Policy Directive: CW 002-17 - Respecting the provision of child protection services under the Child and Family Services Act, R.S.O. 1990 c.C.11 (CFSA), in the District of Thunder Bay



Directive to Dilico Anishinabek Family Care (Dilico), Tikinagan Child and Family Services (Tikinagan) and the Children's Aid Society of the District of Thunder Bay (Thunder Bay CAS)

Effective Date: This directive will come into effect on October 16, 2017.

Introduction

The paramount purpose of the CFSA is to promote the best interests, protection and well-being of children. An additional purpose of the CFSA is to recognize that First Nations people should be entitled to provide, wherever possible, their own child and family services. All services to First Nations children and families should be provided in a manner that recognizes their culture, heritage and traditions and the concept of the extended family.

The goals of this directive are: to clarify roles and responsibilities in the District of Thunder Bay concerning the provision of services to children and families who identify as being from Tikinagan First Nations[1]; and to facilitate clear communication and respectful relationships between the CASs.

Requirements

1.  General

All societies must adhere to the requirements set out in the CFSA, its regulations, policy directives issued by the ministry and the Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) (Standards). This directive supplements existing requirements.

Dilico will carry out the functions of a society under s. 15(3) of the CFSA in the District of Thunder Bay for all First Nations, Métis and Inuit children and families living off reserve. This authority overlaps with the authority of Thunder Bay CAS and, as noted in the Ontario Child Protection Standards, where such overlap exists, societies are required to have protocols between them to address processes, timelines, and roles and responsibilities for inter-agency transfers of new referrals. In the event that Thunder Bay CAS serves a child from a Tikinagan First Nation (for example in order to address a conflict of interest issue), Thunder Bay CAS will adhere to all of the requirements imposed on Dilico through this directive.

Tikinagan is designated to carry out the functions of a society under s.15(3) of the CFSA, within the area of Northern Ontario specified in its designation document. Tikinagan also holds a foster care licence, and subject to any conditions on that licence, may open foster homes in Thunder Bay. Tikinagan places children in foster homes under their licence, and may also place children in its care with other licensees. Tikinagan supervises foster placements and customary care placements, and oversees the care of children in other residential placements. Tikinagan also provides prevention services to children from Tikinagan First Nations who are residing in or visiting Thunder Bay.

Given that Dilico, Tikinagan and Thunder Bay CAS are all providing services in Thunder Bay, each of these societies will identify an inter-society liaison and provide the other two societies and the ministry with this individual's contact information. These liaisons will work to promote effective, respectful and timely communication between the societies and will serve as a point of contact between the societies. The liaisons can also serve as a point of contact for child protection workers who require responses to requests for information. In the event that an inter-society liaison is unavailable because of a planned absence (for example during vacation or an illness), the society will name an alternate designate to carry out the role of the inter-society liaison and notify the other two societies of the designate's contact information as soon as possible. In the event of an unplanned absence or if the designate becomes unavailable, the Executive Director will serve as the point of contact in the absence of the inter-society liaison.

If a service provider contacts Dilico in regards to a child under Tikinagan's care who is receiving services from the service provider, then Dilico's inter-society liaison will contact the Tikinagan's inter-society liaison to address the matter. If a service provider contacts Tikinagan in regards to a child under Dilico's care who is receiving services from the service provider, then Tikinagan's inter-society liaison will contact Dilico's inter-society liaison to address the matter.

2.  Referrals

The societies will maintain respectful relationships and collaborate effectively in order to promote the best interests, protection and well-being of the children they serve.

When a referral is received from Dilico, Tikinagan or Thunder Bay CAS, the receiving society will provide the referring society with an update on disposition of the referral within twenty-four hours of the disposition decision. The update should be provided through the inter-society liaison. This applies to referrals that involve service requests, including for example requests by one society to evaluate a home or supervise a placement on behalf of another society.

3.  Transfers

All societies are required to comply with Standard 6 of the Child Protection Standards, 2016. This Standard outlines requirements for societies transferring cases within a society and between societies.

Where a case concerns Dilico, Tikinagan or Thunder Bay CAS, all notifications and confirmations required under Standard 6 should be made through the inter-society liaisons.

The transferring documentation that is to be sent to the receiving society within 2 working days of the referral should be sent through the inter-society liaisons.

