Training

Child protection workers, families, caregivers, and youth from across Ontario have identified the need for training throughout the child welfare system on providing LGBT2SQ-affirming and inclusive services and organizations.

Research suggests that comprehensive LGBT2SQspecific training for board members, staff, volunteers, families, and caregivers is a best practice to better serve LGBT2SQ children and youth. To sustain the benefits of training, individuals should also be made aware of resources they can access in their day-today work with respect to serving LGBT2SQ children and youth.

In 2015, only 10% of society staff surveyed had received training on how to support families struggling to accept their LGBT2SQ child or youth.

MCYS Survey


Training that is multi-levelled (from introductory to advanced), ongoing, inclusive of LGBT2SQ children and youth voices, and integrated into an organization’s general training requirements, is most effective. Some child welfare leaders have also emphasized the need for mandatory LGBT2SQ training. Regular evaluation and updating of training is also essential.

Some of the topics that may be addressed in training include:

Child welfare organizations can engage with community partners and organizations to provide outside training and expertise on LGBT2SQ children and youth (e.g., PFLAG, Native Youth Sexual Health Network, Rainbow Health Ontario). They can also utilize existing training, such as Out and Proud,xi designed by the Children’s Aid Society of Toronto for the Ontario Association of Children’s Aid Societies, to increase the capacity of child welfare organizations to serve LGBT2SQ children and youth. While some agencies will not have such organizations in their communities, they can make use of online and social network supports such as those available at: positivespaces.ca. The site offers community links to counsellors who serve LGBT2SQ newcomers, toolkit manuals, and referrals which assist in making any agency a positive space.

“Unless workers are trained to support the youth, address him/her/them with respect, make the environment LGBT2SQ positive, they will not be successful in connecting and addressing the youth's needs.”

- CAS Staff


xi Further information on Out and Proud designed by the Children’s Aid Society of Toronto for the Ontario Association of Children’s Aid Societies is available at: http://www.torontocas.ca/out-and-proud.

La formation

Les travailleuses et travailleurs des services de bien-être de l’enfance, les familles, les fournisseurs de soins et les jeunes de l’Ontario ont identifié le besoin de formation dans l’ensemble du système de bien-être de l’enfance sur la fourniture de services et d’organismes affirmatifs et inclusifs pour les personnes LGBT2SQ.

La recherche suggère qu’une formation complète, spécifique aux personnes LGBT2SQ, offerte aux membres des conseils, au personnel, aux bénévoles, aux familles et aux fournisseurs de soins est la meilleure pratique pour ce qui est de mieux desservir les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ. Pour maintenir les avantages de la formation, les personnes devraient aussi être mises au courant des ressources auxquelles elles peuvent accéder dans le cadre de leur travail au quotidien au service des enfants et des jeunes LGBT2SQ.

En 2015, seulement 10 % du personnel de la société interrogé avaient suivi une formation sur la façon d’aider les familles qui avaient du mal à accepter leur enfant ou leur jeune LGBT2SQ.

—Sondage du MSEJ


Une formation continue à plusieurs niveaux (des cours de base aux cours de perfectionnement), inclusive de la voix des enfants et des jeunes LGBT2SQ et intégrée dans les exigences de formation générale de organisme, est la plus efficace. Certains leaders du bien-être de l’enfance ont aussi insisté sur le besoin d’une formation obligatoire sur les personnes LGBT2SQ. Il est aussi important de réaliser des évaluations régulières et de mettre à jour la formation.

Voici certains des sujets qui pourraient faire partie de la formation :

Les organismes de bien-être de l’enfance peuvent établir des liens avec les partenaires et organismes communautaires pour proposer de la formation et de l’expertise extérieures sur les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ (p. ex. PFLAG, Native Youth Sexual Health Network, Santé arc-en-ciel Ontario). Ils peuvent aussi utiliser la formation existante, comme Out and Proud,xi conçue par la Société de l’aide à l’enfance de Toronto pour l’Association ontarienne des sociétés de l’aide à l’enfance, pour renforcer la capacité des organismes de bien-être de l’enfance à desservir les enfants et les jeunes LGBT2SQ. Même si certaines agences ne disposent pas de tels organismes au sein de leurs collectivités, elles peuvent toujours utiliser l’aide des réseaux sociaux en ligne, comme ceux disponibles à : positivespaces.ca. Le site contient des liens communautaires vers des conseillers qui desservent les LGBT2SQ nouveaux venus, des boîtes à outils et des manuels, ainsi que des références permettant de faire de l’agence un espace positif.

Si les travailleurs ne sont pas formés à appuyer les jeunes, à s’adresser à eux avec respect, à rendre l’environnement LGBT2SQ positif, ils ne réussiront pas à établir de liens avec eux ni à répondre à leurs besoins.

—Personnel d’une société


xi De plus amples renseignements sur Out and Proud, conçu par la Société de l’aide à l’enfance de Toronto pour l’Association ontarienne des sociétés de l’aide à l’enfance, sont donnés à : http://www.torontocas.ca/out-and-proud.