Key Concepts

The previous section provided some definitions of LGBT2SQ identities. This section provides information on some additional key concepts that are important to understand before moving to the sections that follow.

Intersectionality

“Intersectionality” is a concept first defined by Kimberlé Crenshaw16 that describes how people are shaped by their many identities, including their sex/ assigned sex, race, ethnicity, language, ability, faith, age, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, and gender identity, and the ways in which these identities intersect. Some examples of intersecting identities include a gay man of colour or a cisgender woman with a disability.

Together, these identities can result in unique and distinct experiences for an individual or group that may create barriers or opportunities.

Understanding intersectionality is central to providing holistic supports and services to children and youth impacted by the risks and challenges associated with their gender identity, gender expression, and/or sexual orientation. Indigenous, Black and racialized LGBT2SQ children and youth need access to holistic supports and services that distinctly affirm and support their identities as Indigenous/Two-Spirit, Black, racialized, and LGBT2SQ. At all stages of service delivery, service providers should consider whether the child or youth has access to all of the communities with which they identify, including cultural and faith-based communities. Service providers and caregivers should also consider intersections with a child or youth’s ability-related identities. The availability or absence of holistic supports and services that relate to multiple dimensions of a child or youth’s identity can impact all other areas of their life.

“Many CAS staff understand very little about the needs of LGBT2SQ youth, including the very basics such as letting trans youth wear whatever clothing they want.”
— Society Staff


“… colonization has greatly impacted the status and position of Two-Spirit people by suppressing Two-Spirit traditions and roles. With the forced change in gender construction over the last four hundred years, Two-Spirit people were alienated and persecuted for their practices, which ultimately resulted in the incomplete erasure of their teachings, practices, and roles and the emergence of homophobia and transphobia in Indigenous societies. Two-Spirit people continue to grapple with unique challenges that are shaped by their intertwining experiences of race, gender, and sexuality.”

Native Youth Sexual Health Network and the Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (2015)

For further information, please visit the Native Youth Sexual Health Network at: http://www.nativeyouthsexualhealth.com/, or the Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres at: http://www.ofifc.org/


Understanding that individuals face different levels of risk and different challenges will contribute to policies, programs, and services that are inclusive, reflect the diversity of children and youth in the child welfare system, and better meet their needs. These are also critical considerations in developing policies, programs and services that respond to the complex and layered nature of systemic discrimination. Some individuals are at higher risk of discrimination because they face multiple prejudices and stereotypes based on their particular set of intersecting identities. In addition to discriminatory experiences based on their gender and sexual identities, LGBT2SQ children and youth who are, for example, from racialized, Black or Indigenous communities, may also experience inequitable treatment based on those identities.

Discrimination

Discrimination is the act of treating an individual or a group of people unequally and generally arises from negative attitudes, fear or hatred, and stereotypical assumptions and biases.17 LGBT2SQ children and youth may face discrimination in care systems if they receive inequitable treatment due to their sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression. Systemic discrimination occurs when an organization creates or maintains inequity on the basis of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, and/or gender expression (e.g., not allowing a gay youth the same dating rights as a heterosexual youth, treating a trans identity as a mental health problem, prohibiting same sex and/or same gender couples from adopting a child). Discrimination can be the result of “doing things the way they’ve always been done,” without considering how they impact particular groups differently. It can be direct and easy to detect, or subtle and hidden, but still harmful either way.

What are microaggressions?

Microaggressions are the everyday occurrences of subtle and often unintentional discrimination that people who experience marginalization encounter throughout their lives (Egale, 2017).

Marginalized communities, including LGBT2SQ children and youth, experience microaggressions every day. LGBT2SQ communities of colour, LGBT2SQ people with disabilities, and Indigenous LGBTQ and Two-Spirit persons are more likely to experience microaggressions. Examples of microaggressions include: talking slowly and simply to a person with a physical disability (who is not cognitively impaired) or statements such as “I am not homophobic—I have gay friends.”

The combined impact of microaggressions can take a significant toll on the health and wellbeing of LGBT2SQ children and youth.


Discrimination can operate on multiple levels and so must be addressed at each of these levels:

In their own words: engaging with LGBT2SQ Indigenous Youth

As part of the development of this guide, the Association of Native Child and Family Service Agencies of Ontario (ANCFSAO) hosted a youth forum at Native Child and Family Services of Toronto (NCFST). Youth were invited to share their experiences and need for culturally appropriate services that affirm and are inclusive of their sexual and gender identities.

