A Note On Language

The words we use to talk about and with LGBT2SQ children and youth are important. Choosing language that reflects respect for, and understanding of, their identities is one of the simplest ways to communicate support, and to create safer and affirming spaces for LGBT2SQ children and youth.

Some terms may be unfamiliar and confusing. While it is normal to have concerns about “getting it right,” asking an individual how they wish to be identified can help to show support for their identity and experiences, and is an important first step toward being an ally.

This information in this guide is current to the time of publishing. Please refer to the links provided for inquiries about the most up-to-date information.

Meet the Gender Unicorn6—a fun way to explore, understand, and explain the differences and interconnectedness of terms like gender identity, gender expression, sex assigned at birth, and sexual orientation:iv

The Gender Unicorn

Children and youth who identify as LGBT2SQ are not a homogeneous group. Sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression are not set at birth - they can change over time. Each child and youth is unique in how they identify. The following chart highlights identities that you will read about throughout the guide.7

iv Sexual orientation can sometimes be referred to as attraction.

IDENTITY WHAT IT USUALLY MEANS
Sex-related definitions

Sex/Assigned Sex

The classification of a person as male, female, or intersex based on biological characteristics, including chromosomes, hormones, external genitalia, and reproductive organs. The term “assigned sex” is used to acknowledge that sex is often a value determined by medical professionals and is commonly assigned to newborns based on visual assessment of external genitalia. Inclusion here of the recognized category of “intersex,” frequently overlooked in discussions of sex, serves as a reminder that even at the level of biology, sex is not a binary system.
Intersex A person whose chromosomal, hormonal, and/or anatomical sex characteristics fall outside the conventional classifications of male or female.
Sexual orientation-related definitions
Sexual Orientation A term that classifies a person’s potential for emotional, intellectual, spiritual, intimate, romantic, and/or sexual interest in other people, often based on their sex and/or gender. Sexual orientation is often referred to as attraction.
Lesbian A woman-identified person who experiences attraction towards other women.
Gay A person who experiences attraction to individuals of the same sex/assigned sex and/or gender identity. The word “gay” can be used to refer to attraction experienced by both men and women, or only men.
Bisexual A person who experiences attraction towards more than one sex/assigned sex or gender identity.
Pansexual A person who experiences attraction to individuals with diverse sexes/ assigned sexes, gender identities, and gender expressions.
Asexual An individual who may not experience sexual attraction or desire to engage in sexual activity.
Gender-related definitions
Gender8 Gender is based on the expectations and stereotypes about behaviours, actions, and roles linked to being a "man" or "woman" within a particular culture or society. The social norms related to gender can vary depending on the culture, and can change over time.
Gender Identity A person's internal and individual experience of gender. This could include an internal sense of being a man, woman, both, neither, or another gender entirely. A person's gender identity may or may not correspond with social expectations associated with the sex they were assigned at birth. Since gender identity is internal, it is not necessarily visible to others.
Gender Expression The way a person presents and communicates gender within a social context. Gender can be expressed through clothing, speech, body language, hairstyle, voice, and/or the emphasis or de-emphasis of bodily characteristics or behaviours, which are often associated with masculinity and femininity. The ways in which gender is expressed are culturally specific and may change over time.
Gender identity-related definitions
Trans The term trans is frequently used as an umbrella term for a variety of other terms, including transgender, transsexual, and can also refer to terms like genderqueer, agender, bigender, Two-Spirit, etc. Some people may identify with these or other specific terms, but not with the term trans. Similarly, some people may identify as trans, but not with other terms under the trans umbrella. At their simplest, each of these terms has commonalities with the term trans, and yet they are all unique in their specific reference to the context of, and specific relationships between, conceptions of gender identity and sex/assigned sex.
Transgender A person who does not identify (in full or partially) with the gender associated with their sex assigned at birth (sex/assigned sex).
Gender Diverse/ Gender Independent An umbrella term for gender identities and/or gender expressions that differ from cultural or societal expectations based on assigned sex. Individuals may identify and express themselves as “feminine men” or “masculine women,” or as androgynous, outside of the categories “boy/man” and “girl/woman.” People who are gender non-conforming may or may not identify as trans.
Gender Fluid The term gender fluid refers to the potential for change in ideas, experiences, and expressions of gender at an individual and/or societal level. This concept recognizes the potential for individual movement within a gender spectrum when it comes to self-presentation or expression. Some people may choose to identify as gender fluid.
Genderqueer A person whose gender identity and/or expression may not correspond with social and cultural gender expectations. Individuals who identify as genderqueer may move between gender identities, identify with multiple genders, or reject the gender binary or gender altogether.
Gender Creative9 A term sometimes used to refer to children or youth who identify and express their gender in ways that do not align with the social expectations associated with the sex assigned to them at birth (sex/assigned sex).
Cisgender The term used to describe individuals whose gender identity or expression aligns with those typically associated with the sex assigned to them at birth.
Gender identity and sexual orientation-related definitions
Two-Spirit10 The term Two-Spirit encompasses Indigenous cultures, spiritual beliefs, and values, as well as sexual orientation and gender identity. It is a term used by some, but not all, Indigenous people to describe their gender, sexual orientation, and/or sex and gender roles in Indigenous ways, using traditional terms and concepts. The Two-Spirit identity affirms the interrelatedness of all aspects of identity, including gender, sexuality, community, culture, and spirituality. For further information and resources on Two-Spirit communities, please visit: http://www.nativeyouthsexualhealth.com/twospiritdirectory.html
Queer A term used by some members of LGBT2SQ communities, as a symbol of pride and affirmation of diversity. It can be used by a community to encompass a broad spectrum of identities related to sex/assigned sex, gender identity, or sexual orientation, or by an individual to reflect the interrelatedness of these aspects of their identity. Queer was historically a derogatory term for difference, used in particular to insult LGBT2SQ people and communities. Although sometimes still used as a slur, the term has been reclaimed by many individuals within LGBT2SQ communities.
Questioning11 A term used to describe those who are in a process of discovery and exploration about their sexual orientation, gender identity, and/or gender expression.

Un mot sur le langage

Les mots que nous employons pour parler des enfants et des jeunes LGBT2SQ et pour discuter avec eux sont importants. Choisir un langage qui témoigne d’un respect et d’une compréhension de leurs identités est l’un des moyens les plus simples de communiquer notre appui ainsi que de créer des espaces sécuritaires et affirmatifs pour les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ.

Certains termes peuvent être nouveaux et déroutants. Bien qu’il soit normal de se demander comment faire pour « bien s’y prendre », demander à une personne comment elle aimerait être identifiée peut aider à montrer son soutien à l’égard de son identité et de ses expériences et c’est aussi une première étape importante pour devenir une personne alliée.

Voici la licorne du genre6 – un moyen amusant d’explorer, comprendre et expliquer les différences et l’interdépendance des expressions comme l’identité de genre, l’expression de genre, le sexe assigné à la naissance et l’orientation sexuelleiv :

La licorne du genre

Les enfants et les jeunes qui s’identifient comme des personnes LGBT2SQ ne forment pas un groupe homogène. L’orientation sexuelle, l’identité de genre et l’expression de genre ne sont pas établis à la naissance – ils peuvent changer au fil du temps. Chaque enfant ou jeune a sa propre façon de s’identifier. Le tableau suivant met en évidence les identités sur lesquelles vous allez lire tout au long du guide7.

