You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) > Appendix B Supervision Reference

Appendix B Supervision Reference

Supervision Reference

This reference includes a consolidation of the supervision standards contained throughout this document for quick reference, as well as additional practice notes to support the supervisory role. The reference is also helpful in understanding the role of supervisors and child protection workers in the supervision process.

Supervision Standards

The table below includes a consolidation of the supervision standards contained throughout this document. They are summarized here for the purpose of providing a consolidation of requirements within the CPS which is user friendly to reference. Note that there are no requirements contained in this reference that are not already contained in standards.

Standard

Supervision Standards

Standards for all Phases of Child Protection Service Delivery

Supervisory Consultation: Departures and Placement Decisions

Supervisors must approve any departures from the Child Protection Standards for which worker discretion is not provided for in standards 1-8.

If at any time during the provision of child protection services, the placement of a child in out-of-home care with extended family or community members (in or out of society care) or in a CAS placement is contemplated, the worker consults with a supervisor in regards to the situation. Similarly, a worker should consult with a supervisor when considering the use of Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) in a particular case.

Contemporaneous Case Notes

All significant case-specific content discussed with a supervisor is documented in contemporaneous case notes (by the worker or the supervisor).

1: Intake: Receiving a Referral and Determining the Appropriate Response

Review of Referral Disposition

It is within the supervisor’s discretion whether they will review the referral disposition and response time decision based on the level of knowledge and skill of the worker and the risk/complexity of the referral.

Approval of Decision to Discontinue an Investigation Prior to First Face-to-Face Contact

If factual information is received after the response decision has been made (in the case of an investigation) but prior to the first face-to-face contact with the child, and that information indicates that there are no longer any reasonable and probable grounds to suspect that the child may be in need of protection, the investigation may be discontinued. The decision not to proceed with the investigation is approved by the supervisor and documented in the case record.

2: Planning and Conducting a Child Protection Investigation

Review of Investigation Plan

It is within the supervisor’s discretion whether they will review the worker’s investigation plan10 based on the level of knowledge and skill of the worker and the risk/complexity of the case. An investigation plan can be presented verbally to a supervisor in consultation.

10 Note that a separate written investigation plan is not required.

Frequency of Supervisory Review During Investigations

All cases are reviewed with a supervisor at least once during an investigation. Cases with a higher degree of risk or complexity are reviewed more frequently.

3: Conducting a Safety Assessment and Developing a Safety Plan

Reviews and Approvals of Safety Assessment and Plan

When a worker determines through a safety assessment that no safety threats are present, the worker reviews the safety assessment with a supervisor on the next working day.

Whenever a safety threat is identified, a safety plan is developed immediately following the assessment of safety threats. The adequacy of a safety plan is assessed by a supervisor and approved prior to its implementation.

Approval of Decision to Discontinue an Investigation without a Safety Assessment or a Risk Assessment

An investigation can be discontinued with supervisory approval without a safety assessment or a risk assessment having been completed if, upon first face-to-face contact, the referral information is found to be clearly wrong.

Approval of Decision to Conclude an Investigation Immediately Following a Safety Assessment

An initial* family-based investigation can be concluded with supervisory approval immediately following a safety assessment without a risk assessment being conducted in situations where the initial interviews yield information that maltreatment has clearly not occurred and the following criteria are met:

*Of note, this option is not available for new investigations on cases receiving child protection service.
  • there are no safety threats to the child;
  • the family shows significant strengths in terms of individual and family functioning;
  • there is an absence of conditions or factors indicating risks of maltreatment;
  • there is no reason to believe that a child is in need of protection.
  • all of the required investigative steps have been completed (see standard #2); and
  • the criteria for concluding a child protection investigation (see standard #5) have been met.

When concluding an investigation with a safety assessment and without a risk assessment, the documentation requirements for concluding an investigation (see standard #5) are followed.

4: Conducting a Risk Assessment

Approval of Risk Assessment Overrides

A supervisor must approve any overrides on the risk assessment.

5: Concluding a Child Protection Investigation

Investigation Timeframe Extensions

When the investigation cannot be completed within forty-five (45) days, it is within the supervisor’s discretion to extend the timeframe up to sixty (60) days from the date of referral. The reasons for the extension are documented within the case record.

Key Decisions

The decision to conclude an investigation is made in consultation with a supervisor.

The verification decision, determination about whether a child is in need of protection, and the investigation disposition are to be made within the context of a full case review and analysis of all relevant information obtained through the referral and during the investigation, including the child welfare history with the supervisor prior to the conclusion of an investigation.

