour les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ, les préposées et préposés au bien-être de l’enfance peuvent, en tant que personnes alliées, donner un coup de main pour en créer.

Il est important que les organismes de bien-être de l’enfance collaborent avec d’autres organisations fondées sur l’identité, par exemple, des organismes autochtones qui procurent des services culturels et holistiques. Les enfants et les jeunes autochtones bispirituels ou LGBTQ peuvent être orientés vers un centre d’amitié autochtone de la régionix afin d’avoir accès à des services et des programmes axés sur la culture ou d’obtenir de l’information sur le Native Youth Sexual Health Network, une organisation dirigée par et pour les jeunes autochtones qui traite des enjeux comme la santé sexuelle et reproductive, les droits et la justicex.

SOY – Supporting Our Youth

Situé au Sherbourne Health Centre à Toronto, l’organisme Supporting Our Youth (SOY) s’efforce de favoriser la santé et le bien-être de tous les jeunes dans le spectre queer et trans en dirigeant des groupes, des programmes et des événements. Visitez http://www.soytoronto.org/.


Le Transcend Drop-In Trans Youth Group

Le Transcend Drop-In Trans Youth Group est exploité par des animatrices et animateurs de diverses identités de genre pour des jeunes de diverses identités de genre à Ottawa. Transcend Drop-In donne aux jeunes qui s’identifient comme des personnes de diverses identités de genre ou qui questionnent et/ou explorent l’expression de leur genre la chance de se faire des amis, d’obtenir du soutien, de travailler à des projets et de s’amuser. Les membres du groupe se réunissent le dernier lundi du mois, de 18 à 20 h, à Services à la famille Ottawa et cassent la croûte ensemble. Des conférencières et conférenciers sont invités de temps à autre afin de s’adresser au groupe. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Transcend Drop-In, visitez :

http://familyservicesottawa.org/children-youth-and-families/around-the-rainbow/


El-Tawhid Juma Circle

Le El-Tawhid Juma Circle (ETJC) est une mosquée affirmative à l’égard des communautés LGBT2SQ située à Toronto qui accueille tout le monde sans égard à l’orientation sexuelle, à l’identité de genre ou à l’expression de genre ou aux antécédents confessionnels.

Pour lire davantage sur le sujet : http://www.jumacircle.com


ix Une liste des centres d’amitié autochtones est accessible à l’adresse suivante : http://www.ofifc.org/about-fc/centres/map.

x D’autres renseignements sur les ressources, les programmes et les soutiens offerts par le Native Youth Sexual Health Network sont accessibles à l’adresse suivante : http://www.nativeyouthsexualhealth.com.