Policy Directive: CW 003-18 - Protection Services for 16-17 Year Olds



Introduction

This policy directive, under s. 42 of the Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017 (CYFSA), sets additional requirements for the delivery of child protection services to 16-and-17-year-olds. This policy directive will come into effect on April 30, 2018, and replaces CW 003-17 Protection Services for 16-17 Year Olds, which came into effect on January 1, 2018.

For the purposes of this directive, a child who is 16 or 17 years of age is defined as a "youth".

This directive requires all children's aid societies (societies) to provide the full range of child protection services to eligible youth, where appropriate, until their 18th birthday, including the society agreements with 16-and-17-year-olds under s. 77(1) of the CYFSA (referred to as Voluntary Youth Services Agreement (VYSA) in the directive).

Guiding Principles

Access to the full range of protection services for 16-and-17-year-olds will be guided by the following principles, consistent with s. 1 of the CYFSA.

Youth-Centred Protection Service – Youth receiving service may have experienced traumatic events or circumstances. Societies will actively engage the youth in decision-making and promote the youth's voluntary participation in service, assisting the youth to build on their strengths and address the protection issues that are impacting them. Wherever possible, service should support youth to make decisions that help to minimize risk and promote their best interests, protection and well-being.

Least Disruptive Approach – Youth are often best supported within their families, extended families and communities. Service should favour the least disruptive course of action to protect the youth. Service should promote the involvement of families, extended families and communities in decision-making about the youth's safety and well-being, where appropriate.

Permanency – Youth who are 16 or 17 are beginning the transition to independence, and societies will engage them to identify their permanency goals. Service should support the youth in identifying and developing permanent relationships that are meaningful and beneficial to the youth, and incorporate broad definitions of family, extended family, kin and community.

Connection to Kin, Community and Culture – Maintaining connection to kin, community and culture are closely connected to permanency planning and positive outcomes for youth. Youth should have access to culturally appropriate services, community-based supports and opportunities to support their self-development and connection to their cultures, heritages, traditions and identities.

Culturally Appropriate Services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Youth – Service to First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth should promote connections with community, culture, heritage and traditions and reflect holistic approaches and support First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth to remain connected with family, extended family and communities.

Diversity – Individuals are unique and service should be responsive to the diversity of youth and families served and be provided from an anti-oppression and anti-racism perspective.

Requirements

Service Approach

  1. Delivery of Protection Services: Statutory, regulatory and policy directive requirements apply to this cohort of youth and should be consulted for further direction, including the following:
    1. The Ontario Child Welfare Eligibility Spectrum (2016) will be applied to determine whether the reported information meets the threshold for an investigation.
    2. The Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) will guide child protection workers in each phase of service delivery and is the mandatory framework for service to youth and their families.
    3. Consultation and notice provisions with respect to bands or First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities in the CYFSA and regulations respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth, including s.72-73 of the CYFSA.
    4. Ontario Regulation 156/18 and the Ontario Kinship Service Standards (2006) apply to family and community placements. The 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines apply.
    5. Societies must make all reasonable efforts to pursue a plan for customary care where a First Nations, Inuk or Métis child is in need of protection, and cannot remain in or be returned to the care and custody of the person who had charge of the child immediately before intervention under Part V of the CYFSA or, where there is an order for the child's custody that is enforceable in Ontario, of the person entitled to custody under the order. The 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines apply.
    6. A court order will not be sought by a society to admit a youth to care unless a voluntary agreement (i.e. VYSA) has been offered by the society and refused by the youth.
    7. Before entering a Temporary Care Agreement (TCA) with a youth, the society will consider whether a VYSA is appropriate.
    8. If a youth is admitted to the society's care by court order or a TCA, the policy requirements regarding children in care apply.
  1. Notification of the Office of the Children's Lawyer (OCL): When a society determines that a youth is in need of protection and is considering a VYSA, a kinship service placement, a TCA or seeking a court order to bring the youth into the society's care, a referral will be made to the OCL in a form provided by the ministry. The OCL may provide legal representation to the youth entering into a VYSA, if in the opinion of the OCL, such legal representation is appropriate (CYFSA s.77(7)).