Confirmation of transfers may not be unreasonably withheld. If a society refuses a transfer, the reasons should be recorded in the file and an explanation provided in writing to the society that made the referral within ten days of the receipt of the referral, through the inter-society liaison. Any delays in confirming transfers, refusals to accept transfers or failures to comply with the standards concerning transfers should be noted in the society's reporting on compliance with this directive (see final section of this directive).

4.  Community Links

Where the referral disposition is to provide a "community link", the society worker must consider whether information or resources are available from the child's First Nation or from the society designated to serve the child's First Nation reserve community. If such resources exist, the worker will provide the family with information about these resources.

5.  Investigations

For children and families in Thunder Bay who are members of or identify with a Tikinagan First Nation:

If Dilico receives a referral that requires a protection investigation, Dilico will notify a representative of the child's First Nation when the investigation is initiated. Where Tikinagan is the representative of the child's First Nation, Tikinagan will be notified through the inter-society liaison. This is required when the referral relates to concerns about a parent, and if the referral relates to concerns about community caregivers.

Policy Directive 003-15 (FastTrack Information System) applies to information exchanges between societies. The societies will exchange relevant information about the child or family, including information about previous involvement with a society through the inter-society liaison. Workers and managers will maintain respectful relationships and will provide timely responses to requests for information and updates through the inter-society liaison.

In every case involving a child from a Tikinagan First Nation, Dilico will consider information provided by Tikinagan. Dilico must also consider whether the involvement of Tikinagan workers in the investigation would help support the child or strengthen the investigation process. If the child has been assigned a Tikinagan worker, that worker may not be unreasonably excluded from involvement that would support the child and family during the investigation. Where Dilico determines that Tikinagan workers should not be involved in the investigation this should be noted in writing and should form part of Dilico's compliance reporting on this directive. Particular consideration should be given when: investigations involve children with open files with Tikinagan, or files open within the preceding 12 months with Tikinagan; when Dilico is investigating a referral connected to a Tikinagan foster home in Thunder Bay; and if Dilico becomes aware that a family receiving its services will be residing in or visiting the area covered by Tikinagan's designation.

If an investigation is being initiated concerning a newborn delivered at a hospital in Thunder Bay, whose birth parent is from a Tikinagan First Nation, Dilico will contact Tikinagan through the inter-society liaison. If the family is not remaining in Thunder Bay, Dilico must consult with Tikinagan about Tikinagan's planning for the family before the conclusion of the investigation. Dilico and Tikinagan will cooperate to ensure continuity of service once the family leaves Thunder Bay and will follow Standard 6 related to transfers.

6.  Placement decisions

If Dilico determines that a child cannot remain with a parent or person having charge of them, Dilico will notify a representative of the child's First Nation before a placement decision is made, unless there would be substantial risk to the child's health and safety during the time necessary to give notice. In that case Dilico must give notice as soon as possible thereafter. Where a placement decision must be made on an urgent basis, including after-hours, and where Tikinagan is a representative of the child's First Nation, Dilico will contact Tikinagan by telephone to receive input on the placement of the child. When this occurs, Dilico and Tikinagan will document the telephone call in the file and Dilico's inter-society liason will follow up with Tikingan's inter-society liaison in writing the following day. Where the placement decision does not need to be made on an urgent basis, and where Tikinagan is the representative of the child's First Nation, Tikinagan will be notified in writing through the inter-society liaison.

Dilico will arrange a case conference as soon as possible and will consider any placement options proposed by the child's First Nations representative, including customary care with the child's First Nations community. Where Dilico chooses to place a child in a placement that is not supported by the child's First Nations Community, Dilico will record the reasons for its decision in writing and communicate those reasons to the representative of the child's First Nations community. If Tikinagan is the representative of the child's First Nations community, then the reasons will be provided in writing to Tikinagan's inter-society liaison.

If the child in question had been placed in Thunder Bay by Tikinagan, Tikinagan will assess the information provided by Dilico and determine an appropriate placement for the child going forward.

7.  Foster homes and other residential placements

Tikinagan will advise Dilico of the location of its foster homes, outside paid resources (OPRs) and other residential placement providers in Thunder Bay, and of the children in these placements.

If Dilico opens foster homes in the area covered by Tikinagan's designation or places children in OPRs or with other residential placement providers in this area, Dilico will advise Tikinagan of the children in these placements and of the location of these foster homes, OPRs and other residential placement providers.

