LGBT2SQ Children and Youth and the Child Welfare System: Risks and Challenges

LGBT2SQ children and youth can experience unique risks and challenges in the child welfare system. This section discusses some of these risks and challenges, as well as some that LGBT2SQ children and youth may face more generally.

By becoming aware, child protection workers, agencies, residential service providers, and caregivers can take steps to address and minimize these risks and challenges. The fact that an LGBT2SQ child or youth may be at risk of these challenges should be considered in decision-making about placements, permanency planning, and other services.

Family Rejection

Supportive relationships with family members promote healthy development in all children and youth. Unfortunately, the over-representation of LGBT2SQ children and youth in the child welfare system is in part due to children and youth being forced out of their homes, or leaving voluntarily due to rejection or physical or emotional abuse by their family.23 When children and youth are forced to leave home for reasons beyond their control, they may experience homelessness, poverty, violence, and other risks.

“It comes down to not receiving respect. Period.”
- Youth

According to a study conducted by the Family Acceptance Project, LGBT2SQ youth who reported high levels of family rejection were 8.4 times more likely to have attempted suicide, 5.9 times more likely to be depressed, and 3.4 times more likely to use drugs than LGBT2SQ peers from families that reported no or low levels of family rejection.24 Further, a recent Ontario study conducted by TransPulse found that transgender youth who had supportive families experienced a 93% reduction in suicide attempts over one year, compared to transgender youth who did not have supportive families.25

Research has also shown that, if given the chance to learn about LGBT2SQ identities and experiences, and to understand the negative impacts that their rejection has on children and youth, parents, caregivers, and other family members may become more supportive.26

Healthcare Concerns and Needs

While LGBT2SQ children and youth often struggle with the same health concerns as non-LGBT2SQ children and youth, they are also much more likely to experience mental health and addictions issues.

In general, LGBT2SQ individuals receive poorer quality health care than the general population as a result of stigma, discrimination, exclusion, and lack of access to quality care.32 Many health care providers have little to no training on LGBT2SQ health issues, or on providing specialized clinical care for members of LGBT2SQ communities. As a result, health care providers may not be sensitive to the particular health needs of, or be knowledgeable about, how to best support LGBT2SQ children and youth.33 Access to appropriate health and mental health services for transgender and gender diverse children and youth is even more limited and challenging. Accessing affirming health care services may be even more challenging for LGBT2SQ children and youth outside of large urban centres, where specialized health care can be limited and training for health care professionals on appropriate LGBT2SQ care is less accessible.

Because of negative past experiences with the health care system, LGBT2SQ people may delay or avoid seeking health and mental health supports, or may choose to withhold personal information from health care providers.34

LGBT2SQ children and youth involved in the child welfare system may have particular challenges getting appropriate health care. Frequent placement moves, for example, may make it even more difficult to find health care providers with whom they can build trust and feel confident about how they will be treated in talking openly about health issues.

RESOURCES: LGBT2SQ-friendly health services and information on sexual and gender diversity


What does it mean to transition?

Some transgender and gender fluid children and youth may choose to socially, medically, and/or legally transition as a way to affirm their gender identity.

Social transition is the process a person takes to affirm their gender identity in public spaces and in social interactions. This includes deciding how to navigate gendered spaces like washrooms or change rooms, as well as considering gender expression, name, and pronoun use in different social environments (e.g., dressing in a style that aligns with their gender identity, adopting a different haircut).

Legal transition is the process a person takes to change their name and/or sex designation on provincial, territorial and federal documents, including their birth certificate, driver's licence, and passport (for further information on changing government issued identification, see pg. 53).

Medical transition involves the therapeutic, pharmaceutical, surgical, or other healthcare-based interventions a person may wish to undertake to affirm their gender identity. Some examples include speech therapy, hormone therapy (including puberty blockers for children and youth), counselling, hair removal, and/or gender affirming surgical procedures. Gender-affirming health care must be individualized according to a client's needs. Healthcare providers have an important role to play in supporting trans and gender diverse children and youth throughout their gender journey. This may include conversations about non-medical and non-surgical aspects of gender affirmation (e.g., safe chest-binding, voice therapy).

