You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) > Standards for All Phases of Child Protection Service Delivery > 2- Planning and Conducting a Child Protection Investigation

Standard 2 Planning and Conducting a Child Protection Investigation

Overview

This standard outlines the expectations for CASs when planning for and conducting child protection investigations in response to a referral that a child may be in need of protection. In particular, it includes requirements with respect to the following:

Intent

The requirements in the standard are designed to ensure that investigations are thorough and that all reasonable efforts are made to collect information/evidence that is relevant to the investigation. In keeping with the Differential Response model, the standard allows investigations to be customized depending on the severity, chronicity, risk and complexity of the situation. The investigation ensures the safety of the child while being as family-centred and strengths-based as possible to facilitate a satisfactory worker – client relationship. This approach promotes the engagement of the family in order to facilitate an understanding of the child and family’s needs/challenges and strengths beyond just those related to the reported incident or condition. It is intended that information gathering during an investigation is only as intrusive as is required to assess the safety of and protect the child, and is to be proportionate to the severity, chronicity, risk and complexity of the situation.

Standard #2 Planning and Conducting a Child Protection Investigation

Standard

When it has been determined that the most appropriate response to a referral that a child may be in need of protection is an investigation, the investigation plan is developed by the child protection worker who will conduct the investigation, following a thorough review of all current and historical information known about the child and family. The investigation plan is developed prior to the commencement of an investigation.

It is within the supervisor’s discretion whether they will review the worker’s investigation plan based on the level of knowledge and skill of the worker and the risk/complexity of the case. An investigation plan can be presented verbally to a supervisor in consultation6 .

6 Note that a separate written investigation plan is not required.

As part of the investigative plan a decision is made regarding which investigative approach is appropriate:

If the information received by a CAS alleges that a criminal offence has been perpetrated against a child, the child protection worker will immediately inform the police, and will work with the police according to the established protocols for investigation.

Every CAS will have protocols with the society’s local Police Departments related to the investigation of allegations that a criminal act has been perpetrated against a child.

Both investigative approaches utilize a family-centred, strengths-based orientation and require that:

Every CAS will have written policies and procedures related to worker safety when providing child protection service which outlines strategies to minimize risks to workers.

A family-based investigation (traditional or customized) includes the following investigative steps (note: steps 1-5 in family-based investigations are always completed):

  1. face-to-face contact with the child alleged to be the victim and an interview using methods consistent with the child’s developmental stage and ability to communicate;
  2. interviews of other children being cared for in the home, except if the child cannot be interviewed based on their developmental level or ability to communicate, in which case direct observation is required;
  3. interview of the child’s non-abusing caregiver;
  4. direct observation of the child’s living situation. If information is obtained that the child’s living conditions are hazardous and/or that is suggestive of neglect, the entire home is seen and in particular the child’s sleeping area;
  5. interview of the alleged perpetrator of the maltreatment by the CAS and/or the police as appropriate;
  6. direct observation of the interaction between the referred child and his/her parent/caregiver;
  7. interviews with witnesses in person or by phone;
  8. use of the Eligibility Spectrum to assist in determining who else may be at risk if prior interviews indicated that there may be other potential victims of maltreatment such as siblings or children in other families;
  9. interviews of all other adults living in the home;
  10. gathering evidence from other professionals involved with the child and/or family (e.g. medical, law enforcement, legal, educational); and
  11. consideration about the need to seek a warrant/telewarrant for access to records.

An institutional investigation includes the following investigation steps (Note: steps 1-2 in institutional investigations are always completed):

  1. interviews with the alleged victim(s), staff witnesses (current and former), child witnesses, facility administrator, supervisor of the alleged perpetrator and the alleged perpetrator;
  2. examination of the physical layout of the setting;
  3. examination of facility files and logs such as:
    • daily logs on the activities of children,
    • a log on medications administered,
    • a record of restraints and serious occurrences,
    • an individual file on each child;
  4. examination of information about the alleged victim(s), which may include the following:
    • characteristics of the victim(s) including their primary language and problems which might affect their ability to be interviewed (e.g. deafness, speech difficulties),
    • length of stay in setting,
    • prior allegations of abuse in any setting,
    • prior allegations of abuse related to the current incident, perpetrator or setting,
    • prior abuse or exposure to abuse in another setting,
    • child’s relationship to and feelings for the alleged perpetrator, and
    • any other information relevant to the investigation;
  5. examination of facility policy and procedures, staffing level and shift patterns, staff training and qualifications, daily routine, programming; and
  6. examination of records to determine if there have been allegations of abuse in the past connected with the setting.

