Policy Directive: CW 003-16 – 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines

This directive under section 20.1 of the Child and Family Services Act directs children's aid societies (societies) to apply the 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines where a society is considering providing financial assistance to support children and youth, their families and caregivers.

Effective Date

This policy directive will come into effect on June 15, 2016; and replaces Policy Directive CW 001-07: Ontario Permanency Funding Policy, which required societies to implement the Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines, and Policy Directive CW 002-12: Targeted Subsidies Policy Directive. Requirements respecting Targeted Subsidies are included in the 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines.

Introduction

On February 6, 2007, Policy Directive 001-07 came into effect requiring societies to implement the Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines when considering the provision of financial assistance, for the purposes of facilitating admission prevention, kinship service, place of safety[1] , customary care, legal custody[2] and adoption options. The guidelines reflect the principles that financial assistance should be based on the unique needs of the child and/or the family's ability to meet those needs.

Since the policy guidelines were issued in 2007, additional financial assistance and service supports have been developed for children and their families, requiring corresponding updates to the 2007 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines. The policy guidelines have been updated to include the following additional supports:

Program Implementation date
Renewed Youth Supports (Addendum to the 2007 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines) for 16 and 17 year old youth formerly in care. September 1, 2011
Customary care - amendment of the customary care guideline to clarify requirements for the provision of a subsidy to eligible customary care providers, and to require societies to provide one-time financial assistance of up to $5,000 to support customary care providers. June 15, 2016
Targeted Subsidies (previously Policy Directive CW 002-12) - revised to enhance supports to eligible families who adopt or obtain legal custody of eligible children. Now included in the revised 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines. June 15, 2016
Stay Home for School - new supports to enable caregivers to continue providing a stable home for youth leaving care who need additional time to complete high school. June 15, 2016

The objective of this updated Policy Directive remains the same - to provide a framework for the provision of financial assistance to support children and youth, their families and caregivers.

Financial assistance that will be provided to support placement options for children in the care of a society (i.e. kinship care, foster care) and to Crown wards leaving care is not included in this policy. Financial assistance for kinship care, foster care and youth leaving care are outlined in separate documents. Societies will continue to follow financial policy directions currently in place for these types of care. For clarification: a kinship care family approved as a kinship foster home will be eligible for foster care per diem rates.

Note:

This policy directive applies to the making and approval of decisions by societies to provide financial support in specific placement and permanency options and the provision of financial and service supports for specific children and youth.

Requirements

Children's aid societies are required to:

  • inform staff about the purpose, content and procedures regarding the 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines.
  • ensure relevant staff are trained on the 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines to enable full implementation of the guidelines and required documentation.
  • establish internal tracking mechanisms for the financial assistance provided as outlined in the 2016 Ontario Permanency Funding Policy Guidelines.
  • develop a plan to review and revise all internal policy and procedure manuals and develop a plan to advise staff of the changes.

Reporting Requirements

  • Societies to report service and expenditure data for each of the permanency options in their child welfare customized budget package submissions to the ministry.

Effective Date

June 15, 2016

Original signed by:

Jennifer Morris
Assistant Deputy Minister (A)
Policy Development and Program Design Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Rachael Kampus
Assistant Deputy Minister
Service Delivery Division
Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Footnotes

[1] Place of safety – in relation to section 37(5) of the Child and Family Services Act.

[2] Legal custody – in relation to section 65.2 of the Child and Family Services Act.

Back to top

Directive : Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016 n° CW 003-16

La présente directive, en vertu de l'article 20.1 de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille, oblige les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (les sociétés) à appliquer les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016 si une société envisage de fournir de l'aide financière afin de soutenir les enfants et les jeunes, leur famille et leurs fournisseurs de soins.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

La présente directive entrera en vigueur le 15 juin 2016 et remplace la directive n° CW 001-07, Politique de financement du placement permanent, qui obligeait les sociétés à mettre en œuvre les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario, et la directive n° CW-002-12, Directive sur les subventions ciblées. Les exigences relatives aux subventions ciblées sont comprises dans les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016.