Voluntary Youth Services Agreements (VYSA)

  1. Eligibility for a VYSA: A youth is eligible to enter into a VYSA with a society consistent with s.77(1) of the CYFSA. The following eligibility criteria apply:
    1. The society has jurisdiction where the youth resides;
    2. The society has determined that the youth is or may be in need of protection;
    3. The society is satisfied that no course of action less disruptive to the youth, such as care in the youth's own home or with a relative, neighbour or other member of the youth's community or extended family member, is able to adequately protect the youth; and
    4. The youth wants to enter into the agreement.
  1. Term of a VYSA: The term of a VYSA may be for any period of time up to, but not exceeding, 12 months. The society may renew the agreement with the youth providing that the total term of the agreements does not exceed 24 months or continue beyond the youth's 18th birthday.
  2. Living Arrangements: The society will work with the youth to develop a plan and secure an appropriate living arrangement that will best meet the youth's needs, is informed by the youth's wishes, and is appropriate to the youth's development and readiness for independence.
  3. Information, Referrals and Notifications: Prior to entering a VYSA with a youth, societies will:
    1. Inform the youth about the voluntary nature and terms of the agreement. These will be explained in a manner that may be understood by the youth.
    2. Give the youth an opportunity to consult with a lawyer, an advocate, and/or another trusted adult prior to signing the agreement, and/or to have a support person attend the meeting with the youth. The society will make all reasonable efforts to include these individuals in a planning meeting, where appropriate.
    3. In the case of First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth, provide notification to a representative chosen by the youth's band or First Nations, Inuit or Métis community that the society is preparing to enter an agreement with the youth.
    4. Make a referral to the OCL in a form provided by the ministry (see Requirement 2). Under s.77(7) of the CYFSA, the OCL may provide legal representation to the youth entering into a VYSA, if in the opinion of the OCL, such legal representation is appropriate.
  1. Complaints and Conflict Resolution: Societies will inform the youth about options to resolve any issue related to the youth or a plan for the youth's care, including access to Alternative Dispute Resolution. Societies will also inform the youth about the complaints procedure in a manner that may be understood by the youth, and provide the youth with written information about the complaints process at the following junctures:
    1. Signing of a VYSA;
    2. Development of the Voluntary Youth Services (VYS) Plan and reviews of the VYS Plan;
    3. Placement changes;
    4. Upon admission to care by court order or Temporary Care Agreement under s.75 of the CYFSA; and
    5. Upon request of the youth.
  1. Contents of the Agreement: The VYSA will include, at a minimum, the following elements:
    1. The term of the agreement, and information about terminating and renewing agreements (see Requirements #4 and #10).
    2. The name and date of birth of the youth entering the agreement.
    3. The name of the society entering the agreement with the youth.
    4. A commitment to complete a VYS Plan within 30 days of signing the VYSA (see Requirement #9).
    5. The supports that will be provided to the youth, including any financial supports (e.g., allowance, rent, transportation).
    6. The obligation of the youth to maintain contact with the society.
    7. Information about the complaints process (see Requirement #7).
    8. Information about the documents that will be provided to the youth (see Requirement #11).
    9. The signatures of the youth, the youth's worker, and the local director (or designate) of the society providing service.
    10. A checklist, signed by the worker and the youth, confirming the following:
      1. the youth has been informed about the voluntary nature and terms of the agreement, in a manner that may be understood by the youth;
      2. the youth has been given an opportunity to consult with a lawyer, an advocate, and/or another trusted adult prior to signing the agreement, and/or to have a support person attend the meeting with the youth. The society has made all reasonable efforts to include these individuals in a planning meeting, where appropriate;
      3. in the case of First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth, the society has provided notification to a representative chosen by the youth's band or First Nations, Inuit or Métis community that the society is preparing to enter an agreement with the youth;
      4. the society has made a referral to the OCL in a form provided by the ministry (see Requirement 2); and