Community caregiver investigations are to be conducted by child protection workers who have specialized knowledge and skills related to these investigations7 .

7 See Appendix A for further information on Community Caregiver investigations.

The investigative steps taken as part of the investigation plan and the information obtained throughout the investigation are documented in contemporaneous case notes in the case record.

All cases are reviewed with a supervisor at least once during an investigation. Cases with a higher degree of risk or complexity are reviewed more frequently.

Practice Notes
Interviews during the Investigation

All family members should be interviewed privately and individually so that:

Consideration should be given to the ethnic origin, first language, culture or Aboriginal heritage of the child and family and the need for an interpreter. Great care should be taken in choosing an interpreter if one is needed. It is best practice that the interpreter not be connected to the family of the alleged victim or of the alleged offender. In the case of an allegation involving a hearing impaired person, it is important to use a qualified interpreter.

The child victim is interviewed in order to:

Siblings or other children living in the home are interviewed in order to:

All of the non-offending adults in the home are interviewed in order to:

The alleged maltreating parent/caregiver is interviewed in order to:

Forensic Interviewing Techniques

Forensic interviewing techniques are used whenever discussing child protection concerns with the interviewee. These techniques are designed to elicit a valid, unbiased and complete statement in relation to allegations or sources of abuse or neglect. Children are to be interviewed in a developmentally sensitive manner taking into account their developmental level with respect to memory and language.

Forensic interviews:

Additional training resources with respect to forensic interviewing are available through the OACAS. (Also see References section (Lamb and Poole, 1998)).

Obtaining Additional Information and Evidence

Obtaining information and gathering evidence from other professionals involved with the child and/or family is beneficial in establishing the credibility of the referral that a child may be in need of protection and of the other information obtained during investigative interviews. This information may also be helpful to inform assessments of the child/family and case planning/decision making.

The CAS may consider obtaining information with the consent of the subject(s) of the information.

The CAS may also consider how to obtain relevant records in consultation with legal counsel, including whether information may be obtained under the following sections of the CFSA:

Traditional Approach

It is appropriate to use the traditional investigative approach when:

For referrals requiring the traditional approach, the investigative process is more structured and generally follows the following sequence:

  1. face-to-face contact with the child alleged to be the victim and an interview using methods consistent with the child’s developmental level and ability to communicate inside or outside the child’s home and with or without parent/caregiver’s knowledge/consent, depending on the circumstances;
  2. interviews of other children being cared for in the home, except if the child cannot be interviewed based on their developmental level or ability to communicate, in which case the child is directly observed;
  3. interviews with the non-offending parent or caregiver;
  4. interviews with witnesses (typically in person but if this is not possible, by phone);
  5. gathering of information from collateral contacts; and
  6. interviews with the person who is alleged to have harmed the child or subjected the child to a risk of harm.

While the traditional approach is more structured and often determined by CAS/Police protocols, it should be customized as much as possible without impacting on the safety of the child and the integrity of the evidence. Efforts should be made to make the traditional investigation as family-centred as possible.

In cases where a joint investigation will be conducted with the police, and a parent/primary caregiver is the alleged abuser, parents/caregivers are generally not contacted prior to the interviews. Mandated CAS Protocols with local Police Departments may specify the location of interviews.

Customized Approach

The customized approach is used whenever possible in less severe cases, to facilitate client engagement and a worker-client relationship that will result in improved child safety. Research on Differential Response Models indicates that it is a more effective approach for engaging children and families.

