Affirming Services

LGBT2SQ-affirming and inclusive services, placements, and organizations create conditions where children and youth may feel comfortable expressing themselves without fear of rejection, ridicule, disrespect, or invisibility. Inclusive environments in the child welfare system can help LGBT2SQ children and youth feel safe and respected, and reduce the potential that they may experience the risks and challenges outlined in the previous section. LGBT2SQ-affirming and inclusive services can help children and youth develop a positive sense of self, build their resilience, and make trusted connections that will be important throughout their life.

Every individual has an important role to play in creating inclusive and affirming services in the child welfare system, and supporting LGBT2SQ children and youth to be safe, and reach their full potential:

Affirming and inclusive services promote resiliency in children and youth, which research indicates improves future outcomes.60 Resiliency refers to a child or youth's ability to bounce back from tough situations and thrive.61 Promoting resiliency can decrease the likelihood of a child or youth feeling isolated and help build skills to recover from difficulties they encounter. Introducing even a few positive elements into a child or youth's life (e.g., family supports, supportive social environments) can help them bounce back, flourish, and reach their full potential.62

To be resilient, LGBT2SQ children and youth need adults in their lives who respect their sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression. The single most common factor for children and youth who are resilient is having at least one stable and committed relationship with a supportive parent, caregiver, or other adult.63

It is important to understand that resiliency in Two-Spirit and Indigenous LGBTQ children and youth will look different than in non-Indigenous children and youth. Building resiliency within Two-Spirit and Indigenous LGBTQ children and youth is dependent on access to culture and ceremony, as well as the opportunity for them to build a sense of belonging with their community. To increase resiliency in Two- Spirit and Indigenous LGBTQ children and youth, it is crucial to ensure they have access to holistic supports that affirm their overlapping and intersecting identities. The importance of holistic, community-based supports to building resiliency also applies to other populations of LGBTQ children and youth (e.g., Black and racialized children and youth).

This part of the guide provides tips and resources that may be considered by families, caregivers, and child protection and residential services workers to develop, promote, and create LGBT2SQ affirming and inclusive practices. Part III covers the following topics:

Five/Fourteen

Five/Fourteen, an LGBTQ-focused foster care agency, is based in Windsor with locations in other cities across Ontario and is dedicated to providing services and support to LGBTQ and gender diverse youth in foster care. It draws its name from both the anniversary of the decriminalization of homosexual acts in Canada, as well as the date of Ontario’s Children and Youth in Care Day, both of which fall on May 14.

For more information please visit: http://www.fostering.ca/

Des services affirmatifs

Les services, les placements et les organisations qui affirment et qui incluent les communautés LGBT2SQ créent des conditions dans lesquelles les enfants et les jeunes peuvent se sentir à l’aise de s’exprimer sans craindre qu’on les rejette, qu’on les ridiculise, qu’on leur manque de respect ou qu’on les ignore. Les environnements inclusifs dans le système de bien-être de l’enfance peuvent aider les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ à se sentir en sécurité et respectés et à diminuer la possibilité qu’ils connaissent les risques et les difficultés énoncés dans la section précédente. Les services qui affirment et qui incluent les communautés LGBT2SQ peuvent aider les enfants et les jeunes à acquérir une conscience de soi positive, à accroître leur résilience et à tisser des liens de confiance qui seront importants tout au long de leurs vies.

Chaque personne a un rôle important à jouer pour créer des services inclusifs et affirmatifs dans le système de bien-être de l’enfance et pour aider les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ à être en sécurité et à donner leur pleine mesure :

Les services affirmatifs et inclusifs favorisent la résilience des enfants et des jeunes qui, selon la recherche, améliore les résultats futurs60. La résilience fait référence à la capacité de l’enfant ou du jeune de rebondir après des situations difficiles et de s’épanouir61. Favoriser la résilience peut diminuer la possibilité qu’un enfant ou un jeune se sente isolé et aide à acquérir les capacités nécessaires pour se remettre très vite des difficultés qu’il éprouve. L’introduction de seulement quelques éléments positifs dans la vie d’un enfant ou d’un jeune (p. ex. des soutiens familiaux, des environnements sociaux positifs) peut l’aider à rebondir, à s’épanouir et à donner sa pleine mesure62.

Pour être résilients, les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ ont besoin d’avoir dans leur vie des adultes qui respectent leur orientation sexuelle, leur identité de genre ainsi que leur expression de genre. Le facteur le plus important pour les enfants et les jeunes qui sont résilients est la présence d’au moins une relation stable et fidèle avec un parent, un fournisseur de soins ou un autre adulte positif63.

Il est important de comprendre que la résilience chez les enfants et les jeunes autochtones bispirituels et LGBTQ ne prendra pas la même forme que chez les enfants et les jeunes non autochtones. Pour accroître leur résilience, les enfants et les jeunes autochtones bispirituels et LGBTQ doivent avoir accès à la culture et aux cérémonies et doivent pouvoir acquérir un sentiment d’appartenance à leur communauté. Il est impératif qu’ils aient accès à des soutiens holistiques qui affirment leurs identités qui se chevauchent et qui s’intersectent. L’importance des soutiens communautaires holistiques pour accroître la résilience s’applique aussi aux autres populations d’enfants et de jeunes LGBTQ (p. ex. les enfants et les jeunes noirs et racialisés).

Cette partie du guide contient des conseils et des ressources que les familles, les fournisseurs de soins et les préposées ou préposés à la protection de l’enfance et aux services en établissement peuvent consulter afin de concevoir, de promouvoir et de créer des pratiques affirmatives et inclusives pour les personnes LGBT2SQ. La partie III aborde les sujets suivants :

Five/Fourteen

Five/Fourteen, un organisme de placement en famille d’accueil axé sur les enfants et les jeunes LGBTQ au Canada, est installé à Windsor et se consacre à offrir des services et des soutiens aux jeunes LGBTQ et de diverses identités de genre qui sont dans des familles d’accueil. Il doit son nom à l’anniversaire de la décriminalisation des actes homosexuels au pays ainsi qu’à la date du Jour des enfants et des jeunes pris en charge de l’Ontario, qui tombent tous les deux le 14 mai.

Plus de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter : http://www.fostering.ca/