You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Information for Youth

Protection Services for 16 – 17 Year Olds - Information for Youth

Introducing a New Service for 16 – 17 Year Olds

Download the PDF (428 KB)

On January 1st, 2018 Ontario will increase the age of protection to include all children under the age of 18 years. If you are 16 or 17 years old, and believe you might be in need of protection, a new service has been developed for you.

You may need protection services if you are experiencing physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse, neglect and/or abandonment, or if you are at risk of any of these things. If you have left home because of concerns about safety or risk of harm at home, or if you are homeless, you may be eligible for services from a children’s aid society. If you are not sure about whether you might be eligible, you can contact the children’s aid society in your area. Contact information can be found at: http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/childrensaid/index.aspx

Increasing the age of protection means that you may be eligible to enter into a new Voluntary Youth Services Agreement (VYSA) if you:

If you enter a VYSA, you will work with a children’s aid society to develop a Voluntary Youth Services (VYS) Plan. Part of that plan will be to make sure you have a housing option that is safe and appropriate. The plan will also identity your goals and the supports that will help meet your needs and work toward your goals.

How can a children’s aid society help you?

Children’s aid societies and Indigenous child well-being societies (societies) provide protection services to youth to help keep them safe and provide support to their families.

Societies begin their work when they receive a request or referral for service. This request or referral can come from you, or from someone in the community who is concerned about your safety. Societies will then consider the information and may begin an investigation. The society will want to hear from you about your experiences and concerns to help them assess whether you are in need of protection and, if so, what services are appropriate for you.

Services available for 16- and 17-year-olds include:

What can you expect service to look like?

If you are 16- or 17-years old and you are in need of protection, a children’s aid society will support you to make decisions that help to minimize the risk to your safety and promote your best interests, protection and well-being.

You should expect to be involved in all important decisions that concern you. This includes:

When you receive services from a children’s aid society, you should expect support in identifying and developing relationships that you feel are important and beneficial to you, and that you want to last throughout your life. Services will focus on helping you stay connected to your family - whatever that means to you – and to your community and culture. You should have access to services and supports that respect your culture, as well as access to programs that help you develop personally.

Services are also available to help you participate in decisions that impact you. These include services from the Office of the Children’s Lawyer, the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth, Alternative Dispute Resolution and complaint processes.

The Office of the Children’s Lawyer (OCL)

If a society determines that you are in need of protection and an out-of-home placement is being considered, the society is required to make a referral on your behalf to the Office of the Children’s Lawyer (OCL). You will have the opportunity to consult with an OCL lawyer, who may provide advice to you about the options that are available, as well as legal representation if you are entering a VYSA.

The OCL has lawyers across Ontario who represent children and youth in child protection cases in court. The OCL lawyer’s role is to independently represent the views and interests of youth. The lawyer provides information to youth about the legal process, gives legal advice about the options that are available, and advocates for youth in court and other processes, such as in Alternative Dispute Resolution, complaints processes about services received from a society, and also provides lawyers for parents who are under 18 years old.

The OCL has a role to support you if you are considering a VYSA, or if you are considering ending the VYSA. If you, or the society, are considering terminating the VYSA, the OCL will also be notified so they can provide you with legal advice.

You can contact the OCL by calling (416) 314-8000 or at: http://www.ontario.ca/ccnw

The Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth (PACY)

The Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth (PACY) provides an independent voice for children and youth across the province receiving services in Ontario’s child welfare system. PACY has the authority to receive and respond to complaints, conduct reviews, represent the views and preferences of children and youth, make reports and provide recommendations.

Prior to entering or terminating a VYSA, or at any time you request, you will be given an opportunity to consult with an advocate and/or another trusted adult and/or to have a support person attend a meeting with you. The society will make all reasonable efforts to include support persons in a planning meeting, where appropriate.

You can contact PACY by calling 1-800-263-2841 or at: http://provincialadvocate.on.ca

Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

If you are working with a society, the society is required to inform you about options to resolve any issue related to the plan for you, including access to Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR).

ADR is an approach to resolving disagreements between you and a society. This approach encourages the involvement and support of the family and extended family, where appropriate, and your community, in planning and decision-making for children and youth. ADR focuses on bringing the right people together to work out the best plan for you. For example, if you disagree with the society about the type of placement that is best for you, ADR may bring the right people together to explore options and develop a plan.

Aboriginal Approaches to ADR, which have been established by First Nations communities or Indigenous organizations, are also available.

You can discuss ADR with your society worker or the OCL if you think it will help or to obtain more information.

If You Have a Complaint...

