Creating Affirming Environments and Physical Spaces

All children and youth benefit from positive spaces in which gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, and all forms of diversity are supported, made welcome, and promoted in visible ways. It is important to have visible cues in the environment where LGBT2SQ children and youth can see themselves reflected.

Positive spaces reflect a commitment to welcome and include all members of the community and to create safe and affirming environments that are free of discrimination and harassment for all people.78

There are different ways to create a positive and affirming organizational environment:

Positive space brings visibility and support to LGBT2SQ children, youth, and families involved with the child welfare system. Creating a positive space is about intentionally including positive markers and challenging the patterns of silence that continue to marginalize LGBT2SQ people, even in environments with anti-discriminatory and inclusive policies.79

Sample LGBT2SQ Inclusivity Statement

“We are committed to anti-oppressive practice in which we challenge the impacts of power and privilege, eliminate barriers, and are inclusive of the broad range of diversity in our community.”

- Durham Children's Aid Society Website


Positive Space Campaign in Action

The Positive Space Campaign at George Brown College in Toronto is a reflection of the organization’s commitment to welcome and include all members of the community and to create a college community that is free of discrimination and harassment based on gender and sexual identity. The Positive Space Campaign brings visibility and support to lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, Two-Spirit, and queer and questioning communities at George Brown College. Trained Resource Persons display the Positive Space Logo at the entrance of their work area, indicating that they are queer-positive and able to provide information and referrals.

https://www.georgebrown.ca/positivespace/

Créer des environnements et des espaces physiques affirmatifs

Tous les enfants et les jeunes bénéficient d’espaces positifs dans lesquels l’identité et l’expression de genre, l’orientation sexuelle et toutes les formes de diversité sont appuyées, bien accueillies et promues de façon visible. Il est important d’avoir des repères visibles dans l’environnement, pour que les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ puissent se reconnaître.

Les espaces positifs reflètent l’engagement à accueillir et à inclure tous les membres de la collectivité et à créer des environnements sûrs, affirmatifs, exempts de discrimination et de harcèlement pour tous.78

Il y a plusieurs façons de créer un environnement organisationnel positif et affirmatif.

Un espace positif donne de la visibilité et appuie les enfants, les jeunes et les familles LGBT2SQ œuvrant dans les services de bien-être de l’enfance. Créer un espace positif, c’est inclure intentionnellement des marqueurs positifs et remettre en question les tendances au silence qui continuent de marginaliser les LGBT2SQ, même dans des environnements ayant adopté des politiques de non-discrimination et inclusives.79

Exemple d’énoncé en matière de pratique anti-oppressive vis-à-vis des LGBT2SQ

Nous souscrivons au principe de l’intégration de la pratique anti-oppressive pour réduire les effets de l’exercice du pouvoir et des privilèges, éliminer les obstacles et embrasser les multiples formes de la diversité dans notre collectivité.

—Site Web de la Société d’aide à l’enfance de Durham


La campagne Espace positif en action

La campagne Espace positif du George Brown College de Toronto reflète l’engagement de l’organisme à accueillir et à inclure tous les membres de la collectivité et à créer une communauté collégiale exempte de discrimination et de harcèlement fondés sur le genre et l’identité sexuelle. La campagne Espace positif accorde soutien et visibilité aux communautés lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles, trans, bispirituelles et allosexuelles et en questionnement du George Brown College. Des personnes-ressources formées affichent le logo Espace positif à l’entrée de leur lieu de travail, indiquant qu’elles sont favorables à la cause des allosexuels et capables de fournir des renseignements et des contacts.

https://www.georgebrown.ca/positivespace/