Choosing whether to (or not to) transition, in what way(s), and at what time, is a very personal process. Decisions around transitioning are based on a number of factors, including individual comfort levels, safety (particularly within less inclusive spaces where children or youth may face bullying and/or violence), access to financial resources, and connection to appropriate healthcare supports.

For more information about transitioning and the needs of transgender and gender diverse children and youth, refer to the Families in TRANSition guide developed by Central Toronto Youth Services:
http://www.ctys.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/CTYS-FIT-Families-in-Transition-Guide-2nd-edition.pdf


Violence and Harassment

Gender-based Violence and Harassment

Gender-based violence can include any form of violence (e.g., sexual harassment, assault, exploitation, physical threats, and emotional and psychological violence) that is based on an individual’s gender, gender expression or gender identity, and is intended to control, humiliate or harm the individual.35 Violence based on gender is an issue that affects diverse populations including women-identified persons, Indigenous persons, LGBT2SQ persons, racialized women, persons with disabilities, and seniors. Lesbian and bisexual girls and women, transgender girls and women, gender fluid people, LGBT2SQ communities of colour, Two-Spirit and LGBTQ Indigenous communities, LGBTQ newcomers and refugees, LGBT2SQ persons with disabilities, and LGBT2SQ persons with HIV/AIDS are disproportionately impacted by this violence.36, 37 The absence of LGBT2SQ inclusive policies and programs may result in further harm to LGBT2SQ survivors of gender-based violence, and could contribute to the perpetuation of gender-based violence.

Harassment and Violence in School

School can be a challenging place for children and youth in the child welfare system. Those who identify as LGBT2SQ may face experiences that compound these challenges. For example, research indicates that many LGBT2SQ students routinely face discrimination, harassment, bullying, and violence by other students—and even some teachers—on the basis of their sexual orientation, gender identity, and/or gender expression.38

A 2011 Canadian study, conducted by Egale Canada Human Rights Trust that surveyed over 3,700 students from across Canada, found that:39

The study found that LGBT2SQ children and youth are more likely to miss class due to feeling unsafe, which impacted their academic performance40 and demonstrates that experiences of bias, harassment, and violence can have a profoundly negative effect on a student’s success in school, and their general wellbeing.

For LGBT2SQ children and youth involved in the child welfare system, the experience of moving from placement to placement and changing schools in the process can further compromise education. Consistently supportive allies, caregivers, workers, and teachers are essential to helping LGBT2SQ children and youth cope with these realities.

Supporting LGBT2SQ Students

There are provincial, school board, and school-based policies and programs in place to help support LGBT2SQ children, youth, and their families navigate school environments.

Take a look at Egale's resource for supporting children and youth in Ontario schools to learn more:
https://egale.ca/supporting-gender-diverse-child/


Bullying

Unfortunately, many children and youth will experience bullying—as someone who has been bullied, as someone who witnesses bullying, or someone who has bullied, or a combination of all three. Bullying is a particularly significant issue for LGBT2SQ children and youth.

LGBT2SQ children and youth experience high rates of cyberbullying and online harassment in comparison with their non-LGBT2SQ peers. U.S. based research has found that LGBT2SQ youth are harassed or bullied online three times more often, and sexually harassed four times more often, than their non-LGBT2SQ peers.41

The consequences of bullying are significant:

In addition, LGBT2SQ children and youth may have fewer supports available to help them address bullying and its impacts.44 Those who are in care may also experience bullying in their foster or group home; as a result, they may lack a safe home environment, which is so important to helping children and youth cope with bullying.45

Homelessness

In 2015, the first national study of children and youth who experience homelessness concluded that involvement in the child welfare system is a key risk factor for homelessness. Of the 1,103 respondents surveyed from 47 different communities across 10 provinces and territories, a high percentage of homeless youth had previous involvement with protection services (57.8%), and experienced one or more forms of abuse (63.1%) and/or neglect (37%).46

Additionally, a disproportionate number of LGBT2SQ children and youth experience homelessness. In Canada, 29.5% of homeless youth report being LGBT2SQ.47 In addition to the reasons that other youth become homeless, LGBT2SQ children and youth involved with the child welfare system may have left placements because they did not feel supported.48

With no fixed address, regular meals, clean clothes or showers, homeless youth may drop out of school and/or find it difficult to find or keep a job. For these reasons, many homeless youth lack the education, job experience or life skills to transition to independence.49

On the street, LGBT2SQ children and youth may face barriers to accessing homeless shelters and other programs aimed at supporting street-involved children and youth. LGBT2SQ children and youth have reported being afraid to access mainstream shelters for fear of psychological, physical, or sexual violence. Transgender and gender fluid youth in particular may face barriers because homeless shelters and other support programs are often segregated by gender, and may not have an understanding of transgender and gender diverse children and youth and their needs.50 Lack of access to LGBT2SQ-inclusive shelters and programs is even greater outside of large urban centres.