      5. the worker has provided the youth with the required written materials (see Requirement 11).
  1. Voluntary Youth Services (VYS) Plan: The society will work with the youth to develop a VYS Plan that is based on the youth's individual strengths, needs and goals, as follows:
    1. The VYS Plan will be completed within 30 days of signing the VYSA, and updated at least once every six months.
    2. The society and the youth will review the VYS Plan, in person, at least once every three months.
    3. The VYS Plan will include, at a minimum:
      1. Consideration of the following:
        • Permanent relationships (e.g., an enduring relationship with at least one trusted adult)
        • Connection to communities, cultures, heritages and traditions
        • Health and well-being
        • Housing
        • Education and/or employment
        • Life management skills and personal development
        • Identity (e.g., race, ancestry, place of origin, colour, ethnic origin, citizenship, family diversity, disability, creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity and gender expression)
      2. The financial and social supports that will be provided to and/or on behalf of the youth.
      3. Roles and responsibilities, including any expectations of the youth (e.g., regular visits with a child protection worker) and commitments of the society (e.g., frequency of contact, supports to be provided).
      4. Specific planning with respect to transitioning to adulthood and independence including plans to build financial literacy and household management skills.
      5. A reference to the youth's eligibility for Continued Care and Support for Youth (CCSY) until their 21st birthday if the VYSA expires on the youth's 18th birthday.
  1. Terminating Agreements: Terminations of VYSAs will be governed by the legislation, as well as the following parameters:
    1. Where an agreement is being terminated by either the youth or the society, written notice must be given to the other party.
    2. When a termination notice is received or issued by a society, the society will provide notice to the OCL in a form provided by the ministry. The youth will be advised of the option to access the OCL and the Ontario Child Advocate (OCA) [1] respecting the termination.
    3. An agreement may be terminated if protection concerns are resolved, and terminating the agreement would not result in the youth being in need of protection.
    4. A society may terminate an agreement if the youth cannot be located, and all reasonable efforts have been made to locate the youth.
    5. When the society is initiating termination of the VYSA:
      1. The local director (or designate) must sign the termination notice;
      2. The notice will be provided to the youth (where possible) and the OCL. A notice period of a minimum of three months will be observed, and the notice period will begin at the point the notice is issued by the society. The youth will continue to receive service, including financial supports, during the notice period.
      3. If the youth cannot be located to serve the notice, efforts to locate and give notice to the youth will be documented.
      4. The youth will be advised of the option to seek protection services at any point until the youth's 18th birthday (subject to Requirement #3), and be informed of eligibility for CCSY up to 21 years of age where a VYSA expired on the 18th birthday.
      5. The society will make every effort to engage the youth in planning for appropriate supports following termination.
    6. When the youth is initiating termination of the VYSA:
      1. The society will make all reasonable efforts to address the concerns of the youth so that the VYSA can continue, if the eligibility requirements are met.
      2. The youth will be advised of the option to seek protection services at any point until their 18th birthday.
      3. The society will make every effort to engage the youth in planning for appropriate supports following termination.
    7. If the youth has taken action to complain about a society notice to terminate its agreement with the youth, the youth will continue to receive service throughout the notice period and throughout the complaints process.
    8. Where an agreement has been terminated or not renewed, the society and youth may enter into a new agreement at any time in the future providing that the youth meets the eligibility requirements as set out in the act and restated in Requirement #3.
  1. Documentation: The society will provide every youth in a VYSA the following documents, in hard copy or electronically, and will indicate in writing in the VYSA that the documents have been provided.
    1. A copy of the VYSA
    2. A copy of the VYS Plan
    3. Written information about:
      1. the OCA;
      2. the OCL; and
      3. the Complaints Process.