If Dilico receives a referral concerning a foster home operating under Tikinagan's foster care licence, or an OPR or other residential placement provider where Tikingan has placed children, Dilico will notify Tikinagan that it has received the referral without delay. If Tikinagan receives a referral concerning a foster home operating under Dilico's foster care license, or an OPR or other residential placement provider where Dilico has placed children, Tikinagan will notify Dilico that it has received the referral without delay.

8.  Children and families moving in and out of Thunder Bay and hospital births

If Dilico becomes aware that a family receiving its services will be temporarily residing in or visiting the area covered by Tikinagan's designation, Dilico will notify Tikinagan and the two societies will exchange information and discuss resources and supports in order to maintain continuity of service for the family.

If Tikinagan becomes aware that a family receiving its services will be temporarily residing in or visiting the District of Thunder Bay, Tikinagan will notify Dilico and the two societies will exchange information and discuss resources and supports in order to maintain continuity of service for the family. If, however, a family receiving Tikinagan's services relocates to the District of Thunder Bay such that they are ordinarily resident there, that file will be referred for transfer to Dilico in accordance with the section above addressing "Transfers" unless the two societies agree otherwise.

Protection services: If a child who is ordinarily resident in a Tikinagan First Nation requires protection services while temporarily residing in or visiting the the District of Thunder Bay, Dilico will provide those protection services while the individual and/or family are temporarily residing in Thunder Bay. When the individual and/or family return to an area that is covered by Tikinagan's designation, Dilico will initiate a transfer of the file back to Tikinagan. It is essential that the Dilico and Tikinagan inter-agency liaisons respond to requests in a timely manner to ensure continuity of services for individuals and/or families.

If Tikinagan becomes aware of an impending birth planned to occur in Thunder Bay, Tikinagan will notify Dilico as soon as possible through the inter-society liaison. In the event of an unplanned birth of a child in Thunder Bay from a Tikinagan First Nation, or a birth about which Tikinagan was not aware, Dilico will notify Tikinagan through the inter-society liaison as soon as Dilico becomes aware of the birth.

If a parent is the subject of a birth alert by Tikinagan, and comes to the District of Thunder Bay to give birth, Dilico will open a file if there is no open file with Tikinagan. As soon as the family leaves the District of Thunder Bay and returns to the area covered by Tikinagan's designation, Dilico will refer the file for transfer back to Tikinagan in accordance with the section above addressing "Transfers". If a parent with an open file with Tikinagan gives birth in the District of Thunder Bay, Dilico will provide protection assistance services.

9.  Use of email to contact inter-society liaisons

Where this directive requires that a society provide information in writing through an inter-society liaison, the required information may be provided through email.

10.  Reporting on compliance with this Directive

Each society will provide reports to the ministry every 30 days, or as otherwise required by the ministry, outlining its compliance with this directive. These reports should be provided in the form specified by the ministry. These reports should also identify challenges that have arisen in attempting to comply with the directive and, in instances where the directive was not complied with, an explanation for the lack of compliance.

Issuance of Policy Directive CW002-17: September 27, 2017

Original signed by:

Nadia Cornacchia
Assistant Deputy Minister (A)
Service Delivery Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Footnotes

[1] Tikinagan identifies that it serves the following First Nations:

  • Aroland
  • Bearskin Lake
  • Cat Lake
  • Deer Lake
  • Eabametoong
  • Fort Severn
  • Koocheching
  • Kasabonika Lake
  • Kee-Way-Win
  • Kingfisher Lake
  • Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug
  • Lac Seul
  • Wapekeka
  • Wawakapewin
  • Webequie
  • Marten Falls
  • Mishkeegogamang
  • Muskrat Dam
  • Neskantaga
  • Nibinamik
  • North Caribou Lake
  • North Spirit Lake
  • Pikangikum
  • Poplar Hill
  • Sachigo Lake
  • Sandy Lake
  • Saugeen
  • Slate Falls
  • Wunnumin Lake
  • McDowell Lake

Back to top

Directive CW 002-17 concernant la prestation de services de protection de l'enfance en vertu de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.11 (LSEF), dans le district de Thunder Bay.

Directive à l'intention des organismes suivants : Dilico Anishinabek Family Care (Dilico), Tikinagan Child and Family Services (Tikinagan) et Société d'aide à l'enfance du district de Thunder Bay (SAE de Thunder Bay)

Date d'entrée en vigueur : La présente directive entrera en vigueur le 16 octobre 2017.

