Policy Directive: CW 001-19 Verifying the Credentials of Individuals Conducting Parenting Capacity Assessments

 

This policy directive, under s. 42 of the Child Youth and Family Services Act (CYFSA) to provide direction to children's aid societies (societies) with respect to verifying individual's representation of their credentials to conduct parenting capacity assessments.

Effective Date

This policy directive will come into effect on the date of its issuance.

The intent of this policy directive is to provide direction to societies with respect to verifying individual's representation of their credentials to conduct parenting capacity assessments in order to promote the reliability of parenting capacity assessments in child protection matters, including their use as evidence in child protection proceedings.

Nothing in this directive prevents societies from taking additional steps to promote the reliability of parenting capacity assessments in child protection matters.

Requirements

  1. Societies shall review their current policies and practices on parenting capacity assessments and incorporate the steps outlined below into their policies and practices. For the purpose of this first requirement, "parenting capacity assessments" means any parenting capacity assessment, sought at any stage following a society's determination that a child is in need of protection according to the grounds set out in s. 74(2) of the CYFSA, including parenting capacity assessments ordered pursuant to s. 98 of the CYFSA.
    1. After a society has determined that a parenting capacity assessment is necessary and has selected or agreed to an individual that, in the society's opinion, is qualified to evaluate the particular questions to be addressed by the assessment, the society shall have a process for verifying the individual's representation of their credentials.
    2. At a minimum, for individuals who have identified themselves as being a member of a regulatory body for a particular profession (e.g., College of Psychologists of Ontario, College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Services Workers), the society shall verify with that individual's regulatory body the individual's representation of their professional credentials, and that the individual remains in good standing with their professional regulatory body.
      Where individuals have identified themselves as being a member of multiple professional regulatory bodies, the society shall verify their professional credentials with each of the relevant regulatory bodies.
    3. Where, in the course of verifying an individual's professional credentials, the society identifies a concern with an individual's representation of their professional credentials and the society still has a concern after discussing this with the individual, the society shall file a complaint with the individual's professional regulatory body or otherwise contact that body to follow up on the concern.
    4. The society shall record the steps taken to verify an individual's credentials and shall record any reports or complaints it has made to a professional regulatory body about an individual's representation of their professional credentials, including the outcome of the report or complaint if known.
  2. Societies shall identify all parenting capacity assessments that are in progress and all parenting capacity assessments that have been completed in cases that are still before the court, and take the following steps with respect to the assessor(s):
    1. For individuals who have identified themselves as being a member of a regulatory body for a particular profession or professions, verify their representation of their professional credentials in accordance with the requirement set out in 1b of this directive, and
    2. Where concerns are identified with respect to an individual's representation of their professional credentials, follow the requirements set out in 1c and 1d

Reporting

  1. By September 30, 2019, each society shall confirm in writing to the ministry that it has implemented the requirements in this directive.

Original signed by:

David Remington
Assistant Deputy Minister
Child Welfare and Protection Division
Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services

Back to top

Directive : Vérification des antécédents des personnes qui font des évaluations des compétences parentales n° CW 001-19

 

La présente politique est émise en vertu de l'article 42 de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille (LSEJF)dans le but d'orienter les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (les sociétés) lorsqu'il s'agit de vérifier les antécédents que les personnes déclarent afin de procéder à des évaluations des compétences parentales.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

La présente politique en matière d'orientation entrera en vigueur à la date de sa publication.

La présente directive en matière de politique vise à orienter les sociétés lorsqu'il s'agit de vérifier les antécédents que les personnes déclarent afin de procéder à des évaluations des compétences parentales dans le but de favoriser la fiabilité de ces évaluations dans les cas qui touchent à la protection de l'enfance, notamment lorsqu'elles servent de preuves dans les instances qui portent sur la protection d'un enfant.

Il n'y a rien dans la présente directive qui empêche les sociétés de prendre des mesures supplémentaires afin de favoriser la fiabilité des évaluations des compétences parentales dans les cas qui touchent à la protection de l'enfance.

Exigences

  1. Les sociétés devront examiner leurs politiques et pratiques actuelles à l'égard des évaluations des compétences parentales et y intégrer les étapes indiquées ci-dessous. Pour les besoins de cette première exigence, on entend par « évaluations des compétences parentales » toute évaluation des compétences parentales exigée à n'importe quelle étape après qu'une société ait déterminé qu'un enfant a besoin d'une protection selon les motifs énoncés au paragraphe 74(2) de la LSEJF, y compris les évaluations des compétences parentales ordonnées en vertu de l'art. 98 de la LSEJF.
    1. Après avoir déterminé qu'une évaluation des compétences parentales s'avère nécessaire et après avoir choisi quelqu'un ou s'être entendu sur une personne qui, de l'avis de la société, possède les qualifications nécessaires pour évaluer les questions particulières qui doivent être abordées dans le cadre de l'évaluation, la société aura un processus en place pour vérifier les antécédents déclarés par la personne.
    2. À tout le moins, les personnes qui se sont identifiées comme étant membres d'un organisme de réglementation pour une profession donnée (p. ex. l'Ordre des psychologues de l'Ontario, l'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, l'Ordre des travailleurs sociaux et des techniciens en travail social de l'Ontario), la société devra vérifier auprès de l'organisme de réglementation de la personne les antécédents professionnels qu'elle a déclarés et s'assurer qu'elle soit en règle avec son ordre professionnel.
      Lorsque plusieurs personnes se sont identifiées comme étant membres de plusieurs ordres professionnels, la société devra vérifier leurs antécédents professionnels auprès de chacun des organismes de réglementation pertinents.
    3. Si, au cours d'une vérification des antécédents professionnels d'une personne, la société soulève une préoccupation au sujet des antécédents professionnels qu'elle a déclarés et si la société demeure préoccupée après en avoir parlé avec la personne, elle devra déposer une plainte auprès de l'ordre professionnel de la personne ou communiquer avec cet ordre afin de faire un suivi sur le ou les points préoccupants.
    4. La société devra consigner les mesures qu'elle a prises afin de vérifier les antécédents de la personne ainsi que tous les rapports ou les plaintes qu'elle a adressés à l'ordre professionnel au sujet des antécédents professionnels déclarés par la personne, y compris le résultat du rapport ou de la plainte, s'il est connu.
  2. Les sociétés devront indiquer toutes les évaluations des compétences parentales qui sont en cours, ainsi que toutes les évaluations des compétences parentales qui ont été effectuées dans des cas qui sont encore devant les tribunaux, et prendre les mesures suivantes à l'égard de l'évaluatrice ou de l'évaluateur:
    1. En ce qui concerne les personnes qui se sont identifiées comme étant membres d'un organisme de réglementation pour une ou des professions particulières, vérifiez si les antécédents professionnels qu'elles ont déclarés sont conformes à l'exigence énoncée au paragraphe 1b de la présente directive.
    2. Si les antécédents professionnels déclarés par la personne sèment des doutes, suivez les exigences énoncées aux paragraphes 1c et 1d.

Rapports

  1. D'ici le 30 septembre 2019, chaque société devra confirmer par écrit au Ministère qu'elle a mis en œuvre les exigences contenues dans la présente directive.

Version originale signée par:

David Remington
Sous-ministre adjoint
Division du bien-être et de la protection de l'enfance
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et des Services sociaux et communautaires

Retour haut de page