The customized approach emphasizes a more flexible and individualized approach when entering the family system. The protection of the child is ensured through an ongoing assessment of safety and risk, and is customized throughout the life of a case. The customized investigation plan involves decisions regarding the following components:

The Sequence of Interviews during an Investigation

It is important to work collaboratively with the family wherever possible and is preferable to obtain the parents’ agreement, or to provide them with notice, that the CAS will interview the child if the safety of the child is not compromised as a result. The primary focus is always the safety and protection of the child. When determining the sequence of investigative interviews, it is important to consider the following:

Scheduled vs. Unannounced Visits

The decision regarding scheduled/unannounced interviews during an investigation will be based on a consideration of the following:

Scheduled visits are recommended in the customized approach unless it is assessed that this is not the best way to secure a child’s immediate safety. Scheduled visits may be experienced by the family as being more respectful and may maximize the potential to engage parent/caregiver in a discussion regarding the alleged concerns and possible solutions.

Unannounced visits may be necessary when:

Determining the Location of Interviews

Initial face-to-face contact with the child’s parent/caregiver can occur inside or outside the child’s home depending on the circumstances. The choice of interview location will be based on a consideration of the following:

Interviews with other witnesses may take place in person or by phone (if practical and appropriate based on the situation).

Determining the Safety of the Child Protection Worker

While difficulties may occur at any point in the provision of protection services, threats and volatile situations are more likely to occur during the investigation and during crisis situations. The first step in ensuring a child protection worker’s safety is to assess the risk level of the situation before the initial face-to-face contact, which occurs on the basis of information gathered by the referral screener. The second step involves planning to minimize risks to worker safety while delivering child protection services in accordance with individual CAS policies on worker safety.

Changing the Approach Decision

The child protection worker continues to assess throughout the investigation whether the investigative approach initially chosen continues to be the most appropriate one.

The approach should be either adjusted or entirely changed when it is no longer appropriate. Criteria outlined in Standard #2 are used to make this determination. The ability of the child protection worker to continually shift between the two approaches is critical. The child protection worker needs to be equally comfortable with both the supportive and the authoritative role inherent in child protection practice.

If a “customized” approach is initially planned, but in the course of the investigation it is disclosed that a criminal offence has been perpetrated against a child, the worker will immediately inform the police and the approach changes to a traditional one. Similarly, if a “customized” approach is initially planned but attempts to intervene are proving unsuccessful and the worker is unable to engage the family in a level of cooperation that would allow the worker to determine what if any protection concerns exist, then the investigation moves toward a more traditional approach.

If the “traditional” approach is initially chosen and during the investigation with the police it is concluded that no criminal offence has been perpetrated against a child and the family is cooperative, the approach should be altered to a “customized” approach as soon as possible. In general, once the worker has successfully obtained sufficient evidence and information to be able to ascertain the child’s safety, the intervention should move toward a “customized” approach in order to engage the family in collaboratively developing solutions and moving toward positive change.

Safeguards for the Child during the Investigation

Throughout the investigation, the worker considers all appropriate means to ensure the child’s safety including:

Investigations Involving More Than One CAS

Sometimes an investigation may involve more than one CAS. In these situations, the CASs jointly determine who will lead the investigation and develop the investigation plan. Decisions are also made regarding which CAS will be responsible for completing which investigative steps outlined in Standard #2.

The following is an example of how the investigative steps might be shared between two CASs: In a case where the child victim(s) are currently located in the jurisdiction of CAS “A,” and where CAS “B” is leading the investigation, it may be more practical for CAS “A” to conduct interviews with the child victim(s) if requested by CAS “B.” Similarly, if the non-abusing caregiver is currently located in the jurisdiction of CAS “A,” it may be more practical for CAS “A” to conduct these interviews. If the perpetrator is currently located in the jurisdiction of CAS “B” it may be appropriate for CAS “B” to interview the alleged perpetrator, and to notify and work with the local police (e.g. if it is alleged that a criminal offence has been perpetrated against a child).

Domestic Violence Case Considerations

Conducting investigations in situations where domestic violence may be a concern may require additional attention to safety planning with the adult and child victims of violence. Additional practice guidance on this issue may be found in training resources available through OACAS (see References section).

