You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Information for Youth Serving Agencies

Protection Services for 16 – 17 Year Olds - Information for Youth-Serving Agencies

Introducing a New Service for 16 – 17 Year Olds

Download the PDF (395 KB)

On January 1st, 2018 Ontario will increase the age of protection to include all children under the age of 18 years. By increasing the age of protection, 16- and 17-year-olds who are in need of protection will be eligible for the full range of child protection services, which will give them a better opportunity to get the support they need, and have better outcomes as they transition to adulthood.

A youth may be eligible for protection services if they are experiencing physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse, neglect and/or abandonment, or if they are at risk of any of these things. Youth who have left home because of concerns about safety or risk of harm at home, and youth who are homeless, may be eligible for services from a children’s aid society.1 If you are concerned that a youth may be in need of protection, you can contact the society in your area. Contact information can be found at:
http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/childrensaid/index.aspx

A new Voluntary Youth Services Agreement (VYSA) will be available for youth who:

Societies and youth-serving community agencies are encouraged to work collaboratively to develop protocols and processes to support services for 16- and 17-year old youth in need of protection.

Reporting Suspicions that a Youth may be in Need of Protection

A person may make a report where they have a reasonable suspicion that a youth age 16 or 17 is or may be in need of protection. The legislated duty to report will continue to apply in respect of children under 16.

A professional or member of the public who is concerned that a 16-or 17-year old is or may be in need of protection may make a report to a society and the society is required to assess the reported information in accordance with the Ontario Child Welfare Eligibility Spectrum (2016). 2

Service Delivery to Youth who are 16-17

Societies provide protection services to youth to help keep them safe and provide support to their families. Societies begin their work after receiving a request or referral for service; this can come from the youth or from a concerned member of the community.

When a society receives a report, the Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) will guide child protection workers at each phase of service delivery and is the mandatory framework for service to youth and families. The Ontario Child Welfare Eligibility Spectrum (2016) will be applied to determine the appropriate response and make decisions on the referral disposition and response time (in the case of an investigation).

If the information warrants an investigation, the society will want to hear from youth about their experiences and concerns to help them assess whether they are in need of protection and, if so, what services are appropriate for them. At the end of the investigation, the society will determine whether the youth is in need of protection, and determine what, if any, further intervention is required.

Where appropriate, societies will work with youth and their families (or if the youth isn’t living with their family, in their current living situation) to improve things at home. This may include referrals to community services and programs that can help.

At any point of service, it may be determined that the youth is in need of protection and an out-of-home placement is required to secure the youth’s safety. If an out-of-home placement is required to secure the youth’s safety, the following options may be considered by the society in consultation with the youth:

When a society determines that a youth is in need of protection and is considering a VYSA, a kinship service placement, a TCA, or seeking a court order to bring the youth into the society’s care, a referral will be made to the Office of the Children’s Lawyer, who may provide legal representation to the youth.

If a youth enters a VYSA, or is admitted to society care, the society will work with the youth to develop a plan and secure an appropriate living arrangement that will best meet the youth’s needs, is informed by the youth’s wishes, and is appropriate to the youth’s development and readiness for independence.

What is a Voluntary Youth Services Agreement (VYSA)?

A youth can enter an agreement with a society in the jurisdiction where the youth resides to receive services and supports, subject to the following eligibility criteria:

When a youth enters a VYSA, the society will work with the youth to develop a plan and secure an appropriate living arrangement that will best meet the youth’s needs and is informed by the youth’s wishes, and is appropriate to the youth’s development and readiness for independence.

A VYSA is a voluntary agreement and a youth can leave the agreement at any time. Where a VYSA has been terminated, the youth and the society may enter into a new VYSA at any time in the future as long as the youth meets the eligibility requirements, including a determination that the youth is or may be in need of protection.

What happens when a youth turns 18?

If a youth has a VYSA in place with a society on their 18th birthday, they are eligible for the Continued Care and Support for Youth (CCSY) program. CCSY provides eligible youth with financial and non-financial supports (e.g. service from a society worker) from age 18 until their 21st birthday.

More information on services and supports available to youth leaving care can be found on the Ministry’s website: http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/childrensaid/leavingcare.aspx

Supporting a Youth through Decision-making

In your role, you may be providing support to a youth who is making a significant decision about their care, or who is involved in a dispute with a society. Several supports are available to youth, including the Office of the Children’s Lawyer and the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth. There are also Alternative Dispute Resolution and complaints processes available to assist in resolving disagreements between a youth and the society.