Reporting Requirements

  1. Societies are required to provide quarterly and year-to-date service and financial data regarding youth served. Reporting requirements will be further defined through the Child Welfare budget process. Additional reporting requirements may apply.

Effective Date: This policy directive is effective April 30, 2018.

Original signed by:

Jennifer Morris
Assistant Deputy Minister
Policy Development and Program Design Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Nadia Cornacchia
Assistant Deputy Minister
Service Delivery Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services

[1] Formally the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth (PACY) under the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth Act, 2007.

Back to top

Directive en matière de politiques : CW 003-18 Services de protection pour les jeunes de 16 à 17 ans

Introduction

La présente directive en matière de politiques, adoptée en vertu de l'art. 42 de la Loi de 2017 sur les services à l’enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille (LSEJF), établit des exigences supplémentaires relatives à la fourniture de services de protection de l'enfance aux jeunes de 16 et de 17 ans. La présente directive en matière de politiques a pris effet le 30 avril 2018, et remplace CW 003-17, Services de protection pour les jeunes, qui est entrée en viguere le 1 janvier 2018.

Aux fins de la présente directive, un enfant qui a 16 ou 17 ans est défini comme étant un « jeune ».

La présente directive exige que toutes les sociétés de l'aide à l'enfance (les sociétés) fournissent une gamme complète de services de protection de l'enfance aux jeunes admissibles jusqu'à leur dix-huitième anniversaire, le cas échéant, y compris les ententes conclues par la société avec les jeunes de 16 et de 17 ans en vertu de l'article 77 (1)1 de la LSEJF (appelées Ententes sur les services volontaires pour les jeunes (ESVJ) dans la directive). Il est demandé aux sociétés de fournir une gamme complète de services de protection, y compris une ESVJ au besoin, à tous les jeunes admissibles.

Principes directeurs

L'accès à la gamme complète de services de protection pour les jeunes de 16 et de 17 ans sera guidé par les principes suivants, conformément à l’article 1 de la LSEJF.

Service de protection axé sur le jeune – Les jeunes qui reçoivent un service peuvent avoir vécu des événements ou des circonstances traumatisants. Les sociétés doivent faire participer activement le jeune à la prise de décision et favoriser la participation volontaire du jeune au service en aidant le jeune à tirer parti de ses forces et à résoudre les problèmes de protection qui le touchent. Dans la mesure du possible, le service doit aider le jeune à prendre des décisions qui contribuent à réduire au minimum le risque, à protéger ses intérêts et à favoriser sa protection et son bien-être.

Approche la moins perturbatrice – Le meilleur soutien aux jeunes est souvent celui qui leur est fourni au sein de leurs familles, de leurs familles élargies et de leurs communautés. Le service doit être offert en privilégiant les mesures de protection des jeunes les moins perturbatrices et favoriser la participation des familles, des familles élargies et des communautés à la prise des décisions concernant la sécurité et le bien-être du jeune, au besoin.

Permanence – Les jeunes de 16 et 17 ans commencent leur transition vers l'indépendance et les sociétés doivent les consulter pour déterminer leurs objectifs en matière de placement permanent. Le service doit aider le jeune à déterminer et à développer des relations permanentes qui sont pertinentes et bénéfiques pour lui et intégrer des définitions générales de la famille, de la famille élargie, des parents et de la communauté.

Lien avec les membres de la parenté, la communauté et la culture – Le maintien d’un lien avec les membres de la parenté, la communauté et la culture est étroitement lié à la planification du placement permanent et aux résultats positifs pour les jeunes. Les jeunes doivent avoir accès à des services adaptés à leur culture, à des soutiens communautaires et à des possibilités de favoriser leur développement personnel et leur lien avec leurs cultures, leurs patrimoines, leurs traditions et leurs identités.

Services adaptés à la culture pour les jeunes des Premières Nations, métis et inuits – Le service aux jeunes autochtones doit favoriser les liens avec la communauté, la culture, le patrimoine et les traditions, refléter des approches globales et aider les jeunes des Premières Nations, métis et inuits à maintenir leurs liens avec leur famille, leur famille élargie et leurs communautés.

Diversité – Les personnes sont uniques et le service doit être adapté à la diversité des jeunes et des familles servis et être offert d’un point de vue anti-oppression et antiraciste.

Exigences

Approche aux services

  1. Fourniture des services de protection : Les exigences légales, réglementaires et des directives en matière de politiques suivantes s'appliquent à cette cohorte de jeunes et doivent être consultées pour obtenir de plus amples directives, y compris ce qui suit :
    1. L’Échelle d’admissibilité des services de bien-être de l’enfance (2016) sera appliquée pour déterminer si l'information déclarée est suffisante pour déclencher une enquête.
    2. Les Normes de la protection de l’enfance en Ontario (2016) guideront les travailleurs de la protection de l'enfance à chaque étape de la prestation des services et constituent le cadre obligatoire pour les services aux jeunes et à leurs familles.
    3. Les dispositions concernant la consultation et les avis relativement aux bandes et aux communautés des Premières Nations[1], métisses et inuites de la LSEJF et de son règlement concernant les jeunes des Premières Nations, métis et inuits, y compris les l'article 72-73 de la LSEJF.
    4. Le Règlement de l’Ontario 156/18 et les Normes ontariennes sur les services offerts par les membres de la parenté (2006) s'appliquent aux placements dans la famille et la communauté. Les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016 s'appliquent.
    5. Les sociétés doivent faire tous les efforts raisonnables pour mettre en œuvre un plan de soins conformes aux traditions lorsque l’enfant des Premières Nations, métis ou inuit a besoin de protection et ne peut continuer à être confié aux soins et à la garde de la personne qui en avait la garde immédiatement avant l’intervention en vertu de la Partie V de la LSEJF ou, s’il y a une ordonnance concernant la garde de l’enfant qui est exécutoire en Ontario, de la personne qui a le droit de garde en vertu de l’ordonnance ou lui être confié de nouveau. Les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016 s'appliquent.
    6. Il ne sera pas nécessaire pour une société de demander une ordonnance d’un tribunal pour admettre un jeune en établissement, sauf si une entente volontaire (c'est-à-dire une ESVJ) a été offerte par la société et refusée par le jeune.
    7. Avant de conclure une entente relative à des soins temporaires (ERST) avec un jeune, la société doit déterminer si une ESVJ est appropriée.
    8. Si un jeune est admis dans l’établissement de la société suite à une ordonnance d’un tribunal ou à une ERST, les exigences en matière de politiques concernant les enfants qui reçoivent des soins s'appliquent.
  1. Avis au Bureau de l'avocate ou de l’avocat des enfants (BAE: Lorsqu'une société détermine qu'un jeune a besoin de protection et envisage une ESVJ, un placement chez des membres de la parenté ou une ERST ou demande une ordonnance du tribunal pour que le jeune soit confié aux soins de la société, un renvoi au BAE sera fait sous une forme prescrite par le ministère. Le BAE peut fournir une représentation juridique au jeune qui conclut une ESVJ si, de l'avis du BAE, cette représentation est appropriée (LSEJF, l'article 77 (7)).