This is what they said:

  • Youth do not want to feel like they have to choose between their culture and their sexual and gender identities when receiving child welfare services.
    • Services should not separate gender identity and sexual orientation from cultural identity. This means that services specifically targeting Two-Spirit and Indigenous LGBTQ youth must be made available, and provided by those who have in-depth knowledge of Two-Spirit and Indigenous cultures.
  • Youth need culturally-appropriate services and culturally-competent and knowledgeable service providers.
    • Youth want resources and services that are responsive to their lived experiences, and that are delivered in a non-judgmental way. This includes wraparound, integrated, and culturally-appropriate services. These services should not merely be “affirming” but rather “inclusive.”
  • Youth feel that respect and the concept of the ally go hand-in-hand.
    • If service providers wish to be considered allies, they need to respect youth identities and expression.

Differences in the treatment of LGBT2SQ children and youth, including those in the child welfare system, stem fundamentally from the perspective that the behaviours and values of those who are heterosexual and cisgender are the norm. These assumptions, often unconscious, can result in services that exclude the experiences and needs of those who identify as LGBT2SQ (e.g., assumption that a family includes two parents of different sexes and/or genders).

What is misgendering?

Misgendering is a cissexist practice that involves intentionally or unintentionally using pronouns, prefixes, or group addresses that do not reflect an individual’s gender identity (Egale, 2017).

For example, using “guys” to address a group of people who do not all identify as men or using “she/her/hers” for an individual who uses gender neutral or they/them/theirs pronouns are forms of misgendering.


Respectful Use of Names

It is important to ask when transgender, genderqueer, and/or Two-Spirit children or youth would like to be referred to by their chosen name(s). Not all people and/or spaces are considered to be safe by transgender, genderqueer, and/or Two-Spirit children and youth to openly express their gender identity. As a result, transgender, genderqueer, and/or Two-Spirit children and youth may wish to limit the use of their chosen name(s) to select spaces and in front of specific people.

What is deadnaming?

Deadnaming involves calling a transgender, genderqueer, or Two-Spirit person by a birth-name(s), legal name(s), or any former name(s) that they do not use. Using a chosen name is one way transgender, genderqueer, and/or Two-Spirit children or youth may express and affirm their gender identity.

Intentionally or unintentionally calling someone by their deadname when they have asked to be called by their chosen name(s) is a form of transphobia. Since you may not know when a child or youth identifies as transgender, genderqueer, and/or Two-Spirit, it is important to ask all children and youth what name(s) they would like to be called.

Les principales notions

La section précédente renferme quelques définitions des identités des personnes LGBT2SQ. La présente section contient des renseignements sur d’autres notions clés qu’il est important de comprendre avant de passer aux sections suivantes.

L’intersectionalité

L’« intersectionalité » est une notion qui a été définie pour la première fois par Kimberlé Crenshaw16 et qui décrit comment les personnes sont façonnées par leurs nombreuses identités, y compris leur sexe/sexe assigné, leur race, leur ethnicité, leur langue, leur capacité, leur confession religieuse, leur âge, leur statut socioéconomique, leur orientation sexuelle et leur identité de genre, et qui montre comment ces identités se croisent. Un homme gai de couleur ou une femme cisgenre handicapée sont des exemples d’identités qui s’intersectent.

Ensemble, ces identités peuvent amener une personne ou un groupe à vivre des expériences uniques et distinctes qui sont susceptibles de créer des obstacles ou des possibilités.

Il est impératif de comprendre l’intersectionalité pour offrir des soutiens et des services holistiques aux enfants et aux jeunes qui sont touchés par les risques et les défis associés à leur identité de genre, leur expression de genre et/ou leur orientation sexuelle. Les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ autochtones, noirs et racilalisés ont besoin d’avoir accès à des soutiens et des services holistiques qui affirment et qui soutiennent distinctement leurs identités autochtone/bispirituelle, noire, racialisée et LGBT2SQ. À toutes les étapes de la prestation des services, les fournisseurs de services devraient se demander si l’enfant ou le jeune a accès à toutes les communautés auxquelles il s’identifie, y compris les communautés culturelles et confessionnelles. Les fournisseurs de services et les fournisseurs de soins devraient également tenir compte des intersections entre les identités qui sont liées aux capacités de l’enfant ou du jeune. La présence ou l’absence de soutiens et de services holistiques qui portent sur plusieurs dimensions de l’identité de l’enfant ou du jeune peut avoir une incidence sur tous les autres aspects de sa vie.

[Traduction] « … la colonisation a eu une grande incidence sur le statut et la position des personnes bispirituelles en réprimant les traditions et les rôles bispirituels. Devant le changement forcé sur le plan de la construction du genre au cours des quatre derniers siècles, les personnes bispirituelles ont été aliénées et persécutées en raison de leurs pratiques, ce qui a entraîné finalement l’effacement incomplet de leurs enseignements, de leurs pratiques et de leurs rôles ainsi que l’émergence de l’homophobie et de la transphobie dans les sociétés autochtones. Les personnes bispirituelles continuent de se débattre contre les défis uniques qui sont façonnés par leurs expériences inextricablement liées de la race, du genre et de la sexualité ».

Le Native Youth Sexual Health Network et l’Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (2015)

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le Native Youth Sexual Health Network à : http://www.nativeyouthsexualhealth.com/ ou l’Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres à : http://www.ofifc.org/

Comprendre que les personnes sont confrontées à des niveaux de risque différents et à des défis différents contribuera à la conception de politiques, de programmes et de services qui sont inclusifs, qui reflètent la diversité des enfants et des jeunes qui sont pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance et qui répondent mieux à leurs besoins. Ces considérations sont également cruciales lorsqu’il s’agit de concevoir des politiques, des programmes et des services qui luttent contre la nature complexe et multidimensionnelle de la discrimination systémique. Certaines personnes sont plus vulnérables à la discrimination parce qu’elles sont confrontées à plusieurs préjugés et stéréotypes fondés sur leur ensemble particulier d’identités qui s’intersectent. En plus des expériences discriminatoires fondées sur leur identité de genre et leur identité sexuelle, les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ qui proviennent, par exemple, de communautés racialisées, noires ou autochtones peuvent aussi être traités inéquitablement à cause de ces identités.

La discrimination

La discrimination est un acte qui se résume à traiter une personne ou un groupe de personnes inéquitablement. Elle est généralement associée à des attitudes négatives, à la peur ou à la haine ainsi qu’aux suppositions stéréotypées et aux préjugés17. Les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ peuvent subir de la discrimination dans les systèmes de soins s’ils reçoivent un traitement inéquitable en raison de leur orientation sexuelle, de leur identité de genre ou de leur expression de genre. Une discrimination systémique s’installe lorsqu’une organisation crée ou entretient une iniquité fondée sur le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité de genre et/ou l’expression de genre (p. ex. en n’accordant pas les mêmes droits de fréquentation à un jeune noir qu’à un jeune hétérosexuel, en traitant une identité trans comme un problème de santé mentale, en interdisant aux couples de même sexe et/ou genre d’adopter un enfant). La discrimination peut être la conséquence de « faire les choses comment on les a toujours faites » sans se demander si elles ont une incidence différente sur des groupes particuliers. Elle peut être directe et facile à détecter, ou subtile et dissimulée, mais elle demeure néfaste d’une manière ou d’une autre.

Qu’est-ce que les microaggressions?

Les microaggressions sont les manifestations quotidiennes d’une discrimination subtile et souvent non intentionnelle que les personnes marginalisées subissent tout au long de leur vie (Egale, 2017).

Les communautés marginalisées, y compris les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ, subissent des microaggressions chaque jour. Les communautés LGBT2SQ de couleur, les personnes LGBT2SQ handicapées et les personnes autochtones bispirituelles ou LGBT2SQ sont plus susceptibles de subir des microaggressions. Parmi les exemples de microaggressions : parler lentement et simplement à une personne handicapée (qui n’a pas de déficience cognitive) ou faire des déclarations comme « Je ne suis pas homophobe : j’ai des amis gais ».

L’effet combiné des microaggressions peut nuire considérablement à la santé et au bien-être des enfants et des jeunes LGBT2SQ.