Societies are required to inform you about options to resolve any issue related to the plan for your care, in a manner that you can understand. This includes information about the complaints process and providing you with written information about the complaints process. If you want to make a complaint, you can:

The society will provide you with written materials about the complaints processes available to you.

What is a Voluntary Youth Services Agreement (VYSA)?

You can enter an agreement with a society where you reside to receive services and supports, subject to the following eligibility criteria, which are all required:

When you enter a VYSA, you are eligible for a number of supports which may include living arrangements, financial and social supports. The society will work with you to develop a Voluntary Youth Services (VYS) Plan that will outline the different supports available to you.

Prior to entering a VYSA, societies will:

If you are an Indigenous youth, the society will provide notice to your First Nation band or native community that the society is preparing to enter an agreement with you so that services are provided to you in a manner that respects and helps preserve your cultural identity and supports you to remain connected to your community, heritage and traditions.

Voluntary Youth Service Plan (VYS Plan)

Every youth who enters a VYSA will have a VYS Plan. This is a plan developed by you and the society that documents your strengths, needs and goals. It also includes the activities, and assigned roles and responsibilities of you and the society to build on your strengths and respond to your needs and goals. Within 30 days of entering a VYSA, the society worker will work with you to develop a VYS Plan.

Potential Living Arrangements

The society will work with you to develop a plan and find a living arrangement that will best meet your needs, is informed by your wishes, and is appropriate to your development and readiness for independence.

Terminating a VYSA

A VYSA is a voluntary agreement and you can end the agreement (i.e., terminate) at any time.

Prior to terminating a VYSA, it is a good idea for you to try to address any concerns you have through the complaints process, or to talk with the OCL about your concerns. It may be possible to address any concerns you have while you continue to receive the supports you need.

Where a VYSA has been terminated, you and the society may enter into a new VYSA at any time in the future as long as you meet the eligibility requirements.

What happens when you turn 18?

If you have a VYSA in place with a society on your 18th birthday, you are eligible for the Continued Care and Support for Youth (CCSY) program. CCSY provides eligible youth with financial and non-financial supports (e.g. service from a society worker) from age 18 until your 21st birthday. Talk to your society worker about the range of supports that may be available to you.

How can you contact a society and get more info?

You can find your local society in your local telephone listings or, where available, by dialing 411. In some communities, the children’s aid societies are known as “family and children’s services” or “child and family services”.

You can also find information about all of Ontario’s children’s aid societies at: http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/childrensaid/index.aspx

For more information on any of the items noted above, please contact Lori Bennett, Manager (A), Child Welfare Secretariat at Lori.Bennett@ontario.ca.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Information pour les jeunes

Services de protection pour les jeunes de 16 et 17 ans - Information pour les jeunes

Lancement d’un nouveau service pour les jeunes de 16 et 17 ans

Télécharger la version PDF (405 KB)

Le 1er janvier 2018, l’Ontario augmentera l’âge d’admissibilité à la protection pour inclure tous les enfants de moins de 18 ans. Si vous avez 16 ou 17 ans et croyez avoir besoin de protection, un nouveau service a été mis au point pour vous.

Vous pourriez avoir besoin de services de protection si vous êtes victime de violence physique, de violence sexuelle, de violence psychologique, de négligence ou d’abandon, ou si vous êtes à risque d’en être victime. Si vous avez quitté la maison pour des raisons de sécurité ou parce que vous étiez à risque de subir des préjudices, ou si vous êtes sans abri, vous pourriez être admissible à des services d’une société d’aide à l’enfance. Si vous ne savez pas si vous pourriez être admissible, vous pouvez communiquer avec la société d’aide à l’enfance de votre région. Les coordonnées sont publiées ici : http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/childrensaid/index.aspx

L’augmentation de l’âge d’admissibilité à la protection signifie que vous pourriez être admissible à un nouvel Accord de services de soutien volontaires pour les jeunes (ASSVJ) si vous répondez aux critères suivants :

Si vous concluez un ASSVJ, vous travaillerez avec une société d’aide à l’enfance pour élaborer un plan de services volontaire pour les jeunes. Une partie de ce plan consistera à veiller à ce que vous ayez un logement sécuritaire et approprié. Le plan permettra également d’identifier vos objectifs et les mesures de soutien qui vous aideront à répondre à vos besoins et à atteindre vos objectifs.

Comment une société d’aide à l’enfance peut-elle vous aider?

Les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance et les sociétés pour le bien-être des enfants autochtones (ci-après : « la société » ou « les sociétés ») offrent des services de protection aux jeunes pour les aider à assurer leur sécurité, et offrent du soutien à leurs familles.

Les sociétés commencent leur travail quand elles reçoivent une demande ou un renvoi vers un service. La demande ou le renvoi peuvent provenir de vous ou d’une personne de la communauté qui se préoccupe de votre sécurité. Les sociétés étudient ensuite l’information et peuvent entreprendre une enquête. Elles voudront connaître vos expériences et vos préoccupations afin de déterminer si vous avez besoin de protection et, le cas échéant, de sélectionner les services qui vous conviennent.

Voici les services offerts aux jeunes de 16 et 17 ans :

À quoi peut-on s’attendre de ces services?

Si vous avez 16 ou 17 ans et que vous avez besoin de protection, une société d’aide à l’enfance vous aidera à prendre des décisions qui vous aideront à minimiser les risques pour votre sécurité et à promouvoir vos intérêts, votre protection et votre bien-être.

Vous devriez vous attendre à participer à toutes les décisions importantes qui vous concernent. Cela comprend :

Lorsque vous recevez des services d’une société d’aide à l’enfance, vous devriez vous attendre à recevoir de l’aide pour définir et établir des relations qui, selon vous, sont importantes et bénéfiques pour vous, et que vous voulez conserver tout au long de votre vie. Les services visent à vous aider à maintenir vos relations avec votre famille – quelle que soit la signification que vous donnez à « relations » – ainsi qu’avec votre collectivité et votre culture. Vous devriez avoir accès à des services et à des mesures de soutien qui respectent votre culture, ainsi qu’à des programmes qui vous aident à vous développer personnellement.

Des services sont également offerts pour vous aider à prendre des décisions qui vous touchent. Il s’agit notamment des services du Bureau de l’avocat des enfants, du Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes, des règlements extrajudiciaires des différends et des processus de plainte.

Bureau de l’avocat des enfants (BAE)

Si une société détermine que vous avez besoin de protection et qu’un placement à l’extérieur du foyer est envisagé, la société est tenue de créer un renvoi en votre nom au Bureau de l’avocat des enfants. Vous aurez l’occasion de consulter un avocat du BAE, qui vous conseillera au sujet des options offertes et de la représentation juridique si vous concluez un ASSVJ.

Le BAE compte des avocats partout en Ontario; ils représentent les enfants et les jeunes devant les tribunaux dans les affaires de protection de l’enfance. Le rôle de l’avocat du BAE consiste à représenter de façon indépendante les points de vue et les intérêts des jeunes. L’avocat fournit de l’information aux jeunes au sujet du processus juridique, donne des conseils juridiques sur les options disponibles et défend les intérêts des jeunes au tribunal et pendant d’autres processus, comme dans le cas des règlements extrajudiciaires des différends et des processus de traitement des plaintes concernant les services reçus d’une société. Le BAE assigne également des avocats aux parents qui ont moins de 18 ans.

Le BAE a un rôle à jouer pour vous aider si vous envisagez de conclure un ASSVJ ou si vous envisagez de mettre fin à un ASSVJ. Si vous, ou la société, songez à mettre fin à un ASSVJ, le BAE sera également avisé afin qu’il puisse vous fournir des conseils juridiques.

Vous pouvez communiquer avec le BAE en composant le 416 314-8000 ou en visitant le site Internet suivant : https://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/family/ocl/?utm_source=shortlinks&utm_medium=web&utm_campaign=ccnw

Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes (BIPEJ)

Le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes (BIPEJ) constitue un représentant indépendant des enfants et des jeunes de la province qui reçoivent des services dans le système de bien-être de l’enfance de l’Ontario. Le BIPEJ a le pouvoir de recevoir les plaintes et d’y répondre, de mener des examens, de représenter les points de vue et les préférences des enfants et des jeunes, de produire des rapports et de formuler des recommandations.

Avant de conclure un ASSVJ ou d’y mettre fin, ou à n’importe quel moment, vous aurez l’occasion de consulter un avocat ou un autre adulte digne de confiance, ou d’être accompagné par une personne fiable pour assister à des réunions. La société fera tous les efforts raisonnables pour que les personnes de soutien assistent aux réunions de planification, s’il y a lieu.

Vous pouvez communiquer avec le BIPEJ en composant le 1 800 263-2841 ou en consultant le site Web suivant : http://provincialadvocate.on.ca

Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED)

Si vous travaillez avec une société, celle-ci est tenue de vous informer des options qui s’offrent à vous pour régler tout problème lié au plan, y compris l’accès à un mode de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED).

Le RED est une approche utilisée pour résoudre les désaccords entre vous-même et une société. Cette approche encourage la participation et le soutien de la famille, de la famille élargie (le cas échéant) et de la collectivité dans la planification et la prise de décisions pour les enfants et les jeunes. Le RED met l’accent sur le fait de réunir les bonnes personnes pour trouver le meilleur plan pour vous. Par exemple, si vous êtes en désaccord avec la société sur le type de placement qui vous convient le mieux, le RED peut réunir les bonnes personnes pour explorer les options et élaborer un plan.

Des approches autochtones du RED, qui ont été établies par les collectivités des Premières Nations ou les organisations autochtones, sont également disponibles.

Vous pouvez discuter du RED avec l’employé de la société qui vous a été assigné ou avec le BAE si vous croyez que cela vous sera utile, ou pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Si vous avez une plainte...

Les sociétés doivent vous informer des options qui s’offrent à vous pour régler tout problème lié au plan, d’une manière que vous pouvez comprendre. Cela comprend des renseignements sur le processus de traitement des plaintes et des renseignements écrits sur le processus de traitement des plaintes. Si vous désirez déposer une plainte, vous pouvez :

La société vous fournira des documents écrits sur les processus de traitement des plaintes qui sont à votre disposition.

Qu’est-ce qu’un Accord sur les services de soutien volontaires pour les jeunes (ASSVJ)?

Vous pouvez conclure un accord avec une société de votre région pour recevoir des services et du soutien, sous réserve des critères d’admissibilité suivants :

Quand vous concluez un ASSVJ, vous êtes admissible à un certain nombre de mesures de soutien, ce qui peut comprendre l’hébergement, de l’aide financière ou du soutien social. La société collaborera avec vous pour élaborer un plan de services volontaire pour les jeunes qui décrira les différentes mesures de soutien qui vous sont offertes.

Avant de conclure un accord, les sociétés :

Si vous êtes un jeune autochtone, la société enverra un avis à votre bande ou à votre communauté autochtone pour l’informer qu’elle s’apprête à conclure un accord avec vous afin que les services vous soient fournis de manière à respecter et préserver votre identité culturelle et à vous aider à demeurer en relation avec votre communauté, votre patrimoine et vos traditions.

Plan de services volontaire pour les jeunes (PSVJ)

Pour chaque jeune qui conclut un ASSVJ, un PSVJ sera établi. Il s’agit d’un plan élaboré par vous et la société pour documenter vos forces, vos besoins et vos objectifs. Le plan comprend également les activités et les rôles et responsabilités qui vous sont attribués et qui sont attribués à la société pour renforcer vos atouts et répondre à vos besoins et à vos objectifs. Dans les 30 jours suivant la conclusion d’un ASSVJ, l’employé de la société collaborera avec vous pour élaborer un PSVJ.

Conditions de logement potentielles

La société collaborera avec vous pour élaborer un plan et trouver un milieu de vie qui répondra le mieux à vos besoins, correspondra à vos attentes et sera approprié pour votre développement et votre préparation à l’indépendance.

Mettre fin à un ASSVJ

Un ASSVJ est un accord volontaire; vous pouvez y mettre fin (c.-à-d. le résilier) en tout temps.

Avant de mettre fin à un ASSVJ, il vous est recommandé de tenter de remédier à vos préoccupations à l’aide du processus de traitement des plaintes ou de discuter de vos préoccupations avec le BAE. Il pourrait être possible de remédier à vos préoccupations pendant que vous continuez de recevoir le soutien dont vous avez besoin.

Quand un ASSVJ a été résilié, vous et la société pouvez conclure un nouvel accord en tout temps, dans la mesure où vous répondez aux critères d’admissibilité.

Qu’arrive-t-il quand vous atteignez l’âge de 18 ans?

Si un ASSVJ conclu avec une société est en vigueur le jour de votre 18e anniversaire, vous êtes admissible au Programme de soins et de soutien continus pour les jeunes (PSSCJ). Le PSSCJ fournit du soutien financier et non financier (p. ex. services d’un employé de la société) aux jeunes admissibles de 18 à 21 ans. Parlez à l’employé de la société qui vous a été assigné de la gamme des mesures de soutien qui pourraient vous être offerts.

Comment pouvez-vous communiquer avec une société et obtenir de plus amples renseignements?

Vous pouvez trouver votre société locale dans le bottin téléphonique local ou, dans les régions où le service est offert, en composant le 411. Dans certaines collectivités, les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance sont appelées « services à la famille et à l’enfance » ou « services à l’enfance et à la famille ».

Vous trouverez également de l’information sur toutes les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance de l’Ontario à : http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/French/childrensaid/index.aspx

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les éléments susmentionnés, veuillez communiquer avec Lori Bennett, gestionnaire intérimaire, Secrétariat du bien-être de l’enfance, à l’adresse suivante : Lori.Bennett@ontario.ca.