The Office of the Children’s Lawyer (OCL)

If a society determines that a youth is in need of protection and an out-of-home placement is being considered, the society is required to make a referral on behalf of the youth to the Office of the Children’s Lawyer (OCL). The youth will have the opportunity to consult with an OCL lawyer, who may provide advice to the youth about the options that are available, as well as legal representation if the youth is entering a VYSA.

If a youth is in a VYSA and a termination notice is received or issued by a society, the society is also required to notify the OCL of the plan to terminate the agreement, and the youth will have the option to access the OCL respecting the termination.

Youth can contact the OCL by calling (416) 314-8000 or at: http://www.ontario.ca/ccnw.

The Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth (PACY)

The Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth (PACY) provides an independent voice for children and youth across the province receiving services in Ontario’s child welfare system. PACY has the authority to receive and respond to complaints, conduct reviews, represent the views and preferences of children and youth, make reports and provide recommendations.

Prior to entering or terminating a VYSA, or at any time you request, youth will be given an opportunity to consult with an advocate and/or another trusted adult and/or to have a support person attend a meeting with the youth.

Youth can contact PACY by calling 1-800-263-2841 or at: http://provincialadvocate.on.ca.

Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

If a youth is working with a society, the society is required to inform the youth about options to resolve any issue related to the plan for the youth, including access to Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR).

ADR is an approach to resolving disagreements between a youth and a society. This approach encourages the involvement and support of the family and extended family, where appropriate, and community, in planning and decision-making for the youth. ADR focuses on bringing the right people together to work out the best plan for the youth.

If you are working with a youth, and you think ADR will help or the youth is interested in obtaining information about ADR, the youth can discuss ADR with their society or the OCL. Aboriginal Approaches to ADR, which have been established by First Nations communities or Indigenous organizations, are also available.

Complaints Processes

Societies are required to inform youth about options to resolve any issue related to the plan for their care, in a manner that the youth can understand. This includes information about the complaints procedure and providing the youth with written information about the complaints process. Complaints procedures include:

How can you contact a society and get more information?

You can find your local society in your local telephone listings or, where available, by dialing 411. In some communities, the Children’s Aid Societies are known as “family and children’s services” or “child and family services”. You can also find information about all of Ontario’s Children’s Aid Societies at http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/childrensaid/index.aspx.

For more information on any of the items noted above, please contact Lori Bennett, Manager (A), Child Welfare Secretariat at Lori.Bennett@ontario.ca.


  1. Children’s Aid Societies (societies) are independent legal entities (non-profit corporations run by volunteer boards of directors or, in one case, a First Nation under the Indian Act), accountable to the communities they serve. Societies are designated under Section 15 of the Child and Family Services Act (CFSA).
  2. For more information about the Ontario Child Welfare Eligibility Spectrum (2016), see: http://www.oacas.org/publications-and-newsroom/professional-resources/eligibility-spectrum/
  3. For more information about the Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016), see: http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/professionals/childwelfare/protection-standards/index.aspx

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Renseignements à l’intention des organismes qui viennent en aide aux jeunes

Services de protection pour les jeunes de 16 et 17 ans – Renseignements à l'intention des organismes qui viennent en aide aux jeunes

Télécharger la version PDF | 405 Ko


Le 1er janvier 2018, l'Ontario a repoussé à 18 ans l'âge limite d'admissibilité aux services de protection des enfants et des jeunes. Ce faisant, les adolescents de 16 et 17 ans qui ont besoin de protection sont admissibles à toute la gamme des services de protection de l'enfance. Il leur sera ainsi plus facile d'obtenir le soutien dont ils ont besoin et ils seront mieux en mesure de faire la transition vers l'âge adulte.

Le jeune qui subit ou qui risque de subir de la violence physique, sexuelle ou affective, ou qui est victime ou qui risque d'être victime de négligence ou d'abandon est admissible aux services de protection. Les jeunes qui ont quitté le domicile familial parce qu'ils craignent pour leur sécurité ou qu'ils risquent d'y subir des préjudices et ceux qui sont sans abri peuvent être admissibles aux services des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (société)[1]. Vous pouvez trouver votre société locale dans un annuaire téléphonique local ou, le cas échéant, en composant le 411. Dans certaines communautés, les sociétés sont appelées « services à la famille et à l'enfance », « services à l'enfance et à la famille » ou « organisme de services à l'enfance et à la famille ».

Vous trouverez également de l'information sur les sociétés de l'Ontario.

Une nouvelle Entente sur les services volontaires pour les jeunes (ESVJ) sera offert aux jeunes qui :

Les sociétés et les organismes qui viennent en aide aux jeunes sont invités à collaborer à l'élaboration de protocoles et de processus qui permettront d'offrir de meilleurs services aux jeunes de 16 et 17 ans qui ont besoin de protection.