Ententes volontaires sur les services à la jeunesse (ESVJ)

  1. Admissibilité à une ESVJ : Un jeune est autorisé à conclure une ESVJ avec une société conformément à l'article 77 (1) de la LSEJF. Les critères d'admissibilité suivants s'appliquent :
    1. la société exerce sa compétence dans le territoire où le jeune réside;
    2. la société a établi que le jeune a ou peut avoir besoin de protection;
    3. la société est convaincue qu’aucun autre plan d’action moins perturbateur, comme la prestation de soins au jeune dans son propre foyer ou auprès d’un membre de sa parenté, d’un voisin ou d’un autre membre de sa communauté ou de sa famille élargie, ne peut convenablement protéger le jeune;
    4. le jeune veut conclure l'entente.
  1. Durée d’une ESVJ : Une ESVJ peut être conclue pour n’importe quelle durée, jusqu’à concurrence de douze mois. La société peut renouveler l'entente avec le jeune, à condition que la durée totale des ententes ne dépasse pas 24 mois et que les soins ne se poursuivent pas au-delà du dix-huitième anniversaire du jeune.
  2. Conditions de logement : La société doit travailler avec le jeune pour élaborer un plan et assurer des conditions de logement appropriées qui répondent le mieux possible aux besoins du jeune, qui sont éclairées par ses souhaits et sont adaptées à son développement et à la mesure dans laquelle il est prêt à vivre indépendamment.
  3. Information, renvois et avis : Avant de conclure une ESVJ avec un jeune, les sociétés doivent :
    1. Informer le jeune du caractère volontaire et des modalités de l'entente. Ceux-ci seront expliqués d'une manière que le jeune peut comprendre.
    2. Donner au jeune l'occasion de consulter un avocat, un défenseur de ses intérêts et/ou un autre adulte de confiance avant de signer l'entente et/ou d'avoir une personne de soutien qui assistera à la réunion avec le jeune. La société devra faire tous les efforts raisonnables pour faire participer ces personnes à une réunion de planification, le cas échéant.
    3. Dans le cas d'un jeune des Premières Nations, métis et inuit, aviser un représentant choisi par la bande ou la communauté des Premières Nations, métisse ou inuite du jeune que la société se prépare à conclure une entente avec le jeune.
    4. Faire un renvoi au BAE sous une forme prescrite par le ministère (voir l'Exigence 2). Aux termes de l'article 77 (7) de la LSEJF, le BAE peut fournir une représentation juridique au jeune qui conclut une ESVJ si, de l’avis du BAE, une telle représentation est appropriée.
  1. Résolution des plaintes et des conflits : Les sociétés doivent informer le jeune des options disponibles pour résoudre tout problème lié au jeune ou à un plan pour les soins fournis au jeune, y compris l'accès au règlement extrajudiciaire des différends, à condition que les conditions d'admissibilité soient respectées. Les sociétés doivent également informer le jeune de la procédure de formulation d’une plainte d'une manière que le jeune peut comprendre et fournir au jeune de l’information écrite sur le processus de formulation des plaintes aux étapes suivantes :
    1. Signature d'une ESVJ;
    2. Élaboration du plan de services volontaires pour les jeunes (SVJ) et examen du plan de SVJ;
    3. Changements de placement;
    4. Admission dans un établissement en vertu d’une ordonnance d’un tribunal ou d’une entente de soins temporaires en vertu de l'article 75 de la LSEJF;
    5. À la demande du jeune.
  1. Contenu de l’Entente : L’ESVJ doit comprendre au minimum les éléments suivants :
    1. La durée de l'entente et de l’information sur la résiliation et le renouvellement des ententes (voir les exigences n° 4 et n° 10);
    2. Le nom et la date de naissance du jeune qui conclut l'entente;
    3. Le nom de la société qui conclut l'entente avec le jeune;
    4. Un engagement à réaliser un plan de SVJ dans les trente jours qui suivent la signature de l’ESVJ (voir l'Exigence n° 9);
    5. Les soutiens qui seront fournis au jeune, y compris tout soutien financier (p. ex., allocation, loyer, transport);