Introduction

L'objectif primordial de la LSEF est de promouvoir l'intérêt véritable de l'enfant, sa protection et son bien-être. La Loi reconnaît également que les membres des Premières Nations devraient pouvoir, lorsque cela est possible, fournir leurs propres services à l'enfance et à la famille de telle manière que soient respectés leur culture, leur patrimoine, leurs traditions et leur concept de la famille élargie.

La présente directive vise à clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités dans le district de Thunder Bay concernant la prestation de services à des enfants et à des familles qui s'identifient comme membres d'une Première Nation de Tikinagan[1] et à favoriser une communication claire et des relations respectueuses entre les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (SAE).

Exigences

1.  Généralités

Toutes les sociétés doivent se conformer aux exigences énoncées dans la LSEF, à ses règlements, aux directives stratégiques émises par le ministère et aux Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016) (les Normes). La présente directive complète les actuelles exigences.

Dilico doit assumer les fonctions d'une société prévues au par. 15 (3) de la LSEF dans le district de Thunder Bay et à l'égard des enfants et des familles des Premières Nations, métis et inuits vivant à l'extérieur des réserves. Ce pouvoir recoupe celui de la SAE de Thunder Bay et, comme il est indiqué dans les Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario, s'il y a recoupement, les sociétés sont tenues d'appliquer des protocoles qui énoncent les procédés, les délais d'exécution, les rôles et les responsabilités concernant les transferts interagences des nouveaux signalements. Dans le cas où un enfant d'une Première Nation de Tikinagan est placé sous la responsabilité de la SAE de Thunder Bay (par exemple, pour résoudre un problème de conflit d'intérêts), celle-ci doit se conformer à toutes les exigences imposées à Dilico en vertu de la présente directive.

Tikinagan est chargé d'assumer les fonctions d'une société prévues au par. 15 (3) de la LSEF dans la région du Nord de l'Ontario précisée dans son document de désignation. L'organisme est également titulaire d'un permis de placement en famille d'accueil et, en vertu des modalités de ce permis, peut ouvrir des foyers d'accueil à Thunder Bay. Tikinagan place les enfants dans des foyers d'accueil aux termes de son permis, et peut aussi placer les enfants se trouvant sous sa protection chez d'autres titulaires de permis. L'organisme supervise les placements en famille d'accueil et les soins conformes aux traditions, et surveille la prise en charge des enfants placés dans d'autres établissements. Tikinagan fournit aussi des services de prévention aux enfants des Premières Nations de Tikinagan qui résident ou sont en visite à Thunder Bay.

Étant donné que Dilico, Tikinagan et la SAE de Thunder Bay sont trois organismes à offrir des services à Thunder Bay, chacune de ces sociétés doit désigner un agent de liaison qui servira d'intermédiaire entre les sociétés et fournir les coordonnées de cette personne-ressource aux deux autres sociétés ainsi qu'au ministère. Ces agents de liaison veilleront à ce que la communication entre les sociétés soit efficace, respectueuse et rapide, et ils serviront de point de contact entre les sociétés. Ils pourront aussi servir de point de contact pour les préposés à la protection de l'enfance qui attendent des réponses à leurs demandes de renseignements. Dans le cas où il est impossible de joindre un agent de liaison en raison d'une absence planifiée (par exemple, des vacances ou une maladie), la société doit nommer un remplaçant désigné qui assumera le rôle de l'agent de liaison et elle communiquera le plus tôt possible les coordonnées de cette personne aux deux autres sociétés. Si l'absence n'est pas planifiée ou si la personne désignée n'est pas disponible, le directeur général doit servir de point de contact en l'absence de l'agent de liaison.

Si un fournisseur de services communique avec Dilico au sujet d'un enfant se trouvant sous la protection de Tikinagan mais à qui il fournit des services, l'agent de liaison de Dilico doit communiquer avec l'agent de Tikinagan pour régler la question. Si un fournisseur de services communique avec Tikinagan au sujet d'un enfant se trouvant sous la protection de Dilico mais à qui il fournit des services, l'agent de liaison de Tikinagan doit communiquer avec l'agent de Dilico pour régler la question.

