Joint Directive: Ministry of Children and Youth Services
Ministry of Community and Social Services
Office of the Chief Coroner for the Province of Ontario



Child Death Reporting and Review

Effective Date: March 31, 2006

Introduction

This Directive is issued under section 20.1 of the Child and Family Services Act and replaces the October 1, 2000 Joint Directive on Child Death Reporting and Review.

The first and foremost function of a Society under the Child and Family Services Act is to protect children. As a result, when any child dies who was receiving service from a Society at the time of his or her death or at any time in the 12 months immediately prior to his or her death, there are extensive reporting requirements. In addition, when the child dies under questionable circumstances and/or as a result of abuse, mistreatment or parental negligence/neglect, the Ministry of Children and Youth Services requires the Society to conduct a full review of the case.

On an exceptional basis, the Society, in consultation with the Ministry of Children and Youth Services and the Office of the Chief Coroner, will conduct a review of other eases. In addition, the Office of the Chief Coroner's Paediatric Death Review Committee may review other cases as appropriate.

This Directive is the result of a comprehensive review conducted by the Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services, the Office of the Chief Coroner for the Province of Ontario and the Ontario Association of Children's Aid Societies regarding existing procedures for child death reporting and review. While each system has unique roles and responsibilities, this Directive demonstrates a mutual commitment to cross-sector co-ordination and collaboration. The Office of the Chief Coroner continues to be available on an ongoing basis to Societies and the Ministry of Children and Youth Services for consultation.

This Directive supplements the ministry's Serious Occurrence Reporting Procedures which include the requirement to report all deaths of clients that occur while participating in a service and the ministry's Enhanced Serious Occurrence Reporting Procedures which are to be followed when a significant incident results in the involvement of emergency services and/or where there is, or is likely to be, significant public or media attention.

Effective immediately, the Office of the Chief Coroner has lead responsibility for the analysis of child death, the dissemination of findings and recommendations related to child death and the production of an Annual Report on child death in Ontario. Mechanisms have been established within the ministry and in coordination with the Office of the Chief Coroner to ensure that relevant recommendations inform ministry policy development on a timely and ongoing basis.

The Annual Report will be the subject of review and consultation at an annual forum on child deaths to be undertaken by the ministry and the Office of the Chief Coroner, with the participation of Societies through the Ontario Association of Children's Aid Societies and the Association of Native Child and Family Services Agencies in Ontario.

A public report card on child deaths will be established and released jointly by the ministry and the Office of the Chief Coroner.

Notes and Definitions

This Directive describes requirements that apply when:

  1. A child who was receiving service from a Society at the time of their death, dies, or
  2. A child who received service from a Society at any time in the 12 months prior to their death, dies.

For the purposes of this Directive, a "child who received service from a Society" is a child who is receiving or received service directly from the Society, and/or a child who is receiving service indirectly through services provided to his or her family.

In all cases where information from the Society's initial notification or preliminary inquiry suggests that some form of immediate action by the ministry or the Society is necessary, such action should not be delayed pending the outcome of any review.

In Ontario, the coroner classifies deaths into five categories as follows:

  1. Natural: Death that is due to a natural disease, or a complication of a disease, or its treatment.
  2. Accidental: Death that is due to an occurrence, incident or event that happens without foresight or expectation.
  3. Homicide: Death that is due to the action of one human being killing another human being.
  4. Suicide: Death that is due to an intentional act of a person knowing the probable consequence of what he/she is about to do.
  5. Undetermined: Inadequate evidence for classification; equal evidence, or a significant contest for two or more classifications; suicide which does not meet higher standard of proof.

For the purposes of this Directive, cases will be considered questionable as follows:

Death classification Cases to be considered questionable
Natural
  • All cases (in care, at home or open) if there are any grounds to suspect that the death was contributed to or linked to an act of omission or commission on the part of caregiver
Accident
Homicide
Suicide
  • All cases where the child was in care
  • All other cases (open or closed) if the circumstances surrounding the child's death relate in any way to the reasons for service and or Society involvement
Undetermined
  • All cases