Signalement des cas où un jeune peut avoir besoin de protection

Lorsqu'une personne a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner qu'un jeune de 16 ou 17 ans a besoin ou peut avoir besoin de protection, elle peut le signaler. Le devoir de signalement continuera de s'appliquer dans le cas des enfants de moins de 16 ans.

Un professionnel ou un membre du public qui s'inquiète parce qu'il pense qu'un jeune de 16 ou 17 ans a besoin ou peut avoir besoin de protection peut le signaler à une société d'aide à l'enfance. Cette dernière devra évaluer les renseignements qui lui ont été communiqués conformément aux Échelles d'admissibilité des services de bien-être de l'enfance de l'Ontario (2016). [2]

Prestation de services aux jeunes de 16 ou 17 ans

Les sociétés fournissent des services de protection aux jeunes en vue d'assurer leur sécurité; elles offrent également du soutien aux familles. Le travail des sociétés commence après qu'elles ont reçu une demande ou un signalement de la part d'un jeune ou d'un membre de la collectivité qui se fait du souci pour le jeune.

Après qu'un signalement a été fait, les intervenants de la protection de l'enfance appliquent les Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016)[3] à chacune des étapes de la prestation de services. Ces normes constituent le cadre obligatoire aux termes duquel des services sont offerts aux jeunes et aux familles. Les Échelles d'admissibilité des services de bien-être de l'enfance de l'Ontario (2016) sont utilisées pour déterminer l'intervention appropriée et prendre des décisions concernant le signalement et les délais d'intervention (lorsqu'une enquête doit être ouverte).

Si la tenue d'une enquête s'impose, en fonction des renseignements fournis, la société demande au jeune de parler de ses expériences et de ses préoccupations afin de l'aider à déterminer s'il a besoin de protection et, le cas échéant, quels services pourraient répondre à ses besoins. À la conclusion de l'enquête, la société déterminera si le jeune a besoin de protection et quelles autres interventions doivent être réalisées, le cas échéant.

S'il y a lieu, la société travaille avec le jeune et sa famille (ou, s'il ne vit pas avec sa famille, avec les personnes qui partagent son milieu de vie) afin d'améliorer sa situation à la maison. Pour ce faire, il se peut que la société aiguille le jeune vers des services et des programmes communautaires pertinents.

Il peut arriver, à un moment ou l'autre de la prestation de services, que la société détermine que le jeune a besoin de protection et qu'il doit être placé hors de son domicile pour assurer sa sécurité. En pareil cas, les options suivantes peuvent être envisagées par la société, en collaboration avec le jeune :

Lorsqu'une société détermine qu'un jeune a besoin de protection et qu'elle envisage de conclure une ESVJ avec lui, de le confier à un membre de sa famille, de recourir à une Entente relative à des soins temporaires ou de s'adresser à un tribunal pour qu'il confie le jeune aux soins de la société, elle doit le signaler au Bureau de l'avocat des enfants (BAE), qui pourra lui fournir les services d'un avocat.

Lorsqu'un jeune conclut une ESVJ ou qu'il est confié aux soins d'une société, cette dernière l'aide à élaborer un plan et s'assure qu'il dispose d'un lieu de résidence approprié répondant le mieux possible à ses besoins et à ses désirs, et adapté à son développement et à son degré d'autonomie.

Qu'est-ce qu'une Entente sur les services volontaires pour les jeunes (ESVJ)

Un jeune peut conclure un accord avec une société de la province ou du territoire où il réside afin d'obtenir des services et des aides, si les critères d'admissibilité qui suivent sont respectés :

Lorsqu'un jeune conclut une ESVJ, la société l'aide à élaborer un plan et s'assure qu'il dispose d'un lieu de résidence approprié répondant le mieux possible à ses besoins et à ses désirs, et adapté à son développement et à son degré d'autonomie.

Une ESVJ est un accord volontaire, et le jeune peut le rompre à tout moment. Lorsqu'une ESVJ a été résilié, le jeune et la société peuvent conclure une nouvelle ESVJ à tout moment, tant que le jeune répond aux critères d'admissibilité, et notamment à l'exigence selon laquelle la société doit établir que le jeune a besoin ou pourrait avoir besoin de services de protection.

Que se passe-t-il lorsque le jeune atteint 18 ans?

Si, à son 18e anniversaire, un jeune a une ESVJ avec une société, il est admissible au Programme de soins et de soutien continus pour les jeunes (SSCJ). Le Programme SSCJ fournit aux jeunes admissibles des aides financières et non financières (comme un service d'un intervenant de la société) entre leur 18e et leur 21e anniversaire.