Introduction

Le 6 février 2007, la directive n° 001-07 est entrée en vigueur. Elle obligeait les sociétés à mettre en œuvre les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario au moment d'envisager de fournir de l'aide financière, afin de faciliter la prévention de la prise en charge, la garde d'enfants par un proche, l'offre d'un lieu sûr[1], les soins conformes aux traditions, la garde légale [2] et les options d'adoption. Les directives rendent compte des principes voulant que l'aide financière repose sur les besoins uniques des enfants et (ou) de la capacité de la famille à satisfaire à ces besoins.

Étant donné que les directives ont été publiées en 2007, d'autres services d'aide financière et de soutien ont été mis sur pied pour les enfants et leur famille, ce qui a exigé des mises à jour aux Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2007. Les directives ont été mises à jour afin d'inclure les services de soutien supplémentaires suivants :

Programme Date de mise en œuvre
Programme de soutien prolongé aux jeunes (annexe des Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2007) – pour les jeunes de 16 et de 17 ans antérieurement pris en charge. 1er septembre 2011
Soins conformes aux traditions – modification à la directive sur les soins conformes aux traditions afin de clarifier les exigences concernant le versement d'une subvention aux fournisseurs admissibles de soins conformes aux traditions et d'obliger les sociétés à verser une aide financière ponctuelle pouvant atteindre 5 000 $ et visant à soutenir les fournisseurs de soins conformes aux traditions. 15 juin 2016
Subventions ciblées (anciennement la Directive n° CW 002-12) – révisées afin d'accroître l'aide aux familles admissibles qui adoptent ou prennent la garde légale d'un enfant admissible. Maintenant comprises dans les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016. 15 juin 2016
Parachèvement des études des pupilles – Nouveaux services de soutien permettant aux fournisseurs de soins de continuer à offrir un logement stable aux jeunes quittant la prise en charge qui ont besoin de plus de temps pour obtenir leur diplôme d'études secondaires. 15 juin 2016

L'objectif de la présente directive mise à jour demeure le même, soit de fournir un cadre pour l'offre d'une aide financière visant à soutenir les enfants et les jeunes, leur famille et leurs fournisseurs de soins.

La présente directive ne traite pas de l'aide financière qui sera versée afin de soutenir les options de placement pour les enfants pris en charge par une société (c.-à-d. soins à un parent, placement familial) et les pupilles de la Couronne quittant la prise en charge. L'aide financière pour les soins à un parent, le placement familial et les soins aux jeunes quittant la prise en charge est abordée dans d'autres documents. Les sociétés continueront de respecter les directives financières existantes pour ces types de soins. Aux fins de clarification : une famille fournissant des soins à un parent qui est approuvée comme famille d'accueil dans la parenté sera admissible à des indemnités quotidiennes pour des soins à un parent.

Remarque :

La présente directive s'applique à la prise et à l'approbation des décisions des sociétés visant à accorder de l'aide financière en présence d'options précises de placement et de placement permanent, ainsi qu'à la prestation d'aide financière et de services de soutien à des enfants et à des jeunes en particulier.

Exigences

Les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance doivent :

  • informer le personnel de l'objectif et du contenu des Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016, ainsi que des procédures connexes;
  • veiller à ce que le personnel compétent reçoive une formation sur les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016 afin de permettre la mise en œuvre complète des directives et des documents requis;
  • mettre en place des dispositifs de suivi internes relativement à l'aide financière accordée, comme le prévoient les Directives de financement du placement permanent en Ontario de 2016;
  • élaborer un plan visant l'examen de tous les manuels de procédures et de politiques internes, et élaborer un plan visant à informer le personnel des changements.

Exigences de production de rapports

  • Les sociétés doivent inclure les données sur les services et les dépenses pour chacune des options de placement permanent dans leurs soumissions au ministère de dossiers budgétaires personnalisés liés au bien-être de l'enfance.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

15 juin 2016

Version originale signée par :

Jennifer Morris
Sous-ministre adjointe (intérimaire)
Division de l'élaboration des politiques et de la conception des programmes
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse

Rachael Kampus
Sous-ministre adjointe
Division de la prestation des services
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse

Footnotes

[1] Offre d'un lieu sûr – en vertu du paragraphe 37 (5) de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille.

[2] Garde légale – en vertu de l'article 65.2 de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille.

Retour haut de page