IDENTITÉ SIGNIFICATION HABITUELLE
Définitions liées au sexe

Sexe/sexe assigné

La classification d’une personne en tant que personne de sexe masculin, de sexe féminin ou intersexuée selon les caractéristiques biologiques telles que les chromosomes, les hormones et les organes génitaux externes et reproducteurs. L’expression « sexe assigné » est employée afin de reconnaître que le sexe est souvent une valeur déterminée par les professionnels de la médecine et qu’il est couramment assigné aux nouveaux-nés après une évaluation visuelle des organes génitaux externes. Nous y avons ajouté la catégorie reconnue « intersexe », souvent négligée dans les discussions sur le sexe, pour rappeler que le sexe n’est pas un système binaire, même sur le plan de la biologie.
Intersexe/Intersexué Une personne dont les caractéristiques sexuelles chromosomiques, hormonales et/ou anatomiques ne correspondent pas aux catégories conventionnelles des hommes et des femmes.
Définitions liées à l’orientation sexuelle
Orientation sexuelle Une expression qui classifie la capacité d’une personne de développer pour d’autres personnes un intérêt émotionnel, intellectuel, spirituel, intime, romantique et/ou sexuel qui est souvent fondé sur le genre et/ou le sexe de ces personnes. L’orientation sexuelle est souvent désignée comme une attirance.
Lesbienne Une personne qui s’identifie comme une femme et qui est attirée par d’autres femmes.
Gai Une personne qui est attirée par des personnes du même sexe/sexe assigné et/ou de la même identité de genre. Le mot « gai » peut être employé pour faire référence à l’attirance ressentie par les hommes et les femmes, pas seulement par les hommes.
Bisexuel Une personne qui est attirée par plus d’un sexe/sexe assigné ou plus d’une identité de genre.
Pansexuel Une personne qui est attirée par des personnes de sexes/sexes assignés, d’identités de genre et d’expressions de genre variés.
Asexuel Une personne qui peut ne pas avoir d’attirance sexuelle ou de désir de se livrer à une activité sexuelle.
Définitions liées au genre
Genre8 Le genre est fondé sur les attentes et les stéréotypes à propos des comportements, actions et rôles liés au fait d’être un « homme » ou une « femme » dans une culture ou une société particulière. Les normes sociales sexospécifiques peuvent varier selon la culture et évoluer au fil du temps.
Identité de genre L’expérience intime et individuelle qu’a une personne de son genre. Cela pourrait inclure un sentiment intérieur d’être un homme, une femme, les deux, ni l’un ni l’autre ou d’un genre entièrement différent. L’identité d’une personne peut correspondre ou non aux attentes de la société liées au sexe qui lui a été assigné à la naissance. Comme l’identité de genre est intérieure, elle n’est pas nécessairement visible pour les autres.
Expression de genre La manière dont une personne présente et communique son genre dans un contexte social. Ce genre peut s’exprimer par l’habillement, le discours, le langage corporel, le style de coiffure ou la voix. Il peut également s’exprimer en mettant plus ou moins l’accent sur des caractéristiques corporelles ou des comportements qui sont souvent associés aux notions de masculinité et de féminité. Les manières d’exprimer un genre sont spécifiques à chaque culture et peuvent évoluer avec le temps.
Définitions liées à l’identité de genre
Trans Le terme trans est souvent employé comme un générique pour une foule d’autres termes, dont transgenre, transsexuel, et il peut aussi faire allusion à des termes comme genderqueer, agenre, bigenre, bispirituel. Certaines personnes peuvent s’identifier à ces termes ou à d’autres termes particuliers, mais pas au terme trans. Dans le même ordre d’idées, certaines personnes peuvent s’identifier comme des trans, mais pas à d’autres termes qui figurent sous le générique trans. Dans leur formule la plus simple, chacun de ces termes a des points communs avec le terme trans, mais ils sont pourtant tous uniques dans le sens où ils renvoient précisément au contexte et aux liens particuliers entre les notions de l’identité de genre et au sexe/sexe assigné.
Transgenre Une personne qui ne s’identifie pas (entièrement ou partiellement) au genre associé au sexe qui lui a été assigné à la naissance (sexe/sexe assigné).
De diverses identités de genre / indépendant dans l’expression du genre Terme générique employé pour indiquer les identités ou expressions de genre qui diffèrent des attentes culturelles ou sociétales compte tenu du sexe assigné. Les personnes peuvent s’identifier ou s’exprimer comme des « hommes féminins » ou des « femmes masculines » ou comme des androgynes, en dehors des catégories « garçon/homme » et « fille/femme ». Les personnes de genre non conforme peuvent s’identifier ou non comme des trans.
Au genre fluide L’expression « genre fluide » fait référence à la possibilité de changer sur le plan des idées, des expériences et des expressions de genre au niveau de la personne et/ou de la société. Cette notion reconnaît la possibilité d’un mouvement individuel à l’intérieur du spectre du genre lorsqu’il est question de se présenter ou de s’exprimer. Certaines personnes peuvent choisir de s’identifier comme des personnes au genre fluide.
Genderqueer/ de genre queer Une personne dont l’identité de genre et/ou l’expression de genre peut ne pas correspondre aux attentes sociales et culturelles à l’égard du genre. Les gens qui s’identifient comme des personnes de genre queer peuvent aller et venir entre les identités de genre, s’identifier à plusieurs genres ou rejeter le genre binaire ou le genre complètement.
Au genre créatif9 Une expression que l’on emploie parfois pour faire allusion aux enfants ou aux jeunes qui établissent et expriment leur genre d’une manière qui ne correspond pas aux attentes de la société qui sont associées au sexe qui leur a été assigné à la naissance (sexe/sexe assigné).
Cisgenre Le terme employé pour décrire les personnes dont l’identité ou l’expression de genre correspond à celles qui sont généralement associées au sexe qui leur a été assigné à la naissance.
Définitions liées à l’identité de genre et à l’orientation sexuelle
Bispirituel10 Le terme bispirituel englobe les cultures, les convictions spirituelles et les valeurs autochtones ainsi que l’orientation sexuelle et l’identité de genre. Il s’agit d’un terme employé par certaines personnes autochtones, mais pas toutes, pour décrire leur genre, leur orientation sexuelle et/ou leur rôle sexuel et de genre selon les façons de faire autochtones, à l’aide de termes et de concepts traditionnels. L’identité bispirituelle affirme l’interdépendance entre tous les aspects de l’identité, y compris le genre, la sexualité, la communauté, la culture et la spiritualité. Pour des plus amples renseignements et ressources sur les communautés bispirituelles, veuillez visiter le site suivant : http://www.nativeyouthsexualhealth.com/twospiritdirectory.html
Queer ou Allosexuel Un terme employé par certains membres des communautés LGBT2SQ, surtout par les jeunes, comme un symbole de fierté et d’affirmation de la diversité. Il peut être employé par une communauté pour englober un large spectre d’identités liées au sexe/sexe assigné, à l’identité de genre ou à l’orientation sexuelle ou par une personne pour refléter l’interdépendance des aspects de son identité. Sur le plan historique, le mot « queer » était un terme péjoratif servant à marquer une différence que l’on employait surtout pour insulter les personnes et les communautés LGBT2SQ. Bien qu’il soit encore employé comme une insinuation de temps à autre, le terme a été récupéré par de nombreuses personnes au sein des communautés LGBT2SQ.
En questionnement11 Une expression utilisée pour décrire les personnes qui s’emploient à découvrir et à explorer leur orientation sexuelle, leur identité de genre ou leur expression de genre.

iv L’orientation sexuelle peut parfois être désignée par le terme « attirance ».