De plus amples renseignements sur les services et les aides mis à la disposition des jeunes quittant la prise en charge sont disponibles sur le site Web du Ministère.

Soutien des jeunes lors des prises de décision

Dans le cadre de vos fonctions, vous pouvez fournir de l'aide à un jeune qui prend une décision importante sur sa prise en charge ou qui connaît un différend avec une société. Plusieurs types de soutien sont offerts aux jeunes, y compris celui du Bureau de l'avocat des enfants (BAE) et du Bureau de l'intervenant en faveur des enfants de l'Ontario (BIEO) [4]. Il existe également des processus de traitement des plaintes et de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends pour régler les désaccords entre un jeune et la société.

Bureau de l'avocat des enfants (BAE)

Si une société établit qu'un jeune a besoin de services de protection et qu'un placement hors de son domicile est envisagé, la société doit faire une recommandation au Bureau de l'avocat des enfants au nom du jeune. Le jeune aura alors la possibilité de consulter un avocat afin d'obtenir des conseils sur les options disponibles et d'avoir une représentation juridique, s'il conclut une ESVJ.

Si un jeune a une ESVJ et que la société reçoit ou envoie un avis de résiliation, cette dernière doit également informer le Bureau de l'avocat des enfants de son intention de résilier l'accord, et le jeune pourra consulter le Bureau de l'avocat des enfants au sujet de cette résiliation.

Le jeune peut communiquer avec le Bureau de l'avocat des enfants au :
Télé: 416 314-8000
Site web : www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca.

Bureau de l'intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes

Le Bureau de l'intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes assure une représentation indépendante aux enfants et aux jeunes de la province qui reçoivent des services dans le cadre du système ontarien de bien-être de l'enfance. Le Bureau de l'intervenant provincial a le pouvoir de recevoir des plaintes et d'y répondre, de faire des examens, de représenter les points de vue des enfants et des jeunes, de produire des rapports et de faire des recommandations.

Avant de conclure ou de résilier une ESVJ, ou chaque fois que vous en faites la demande, le jeune aura la possibilité de consulter un intervenant ou un autre adulte de confiance ou de demander à ce qu'une personne de confiance assiste à une réunion avec lui.

Le jeune peut communiquer avec le Bureau de l'intervenant provincial au :
Télé: 1 800-263-2841
Site web : provincialadvocate.on.ca.

Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED)

Si un jeune travaille avec une société, celle-ci doit l'informer des options disponibles pour régler tous les problèmes qui ont trait à son plan, y compris l'accès au Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED).

Le RED est une approche visant à régler les désaccords entre le jeune et la société, il encourage la famille, la famille élargie, le cas échéant, et la communauté, à participer au processus de planification et à la prise de décision pour le jeune. Le RED vise à rassembler les bonnes personnes afin d'établir le meilleur plan possible pour le jeune.

Si vous travaillez avec un jeune et que vous pensez que le RED sera utile, ou si le jeune souhaite obtenir des renseignements sur le RED, il peut en discuter avec sa société ou le Bureau de l'avocat des enfants. Des approches autochtones en matière de RED établies par les communautés des Premières nations ou des organisations autochtones sont également disponibles.

Processus de traitement des plaintes

Les sociétés doivent informer les jeunes des options disponibles pour régler tous les problèmes qui ont trait à leur plan de manière à ce qu'ils puissent comprendre. Ils doivent notamment leur donner des renseignements sur la procédure à suivre en cas de plainte ainsi que des informations écrites sur le processus de traitement des plaintes. Les procédures à suivre en cas de plainte sont les suivantes :

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'un des sujets susmentionnés, veuillez communiquer avec Lori Bennett, directrice (intérimaire), Secrétariat au bien-être de l'enfance, ou veuillez consulter les sites Web du Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse.


Footnotes

[1] Les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (les sociétés) sont des entités juridiques indépendantes (il s'agit de sociétés sans but lucratif dirigées par un conseil d'administration composé de bénévoles ou, dans un cas, d'une Première Nation dont les activités sont assujetties à la Loi sur les Indiens) responsables devant les collectivités qu'elles servent. Les sociétés sont désignées au titre de l'article 34 de la Loi de 2017 sur les services à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille (LSEJF).

[2]Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les Échelles d'admissibilité des services de bien-être de l'enfance de l'Ontario (2016), veuillez consulter le site .

[3]Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les Normes de la protection de l'enfance de l'Ontario (2016), veuillez consulter le site.

[4]Auparavant, Intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes (IPEJ) en vertu de la Loi de 2007 sur l'intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes.