Policy Directive: 001-09



The use of SAFE (Structured Analysis Family Evaluation); Pre-service PRIDE (Parent Resources for Information, Development and Education); and OnLAC (Ontario Looking After Children) by children’s aid societies (CASs).

Effective Date

This policy directive will come into effect on May 1, 2009. As of this date, Policy Directive 003-06 will no longer be in effect.

Introduction

On December 4, 2006, Policy Directive 003-06 came into effect requiring CASs to implement the use of SAFE, PRIDE and OnLAC as of the following dates:

Children’s Aid Societies: Adoption & Foster Care (inclusive of kinship care and formal customary care)

Program Implementation Date
Safe December 4, 2006
Pride April 2, 2007
OnLAC December 3, 2007

This Policy Directive is consistent with Policy Directive 003-06 in every respect except for an amendment to the use of OnLAC.

The ministry sent a letter to CASs in May 2008 to provide clarification on the requirements of OnLAC related to formal customary care and children on adoption probation. The letter also referenced the ministry’s intention to amend the directive to remove the option of waiving the requirement for the Assessment and Action Record (AAR) for one year where a child (10 +) has not experienced a placement move or change of worker.

Policy Directive 001-09 brings this amendment into effect, requiring CASs to apply the AAR annually for every child and youth who has been in care for longer than one year.

Notes and Definitions

This policy directive applies to the assessment and pre-service preparation and support (SAFE and PRIDE) of families who are being homestudied for approval by a CAS to provide foster care (including kinship care and formal customary care) or an adoptive family for children. The plan of care tool for children in care (OnLAC) applies to all children who are in the care of a CAS for longer than one year. All three tools continue to be available in French.

Definitions

  1. Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE): SAFE is a comprehensive set of homestudy assessment tools, techniques and values for the analysis and evaluation of prospective foster or adoptive families. SAFE was developed by the Consortium for Children in California to determine if the family is a viable, safe placement for children and to determine the elements of a specific plan to support the family in the care of children.
  2. Parent Resources for Information, Development and Education (PRIDE): PRIDE is a practice model and curriculum designed to strengthen the quality of family-based care by providing a competency based framework for training and supporting caregivers and adoptive parents. PRIDE was developed by the Child Welfare League of America. PRIDE is divided into two parts: Pre-service and in-service (or ongoing).
  3. Looking After Children (OnLAC): OnLAC includes an assessment tool (Assessment and Action Record) that is used at the case level to develop an individual child’s Plan of Care, at the management level providing outcome data that can assist an agency in developing needed services and programs for all children in care; and at the ministry level providing key marker outcome data to support continuous improvement in policy and program design. Research support for OnLAC is provided by the University of Ottawa. Looking After Children was developed in the United Kingdom.

Requirements

SAFE: As of December 4, 2006, all CASs are required to utilize the SAFE homestudy format in assessing adoptive and foster families (inclusive of kinship care and formal customary care) and in preparing homestudy assessment reports. Any worker who will be conducting homestudy assessments and has not yet received SAFE training will need to ensure attendance at the next available training session(s). Homestudies initiated prior to December 4, 2006 may be accepted in prior formats; homestudies initiated after December 4, 2006 will require compliance with SAFE guidelines.

PRIDE: As of April 2, 2007, all CASs are required to provide PRIDE pre-service training and preparation for families applying to care for children and youth. Delivery of training modules may require some flexibility to accommodate varying needs, while maintaining the core competency framework identified in strengthening family based care and adoption.

OnLAC: For every child who on December 3, 2007, had been in care for 12 consecutive months or more, CASs were required to complete the first AAR by December 3, 2008 and utilize the Assessment and Action Record (AAR) to develop a Plan of Care. As of the effective date of Policy Directive 001-09, CASs must, within a 12 month period, complete an AAR for all children and youth 10 or older for whom CASs had previously waived the AAR.

For children who have been placed for adoption, CASs must implement the Adoption Probation Recording format that includes the seven dimensions of OnLAC. While AARs are not required as part of the Adoption Probation Recording package (even if the child has been placed for adoption for more than 12 months), this does not prohibit a CAS from using it if it would be beneficial to the child’s planning. Where an AAR has been completed for a child, it is imperative that it be reviewed prior to placement on adoption probation.