Two-Spirit and LGBTQ Indigenous children and youth are particularly at risk of homelessness. They face unique barriers to accessing safe, affirming and culturally appropriate housing. Some Two-Spirit and Indigenous LGBTQ children and youth are forced to relocate to urban centres to find housing which can result in limited access to community, language, culture, and ceremony.51

The risk of homelessness speaks to the need for appropriate placements for LGBT2SQ children and youth in the child welfare system and the importance of working to support family acceptance and reunification.

SKETCH: Working Arts for Street Involved and Homeless Youth

Located in Toronto, SKETCH is a community-arts development initiative for youth, ages 15–29, who are homeless or living on the margins. SKETCH offers young people the opportunity to explore and develop artistic and musical skills, connect with other youth, and work with artists to receive mentorship and feedback on their work. As an LGBT2SQ-friendly initiative, SKETCH implements strategic programs to increase equity and inclusion as part of their mandate. For more information, visit http://www.sketch.ca or email info@sketch.ca.

Les risques et défis qui guettent les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ et le système de bien-être de l’enfance

Les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ peuvent connaître des risques et des défis uniques dans le système de bien-être de l’enfance. La présente section aborde quelques-uns de ces risques et défis ainsi que ceux auxquels les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ peuvent être confrontés de façon plus générale.

En étant conscients de ces risques et de ces défis, les préposées et préposés à la protection de l’enfance, les organismes, les fournisseurs de services en établissement et les fournisseurs de soins peuvent prendre des mesures afin de les aborder et de les réduire au minimum. Les prises de décisions qui concernent les placements, la planification de la permanence ainsi que d’autres services devraient tenir compte de la possibilité qu’un enfant ou un jeune LGBT2SQ soit exposé à ces défis.

Le rejet par la famille

Les relations cordiales avec les membres de la famille favorisent le développement sain de tous les enfants et les jeunes. Malheureusement, la surreprésentation des enfants et des jeunes LGBT2SQ dans le système de bien-être de l’enfance est attribuable, en partie, au fait qu’ils sont forcés de quitter leur maison ou qu’ils la quittent volontairement à cause du rejet ou de la violence physique ou psychologique de leur famille23. Lorsque les enfants et les jeunes sont forcés de quitter la maison pour des raisons qui sont indépendantes de leur volonté, ils peuvent être exposés à l’itinérance, à la pauvreté, à la violence ainsi qu’à d’autres risques.

C’est un manque de respect. Point final.
— Jeune

Selon une étude réalisée par le Family Acceptance Project, les jeunes LGBT2SQ qui ont déclaré des niveaux élevés de rejet par la famille étaient 8,4 fois plus susceptibles d’avoir tenté de se suicider, 5,9 fois plus susceptibles d’être déprimés et 3,4 fois plus susceptibles de consommer des drogues que leurs pairs LGBT2SQ qui provenaient de familles qui ont déclaré un niveau nul ou de faibles niveaux de rejet24. De plus, une étude récente menée en Ontario par TransPulse a révélé que les tentatives de suicide parmi les jeunes transgenres qui avaient une famille positive avaient diminué de 93 % en l’espace d’un an par rapport aux jeunes transgenres qui n’avaient pas une famille positive25.

La recherche a également montré que, si on leur donne la chance de se renseigner sur les identités et les expériences des personnes LGBT2SQ et de comprendre les effets néfastes du rejet sur les enfants et les jeunes, les parents, les fournisseurs de soins et les autres membres de la famille peuvent devenir plus positifs26.

Les préoccupations et les besoins en matière de santé

Bien que les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ soient souvent aux prises avec les mêmes préoccupations pour leur santé que les enfants et les jeunes qui ne font pas partie des communautés LGBT2SQ, les premiers sont beaucoup plus susceptibles de connaître des problèmes de santé mentale et de dépendance.

En règle générale, les personnes LGBT2SQ reçoivent des soins de santé de moins bonne qualité que l’ensemble de la population en raison de la stigmatisation, de la discrimination, de l’exclusion et du manque d’accès à des soins de qualité32. De nombreux fournisseurs de soins de santé ont peu ou pas de formation sur les problèmes de santé des personnes LGBT2SQ ou sur la prestation de soins cliniques spécialisés pour les membres des communautés LGBT2SQ. Les fournisseurs de soins de santé peuvent donc ne pas être sensibles à leurs besoins de santé particuliers ou ne pas savoir comment procéder pour mieux accompagner les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ.33 L’accès à des services de santé et de santé mentale adéquats pour les enfants et les jeunes transgenres et de diverses identités de genre est encore plus limité et difficile.

Avoir accès à des services de soins de santé affirmatifs peut être encore plus difficile pour les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ en dehors des grands centres urbains où les soins de santé spécialisés peuvent être limités et la formation pour les professionnels de la santé sur les soins pertinents pour les personnes LGBT2SQ est moins accessible. En raison de leurs mauvaises expériences antérieures dans le système des soins de santé, les personnes LGBT2SQ peuvent retarder ou éviter de demander des soutiens de santé et de santé mentale ou choisir de ne pas divulguer de renseignements personnels aux fournisseurs de soins de santé34.

Les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ qui sont pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance peuvent avoir des difficultés particulières à obtenir des soins de santé adéquats. Les changements de placements fréquents, par exemple, peuvent rendre encore plus difficile la tâche de trouver, dans leurs collectivités, des fournisseurs de soins de santé avec lesquels ils pourront établir une relation de confiance et avoir l’assurance d’être traités convenablement en parlant ouvertement de leurs problèmes de santé.

RESSOURCES : Des services de santé amis des communautés LGBT2SQ ainsi que des renseignements sur la diversité sexuelle et de genre


Que signifie faire la transition?

Certains enfants et jeunes transgenres et au genre fluide peuvent choisir la transition sociale, médicale et/ou légale comme moyen d’affirmer leur identité de genre.

La transition sociale est le processus qu’une personne suit afin d’affirmer son identité de genre dans les espaces publics ainsi que dans les interactions sociales. Cela consiste notamment à décider comment naviguer entre les espaces genrés comme les toilettes ou les vestiaires et à songer à employer une expression de genre ainsi qu’un ou des noms et pronoms dans différents environnements sociaux (p. ex. en s’habillant selon un style qui correspond à son identité de genre, en adoptant une coiffure différente).

La transition légale est le processus qu’une personne suit pour changer son nom et/ou la désignation de son sexe sur des documents provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéraux, y compris le certificat de naissance, le permis de conduire et le passeport (pour de plus amples renseignements sur la marche à suivre pour changer une pièce d’identité émise par le gouvernement, consultez la p. 47).

La transition médicale concerne les interventions thérapeutiques, pharmaceutiques, chirurgicales ainsi que les autres interventions axées sur les soins de santé qu’une personne peut désirer entreprendre afin d’affirmer son identité de genre. Les thérapies de la voix, l’hormonothérapie (y compris les inhibiteurs de puberté pour les enfants et les jeunes), le counseling, l’épilation des poils et/ou les procédures chirurgicales d’affirmation du genre en sont des exemples. Les soins de santé orientés sur l’affirmation du genre doivent être individualisés selon les besoins de la cliente ou du client. Les fournisseurs de soins de santé ont un rôle important à jouer afin d’accompagner les enfants et les jeunes trans et de diverses identités de genre tout au long de leur démarche. Cela peut inclure des conversations sur les aspects non médicaux et non chirurgicaux de l’affirmation du genre (p. ex. le port sécuritaire des bandes thoraciques, les thérapies de la voix).

Le choix de poursuivre (ou non) la transition, du ou des moyens à prendre et du moment pour le faire est un processus très personnel. Les décisions qui entourent la transition sont fondées sur plusieurs facteurs, y compris sur les niveaux de confort individuels, la sécurité (particulièrement dans les espaces moins inclusifs où les enfants ou les jeunes peuvent être confrontés à de l’intimidation et/ou à de la violence), l’accès à des ressources financières ainsi que sur un lien vers les soutiens adéquats en matière de soins de santé.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la transition et les besoins des enfants et des jeunes transgenres et de diverses identités de genre, consultez le guide Families in TRANSition conçu par l’organisme Central Toronto Youth Services :
http://www.ctys.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/CTYS-FIT-Families-in-Transition-Guide-2nd-edition.pdf

La violence et le harcèlement

La violence et le harcèlement sexistes

La violence sexiste peut inclure tout forme de violence (p. ex. le harcèlement sexuel, l’agression, l’exploitation, les menaces physiques ainsi que la violence émotive et psychologique) qui est fondée sur le genre, l’expression de genre ou l’identité de genre d’une personne et qui vise à contrôler ou à humilier la personne ou à lui causer du tort35. La violence sexiste est un problème qui touche différentes populations, y compris les personnes qui s’identifient comme des femmes, les personnes autochtones, les personnes LGBT2SQ, les femmes racialisées, les personnes handicapées et les personnes âgées. Les filles et les femmes lesbiennes et bisexuelles, les filles et les femmes transgenres, les personnes au genre fluide, les communautés LGBT2SQ de couleur, les communautés autochtones bispirituelles et LGBTQ, les nouveaux arrivants et les réfugiés LGBTQ, les personnes LGBT2SQ handicapées et les personnes LGBT2SQ qui ont le VIH/sida sont touchés d’une manière disproportionnée par cette violence36, 37. L’absence de politiques et de programmes qui incluent les communautés LGBT2SQ peut nuire encore plus aux personnes LGBT2SQ qui ont survécu à la violence sexiste et contribuer à perpétuer la violence sexiste.

Le harcèlement et la violence à l’école

L’école peut être un endroit difficile pour les enfants et les jeunes qui sont pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance. Ceux qui s’identifient comme des personnes LGBT2SQ peuvent être confrontés à des expériences qui aggravent ces difficultés. Par exemple, la recherche indique que de nombreux élèves LGBTQ2S sont régulièrement confrontés à des actes de discrimination, de harcèlement, d’intimidation et de violence perpétrés par d’autres élèves – ainsi que par des enseignantes et des enseignants – à cause de leur orientation sexuelle, de leur identité de genre et/ou de leur expression de genre38.

Une étude canadienne réalisée en 2011 par Egale Canada Human Rights Trust, dans le cadre de laquelle on a sondé plus de 3 700 élèves des quatre coins du pays, a révélé ce qui suit39 :

L’étude a révélé que les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ étaient plus susceptibles de manquer des cours parce qu’ils ne se sentaient pas en sécurité, ce qui a eu une incidence sur leur rendement scolaire40. Elle a montré que les expériences liées aux préjugés, au harcèlement et à la violence peuvent avoir un effet néfaste profond sur la réussite des élèves à l’école ainsi que sur leur bien-être en général.

En ce qui concerne les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ qui sont pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance, le passage d’un placement à un autre et les changements d’école en cours de route risquent de compromettre encore plus leurs études. Des personnes alliées, des fournisseurs de soins, des préposées ou préposés et des enseignantes et enseignants invariablement positifs sont indispensables afin d’aider les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ à composer avec ces réalités.

Accompagner les élèves LGBT2SQ

Il y a des politiques et des programmes à l’échelle du gouvernement provincial, du conseil scolaire et de l’école pour aider les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ et leurs familles à naviguer à travers les milieux scolaires.

Jetez un coup d’œil sur la ressource d’Egale pour accompagner les enfants et les jeunes dans les écoles de l’Ontario afin d’en apprendre davantage :
https://egale.ca/supporting-gender-diverse-child/


L’intimidation

Malheureusement, de nombreux enfants et jeunes feront l’expérience de l’intimidation – que ce soit en tant que personne intimidée, en tant que témoin ou en tant qu’intimidatrice ou intimidateur, ou une combinaison des trois. L’intimidation est un problème particulièrement grave pour les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ.

Les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ subissent des taux élevés de cyberintimidation et de harcèlement en ligne par rapport à leurs pairs qui ne font pas partie des communautés LGBT2SQ. Une recherche effectuée aux États-Unis a révélé que les jeunes LGBT2SQ sont harcelés ou intimidés en ligne trois plus souvent et qu’ils sont harcelés sexuellement quatre fois plus souvent que leurs pairs qui ne s’identifient pas aux communautés LGBT2SQ41.

Les conséquences de l’intimidation sont importantes :

De plus, les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ peuvent avoir un moins grand nombre de soutiens disponibles pour les aider à aborder l’intimidation et ses répercussions44. Comme ceux qui sont pris en charge sont également susceptibles de subir de l’intimidation dans leur foyer d’accueil ou leur foyer de groupe, ils peuvent ne pas avoir un environnement sécuritaire là où ils habitent, ce qui est pourtant tellement important pour les aider à composer avec l’intimidation45.

L’itinérance

En 2015, la première étude nationale sur les enfants et les jeunes qui connaissent l’itinérance a permis de conclure que la prise en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance constitue un facteur de risque clé en matière d’itinérance. Parmi les 1 103 personnes sondées provenant de 47 communautés différentes réparties dans 10 provinces et territoires, un pourcentage élevé de jeunes itinérants avaient déjà été pris en charge par des services de protection (57,8 %) et avaient connu une ou plusieurs formes de maltraitance (63,1 %) et/ou de négligence (37 %)46.

En outre, un nombre disproportionné d’enfants et de jeunes LGBT2SQ connaissent l’itinérance. Au Canada, 29,5 % des jeunes itinérants déclarent appartenir aux communautés LGBT2SQ47. En plus des raisons pour lesquelles les autre enfants deviennent itinérants, les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ qui ont été pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance peuvent avoir quitté des milieux de placement parce qu’ils ne se sentaient pas bien encadrés48.

Sans une adresse fixe, des repas réguliers, des vêtements propres ou des douches, les jeunes itinérants risquent d’abandonner l’école et/ou d’avoir du mal à trouver ou à garder un emploi. Pour ces raisons, de nombreux jeunes itinérants ne possèdent pas les études, l’expérience de travail ou les compétences nécessaires à la vie courante pour faire une transition vers l’autonomie49.

Dans la rue, les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ peuvent se buter à des obstacles qui leur bloquent l’accès à des refuges pour les sans-abris ainsi qu’à d’autres programmes destinés à aider les enfants et les jeunes de la rue. Les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ ont déclaré qu’ils craignaient la violence psychologique, physique ou sexuelle dans les refuges qui sont ouverts à l’ensemble de la population. Les jeunes transgenres et au genre fluide en particulier peuvent être confrontés à des obstacles, car les refuges pour les sans-abris et les autres programmes de soutien sont souvent sexospécifiques et ils peuvent ne pas comprendre les enfants et les jeunes transgenres et au genre fluide ainsi que leurs besoins50. Le manque d’accès à des refuges et des programmes inclusifs pour les personnes LBT2SQ est encore plus grand en dehors des grands centres urbains.

Les enfants et les jeunes autochtones bispirituels et LGBTQ sont particulièrement vulnérables à l’itinérance. Ils sont confrontés à des obstacles uniques qui les empêchent d’avoir accès à des logements sécuritaires, affirmatifs et culturellement adaptés. Certains enfants et jeunes autochtones bispirituels et LGBTQ sont forcés de déménager dans des centres urbains afin de trouver un logement, ce qui risque de limiter leur accès à la communauté, à la langue, à la culture et aux cérémonies51.

Le risque d’itinérance montre bien la nécessité d’assurer des placements adéquats pour les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ qui sont pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance ainsi que l’importance de favoriser l’acceptation par la famille ainsi que l’unification de la famille.

SKETCH : L’art au profit des jeunes de la rue et sans abri

Située à Toronto, SKETCH est une initiative de développement axée sur la communauté et les arts qui s’adresse aux jeunes de 15 à 29 ans qui sont itinérants ou qui vivent en marge de la société. SKETCH offre aux jeunes la possibilité d’explorer et de perfectionner leurs aptitudes artistiques et musicales, de tisser des liens avec d’autres jeunes et de travailler avec des artistes afin de bénéficier d’un mentorat et d’une rétroaction sur leur œuvre. En tant qu’initiative amie des communautés LGBT2SQ, SKETCH met sur pied des programmes stratégiques afin d’accroître l’équité et l’inclusion dans le cadre de son mandat. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez http://www.sketch.ca ou envoyez un courriel à info@sketch.ca.