Policy Directive: CW 005-20 Ceasing the Practice of Birth Alerts in Ontario



This policy directive is issued under s. 42 of the Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017 (CYFSA) to provide direction to children’s aid societies (societies) with respect to ceasing the practice of birth alerts in Ontario.

Effective date:

This policy directive will come into effect on July 13, 2020. Societies must cease the practice of birth alerts by October 15, 2020, and in the interim period, prepare to cease the practice by fulfilling the requirements in this directive.

Introduction:

For the purpose of this directive, a “birth alert” is a notification issued by a society to a hospital regarding an expectant parent, where the society believes that, following delivery the child may be in need of protection. Birth alerts are sometimes referred to as “hospital alerts”. The alert prompts the hospital to contact the society when the infant is delivered, whether or not hospital staff have independently developed concerns about the parents’ ability to safely care for the infant. This enables child protection workers to intervene soon after the baby’s birth to determine whether there are protection concerns.

In June 2019, the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG) called upon provincial and territorial governments to immediately end the practice of “birth alerts” which the MMIWG determined disproportionately impacts Indigenous mothers.

The intent of this policy directive is to provide direction to societies with respect to ceasing the practice of birth alerts in Ontario, as well as direction about initiating society collaboration with local hospitals, pre- and post-natal services, and other relevant healthcare practitioners.

Requirements:

  1. Societies are required to cease the practice of birth alerts by October 15, 2020. In the interim period, societies are required to prepare for ceasing the practice of birth alerts by carrying out the activities outlined in requirement 2.
  2. Societies are required to issue a letter to local hospitals, pre- and post-natal service providers, and other relevant healthcare practitioners (e.g., midwifery services), using a template provided by the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (ministry), advising them of the direction provided in this policy directive. The letter must be issued by August 15, 2020 and include the following information:
    1. Information about the ministry directive to cease the practice of birth alerts, including the date by which they must cease.
    2. Information about the MMIWG Inquiry and the recommendation calling upon provincial and territorial governments to immediately end the practice of “birth alerts” which the Inquiry determined disproportionately impacts Indigenous mothers.
    3. A reminder of the duty to report requirements under the CYFSA, including the provisions stipulating that persons who perform professional or official duties with respect to children, including health professionals, and who fail to report a suspicion that a child is in need of protection that is based on information obtained in the course of performing those duties, are guilty of an offence and liable upon conviction to a fine of up to $5,000.
    4. An invitation to meet with the society issuing the letter by September 1, 2020 in order to facilitate collaborative approaches to working with expectant parents, including options for conferencing with respect to birth plans, duty to report training, processes for service referrals, development of local resource guides and consideration and implementation of best practices, options and approaches for engaging non-voluntary clients.

Reporting

  1. Societies are required to confirm in writing to the ministry that it has implemented the requirements in this directive by October 31, 2020.

ISSUANCE OF POLICY DIRECTIVE CW005-20: July 13, 2020

Original signed by

David Remington
Assistant Deputy Minister
Child Welfare and Protection Division
Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services


Back to top

Directive : CW005-20 Abolition du système des avertissements de naissance en Ontario



La présente directive CW005-20 a été émise en vertu de l’article 42 de la Loi de 2017 sur les services à l’enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille (LSEJF), afin de fournir des directives aux sociétés d’aide à l’enfance en ce qui concerne l’abolition du système des avertissements de naissance en Ontario.

date d’entrée en vigueur :

La présente directive entrera en vigueur le 13 juillet 2020. Les sociétés doivent mettre un terme, d’ici le 15 octobre 2020, à la pratique consistant à émettre des avertissements de naissance et, dans l’intervalle, s’y préparer en se conformant aux exigences énoncées dans la présente directive.

Introduction :

Aux fins de cette directive, un « avertissement de naissance » est un avis émis par une société à un hôpital au sujet d’une femme qui attend un bébé, lorsque la société estime que l’enfant pourrait avoir besoin de protection après l’accouchement. Les avertissements de naissance sont parfois appelés « alertes d’hôpital. » Chaque avertissement incite l’hôpital à communiquer avec la société au moment de l’accouchement, que le personnel de l’hôpital ait ou non soulevé des préoccupations au sujet de la capacité des parents de prendre soin de l’enfant en toute sécurité. Cela permet aux préposés à la protection de l’enfance d’intervenir peu après la naissance du bébé afin de déterminer s’il y a des craintes en matière de protection.

En juin 2019, l’Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées (FFADA) a exhorté les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux à mettre fin sans tarder à la pratique consistant à émettre des « avertissements de naissance » qui, selon les auteurs du rapport final, a des répercussions disproportionnées sur les mères autochtones.

L’objet de la présente directive est de communiquer des directives aux sociétés en ce qui a trait à l’abolition du système des avertissements de naissance en Ontario, ainsi qu’à l’instauration de processus de collaboration avec les hôpitaux et services prénataux et postnataux locaux et les autres professionnels de la santé concernés.

Exigences :

  1. Les sociétés doivent mettre un terme à la pratique consistant à émettre des avertissements de naissance d’ici le 15 octobre 2020. Dans l’intervalle, elles sont tenues de s’y préparer en exécutant les activités énoncées dans la deuxième exigence.
  2. Les sociétés doivent envoyer une lettre aux hôpitaux et fournisseurs de services prénataux et postnataux locaux et aux autres professionnels de la santé concernés (p.ex., services de sages-femmes) en utilisant le modèle fourni par le ministère des Services à l’enfance et des Services sociaux et communautaires (ministère), les informant des directives figurant dans la présente directive. Cette lettre, qui doit être communiquée au plus tard le 15 août 2020, comportera les renseignements suivants :
    1. Présentation de la directive du ministère visant l’abolition du système des avertissements de naissance, y compris la date à laquelle cette pratique doit prendre fin.
    2. Information se rapportant à l’Enquête nationale sur les FFADA et à sa recommandation demandant aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux de mettre fin sans tarder à la pratique consistant à émettre des « avertissements de naissance » qui, selon les auteurs, a des répercussions disproportionnées sur les mères autochtones.
    3. Rappel de l’obligation de déclarer le besoin de protection en vertu de la LSEJF, y compris les dispositions stipulant que les personnes qui exercent des fonctions professionnelles ou officielles auprès des enfants, notamment les professionnels de la santé, qui omettent de signaler un cas présumé de violence ou de négligence sont coupables d’une infraction et passibles, sur déclaration de culpabilité, d’une amende d’au plus 5 000 $ s’ils ont obtenu l’information dans le cadre de leurs activités professionnelles ou officielles.
    4. Invitation à rencontrer les représentants de la société ayant envoyé la lettre d’ici le 1er septembre 2020, afin de faciliter la mise en place de mécanismes de collaboration avec les futurs parents, y compris les options de conférence sur la planification des naissances, l’obligation de rendre compte de la formation, les processus d’aiguillage, la préparation de guides des ressources locales et l’examen et la mise en oeuvre de pratiques, options et approches exemplaires visant à faire participer les clients réticents.

Obligation de faire rapport

  1. Les sociétés doivent confirmer par écrit au ministère qu’elles se sont conformées aux exigences de la directive d’ici le 31 octobre 2020.

ÉMISSION DE LA DIRECTIVE CW005-20 : 13 juillet 2020

Version originale signée par :

David Remington
Sous-ministre adjoint
Division du bien-être et de la protection de l’enfance
Ministère des Services à l’enfance et des Services sociaux et communautaires


Retour haut de page