    6. L'obligation pour le jeune de demeurer en contact avec la société;
    7. De l’information sur le processus de formulation des plaintes (voir l'Exigence n° 7);
    8. De l’information sur les documents qui seront fournis au jeune (voir l'Exigence n° 11);
    9. Les signatures du jeune, de la travailleuse ou du travailleur auprès des jeunes et de la directrice locale ou du directeur local de la société qui fournit un service (ou de sa remplaçante ou de son remplaçant).;
    10. Une liste de vérification, signée par le travailleur et le jeune, qui confirme ce qui suit :
      1. le jeune a a été informé, d'une manière qu'il peut comprendre, du caractère volontaire et des conditions de l'entente;
      2. le jeune s'est vu donner l'occasion de consulter un avocat, un défenseur de ses intérêts et/ou un autre adulte de confiance avant la signature de l'entente et/ou a une personne de soutien qui assiste à la réunion avec le jeune. La société a fait tous les efforts raisonnables pour faire participer ces personnes à une réunion de planification, s'il y a lieu;
      3. Dans le cas d'un jeune des Premières nations, métis et inuit, la société a avisé un représentant choisi par la bande ou la communauté des Premières Nations, métisse ou inuite du jeune que la société se prépare à conclure une entente avec le jeune;
      4. La société a fait un renvoi au BAE sous une forme prescrite par le ministère (voir l'exigence 2);
      5. la travailleuse ou le travailleur a fourni au jeune les documents écrits nécessaires (voir l'exigence 11).
  1. Plan de Services volontaires aux jeunes (SVJ) : La société travaillera avec le jeune à élaborer un plan de SVJ fondé sur les forces, les besoins et les objectifs du jeune, de la manière suivante :
    1. Le plan de SVJ sera réalisé dans les trente jours qui suivent la signature de l'ESVJ et mis à jour au moins une fois tous les six mois;
    2. La société et le jeune examineront le plan de SVJ, en personne, au moins une fois tous les trois mois;
    3. Le plan de SVJ doit comprendre au moins les éléments suivants :
      1. Les facteurs suivants doivent être pris en compte :
        • Relations permanentes (p. ex., une relation durable avec au moins un adulte de confiance);
        • Lien avec les communautés, les cultures, les patrimoines et les traditions;
        • Santé et bien-être;
        • Logement;
        • Études et/ou emploi;
        • Maîtrise de la dynamique de la vie et développement personnel;
        • Identité (p. ex., race, ascendance, lieu d'origine, couleur, origine ethnique, citoyenneté, diversité familiale, handicap, croyances, sexe, orientation sexuelle, identité de genre et expression de genre).
        • Les soutiens financiers et sociaux qui seront fournis au jeune et/ou en son nom;
      2. Les rôles et les responsabilités, y compris les attentes du jeune (p. ex., visites régulières d'une travailleuse ou d'un travailleur à la protection de l'enfance) et les engagements de la société (p. ex., la fréquence des contacts, les soutiens à fournir);
      3. Les mesures de planification particulières en ce qui a trait à la transition vers l'âge adulte et l'indépendance, y compris des plans visant à développer la littératie financière et les compétences en administration domestique;
      4. Une mention de l'admissibilité du jeune aux services du Programme de soins et de soutien continus pour les jeunes (SSCJ) jusqu'à son vingt et unième anniversaire si l'ESVJ expire au moment de son dix-huitième anniversaire.
  1. Résiliation des ententes : La résiliation des ESVJ sera régie par la législation ainsi que par les paramètres suivants :
    1. Lorsqu'une entente est résiliée par le jeune ou la société, un avis écrit doit être transmis à l'autre partie;
    2. Lorsqu'un avis de résiliation est reçu ou émis par une société, la société doit aviser le BAE sous une forme prescrite par le ministère. Le jeune sera informé qu'il peut accéder au BAE ou au bureau de l'Iintervenant en faveur des enfants de l'Ontario (IEO) concernant la résiliation;[2] concernant la résiliation;