Requirements

  1. The Society will notify the local coroner and the ministry's Regional Office immediately whenever they have knowledge that: (A) a child who received service from the Society up to the time of his or her death, dies, or (B) a child who received service from the Society at any time in the 12 months prior to his or her death, dies.
  2. The Society will complete a Serious Occurrence Report as set out in the ministry's Serious Occurrence Reporting Procedures. The Society will immediately forward copies of the report to the Regional Office, the Regional Supervising Coroner and the Deputy Chief Coroner (or delegate). In addition, the Society will follow the ministry's Enhanced Serious Occurrence Reporting Procedures when appropriate.
  3. The Regional Office will review the Serious Occurrence Report provided and file a Contentious issue Report (CI) according to ministry procedures. Even if a child's death may not appear to be contentious it is deemed as such for purposes of this Directive. The CI should summarize the case, ensuring no client identifying information is provided, and detail the action being taken by the Society and the Regional Office. (If information is incomplete at the time of the initial notification or preliminary inquiry, the Regional Office should indicate this, and clarify through CI up-dates as information becomes more readily available).
  4. The Society will complete a case summary (using the Child Fatality Case Summary Report template). The Society may contact the Office of the Chief Coroner directly for information regarding the cause of death. The case summary will include the Society's determination as to whether the child died under questionable circumstances and/or as a result of abuse, mistreatment or parental negligence/neglect. Within 14 days of the child's death or within 14 days of learning that the child bas died, the Society will forward copies of the report to the Regional Office and to the Chair of the Paediatric Death Review Committee.
  5. The Chair of the Paediatric Death Review Committee will review the Child Fatality Case Summary Report, and will decide within seven days of receiving the report whether the Society must undertake an Internal Child Death Review. The Chair will notify the Society of this decision in writing and will provide a copy of this correspondence to the Regional Office.
  6. If the Chair of the Paediatric Death Review Committee determines that an Internal Child Death Review is required, then the Society will conduct a full review of the case. The Society will establish a review team and will include an external reviewer with appropriate clinical expertise on the team.
  7. The Society will complete a full Internal Child Death Review within 90 days of the decision made by the Chair of the Paediatric Death Review Committee, the Society will forward copies of the report to the Regional Office and to the Chair of the Paediatric Death Review Committee.
  8. The Society will submit written progress reports every six months to the Regional Office when the Internal Child Death Review includes recommendations for further action or follow-up by the Society.
  9. Based on the Society's Internal Child Death Review, the Office of the Chief Coroner will determine whether the Paediatric Death Review Committee will undertake a further review, and if so, how detailed a review it will be.
  10. If the Paediatric Death Review Committee conducts a review, the Committee will complete the review within one year of the child's death. The Committee will forward a copy of the report to the Executive Director of the Society and to the Assistant Deputy Minister of the ministry's Program Management Division. Program Management Division will forward copies of the report to the Regional Office and to the ministry's Policy Development and Program Design Division.
  11. The Society will consider the Paediatric Death Review Committee Report, will implement the recommendations as appropriate and will incorporate the recommendations addressed to the Society into its written progress reports to the Regional Office.
  12. The Regional Office will maintain copies of reports, reviews, recommendations and related statistics in accordance with the ministry's Records Management Procedures.

Effective Date: March 31, 2006

Original signed by:

Trinela Cane
Assistant Deputy Minister
Program Management Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services
Ministry of Community and Social Services

Alexander Bezzina
Assistant Deputy Minister
Program Management Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services
Ministry of Community and Social Services

Dr. James Cairns
Deputy Chief Coroner
Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services

Back to top

Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse
Ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires
Bureau du coroner en chef de l'Ontario

Déclaration et examen des décès d'enfants

Date d'entrée en vigueur : 31 mars 2006

Introduction

La présente directive est publiée conformément à l'article 20.1 de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille et remplace la Directive conjointe visant la déclaration et l'examen des décès d'enfants en Ontario publiée le 1er octobre 2000.

Selon la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille, une société a comme principale fonction de protéger les enfants. Par conséquent, lorsqu'un enfant décède et que ce dernier recevait des services d'une société au moment de son décès ou en a reçu à un moment où à un autre dans les douze mois précédant son décès, de nombreux rapports doivent être produits. De plus, lorsque l'enfant décède dans des circonstances douteuses ou à la suite d'un abus, de mauvais traitements ou de négligence parentale, le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse exige que la société procède à un examen complet du cas.

Exceptionnellement, la société, en consultation avec le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse et le Bureau du coroner en chef, procédera à un examen d'autres cas. De plus, le Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants du Bureau du coroner en chef peut lui-même examiner d'autres cas au besoin.

La présente directive est le résultat d'un examen exhaustif mené conjointement par le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse de l'Ontario, le Bureau du coroner en chef de l'Ontario et l'Association ontarienne des sociétés de l'aide à l'enfance sur les procédures existantes de déclaration et d'examen des décès d'enfants. Bien que chaque secteur ait ses propres rôles et responsabilités, la présente directive démontre un engagement mutuel à établir une coordination et une collaboration intersectorielles. Au besoin et en tout temps, les sociétés et le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse peuvent consulter le Bureau du coroner en chef de l'Ontario.

La présente directive vient compléter la Marche à suivre pour signaler les incidents graves du Ministère, qui exige que tous les décès de clients recevant des services soient déclarés, ainsi que la Marche à suivre spéciale pour signaler les incidents graves, qui doit être respectée lorsqu'un incident grave entraîne l'intervention des services d'urgence ou lorsqu'il a attiré ou pourrait attirer l'attention du public ou des médias.

À compter d'aujourd'hui, le Bureau du coroner en chef a la responsabilité d'analyser le décès d'un enfant, de diffuser ses conclusions et ses recommandations relatives à ce décès et de produire un rapport annuel sur les décès d'enfants survenus en Ontario. Des mécanismes ont été mis en place au sein du Ministère et en coordination avec le Bureau du coroner en chef pour faire en sorte que des recommandations pertinentes appuient l'élaboration des politiques du Ministère en temps opportun et de façon continue.

Le rapport annuel fera l'objet d'un examen et d'une consultation lors d'un forum annuel sur les décès d'enfants mis sur pied par le Ministère et le Bureau du coroner en chef. Des sociétés, par l'entremise de l'Association ontarienne des sociétés de l'aide à l'enfance et de l'Association of Native Child and Family Services Agencies of Ontario, y participeront.

Une fiche d'évaluation publique sur les décès d'enfants sera créée et diffusée conjointement par le Ministère et le Bureau du coroner en chef.

Remarques et définitions

La présente directive décrit les exigences qui s'appliquent dans les circonstances suivantes :

  1. lors du décès d'un enfant qui recevait des services d'une société au moment de son décès;
  2. lors du décès d'un enfant qui a reçu des services d'une société à un moment où à un autre au cours des douze mois précédant son décès.

Aux fins de la présente directive, un « enfant qui a reçu des services d'une société » est un enfant qui reçoit ou qui a reçu des services directement de la société ou qui reçoit des services indirectement par l'entremise des services fournis à sa famille.

Dans tous les cas où l'information contenue dans l'avis initial ou l'enquête préliminaire de la société suggère qu'une mesure doit être prise immédiatement par le Ministère ou la société, une intervention immédiate doit être effectuée, même en l'absence de résultats de tout examen.

En Ontario, le coroner classe les décès dans cinq catégories :

  1. Mort naturelle : mort découlant d'une maladie naturelle, d'une complication d'une maladie naturelle ou d'une complication de son traitement.
  2. Mort accidentelle : mort causée par un incident ou un événement qui s'est produit sans qu'il soit anticipé ou prévu.
  3. Homicide : mort qui découle de l'acte intentionnel d'une personne qui a tué un autre être humain.
  4. Suicide : mort qui découle de l'acte intentionnel d'une personne qui connaissait les conséquences probables de son acte.
  5. Décès de cause indéterminée : les preuves sont insuffisantes pour permettre de classer le décès, ou il y a des preuves équivalentes ou concurrentes entre deux modes de décès ou plus; suicide qui ne satisfait pas au niveau élevé de preuve exigé.

Aux fins de la présente directive, les cas suivants sont considérés comme douteux :

Classement des décès Cas à considérer comme douteux
Mort naturelle
  • Tous les cas (prises en charge, à la maison ou dossiers ouverts) pour lesquels il y a des raisons de soupçonner qu'un acte accompli ou une omission commise par un tuteur a contribué ou mené au décès
Accident
Homicide
Suicide
  • Tous les cas où l'enfant était pris en charge
  • Tous les autres cas (dossiers ouverts ou fermés) où les circonstances entourant le décès de l'enfant sont liées d'une façon ou d'une autre aux motifs justifiant la prestation de services ou l'intervention de la société
Indéterminé
  • Tous les cas

Exigences

  1. La société avisera immédiatement le coroner local et le bureau régional du Ministère si elle a été informée : (A) qu'un enfant qui recevait des services de la société jusqu'au moment de son décès est décédé ou (B) qu'un enfant qui a reçu des services de la société à un moment ou à un autre au cours des douze mois précédant son décès est décédé.
  2. La société remplira un rapport d'incident grave conformément à la Marche à suivre pour signaler les incidents graves du Ministère. Elle fera immédiatement parvenir une copie du rapport au bureau régional, au coroner régional principal et au coroner en chef adjoint (ou son délégué). De plus, la société respectera la Marche à suivre spéciale pour signaler les incidents graves du Ministère, s'il y a lieu.
  3. Le bureau régional examinera le rapport d'incident grave fourni et produira un rapport sur les questions litigieuses conformément aux procédures du Ministère. Même si le décès d'un enfant ne semble pas être litigieux, il est considéré comme tel aux fins de la présente directive. Le rapport sur les questions litigieuses devrait contenir un résumé du cas, ne contenir aucun renseignement permettant d'identifier le client, et indiquer les mesures prises par la société et le bureau régional. (S'il manque des renseignements dans l'avis initial ou l'enquête préliminaire, le bureau régional doit le mentionner et fournir des précisions dans les mises à jour du rapport sur les questions litigieuses au fur et à mesure que les renseignements manquants sont disponibles.)
  4. La société rédigera un sommaire de cas complet (en suivant le modèle de fiche de signalement d'un décès et sommaire du cas). Elle peut communiquer directement avec le Bureau du coroner en chef pour obtenir des renseignements sur la cause du décès. Le sommaire du cas indiquera si la société juge que le décès de l'enfant est survenu dans des circonstances douteuses ou à la suite d'un abus, de mauvais traitements ou d'une négligence parentale. Dans les 14 jours suivant le décès de l'enfant ou dans les 14 jours suivant la déclaration du décès de l'enfant, la société fera parvenir une copie du rapport au bureau régional et au président du Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants.
  5. Le président du Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants examinera la fiche de signalement du décès de l'enfant et le sommaire du cas et décidera dans les sept jours suivant la réception des documents si la société doit entreprendre un examen interne des décès d'enfants. Le président avisera la société de cette décision par écrit et fournira une copie de ce document au bureau régional.
  6. Si le président du Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants détermine qu'un examen interne des décès d'enfants est requis, la société procédera à un examen complet du cas. Elle mettra sur pied une équipe d'examen composée notamment d'un examinateur externe possédant une expertise clinique appropriée.
  7. La société procédera à un examen interne complet des décès d'enfants dans les 90 jours suivant la décision prise par le président du Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants. Elle fera parvenir une copie du rapport au bureau régional et au président du Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants.
  8. La société fera parvenir des rapports d'étape tous les six mois au bureau régional si l'examen interne des décès d'enfants donne lieu à la recommandation que des mesures soient prises ou qu'un suivi soit effectué par la société.
  9. En se fondant sur l'examen interne des décès d'enfants réalisé par la société, le Bureau du coroner en chef déterminera si le Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants devra mener un autre examen et dans quelle mesure ce nouvel examen devra être approfondi.
  10. Si le Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants procède à un examen, il devra terminer ledit examen dans l'année suivant le décès de l'enfant. Le Comité fera parvenir une copie du rapport au directeur général de la société et au sous-ministre adjoint de la Division de la gestion des programmes du Ministère. La Division de la gestion des programmes fera parvenir une copie du rapport au bureau régional et à la Division de l'élaboration des politiques et de la conception des programmes du Ministère.
  11. La société examinera le rapport du Comité d'examen des décès d'enfants, mettra en œuvre les recommandations, le cas échéant, et intégrera les recommandations qui lui ont été soumises dans les rapports d'étape qu'elle présentera au bureau régional.
  12. Le bureau régional conservera une copie des rapports, des examens, des recommandations et des statistiques connexes, conformément aux procédures relatives à la gestion des dossiers du Ministère.

Date d'entrée en vigueur : 31 Mars 2006

Trinela Cane
Sous-ministre adjointe
Division de la gestion des programmes
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse
Ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires

Alexander Bezzina
Sous-ministre adjoint
Division de la gestion des programmes
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse
Ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires

Dr James Cairns
Coroner en chef adjoint
Ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels

retour en haut