Comme la discrimination peut se manifester sur plusieurs niveaux, il faut l’éliminer à chacun de ces niveaux :

Dans leurs propres mots : s’entretenir avec des jeunes autochtones LGBT2SQ

Dans la foulée de la conception du présent guide, l’Association of Native Child and Family Service Agencies of Ontario (ANCFSAO) a tenu un forum jeunesse au Native Child and Family Services of Toronto (NCFST). Des jeunes ont été invités à raconter leurs expériences et exprimer le besoin pour des services culturellement adaptés qui sont affirmatifs et inclusifs à l’égard de leur identité sexuelle et de leur identité de genre.

Voici ce qu’ils ont dit :

  • Les jeunes ne veulent pas sentir qu’ils doivent choisir entre leur culture, leur identité sexuelle et leur identité de genre lorsqu’ils reçoivent des services de bien-être de l’enfance.
    • Les services ne devraient pas séparer l’identité de genre et l’orientation sexuelle de l’identité culturelle. Cela signifie que des services qui ciblent spécialement les jeunes autochtones bispirituels et LGBT2SQ doivent être offerts et assurés par des personnes qui ont une connaissance approfondie des cultures bispirituelle et autochtone.
  • Les jeunes ont besoin de services culturellement adaptés et de fournisseurs de services culturellement compétents et expérimentés.
    • Les jeunes veulent des ressources et des services qui sont adaptés aux expériences qu’ils vivent, et qui sont offerts sans porter de jugements. Cela comprend des services enveloppants, intégrés et culturellement adaptés. Ces services ne devraient pas être simplement « affirmatifs », mais plutôt « inclusifs ».
  • Les jeunes considèrent que le respect et le concept de la personne alliée vont de pair.
    • Si les fournisseurs de services désirent devenir des alliés, ils doivent respecter les identités ainsi que l’expression du jeune.

Les différences sur le plan du traitement des enfants et des jeunes LGBT2SQ, y compris ceux qui sont pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance, émanent fondamentalement du point de vue selon lequel les comportements et les valeurs des personnes hétérosexuelles et cisgenres sont la norme. Ces suppositions, souvent inconscientes, peuvent se traduire par des services qui ne tiennent pas compte des expériences et des besoins des personnes qui s’identifient aux communautés LGBT2SQ (p. ex. la présomption qu’une famille comprend deux parents de sexes et/ou de genres différents).

Qu’est-ce que le mégenrage?

Le mégenrage est une pratique cissexiste qui consiste à employer, volontairement ou involontairement, des pronoms, des préfixes ou des désignations collectives qui ne reflètent pas l’identité de genre d’une personne (Egale, 2017).

Par exemple, employer l’expression « les gars » pour s’adresser à un groupe de personnes qui ne s’identifient pas toutes comme des hommes ou employer les pronoms « elle ou les siennes » pour une personne qui emploie des pronoms neutres sont des formes de mégenrage.


L’emploi respectueux des noms

Il est important de demander à quels moments les enfants ou les jeunes transgenres, genderqueers et/ou bispirituels aimeraient être désignés par le ou les noms qu’ils ont choisis. Les enfants et les jeunes transgenres, genderqueers et/ou bispirituels ne se sentent pas en sécurité avec toutes les personnes et/ou dans tous les espaces pour exprimer ouvertement leur identité de genre. Par conséquent, les enfants et les jeunes transgenres, genderqueers et/ou bispirituels pourront désirer limiter l’emploi du ou des noms qu’ils ont choisis à des endroits précis et devant des personnes en particulier.

Qu’est-ce que le morinommage?

Le morinommage consiste à appeler une personne transgenre, genderqueer ou bispirituelle par son ou ses noms d’origine, son ou ses noms légaux ou par n’importe quels noms antérieurs qu’elle n’emploie plus. En choisissant un nom, les enfants et les jeunes transgenres, genderqueers et/ou bispirituels peuvent exprimer et affirmer leur identité de genre.

Appeler volontairement ou involontairement une personne par son morinom quand elle a demandé qu’on l’appelle par le ou les noms qu’elle a choisis est une forme de transphobie. Comme vous ne le savez peut-être pas, lorsqu’un enfant ou un jeune s’identifie comme une personne transgenre, genderqueer et/ou bispirituelle, il est important de lui demander comment il aimerait qu’on l’appelle.