The AAR must be applied annually for every child and youth who has been in care for longer than one year including children and youth in formal customary care.

Reporting Requirements

  • In order to successfully implement SAFE, PRIDE and OnLAC, CASs are required to track implementation planning and key deliverables on a quarterly basis through the MYRBP reporting mechanism to regional offices.

Issuance of Policy Directive: May 1, 2009

Original signed by:

Aryeh Gitterman
Assistant Deputy Minister
Policy Development and Program Design Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Alexander Bezzina
Assistant Deputy Minister
Program Management Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services
Ministry of Community and Social Services

Back to top

Directive 001-09

La mise en œuvre par les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (SAE) de la méthode SAFE (Structured Analysis Family Evaluation – analyse structurée pour l'évaluation du milieu familial), de la formation préalable du modèle PRIDE (Parent Resources for Information, Development and Education – programme de ressources à l'intention des parents en matière de développement et d'éducation) et de la méthode SOCEN Ontario (S'occuper des enfants en Ontario).

Date d'entrée en vigueur

La présente directive prendra effet le 1er mai 2008. À compter de cette date, la directive 003-06 cessera de s'appliquer.

Introduction

Le 4 décembre 2006 marquait la prise d'effet de la directive 003-06 exigeant que les SAE mettent en vigueur les méthodes SAFE, PRIDE et SOCEN Ontario selon le calendrier de mise en œuvre suivant :

Sociétes d'aide à l'enfance: Adoption et placement en famille d'accueil (y compris la garde par une personne ayant un lien de parenté et les soins conformes aux traditions)

Programme Date de mise en ceuvre
SAFE Le 4 décembre 2006
PRIDE Le 2 avril 2007
SOCEN Ontario Le 3 décembre 2007

La présente directive est conforme à tous les égards à la directive 003-06, sauf pour ce qui est d'une modification apportée à la mise en œuvre de la méthode SOCEN en Ontario.

En mai 2008, le ministère a fait parvenir une lettre aux SAE dans laquelle il leur fournissait des précisions concernant les exigences de SOCEN Ontario relativement aux soins conformes aux traditions et aux enfants places à l'essai. Dans cette lettre, le ministère faisait aussi part aux SAE de son intention d'éliminer l'option leur permettant de ne pas se conformer pendant un an à l'exigence du Cahier d'évaluation et de suivi lorsqu'un enfant (qui a au moins 10 ans) n'a pas fait I'objet d'un changement de placement ni d'intervenant. La directive 001-09 met en vigueur cette modification et contraint les SAE à remplir ce cahier dans le cas de tous les enfants et jeunes confies à leurs soins depuis plus d'un an.

Remarques et définitions

La présente directive vaut pour l'évaluation, ainsi que pour le soutien et la préparation préalable (SAFE et PRIDE) des familles faisant l'objet d'une étude du milieu familial aux fins d'approbation par une société d'aide à l'enfance afin de servir de famille adoptive ou de famille d'accueil pour des enfants (y compris pour la garde par une personne ayant un lien de parenté et pour les soins conformes aux traditions). L'outil intitule programme de soins pour les enfants pris en charge (SOCEN Ontario) s'applique à tous les enfants confies à une société d'aide à l'enfance pendant plus d'un an. Les trois outils sont disponibles en français.