Investigations in situations of domestic violence should also be consistent with local CAS/Violence Against Women Collaboration Agreements.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016) > Normes > 2- Planification et conduite d’une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance

Norme no 2 Planification et conduite d’une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance

Introduction

Vue d’ensemble

La présente norme décrit les attentes à l’endroit des SAE lorsqu’elles planifient et mènent une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance à la suite du signalement d’un enfant pouvant avoir besoin de protection. En particulier, elle comprend des exigences sur les points suivants :

Objectif

Les exigences liées à la norme ont pour but de garantir que les enquêtes soient exhaustives et que tous les efforts raisonnables soient faits pour réunir les renseignements et les éléments probants pertinents. Conformément au modèle d’intervention adaptée, la norme permet de personnaliser une enquête selon le degré de gravité, le caractère chronique, les risques et la complexité de la situation. L’enquête assure la sécurité de l’enfant en demeurant aussi centrée que possible sur la famille et sur ses points forts pour faciliter une bonne relation préposé-client. Cette approche facilite la participation de la famille, de manière à favoriser la compréhension des besoins, des défis et des points forts de l’enfant et de la famille au-delà de ceux qui sont liés à l’incident ou aux circonstances. La collecte d’information qui se déroule pendant l’enquête ne doit empiéter sur la vie privée des personnes que dans la mesure nécessaire pour évaluer la sécurité de l’enfant et le protéger, et doit demeurer proportionnelle à la gravité, au caractère chronique, aux risques et à la complexité de la situation.

Norme

Lorsqu’une enquête se révèle être la meilleure intervention en réponse au signalement d’un enfant pouvant avoir besoin de protection, un plan d’enquête est élaboré par le préposé à la protection de l’enfance qui mènera l’enquête après avoir procédé à une analyse complète de tous les renseignements disponibles sur la situation actuelle et sur les antécédents de l’enfant et de sa famille. Le plan d’enquête est élaboré avant le début de toute investigation.

La décision d’examiner ou non le plan d’enquête est laissée à la discrétion du superviseur, compte tenu des connaissances et des compétences du préposé et en fonction des risques et de la complexité du dossier. Le plan d’enquête peut être présenté verbalement au superviseur lors d’une consultation6 .

6 Il est à noter que dans ce cas, la présentation d’un plan d’enquête écrit n’est pas requise.

Dans le cadre du plan d’enquête, une décision est prise concernant la méthode d’investigation la plus appropriée :

Si les renseignements reçus par une SAE comportent des allégations concernant un acte criminel perpétré contre un enfant, le préposé à la protection de l’enfance en informe la police immédiatement et travaille de concert avec elle conformément aux protocoles d’enquête qui ont été établis.

Chaque SAE établit des protocoles avec les services de police locaux concernant les enquêtes sur des allégations d’acte criminel contre un enfant.

Les deux méthodes d’enquête sont centrées sur la famille et axées sur les points forts, et prévoient que :

Chaque SAE a des politiques et directives écrites traitant de la sécurité du préposé qui fournit des services de protection de l’enfance et établissant des stratégies de réduction des risques pour le préposé.

Une enquête sur le milieu familial (conventionnelle ou personnalisée) comprend les démarches suivantes (nota : les démarches 1 à 5 de l’enquête sur le milieu familial sont toujours effectuées) :

  1. Contact en personne avec l’enfant présumé victime et entrevue à l’aide de méthodes qui correspondent au stade de développement de l’enfant et à sa capacité de communiquer;
  2. Entrevues avec tous les autres enfants qui habitent au domicile, sauf avec tout enfant qu’il n’est pas possible d’interroger en raison de son stade de développement ou de sa capacité de communiquer, auquel cas une observation directe sera requise;
  3. Entrevue avec le responsable non contrevenant de l’enfant;
  4. Observation directe des conditions de vie de l’enfant. Si l’information obtenue révèle des conditions de vie dangereuses et/ou semble indiquer de la négligence, la maison entière est examinée et plus particulièrement l’endroit où l’enfant dort;
  5. Entrevue entre l’auteur présumé des mauvais traitements et la SAE et/ou la police, le cas échéant;
  6. Observation directe de l’interaction entre l’enfant signalé et son parent/responsable;
  7. Entrevues avec les témoins en personne ou au téléphone;
  8. Utilisation des échelles d’admissibilité pour identifier les autres personnes qui peuvent être à risque si des entrevues antérieures ont indiqué qu’il pourrait y avoir d’autres victimes de mauvais traitements, tels que les frères et sœurs ou des enfants d’autres familles;
  9. Entrevues avec tous les autres adultes du domicile;
  10. Collecte d’éléments probants provenant des autres professionnels qui interviennent auprès de l’enfant et/ou de la famille (p. ex., professionnels de la santé, de la police, du droit, de l’éducation);
  11. Analyse de la nécessité d’obtenir un mandat/télémandat pour accéder aux dossiers.