2.  Signalements

Les sociétés doivent maintenir des relations respectueuses et collaborer de manière efficace afin de promouvoir l'intérêt véritable, la protection et le bien-être des enfants placés sous leur responsabilité.

Quand Dilico, Tikinagan ou la SAE de Thunder Bay fait un signalement, la société qui accueille l'enfant communique dans les vingt-quatre heures avec la société qui a fait le signalement afin de faire le point sur la décision qui a été prise. Le renseignement doit être fourni par l'intermédiaire de l'agent de liaison. Cette mesure s'applique aux signalements qui s'accompagnent de demandes de services, par exemple les demandes d'une société pour évaluer un foyer ou superviser un placement au nom d'une autre société.

3.  Transferts

Toutes les sociétés sont tenues de se conformer à la Norme no 6 des Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016), qui décrit les exigences en matière de transfert de dossiers tant à l'intérieur d'une société qu'entre deux sociétés.

Lorsqu'un dossier concerne Dilico, Tikinagan ou la SAE de Thunder Bay, tous les avis et toutes les confirmations nécessaires en vertu de la Norme no 6 doivent être transmis par l'intermédiaire des agents de liaison.

Les documents du transfert qui doivent être remis à la société qui accueille l'enfant dans les deux jours ouvrables suivant le signalement seront transmis par les agents de liaison.

La confirmation d'un transfert ne doit pas être déraisonnablement refusée. La société qui refuse un transfert doit en consigner les raisons dans le dossier et fournir une explication par écrit à la société qui a fait le signalement dans les dix jours suivant la réception du signalement, par l'intermédiaire de l'agent de liaison. Tous les retards à confirmer un transfert, tous les refus d'accepter un transfert ou tous les manquements aux normes concernant les transferts doivent être indiqués dans le rapport de la société portant sur le respect des dispositions de la présente directive (consulter le dernier point de la directive).

4.  Orientation vers les ressources communautaires

Si la décision concernant le signalement est de fournir une « orientation vers des ressources communautaires », le préposé de la société doit déterminer si les renseignements ou les ressources sont accessibles auprès de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient ou auprès de la société désignée responsable de la réserve de la Première Nation de l'enfant. Si des ressources existent, le préposé fournit à la famille l'information concernant ces ressources.

5.  Enquêtes

À l'intention des enfants et des familles de Thunder Bay qui sont membres ou s'identifient comme membres d'une Première Nation de Tikinagan :

Si Dilico reçoit un signalement qui exige une enquête sur la protection de l'enfance, l'organisme doit informer un représentant de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient dès le début de l'enquête. Si Tikinagan est le représentant de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient, Tikinagan sera avisé par l'intermédiaire de l'agent de liaison. Cette mesure est exigée lorsque le signalement concerne des préoccupations au sujet d'un parent ou d'un aidant communautaire.

La directive en matière de politique 003‑15 (Système d'information FastTrack) a trait à l'échange de renseignements entre les sociétés. Les sociétés doivent échanger, par l'intermédiaire de l'agent de liaison, des renseignements pertinents sur l'enfant ou la famille, y compris des renseignements sur les services que la famille a déjà reçus d'une SAE. Les préposés et les directeurs doivent maintenir des relations respectueuses et fournir des réponses rapides à l'agent de liaison qui demande des renseignements et des mises à jour.

Dans chaque cas concernant un enfant d'une Première Nation de Tikinagan, Dilico doit examiner les renseignements fournis par Tikinagan. Dilico doit aussi vérifier si la participation des préposés de Tikinagan dans l'enquête permettrait d'aider l'enfant ou de renforcer le processus d'enquête. Si un préposé de Tikinagan a été assigné à l'enfant, ce préposé ne peut pas être exclu sans motif valable si sa participation a des chances d'aider l'enfant et la famille durant l'enquête. Si Dilico détermine que les préposés de Tikinagan ne devraient pas participer à l'enquête, les raisons doivent être consignées par écrit et faire partie du rapport de conformité de Dilico à la présente directive. Une attention particulière doit être accordée aux cas suivants : quand les enquêtes concernent des enfants dont le dossier est ouvert à Tikinagan ou dont le dossier a été ouvert au cours des 12 mois précédents à Tikinagan, quand Dilico enquête sur un signalement lié à un foyer d'accueil de Tikinagan à Thunder Bay et si Dilico apprend qu'une famille qui bénéficie de ses services compte résider ou aller en visite dans la région comprise dans la désignation de Tikinagan.

