Organizational Policies

Formal policies that support fair treatment and opportunity in services and practices, and that clearly set out the organization’s values, are the foundation of creating an inclusive organization.

Clear expectations can be included in the following80 (note that sample policies are contained in Appendix C of the guide):

  1. Organization's mission, vision, and values statements that communicate a commitment to non-discriminatory, anti-oppressive, and LGBT2SQ-affirming policies and practices.
  2. Policies or bylaws related to board composition and recruitment of families, caregivers, and volunteers that communicate that the organization expects itself to be reflective of all populations served, including LGBT2SQ communities.
  3. Policies related to ongoing training for all staff, caregivers, and volunteers on LGBT2SQ-affirming and inclusive services and organizational practices.
  4. Client/Service non-discrimination policy that prohibits service-related discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression (e.g., policy that LGBT2SQ children and youth receive care according to their self-identified sexual orientation, gender identity, and preferred gender expression).
  5. Employment non-discrimination policy that clearly prohibits discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in human resource practices, and requires recruitment, retention, and advancement of a diverse workforce that reflects the community, including diverse gender /sexual identities/expressions.
  6. Harassment and complaint procedures that are equipped to address potential discrimination based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation.

Examples of other policy areas include those related to organizational partnerships and referral relationships, client and community feedback, and anti-oppression training.

RESOURCES

Tools for creating a safe and affirming environment

Rainbow Health Ontario - Inclusive Washroom Signage

https://www.rainbowhealthontario.ca/resources/gender-neutral-washroom-signs/

Creating affirmative organizational policies

Resource: Creating Authentic Spaces: A Gender Identity and Gender Expression Toolkit to Support the Implementation of Institutional and Social Change

The 519 Church Street Community Centre is an organization in Toronto committed to the health, happiness, and full participation of LGBTQ communities. The 519, in consultation with the Ontario Human Rights Commission and members of Toronto's trans communities, developed the Creating Authentic Spaces: A Gender Identity and Gender Expression Toolkit to Support the Implementation of Institutional and Social Change to provide organizations with a greater understanding and step-by-step suggestions to create inclusive and affirming environments for everyone, regardless of their gender identity and/or gender expression. This toolkit includes many helpful resources on how to affirm difference, foster diversity, and cultivate inclusivity to strengthen an organization. Pages 70-77 of the toolkit provide tip sheets on practical steps on the following topics:

The toolkit is available at: http://www.the519.org/education-training/

Les politiques organisationnelles

Des politiques officielles à l’appui d’un traitement équitable et d’occasions en matière de services et de pratiques, et qui énoncent clairement les valeurs de l’organisme, sont à la base de la création d’un organisme inclusif. Il est possible d’intégrer des attentes claires dans les éléments suivants80 (des exemples de politiques sont présentés dans l’annexe C du guide).

  1. La mission de l’organisme, sa vision et les énoncés de ses valeurs montrant son engagement envers des pratiques et des politiques de non-discrimination, anti-oppressives et affirmatives en ce qui concerne les LGBT2SQ.
  2. Des politiques ou règlements relatifs à la composition du conseil et au recrutement des familles, des fournisseurs de soins et des bénévoles qui montrent que l’organisme s’attend à être le reflet de toutes les populations desservies, y compris les communautés LGBT2SQ.
  3. Des politiques relatives à la formation continue de tout le personnel, des fournisseurs de soins et bénévoles sur les pratiques organisationnelles et services inclusifs et affirmatifs des LGBT2SQ.
  4. Une politique de non-discrimination en matière de service à la clientèle qui interdit, dans la prestation des services, la discrimination fondée sur l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité et l’expression de genre (p. ex. une politique indiquant que les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ doivent recevoir des soins en fonction de l’orientation sexuelle et de l’identité de genre qu’ils ont identifiées et de leur expression de genre préférée).
  5. Une politique de non-discrimination en matière d’emploi qui interdit clairement la discrimination fondée sur l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité et l’expression de genre dans les pratiques relatives aux ressources humaines et exige le recrutement, la rétention et l’avancement d’une main-d’œuvre diversifiée reflétant la collectivité, y compris la diversité des genres, les identités et les expressions sexuelles.
  6. Des procédures de harcèlement et de plaintes permettant d’aborder toute question d’éventuelle discrimination fondée sur l’identité et l’expression de genre et l’orientation sexuelle.

Il y a d’autres exemples de domaines de politiques, notamment ceux liés aux partenariats organisationnels et aux relations en matière de référence, les rétroactions des clients et de la collectivité et la formation anti-oppression.

RESSOURCES : Outils pour la création d’un environnement sûr et affirmatif

Santé arc-en-ciel Ontario – Affichage inclusif pour les toilettes

https://www.rainbowhealthontario.ca/fr/resources/signalisation-pour-toilette/

Élaborer des politiques organisationnelles affirmatives

RESSOURCES : Créer des milieux authentiques : une boîte à outils sur l’identité et l’expression de genre pour aider à mettre en place des changements dans la société, les organisations et les institutions

Le centre communautaire The 519 de Toronto est un organisme qui se consacre à la santé, au bonheur et à la pleine participation des communautés LGBTQ. The 519, de concert avec la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne et les membres des collectivités trans de Toronto, a mis au point la boîte à outils intitulée Creating Authentic Spaces: A Gender Identity and Gender Expression Toolkit to Support the Implementation of Institutional and Social Change afin de fournir aux organismes une meilleure compréhension, ainsi que des suggestions, étape par étape, pour créer des environnements inclusifs et affirmatifs pour tous, peu importe leur identité et/ou expression de genre. La boîte à outils contient de nombreuses ressources sur la façon d’affirmer la différence, de promouvoir la diversité et de cultiver l’inclusivité afin de renforcer un organisme. Les pages 70 à 77 de cette boîte à outils présentent des fiches de conseils sur les sujets suivants :

La boîte à outils est disponible à l’adresse suivante : http://www.the519.org/education-training/training-resources/trans-inclusion-matters/creating-authentic-spaces.