    3. Une entente peut être résiliée si les préoccupations en matière de protection sont résolues et que la résiliation de l'entente n'entraîne pas pour le jeune un besoin de protection;
    4. Une société peut résilier une entente si le jeune est introuvable et que tous les efforts raisonnables ont été faits pour le trouver.
    5. Lorsque la société entreprend de résilier l'ESVJ :
      1. La directrice locale ou le directeur local (ou sa remplaçante ou son remplaçant) doit signer l'avis de résiliation;
      2. L'avis sera donné au jeune (si possible) et au BAE. Une période de préavis d'au moins trois mois sera observée et la période de préavis commencera au moment où l'avis est émis par la société. Le jeune continuera à recevoir un service, y compris des soutiens financiers, au cours de la période du préavis;
      3. S'il n'est pas possible de trouver le jeune pour lui remettre l'avis, les efforts faits pour trouver et aviser le jeune doivent être documentés.
      4. Le jeune doit être informé qu'il peut demander des services de protection en tout temps jusqu'à son dix-huitième anniversaire (sous réserve de l'Exigence n° 3) et qu'il est admissible aux SSCJ jusqu'à l'âge de 21 ans si une ESVJ arrive à échéance à la date de son dix-huitième anniversaire;
      5. La société devra s'efforcer de faire participer le jeune à la planification de soutiens appropriés après la résiliation.
    6. Lorsque le jeune entreprend de résilier l'ESVJ :
      1. La société devra faire tous les efforts raisonnables pour résoudre les préoccupations du jeune afin que l'ESVJ puisse être maintenue si les conditions d'admissibilité sont respectées;
      2. Le jeune doit être informé qu'il peut demander des services de protection en tout temps jusqu'à son dix-huitième anniversaire;
      3. La société devra s'efforcer de faire participer le jeune à la planification de soutiens appropriés après la résiliation.
    7. Si le jeune a pris des mesures pour se plaindre d'un avis de résiliation de l'entente par la société, il continuera de recevoir des services tout au long de la période de préavis et tout au long du processus de traitement de sa plainte;
    8. Si une entente a été résiliée ou n'a pas été renouvelée, la société et le jeune peuvent conclure une nouvelle entente en tout temps dans l'avenir, à condition que le jeune satisfasse aux conditions d'admissibilité énoncées dans la Loi et à l'Exigence n° 3.
  1. Documents : La société doit fournir à chaque jeune qui conclut une ESVJ les documents suivants, sur papier ou sous forme électronique, et indiquer par écrit dans l'ESVJ que les documents ont été fournis.
    1. Une copie de l'ESVJ
    2. Une copie du plan de SVJ
    3. Des renseignements écrits sur :
      1. l'IEO;
      2. l'BAE;
      3. le processus de formulation des plaintes.

Exigences en matière de rapports

  1. Les sociétés sont tenues de fournir des données trimestrielles et cumulatives annuelles sur les services et les renseignements financiers concernant les jeunes servis. Les exigences en matière de rapports seront précisées dans le cadre du processus budgétaire du Bien-être de l'enfance. Des exigences supplémentaires en matière de rapports peuvent s'appliquer.

Date d'entrée en vigueur : La présente directive en matière de politiques entre en vigueur le 30 avril 2018.

Version originale signée par :

Jennifer Morris
Sous-ministre adjointe
Division de l'élaboration des politiques et de la conception des programmes
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse

Nadia Cornacchia
Sous-ministre adjointe
Division de la prestation des services
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse

[1] Aux fins du présent document, le terme jeune des Premières Nations désigne un jeune qui est un « Indien » ou un « enfant autochtone » aux termes de la LSEF.

[2] Auparavant, Intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes (IPEJ) en vertu de la Loi de 2007 sur l'intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes.

Retour haut de page