Investigation Conclusion Documentation

The documentation completed at the conclusion of an investigation is completed and submitted for supervisory approval within the established timeframe for the completion of the investigation from the date of referral (e.g. within 45 days or 60 days in the case of an extension).

For cases which will be transferred to ongoing child protection services, the documentation submitted at the conclusion of the investigation is approved by the supervisor within seven (7) days of receipt of the completed case documentation.

For cases which will not be receiving ongoing child protection services, the documentation submitted at the conclusion of the investigation is approved by the supervisor within fourteen (14) days of receipt of the completed case documentation.

Documented supervisory approval is to be contained in the case record at the completion of the investigation indicating approval of the documentation including the investigative process and case decisions.

6: Transferring a Case

Transfer Conference

A transfer conference is held which at minimum includes the transferring worker and/or their supervisor and the receiving worker during which the case is reviewed and transfer arrangements are agreed upon.

Case Transfer Documentation

The supervisor of the transferring worker reviews and approves all transfer documentation submitted by the transferring worker.

7: Ongoing Service Case Management

Reviews of Ongoing Cases

Every ongoing child protection case is reviewed in a supervision session minimally once every six weeks. Cases with a higher degree of risk or complexity are reviewed more often.

Any new safety plan which is developed during the ongoing service case management phase is approved by a supervisor prior to its implementation and documented on the next working day.

The frequency of visits with the family is reviewed by the child protection worker and their supervisor during supervision.

Unannounced visits are required if in consultation with a supervisor it is determined that unannounced visits are necessary to address the child’s safety based on specific circumstances of the case.

Case Review Documentation

Documented supervisory approval on case review documentation is required indicating approval of the services provided and decisions made within seven (7) days of completion of the recording.

8: Case Closure

Approval of Case Closure Decision

Before closing a case, the child protection worker reviews the case with the family, collateral service providers, and a supervisor. A decision to terminate provision of child protection services is approved by a supervisor during consultation.

Case Review and Termination Documentation

The case review and termination documentation is completed within three (3) weeks of the termination meeting with the child and family and is approved by the supervisor and closed on the electronic database within seven (7) days of receipt of the documentation.

Practice Notes

The Role of the Supervisor in Supervision

Child protection service is a very complex process involving the collection, synthesis and analysis of vast amounts of information. Decisions which result from this process have a direct and significant impact on children and families. Supervision is fundamental in this process and impacts the quality of service provision to children and families.

Supervisors play an integral role in:

While casework decisions are guided by the use of clinical tools specifically designed to assist in making different decisions throughout the casework process, the supervisor supports and facilitates the investigation or ongoing services through a regularly scheduled supervisory process of collaborative case review, analysis and decision-making, as well as providing strengths-based feedback, guidance, direction and coaching to workers.

Child protection workers often encounter personally challenging, emotionally charged issues and circumstances when providing child protection services. Their values and beliefs and personal life experiences can affect how they feel about, interact with, or respond to clients, and most importantly can impact on their abilities to make decisions objectively. Supervisors assist workers in assessing how their values, beliefs and life experiences may be impacting on their interactions with clients and on their ability to engage clients effectively.

In addition, the supervisor’s role is one of accountability and quality assurance. The supervisor monitors the quality of the investigation and its components or the quality of ongoing service provision, as well as compliance with relevant standards, policies and procedures, and protocols. The supervisor’s signature on case documentation submitted by the worker at the conclusion of an investigation, a formal case review, case transfer or case termination indicates approval of:

The Process and Content of Clinical Supervision

The frequency and type of supervisory consultation required (which may exceed the standards but not fall below them) is based on an assessment of the level of knowledge and skill of the worker, as well as the complexity and level of risk of each individual case. Higher risk cases are reviewed in consultation more frequently than the minimum standards. The worker may seek consultation with a supervisor at any time that a decision is complex, and has an impact on a child’s safety or permanence.

Case consultations occur during regularly scheduled, and private supervision meetings between the worker and the supervisor. This provides for adequate preparation, structure and consistency of the sessions. Clinical supervision is focused on case-specific information that is relevant to making casework decisions and worker-specific issues that are related to the provision of effective child protection service.

Unscheduled/ad hoc consultations may be necessary when decisions need to be made on an urgent basis in order to secure the safety of a child. There are however disadvantages to relying too heavily on this approach. There is generally little time to prepare for them and they can be hurried and unstructured. In addition, decisions may be made without sufficient time to consider alternatives carefully.

Casework activities that are the focus of clinical supervision include:

The Child Protection Worker’s Role in Supervision

The worker prepares for supervision by reviewing the case information and formulating a recommended course of action. The focus of discussion during supervision is on the rationale for decisions that are being recommended by the worker. The process of formulating a recommended course of action may occur collaboratively with a supervisor when the worker does not possess adequate knowledge and/or skill specific to child protection and/or sufficient analytical/reasoning skills.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016) > Annexe B Référence sur la supervision

Annexe B Référence sur la supervision

Cette référence, destinée à une consultation rapide, résume les normes de supervision contenues dans le présent document et contient des conseils pratiques supplémentaires concernant le rôle des superviseurs. La référence est également utile pour comprendre le rôle des superviseurs et des préposés à la protection de l’enfance dans le cadre du processus de supervision.

Normes de supervision

Le tableau ci-dessous résume les normes de supervision énoncées dans le présent document, en vue de présenter l’ensemble des exigences relatives aux normes de protection de l’enfance dans un format facile à consulter. Il est à noter qu’il n’y a aucune exigence contenue dans la présente référence qui ne soit pas déjà indiquée dans les normes.

Norme

Normes de supervision

Normes pour chacune des étapes de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance

Consultation de supervision : dérogations et décisions de placements

Le superviseur doit autoriser toute dérogation aux Normes de la protection de l’enfance pour toute question qui n’est pas laissée à la discrétion du préposé dans les normes 1 à 8.

Si, à un moment quelconque de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance, on envisage le placement d’un enfant en soins hors domicile auprès de membres de la famille élargie ou de la communauté (avec ou sans soins de la SAE) ou auprès d’une SAE, le préposé doit consulter le superviseur concernant la situation. De même, le préposé devrait consulter le superviseur s’il envisage l’emploi du règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) dans un dossier particulier.

Notes contemporaines versées au dossier

Tout contenu important concernant un cas précis et dont il est discuté avec un superviseur doit être consigné dans des notes contemporaines qui sont ensuite versées au dossier (par le préposé ou le superviseur).

1 : Admission : réception d’un signalement et détermination de la meilleure intervention
Examen de la décision concernant un signalement

La décision d’examiner ou non la décision concernant le signalement et le délai d’intervention est laissée à la discrétion du superviseur, compte tenu des connaissances et des compétences du préposé et en fonction des risques et de la complexité du signalement.

Approbation de la décision de mettre fin à une enquête avant le premier contact en personne avec l’enfant

Si des renseignements factuels sont reçus après que la décision a été rendue (dans le cas d’une enquête) mais avant le premier contact en personne avec l’enfant, et si les renseignements indiquent qu’il n’existe plus de motifs raisonnables et probables de croire qu’un enfant peut avoir besoin de protection, on peut mettre fin à l’enquête. La décision de ne pas poursuivre l’enquête est approuvée par le superviseur et consignée au dossier.

2 : Planification et conduite d’une enquëte sur la protection de l’enfance
Examen du plan d’enquëte

La décision d’examiner ou non le plan d’enquête10 est laissée à la discrétion du superviseur, compte tenu des connaissances et des compétences du préposé et en fonction des risques et de la complexité du dossier. Le plan d’enquête peut être présenté verbalement au superviseur lors d’une consultation.

10 Il est à noter qu’un plan d’enquête écrit et distinct n’est pas exigé.
Fréquence des examens du superviseur durant une enquête

Tous les cas sont passés en revue avec le superviseur au moins une fois pendant une enquête. Les cas qui comportent un plus haut degré de risque ou de complexité sont examinés plus souvent.

3 : Conduite d’une évaluation de la sécurité et élaboration d’un plan de sécurité
Examens et approbations de l’évaluation de la sécurité et du plan de sécurité

Lorsque le préposé détermine au cours de l’évaluation de la sécurité qu’il n’existe aucune menace pour la sécurité, il doit examiner l’évaluation avec un superviseur dès le jour ouvrable suivant.

Chaque fois qu’une menace pour la sécurité est décelée, un plan de sécurité est élaboré immédiatement à la suite de l’évaluation des menaces pour la sécurité. Le superviseur évalue et approuve la qualité des mesures du plan de sécurité avant sa mise en œuvre.

Approbation de la décision de mettre fin à une enquête sans évaluation de la sécurité ou évaluation des risques

On peut mettre fin à une enquête avec l’approbation du superviseur sans avoir mené d’évaluation de la sécurité ou d’évaluation des risques si, dès le premier contact en personne, les renseignements relatifs au signalement se révèlent clairement erronés.

Approbation de la décision de fermer une enquête tout de suite aprês l’évaluation de la sécurité

On peut mettre fin à une enquête initiale* sur le milieu familial avec l’approbation du superviseur immédiatement après l’évaluation de la sécurité et sans procéder à une évaluation des risques si les premières entrevues révèlent qu’aucun mauvais traitement n’a été infligé et que la situation répond aux critères suivants :

*Il est à noter que cette option n’est pas possible dans le cas d’une nouvelle enquête sur un dossier qui donne déjà lieu à la prestation de services de protection de l’enfance.
  • il n’existe aucune menace pour la sécurité de l’enfant;
  • la famille montre des points forts importants relativement au fonctionnement individuel et au fonctionnement familial;
  • aucune circonstance ni aucun facteur n’indique de risques de mauvais traitements;
  • il n’existe aucun motif de croire que l’enfant a besoin de protection;
  • toutes les demarches d’enquête requises ont été faites (se reporter à la norme no 2);
  • les critères de fermeture de l’enquête sur la protection de l’enfance (se reporter la norme no 5) sont remplis.

Pour fermer une enquête après l’évaluation de la sécurité mais sans faire d’évaluation des risques, on doit suivre les exigences relatives à la documentation pour fermer une enquête (se reporter à la norme n o 5).

4 : Conduite d’une évaluation des risques
Approbation des dérogations à une évaluation des risques

Toute dérogation à une évaluation des risques doit être approuvée par un superviseur.

5 : Fermeture d’une enquëte sur la protection de l’enfance
Prolongation des délais d’exécution des enquêtes

Lorsqu’il est impossible de terminer une enquête en quarante-cinq (45) jours, le superviseur peut, à sa discrétion, prolonger le délai jusqu’à un maximum de soixante (60) jours après la date du signalement. Les motifs de la prolongation sont consignés dans le dossier.

Décisions clés

La décision de fermer une enquête est prise en consultation avec le superviseur.

La décision de vérification, à savoir si un enfant a besoin ou non de protection, et la décision de lancer une enquête sont prises avec le superviseur dans le contexte d’un examen complet du dossier et d’une analyse de tous les renseignements importants qui ont été réunis lors du signalement et pendant l’enquête, y compris les antécédents liés au bien-être de l’enfant, avant la fin de l’enquête.

Documentation de la fermeture d’une enquëte

La documentation rassemblée à la fermeture d’une enquête doit être soumise à l’approbation du superviseur dans les délais prévus pour la fermeture de l’enquête à partir de la date du signalement (c.-à-d. dans un délai de 45 jours ou de 60 jours s’il y a prolongation).

Pour les dossiers qui seront transférés en vue de la prestation de services continus de protection de l’enfance, la documentation complète qui est présentée à la fin de l’enquête doit être approuvée par le superviseur dans les sept (7) jours suivant sa réception.

Pour les dossiers qui ne donneront pas lieu à la prestation de services continus de protection de l’enfance, la documentation complète qui est présentée à la fin de l’enquête doit être approuvée par le superviseur dans les quatorze (14) jours suivant sa réception.

La documentation approuvée par le superviseur est consignée au dossier à la fin de l’enquête pour indiquer que la documentation ainsi que le processus d’enquête et les décisions prises dans le dossier sont approuvés.

6 : Transfert d’un dossier
Conférence de transfert

On tient une conférence de transfert à laquelle assistent au moins le préposé qui transfère le dossier et/ou son superviseur ainsi que le préposé qui reooit le dossier. On passe alors en revue le cas et l’on convient des modalités du transfert.

Documentation sur le transfert d’un dossier

Le superviseur du préposé ayant effectué le transfert examine et approuve la documentation que lui a remise le préposé chargé du transfert.

7 : Gestion des cas bénéficiant de services continus
Examens des cas bénéficiant de services continus

Chaque dossier actif de protection de l’enfance est examiné dans le cadre d’une séance de supervision qui se tient au moins toutes les six semaines. Les cas qui comportent un plus haut niveau de risque ou de complexité sont examinés plus régulièrement.

Tout nouveau plan de sécurité qui est élaboré durant l’étape de la gestion des cas bénéficiant de services continus est approuvé par un superviseur avant sa mise en œuvre et le document est versé au dossier le jour ouvrable suivant.

La fréquence des visites à la famille est examinée par le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et son superviseur durant le processus de supervision.

Les visites inopinées sont nécessaires si, à la suite d’une consultation avec un superviseur, on détermine que ces visites sont nécessaires pour assurer la sécurité de l’enfant, selon la situation particulière du cas.

Documentation sur l’examen du cas

L’autorisation de la documentation sur l’examen du cas par le superviseur est nécessaire pour confirmer l’approbation des services fournis et des décisions prises dans les sept (7) jours suivant la fin de la consignation des renseignements.

8 : Fermeture du dossier
Approbation de la décision de fermer un dossier

Avant de fermer un dossier, le préposé à la protection de l’enfance le passe en revue avec la famille, les fournisseurs de services connexes et un superviseur. La décision de mettre fin à la prestation de services de protection de l’enfance est approuvée par un superviseur durant une consultation.

Documents nécessaires à l’examen du cas et à la fermeture du dossier

Les documents d’examen du cas et de fermeture de dossier sont rassemblés dans les trois (3) semaines suivant la réunion de fin des services avec l’enfant et la famille, et ils sont approuvés par le superviseur et versés dans la base de données dans les sept (7) jours suivant la date à laquelle les documents ont été reçus.

Conseils pratiques

Rôle du superviseur en matière de supervision

Les services de protection de l’enfance constituent un processus très complexe qui requiert la collecte, la synthèse et l’analyse de grandes quantités de renseignements. Les décisions résultant de ce processus ont des conséquences directes importantes sur les enfants et les familles. Essentielle à ce processus, la supervision a des répercussions sur la qualité de la prestation des services aux enfants et aux familles.

Les superviseurs jouent un rôle décisif dans les mesures suivantes :

Bien que les décisions relatives aux cas soient guidées par des outils cliniques spécialement conçus pour aider à la prise de diverses décisions pendant le déroulement du processus, le superviseur soutient et facilite l’enquête ou les services continus grâce à un processus régulier de supervision au cours duquel les dossiers sont examinés et analysés ensemble, des décisions sont prises et des commentaires utiles, des conseils, des orientations et de l’encadrement sont fournis aux préposés.

Lorsqu’ils fournissent des services de protection de l’enfance, les préposés ont souvent à composer avec des situations et des circonstances difficiles et lourdes d’émotions. Leurs valeurs, leurs convictions et leur expérience personnelle peuvent influer sur leur façon de percevoir les clients, ou leur manière de réagir et de traiter avec eux, et ce qui est plus important, elles peuvent nuire à l’objectivité de leurs décisions. Les superviseurs aident les préposés à déterminer dans quelle mesure leurs valeurs, leurs croyances et leur expérience de vie influent sur leurs rapports avec les clients et sur leur capacité à travailler efficacement avec eux.

De plus, le superviseur a un rôle de responsabilité et d’assurance de la qualité. Il doit surveiller la qualité de l’enquête et de ses composantes ou la qualité de la prestation des services continus, de même que la conformité aux normes, aux politiques, aux directives et aux protocoles applicables. La signature du superviseur sur les documents soumis par le préposé à la fin d’une enquête, lors de l’examen officiel d’un dossier, à la suite du transfert d’un dossier ou à la fermeture d’un dossier, indique que les éléments suivants sont approuvés :

Processus et contenu de la supervision clinique

La fréquence et le type des consultations nécessaires (qui peuvent dépasser les normes mais ne jamais être en deçà de ces normes) sont basés sur une évaluation du niveau de connaissances et de compétences du préposé, de même que sur la complexité et le niveau de risque présentés par chacun des cas. Les cas à haut risque font l’objet d’un examen plus régulier que la fréquence minimale prescrite dans les normes. Le préposé peut demander une consultation avec un superviseur chaque fois que la décision à prendre est complexe et comporte des répercussions sur la sécurité de l’enfant ou la permanence.

Les consultations sur un cas ont lieu au cours de rencontres de supervision régulières et privées entre le préposé et le superviseur. Ces conditions permettent de tenir des séances adéquatement préparées, bien structurées et cohérentes. La supervision clinique porte principalement sur les renseignements propres à un cas et permettant les prises de décisions, et sur les problèmes concernant les préposés et ayant trait à la prestation de services de protection efficaces.

Des consultations ad hoc/faites à l’improviste peuvent se révéler nécessaires quand des décisions urgentes doivent être prises pour assurer la sécurité d’un enfant. Il n’est cependant pas recommandé de trop compter sur cette approche. En effet, vu que ces consultations sont généralement préparées en très peu de temps, elles sont souvent précipitées et manquent de structure. Il arrive alors qu’on prenne des décisions sans bien étudier les autres options possibles.

Les éléments visés par la supervision clinique sont, notamment, les suivants :

Rôle du préposé à la protection de l’enfance en matiêre de supervision

Le préposé se prépare à la supervision en examinant les renseignements que contient le dossier et en proposant une ligne de conduite. Durant la séance de supervision, la discussion est axée sur la justification des décisions qui sont recommandées par le préposé. Le processus de recommandation d’une ligne de conduite peut se faire en coopération avec un superviseur si le préposé ne possède ni les connaissances ni les compétences adéquates en matière de protection de l’enfance et/ou si ses capacités d’analyse/de raisonnement sont insuffisantes.