Si une enquête est ouverte concernant un nourrisson né dans un hôpital de Thunder Bay et dont le parent biologique appartient à une Première Nation de Tikinagan, Dilico doit communiquer avec Tikinagan par l'intermédiaire de l'agent de liaison. Si la famille n'entend pas demeurer à Thunder Bay, Dilico doit consulter Tikinagan avant la conclusion de l'enquête afin de connaître ses plans concernant la famille. Dilico et Tikinagan doivent collaborer pour assurer la continuité des services après le départ de la famille de Thunder Bay et suivre les dispositions de la Norme no 6 concernant les transferts.

6.  Décisions de placement

Si Dilico détermine qu'un enfant ne peut pas rester avec un parent ou avec une personne qui en a la charge, l'organisme doit en informer un représentant de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient avant qu'une décision de placement soit prise, à moins que la santé et la sécurité de l'enfant soient gravement menacées d'ici à ce que l'avis soit donné. Dans ce cas, Dilico doit donner l'avis le plus tôt possible par la suite. Si une décision de placement doit être prise de toute urgence, y compris après les heures normales d'ouverture, et si Tikinagan est le représentant de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient, Dilico doit communiquer avec Tikinagan par téléphone afin de recevoir des renseignements sur le placement de l'enfant. Dans un tel cas, Dilico et Tikinagan doivent consigner l'appel téléphonique dans le dossier et l'agent de liaison de Dilico fera un suivi en communiquant par écrit avec l'agent de Tikinagan le lendemain. Si la décision de placement n'a pas à être prise de toute urgence, et si Tikinagan est le représentant de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient, Tikinagan doit être avisé par l'intermédiaire de l'agent de liaison et par écrit.

Dilico doit organiser une consultation sur le dossier aussitôt que possible et examiner les choix de placement proposés par le représentant de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient, y compris les soins conformes aux traditions dans la communauté de la Première Nation de l'enfant. Si Dilico choisit de placer l'enfant dans un endroit qui ne reçoit pas l'approbation de la communauté de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient, Dilico doit consigner par écrit les raisons de sa décision et communiquer ces raisons au représentant de la communauté de la Première Nation de l'enfant. Si Tikinagan est le représentant de la communauté de la Première Nation à laquelle l'enfant appartient, les raisons doivent alors être fournies par écrit à l'agent de liaison de Tikinagan.

Si l'enfant en question a été placé par Tikinagan dans un endroit à Thunder Bay, Tikinagan doit évaluer les renseignements fournis par Dilico et déterminer un prochain placement approprié pour l'enfant.

7.  Foyers d'accueil et autres placements en établissement

Tikinagan doit informer Dilico de l'emplacement de ses foyers d'accueil, des ressources externes rémunérées (RER) et des autres fournisseurs de placements en établissement à Thunder Bay, et l'informer des enfants qui se trouvent dans ces endroits.

Si Dilico ouvre des foyers d'accueil dans la région comprise dans la désignation de Tikinagan ou place des enfants dans des RER ou chez d'autres fournisseurs de placements en établissement dans cette région, l'organisme doit informer Tikinagan des enfants qui se trouvent dans ces endroits et de l'emplacement de ces foyers d'accueil, des RER et des autres fournisseurs de placements en établissement.

Si Dilico reçoit un signalement concernant un foyer d'accueil exploité en vertu d'un permis de placement en famille d'accueil de Tikinagan, concernant une RER ou un autre fournisseur de placements en établissement où Tikinagan a placé des enfants, DIlico doit informer Tikinagan sans délai de la réception du signalement. Si Tikinagan reçoit un signalement concernant un foyer d'accueil exploité en vertu d'un permis de placement en famille d'accueil de Dilico, concernant une RER ou un autre fournisseur de placements en établissement où Dilico a placés des enfants, Tikinagan doit informer Dilico sans délai de la réception du signalement.

8.  Enfants et familles qui séjournent périodiquement à Thunder Bay et naissances à l'hôpital

Si Dilico apprend qu'une famille qui bénéficie de ses services résidera temporairement ou se rendra en visite dans la région comprise dans la désignation de Tikinagan, Dilico doit en informer Tikinagan. Les deux sociétés doivent alors échanger des renseignements et discuter des ressources et des mesures de soutien à offrir à la famille afin d'assurer la continuité des services.

Si Tikanagan apprend qu'une famille qui bénéficie de ses services résidera temporairement ou se rendra en visite dans le district de Thunder Bay, Tikanagan doit en informer Dilico. Les deux sociétés doivent alors échanger des renseignements et discuter des ressources et des mesures de soutien à offrir à la famille afin d'assurer la continuité des services. Si, toutefois, une famille qui bénéficie des services de Tikinagan s'installe dans le district de Thunder Bay de telle sorte qu'elle y réside de manière habituelle, ce dossier doit être renvoyé pour être transféré à Dilico, conformément au point ci-dessus intitulé « Transferts », à moins que les deux sociétés en conviennent autrement.

Services de protection : Si un enfant qui réside ordinairement dans une Première Nation de Tikinagan requiert des services de protection pendant qu'il réside temporairement ou est en visite dans le district de Thunder Bay, Dilico doit fournir ces services de protection pendant le séjour temporaire de l'enfant et/ou de la famille à Thunder Bay. Quand l'enfant et/ou la famille revient dans la région comprise dans la désignation de Tikinagan, Dilico doit procéder au transfert du dossier à Tikinagan. Il est essentiel que les agents de liaison de Dilico et de Tikinagan répondent rapidement aux demandes afin d'assurer la continuité des services qui sont offerts aux enfants et/ou aux familles.

Si Tikinagan apprend qu'une femme enceinte prévoit accoucher à Thunder Bay, l'organisme doit informer Dilico le plus tôt possible par l'intermédiaire de l'agent de liaison. Dans le cas où l'accouchement d'un enfant appartenant à une Première Nation de Tikinagan se fait de façon non planifiée à Thunder Bay, ou dans le cas d'un accouchement dont Tikinagan n'a pas été informé, Dilico doit aviser Tikinagan par l'intermédiaire de l'agent de liaison aussitôt qu'il apprend la naissance de l'enfant.

Si un parent qui fait l'objet d'un « signalement de naissance » par Tikinagan se rend dans le district de Thunder Bay pour accoucher, Dilico doit ouvrir un dossier si aucun dossier n'a été ouvert par Tikinagan. Dès que la famille quitte le district de Thunder Bay et revient dans la région comprise dans la désignation de Tikinagan, Dilico transfère de nouveau le dossier à Tikinagan, conformément au point ci‑dessus intitulé « Transferts ». Si un parent dont le dossier se trouve à Tikinagan donne naissance à un enfant dans le district de Thunder Bay, Dilico doit lui fournir des services de protection et d'aide.

9.  Utilisation du courriel pour les communications avec les agents de liaison

Dans les cas où la présente directive impose à une société de fournir des renseignements par écrit par l'intermédiaire d'un agent de liaison, les renseignements demandés doivent être fournis par courriel.

10.  Communication de rapports portant sur la conformité à la présente directive

Tous les 30 jours, ou conformément à toute autre exigence du ministère, chaque société doit fournir un rapport au ministère indiquant qu'elle se conforme à la présente directive. Ces rapports doivent être produits sous la forme précisée par le ministère. Dans ces rapports, les sociétés doivent également indiquer les difficultés auxquelles elles se sont heurtées en tentant de se conformer à la directive et, dans les cas où elles n'ont pas pu s'y conformer, en expliquer la raison.

Publication de la directive CW 002-17 : 27 septembre 2017


Nadia Cornacchia
Sous-ministre adjointe (intérimaire)
Division de la prestation des services
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse


[1] Tikinagan dit servir les Premières Nations suivantes :

  • Aroland
  • Bearskin Lake
  • Cat Lake
  • Deer Lake
  • Eabametoong
  • Fort Severn
  • Kasabonika Lake
  • Keewaywin
  • Kingfisher Lake
  • Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug
  • Koocheching
  • Lac Caribou Nord
  • Lac McDowell
  • Lac Seul
  • Lac Wunnumin
  • Marten Falls
  • Mishkeegogamang
  • Muskrat Dam
  • Neskantaga
  • Nibinamik
  • North Spirit Lake
  • Pikangikum
  • Poplar Hill
  • Sachigo Lake
  • Sandy Lake
  • Saugeen
  • Slate Falls
  • Wapekeka
  • Wawakapewin
  • Webequie

retour en haut