Définitions

  1. Structured Analysis Family Evaluation (SAFE – analyse structurée pour l'évaluation du milieu familial) : la méthode SAFE est un ensemble complet d'outils, de techniques et de valeurs d'évaluation pour l'étude du milieu familial permettant d'analyser et d'évaluer les familles d'accueil et les familles adoptives éventuelles. Le Consortium for Children de Californie a mis au point cet outil pour déterminer si la famille constitue un placement viable et sécuritaire pour les enfants et pour définir les composantes d'un programme précis afin d'offrir un soutien à la famille dans les soins qu'elle prodigue aux enfants.
  2. Parent Resource for Information, Development and Education (PRIDE – programme de ressources à l'intention des parents en matière de développement et d'éducation): PRIDE est un modèle de pratique et un programme de formation conçu pour améliorer la qualité des soins en milieu familial en offrant un cadre fonde sur les compétences pour former et soutenir les personnes qui s'occupent d'enfants et les parents adoptifs. Mis au point par la Child Welfare League of America, le modèle PRIDE comporte deux volets: formation préalable et formation pratique (ou permanente).
  3. S'occuper des enfants (SOCEN Ontario) : SOCEN Ontario comporte un outil d'évaluation (Cahier d'évaluation et de suivi (CES)) qui sert, au niveau du dossier de l'enfant, à élaborer le programme de soins personnalises, sur le plan de la gestion, à fournir des données sur les résultats pouvant aider l'organisme à élaborer les services et les programmes dont il a besoin pour tous les enfants pris en charge, et au niveau du ministère à fournir des données de référence sur les résultats dans le but de favoriser l'amélioration continue de la conception des programmes et des directives. L'Université d'Ottawa fournit du soutien dans le domaine de la recherche relative à SOCEN Ontario. Le programme S'occuper des enfants a été mis au point au Royaume-Uni.

Exigences

SAFE : À compter du 4 décembre 2006, toutes les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance seront tenues d'utiliser le modèle d'étude du milieu familial SAFE lors de l'évaluation des familles adoptives et des familles d'accueil (y compris pour la garde par une personne ayant un lien de parenté et pour les soins conformes aux traditions) et lors de la préparation des rapports d'évaluation du milieu familial. Toute intervenante ou tout intervenant qui effectuera des évaluations du milieu familial et qui n'aura pas encore reçu de formation SAFE devra faire le nécessaire pour assister a la prochaine séance ou aux prochaines séances de formation offertes. Les études du milieu familial commencées avant le 4 décembre 2006 seront acceptées dans leur forme initiale; celles que l'on commence après cette date devront être conformes aux directives de la méthode SAFE.

PRIDE : A compter du 2 avril 2007, toutes les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance seront tenues d'offrir une formation préalable PRIDE et une préparation aux familles qui font une demande pour prendre soin d'enfants et de jeunes. II peut falloir faire preuve d'une certaine souplesse pour offrir les modules de formation afin de satisfaire des besoins divers, tout en maintenant l'essentiel du cadre de compétences défini pour améliorer l'adoption et les soins offerts en milieu familial.

SOCEN Ontario : Pour tous les enfants qui, depuis le 3 décembre 2007, ont été confiés à leurs soins pendant au moins 12 mois consécutifs, les SAE devaient remplir le premier CES avant le 3 décembre 2008 et utiliser ce cahier pour établir un programme de soins. À compter de l'entrée en vigueur de la directive 001-09, les SAE doivent, dans un délai de 12 mois, remplir un SAE pour tous les enfants et jeunes d'au moins 10 ans pour lesquels elles s'étaient prévalues de l'exemption relative au SAE.

Pour les enfants placés en vue de leur adoption, les SAE doivent établir un rapport d'adoption traitant des sept dimensions de SOCEN Ontario. Même si les SAE ne sont pas tenues de remplir un SAE dans le cadre de l'établissement du rapport de placement à l'essai (même si le placement en vue de l'adoption date de plus de 12 mois), rien n'empêche les SAE de s'en servir si cela peut faciliter la planification de l'adoption de l'enfant. Lorsqu'un SAE a été rempli pour un enfant, il est impératif qu'il soit pris en compte avant son placement à l'essai.

Le SAE doit être utilisé dans le cas de tous les enfants et jeunes confiés aux soins d'une SAE depuis plus d'un an, y compris les enfants et les jeunes faisant l'objet de soins conformes aux traditions.

Exigences en matiere de redaction de rapports

Pour réussir la mise en œuvre de SAFE, PRIDE et SOCEN Ontario, les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance devront effectuer, à l'intention des bureaux régionaux, un suivi trimestriel de Ia planification de la mise en œuvre et des principaux résultats vises à l'aide du mécanisme de rédaction de rapports du Plan pluriannuel basé sur les résultats.

Émission de la directive : Le 1er mai 2009


Aryeh Gitterman
Sous-ministre  adjoint
Direction de l'élaboration des programmes et des politiques
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à Ia jeunesse

Alexander Bezzina
Sous-ministre  adjoint
Division de la gestion des programmes
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse
Ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires


retour en haut