Supporting Families who are Struggling with their Child’s Identity

Research indicates that family acceptance or rejection plays a critical role in influencing the health, mental health, and wellbeing of all children and youth.65 Some research suggests that LGBT2SQ children and youth may be over-represented in the child welfare system because they have been rejected or abused by their families due to their LGBT2SQ identity.66 The objective for societies in all child protection cases is to continually work with the child’s family and extended family or community towards establishing a stable, safe, and permanent home for the child.

The 519

The 519, a Toronto-based community centre, runs LGBT2SQ-positive programs for youth including a Newcomer Youth Mentorship program for those new to Canada, a Trans Youth Sports drop-in program, a Body Love movement workshop, and an Animation Movie Camp called Animating!

For more information, visit: http://www.the519.org/programs/category/youth


Family acceptance helps:

  • protect against depression, suicidal behaviour, and substance use;
  • promote self-esteem, social support, and overall health; and
  • support and strengthen the relationship between family and child.

Families who are struggling to accept their child or youth’s sexual and/or gender identity may need support from child welfare professionals to change their behaviours if those behaviours have resulted in the child or youth suffering harm or being exposed to a risk of harm within the meaning of child welfare legislation. In some cases, it may be necessary to bring a child or youth to a place of safety while parents or caregivers learn how to better support their LGBT2SQ children and youth. Research demonstrates that rejecting families can become much more accepting if they receive support and accurate information to understand, accept, and connect with their child.67

Child protection workers can support families and caregivers who struggle with their child or youth’s identity by doing the following:68

RESOURCES: Support for families struggling to accept their child or youth's identity

A Practitioner's Resource Guide: Helping Families Support Their LGBT Children
https://www.suicideinfo.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Helping-Families-to-Support-Their-LGBT-Children_oa.pdf

PFLAG Canada: a national charitable organization, founded by parents who wished to help themselves and their family members understand and accept their non-heterosexual children
http://pflagcanada.ca

A list of PFLAG chapters across Ontario can be accessed at:
http://pflagcanada.ca/pflag-chapters/ontario/

LGBT Family Coalition
http://www.familleslgbt.org/main.php?lang=en


Many families struggle in isolation to understand their child or youth's identity, unaware of community resources that can help. Providing appropriate support and resources can repair or strengthen a family's relationship with their child or youth and help them gain understanding, shift perspectives, change behaviours, and become allies.

vii PFLAG helps individuals with issues of sexual orientation, gender identity and gender expression. PFLAG Canada supports, educates and provides resources to anyone with questions or concerns about family member gender expression, gender identity and/or sexual orientation. More information is available at: http://pflagcanada.ca/

Aider les familles qui éprouvent des difficultés avec l’identité de leur enfant ou de leur jeune

La recherche indique que l’acceptation ou le rejet par la famille joue un rôle crucial qui a une influence sur la santé, la santé mentale et le bien-être de tous les enfants et les jeunes65. Des recherches donnent à entendre que les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ peuvent être surreprésentés dans le système de bien-être de l’enfance parce qu’ils ont été rejetés ou maltraités par leur famille à cause de leur identité LGBT2SQ66. L’objectif des sociétés dans tous les cas de protection de l’enfance consiste à collaborer de façon continue avec la famille et la famille élargie de l’enfant ou la communauté afin d’établir un foyer stable, sécuritaire et permanent pour l’enfant.

Le 519

Le centre communautaire 519 de Toronto , The 519, dirige des programmes positifs envers les communautés LGBT2SQ pour les jeunes, y compris un programme de mentorat pour les jeunes qui sont de nouveaux arrivants au Canada, un programme d’accueil centré sur le sport pour les jeunes trans, un atelier axé sur le mouvement qui invite à aimer son corps ainsi qu’un camp orienté sur les films d’animation appelé Animating! Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez:

http://www.the519.org/programs/category/youth


L’acceptation par la famille aide à :

  • protéger contre la dépression, l’abus suicidaire et la consommation d’alcool et d’autres substances;
  • favoriser l’estime de soi, le soutien social et la santé globale;
  • faciliter et renforcer la relation entre la famille et l’enfant.

Les familles qui ont du mal à accepter l’orientation sexuelle et/ou l’identité de genre de leur enfant ou de leur jeune peuvent avoir besoin du soutien de professionnels du bien-être de l’enfance pour changer leurs comportements s’ils ont amené l’enfant ou le jeune à subir un préjudice ou à être exposé à un risque de préjudice au sens des lois sur le bien-être de l’enfance. Dans certains cas, il peut s’avérer nécessaire d’amener l’enfant ou le jeune dans un lieu sûr pendant que les parents ou les fournisseurs de soins apprennent à mieux soutenir les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ. La recherche montre que les familles qui les rejettent peuvent devenir beaucoup plus tolérantes si elles reçoivent un soutien ainsi que des renseignements exacts afin de comprendre et d’accepter les enfants et de communiquer avec eux67.

Les préposées ou préposés à la protection de l’enfance peuvent aider les familles et les fournisseurs de soins qui éprouvent des difficultés avec l’identité de enfant ou du jeune en68 :

De nombreuses familles se débattent toutes seules pour comprendre l’identité de leur enfant ou de leur jeune sans savoir qu’il existe des ressources communautaires qui peuvent leur venir en aide. Procurer des ressources et un soutien pertinents peut réparer ou resserrer le lien entre les membres de la famille et l’enfant ou le jeune et les aider à comprendre, à changer leurs points de vue, à modifier leurs comportements et à former une alliance.

RESSOURCES

Soutien pour les familles qui ont du mal à accepter l’identité de leur enfant ou de leur jeune

A Practitioner’s Resource Guide: Helping Families Support Their LGBT Children
https://store.samhsa.gov/shin/content/PEP14-LGBTKIDS/PEP14-LGBTKIDS.pdf

PFLAG Canada : un organisme de bienfaisance national fondé par des parents qui désiraient s’aider eux-mêmes et aider les membres de leur famille à comprendre et à accepter leurs enfants non hétérosexuels.
http://pflagcanada.ca

On peut consulter une liste des sections PFLAG en Ontario à :
http://pflagcanada.ca/pflag-chapters/ontario/

Coalition des familles LGBT
http://www.familleslgbt.org/main.php?lang=fr


vii Le PFLAG Canada soutient, renseigne et outille toute personne qui a des questions ou des préoccupations au sujet de l’expression de genre, de l’identité de genre et/ou de l’orientation sexuelle d’un membre de la famille. De plus amples renseignements sont accessibles à l’adresse : http://pflagcanada.ca/