Supporting Transgender and Gender Diverse Children and Youth

Providing affirming homes and services for transgender and gender diverse children and youth involved with the child welfare system means allowing them to freely and openly express their identity. This includes supporting a child or youth’s choice of clothing or hairstyle, which can be important aspects of self-expression. It may also include supporting access to tools (e.g., chest binders, packers, standto- pee devices), gender-confirming health care and/ or interventions (e.g., hormone treatments, hair removal) that for some children and youth may help them to feel their body better aligns with their gender identity.

It is critically important that transgender youth interested in hormone blockers, hormone treatments, and other gender-confirming health care interventions receive competent and affirming medical advice and care. Youth who don’t have access to the health services they need, for example, may resort to using hormones without a doctor’s supervision, which could lead to negative health consequences. Lack of access to trans-affirming health care can also lead to mental health concerns (depression, anxiety), self-harm, substance use, and suicide.

It is also important to avoid assumptions that youth interested in considering hormone blockers or therapies, or other medical interventions should wait until they are older to make decisions. Forcing youth to wait to access gender-confirming health care greatly increases risks, including suicidal thoughts and behaviours. Referrals to medical professionals who are competent in working with transgender and gender diverse youth should be sought, so that they can receive appropriate advice and care.75 Where qualified medical professionals cannot be easily accessed, especially in rural or northern communities, mentoring by experienced practitioners and collaborative care by local and distance practitioners may be possible.viii

Finding Gender-Affirming Supplies

It is important to look for stores or agencies, both online and in your community that sell or rent gender-affirming supplies such as binders, packers, stand-to-pee devices, and hair removal devices.

Read QMUNITY’s resource on chest health for trans, gender diverse, and Two-Spirit communities to learn more about safe binding practices and where to purchase binding supplies online. This resource can be accessed at: http://qmunity.ca/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/I_Heart_My_Chest_-_English_version.pdf

Community Spotlight: The DressCode Project

The DressCode Project is an initiative to create safer spaces in salons for people in LGBT2SQ communities. The initiative highlights the importance of being able to look the way you feel and how going to a salon and asking for a haircut that is not traditional to your gender is sometimes a scary and difficult experience, particularly for people who are transgender.

The Dresscode Project has the objective of ending gender discrimination in the hair industry by ensuring an affirming, supportive and non-judgemental salon experience. All dress code salons undertake to use appropriate pronouns, have gender neutral washrooms and to complete sensitivity training provided by the Dresscode Project. The Dresscode Project also hosts "The Gender free Haircut Club," a free haircut event for LGBT2SQ youth once every two months in Toronto. For more information and the online directory of salons participating in the Dresscode Project, visit: http://dresscodeproject.com/

Instagram : @thedresscodeproject
Facebook : Dress Code Project

RESOURCES: Affirming trans and gender diverse children and youth

Additionally, child welfare professionals and caregivers can support self-expression of transgender and gender diverse youth by:76

“Not being able to make my own decisions means to me that my voice and opinion isn't being heard. Not being able to make my own decisions can make a person feel small and invisible. This could make people feel insecure because no one listens to their opinions, ideas, and decisions.”

-Youth (From The Ultimate Health Rights Survival Guide, Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth)

Government-issued identification and gender identity

Birth registration and certificates record the sex/assigned sex of all children and youth. Personal information listed on birth registration and certificates is used to develop other forms of government-issued identification. For transgender and genderqueer children and youth, this means that their government-issued identification aligns with their sex/assigned sex and not their gender identity (Rainbow Health Ontario, 2015).

It is important that transgender and genderqueer children and youth have the option of changing government-issued identification to align with their gender identity. Lack of access to affirming identification can significantly impact access to job opportunities, housing, appropriate health care and social services, and can decrease safety (particularly if what is on a child or youth’s identification doesn’t match their gender expression).

With the support of parents, guardians, and caregivers, sex designation can be changed on the following government-issued identification:

  • Ontario Birth Registration and Certificate
  • Ontario Driver’s Licence
  • Federal Passports

Note: Ontario Health Cards issued as of June 13, 2016, no longer list sex designation (although this information is still within the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care’s database). Take a look at the following websites for more information on how to change sex designations on government issued identification:

viii Contact Rainbow Health Ontario for information, training and referrals; consult their online Trans Primary Care Guide https://www.rainbowhealthontario. ca/TransHealthGuide/

Accompagner les enfants et les jeunes transgenres et de diverses identités de genre

Offrir un foyer et des services aux enfants et aux jeunes transgenres et de diverses identités de genre qui sont pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance leur permet d’exprimer leur identité librement et ouvertement. Cela consiste notamment à soutenir le choix de vêtements ou de coiffure de l’enfant ou du jeune, car ils peuvent être des aspects importants de l’extériorisation. Cela peut aussi consister à faciliter l’accès à des outils (p. ex. des bandes thoraciques, des bourrures, des appareils pour uriner debout), à des soins de santé et/ou à des interventions orientés sur l’affirmation du genre (p. ex. des traitements hormonaux, l’épilation des poils) qui peuvent aider certains enfants et jeunes à sentir que leur corps correspond mieux à leur identité de genre.

Il est d’une importance capitale que les jeunes transgenres qui s’intéressent aux inhibiteurs d’hormones, aux traitements hormonaux ainsi qu’à d’autres interventions d’affirmation du genre reçoivent des conseils et des soins médicaux compétents et affirmatifs. Les jeunes qui n’ont pas accès aux services de santé dont ils ont besoin, par exemple, peuvent en venir à employer des hormones sans la supervision d’un médecin, ce qui pourrait entraîner des conséquences néfastes pour leur santé. Le manque d’accès à des soins de santé transaffirmatifs peut aussi mener à des préoccupations pour la santé mentale (dépression, anxiété), à l’automutilation, à la consommation d’alcool ou d’autres drogues et à au suicide.

Il est également important d’éviter de supposer que les jeunes qui s’intéressent aux inhibiteurs d’hormones, aux thérapies hormonales ou à d’autres interventions médicales devraient attendre d’être plus âgés avant de prendre des décisions. Forcer les jeunes à attendre pour avoir accès à des soins de santé orientés sur l’affirmation du genre peut accroître considérablement les risques, y compris les pensées et les comportements suicidaires75. On devrait demander des aiguillages vers des professionnels de la médecine qui ont l’habitude de travailler avec des jeunes transgenres et de diverses identités de genre afin que ces jeunes puissent recevoir des conseils et des soins adéquats. Lorsque les professionnels de la médecine sont difficilement accessibles, en particulier dans les collectivités rurales ou nordiques, un mentorat par des praticiens d’expérience et des soins collaboratifs par des praticiens de la région ou à distance peuvent être possiblesviii.

Trouver des fournitures affirmatives du genre

Il est important de chercher des magasins ou des organismes, en ligne et dans votre collectivité, qui vendent ou qui louent des fournitures affirmatives du genre, comme des bandes, des bourrures, des dispositifs pour uriner debout et des appareils pour épiler les poils.

Lire la ressource de QMUNITY sur la santé thoracique pour les communautés trans, de diverses identités de genre et bispirituelles pour en savoir davantage sur les pratiques sécuritaires de bandage thoracique et sur les sites où acheter des bandes thoraciques en ligne. La ressource est disponible à l’adresse : http://qmunity.ca/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/I_Heart_My_Chest_-_English_version.pdf

Plein feux sur les communautés : le DressCode Project

Le DressCode Project est une initiative qui vise à créer des espaces dans les salons de coiffure pour les personnes qui font partie des communautés LGBT2SQ. L’initiative souligne l’importance de pouvoir avoir une apparence qui correspond à ce que l’on ressent et elle montre à quel point il peut parfois être angoissant et difficile de se rendre à un salon et demander une coupe de cheveux qui n’est pas traditionnellement associée à son genre, surtout pour les personnes qui sont transgenres.

Le Dresscode Project a pour objectif de mettre fin à la discrimination fondée sur le genre dans le domaine de la coiffure en assurant une expérience affirmative, positive et tolérante dans les salons. Dans tous les salons DressCode, on veille à employer les pronoms appropriés, on aménage des toilettes neutres et on suit une formation de sensibilisation complète offerte par le Dresscode Project. Le Dressecode Project anime également le « Gender Free Haircut Club », un événement dans le cadre duquel les jeunes LGBT2SQ ont droit à une coupe de cheveux gratuite à tous les deux mois à Toronto. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements et pour consulter le répertoire des salons participants, http://dresscodeproject.com/.

instagram : @thedresscodeproject,
Facebook : Dress Code Project

RESSOURCES : documents affirmatifs pour les enfants et les jeunes trans et de diverses identités de genre

Lambda Legal : Working with Transgender and Gender Non-Conforming Youth https://www.lambdalegal.org/know-your-rights/article/youth-tgnc

Safe & Respected. Policy, Best Practices & Guidance for Serving Trans and Gender Non-Conforming Children and Youth. New York City Administration for Children’s Services http://www1.nyc.gov/assets/acs/pdf/lgbtq/FINAL_06_23_2014_WEB.pdf

Central Toronto Youth Services: Families in Transition: A Resource Guide for Families of Transgender Youth http://www.ctys.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/CTYS-FIT-Families-in-Transition-Guide-2nd-edition.pdf

Les professionnels du bien-être de l’enfance et les fournisseurs de soins peuvent encourager, eux aussi, l’extériorisation des jeunes transgenres et de diverses identités de genre en76 :

[Traduction] Ne pas pouvoir prendre mes propres décisions, ça veut dire, pour moi, que ma voix et mon opinion ne sont pas entendues. Ne pas pouvoir prendre ses propres décisions peut amener une personne à se sentir rabaissée et invisible. Cela pourrait insécuriser les gens parce qu’il n’y a personne qui écoute leurs opinions, leurs idées et leurs décisions.

—Jeune (extrait du document The Ultimate Health Rights Survival Guide, intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes)

La pièce d’identité délivrée par le gouvernement et l’identité de genre

Le sexe/sexe assigné de tous les enfants et les jeunes est inscrit sur l’enregistrement de la naissance et les certificats de naissance. Les renseignements personnels qui figurent sur l’enregistrement de la naissance et les certificats de naissance sont utilisés pour concevoir d’autres formes d’identification délivrées par le gouvernement. Pour les enfants et les jeunes transgenres et genderqueers, cela signifie que leur pièce d’identité délivrée par le gouvernement est compatible avec leur sexe/sexe assigné et non avec leur identité de genre (Santé arc-en-ciel Ontario, 2015).

Il est important que les enfants et les jeunes transgenres et genderqueers aient le choix de changer leur pièce d’identité délivrée par le gouvernement afin qu’elle soit compatible avec leur identité de genre. Le manque d’accès à une identification affirmative peut avoir des répercussions importantes sur les possibilités d’emploi, le logement, les soins de santé et les services sociaux pertinents en plus de diminuer la sécurité (particulièrement si le contenu de la pièce d’identité de l’enfant ou du jeune ne correspond pas à son expression de genre).

Avec le soutien des parents, des tutrices et tuteurs et des fournisseurs de soins, la désignation du sexe peut être changée sur les pièces d’identité délivrées par le gouvernement suivantes :

Remarque : La désignation du sexe ne figure plus sur les cartes Santé de l’Ontario qui ont été délivrées depuis le 13 juin 2016 (bien que cette information demeure dans la base de données du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée).

Jetez un coup d’œil sur les sites Web suivants afin d’obtenir plus d’information sur la marche à suivre pour changer la désignation du sexe sur les pièces d’identité délivrées par le gouvernement :

viii Communiquez avec Santé arc-en-ciel Ontario pour obtenir de l’information, une formation et des ressources; consultez son document en ligne Trans Primary Care Guide https://www.rainbowhealthontario.ca/TransHealthGuide/