Une enquête institutionnelle comporte les démarches d’investigation suivantes (nota : les démarches 1 et 2 de l’enquête institutionnelle sont toujours effectuées) :

  1. Entrevues avec la victime présumée, les employés témoins (actuels et antérieurs), les témoins de l’enfant, l’administrateur de l’établissement, le superviseur de l’auteur présumé des mauvais traitements et l’auteur présumé;
  2. Examen de la disposition physique des lieux;
  3. Examen des dossiers et registres de l’établissement, tels que :
    • les fiches quotidiennes des activités des enfants,
    • le registre des médicaments administrés,
    • le registre des moyens de contrainte et des événements graves,
    • le dossier personnel de chaque enfant;
  4. Examen des renseignements sur la victime présumée, qui peuvent comprendre les éléments suivants :
    • les particularités de la victime, y compris sa langue maternelle et les problèmes qui peuvent entraver sa capacité d’être interrogée (p. ex., la surdité, des difficultés d’élocution),
    • la durée du séjour dans l’établissement,
    • les allégations antérieures de mauvais traitements dans quelque établissement que ce soit,
    • les allégations antérieures de mauvais traitements liées à l’incident actuel, à l’agresseur présumé ou à l’établissement,
    • les mauvais traitements antérieurs ou l’exposition à des mauvais traitements dans un autre milieu,
    • la relation de l’enfant avec l’auteur présumé des mauvais traitements et ses sentiments envers lui,
    • toute autre information pertinente à l’enquête;
  5. Examen des politiques et directives de l’établissement, de la dotation en personnel et des calendriers des quarts de travail, de la formation et des compétences du personnel, des tâches quotidiennes et de la programmation;
  6. Examen des dossiers pour établir l’existence d’allégations de mauvais traitements antérieurs liés à l’établissement.

L’enquête sur un aidant communautaire est menée par un préposé à la protection de l’enfance qui a acquis des connaissances spéciales et des compétences concernant ce type d’enquête7 .

7 Pour en savoir plus concernant l’enquête sur un aidant communautaire, se reporter à l’annexe A. (Je propose la minuscule à « annexe », pour uniformiser avec ce que tu as indiqué plus loin dans le document.)

Les démarches effectuées dans le cadre du plan d’enquête et les renseignements réunis au cours de l’enquête sont consignés dans les notes contemporaines versées au dossier.

Tous les cas sont passés en revue avec le superviseur au moins une fois pendant une enquête. Les cas qui comportent un plus haut niveau de risque ou de complexité sont examinés plus souvent.

Conseils pratiques
Entrevues menées pendant l’enquête

Tous les membres de la famille devraient être interrogés individuellement et en privé, de sorte :

Il faut porter attention à l’origine ethnique, à la langue maternelle, à la culture ou au patrimoine autochtone de l’enfant et de sa famille, et envisager de faire appel à un interprète au besoin. On doit d’ailleurs porter une grande attention au choix de l’interprète, le cas échéant. Selon la pratique exemplaire, l’interprète ne doit pas être lié à la famille de la victime présumée ni à celle de l’auteur présumé des mauvais traitements. Lorsque les allégations concernent une personne malentendante, il est important d’utiliser les services d’un interprète qualifié.

Une entrevue a lieu avec la victime pour :

Une entrevue a lieu avec les frères et sœurs de la victime ou avec les autres enfants vivant à la maison pour :

Une entrevue a lieu avec chacun des adultes non contrevenants qui vivent à la maison pour :

Une entrevue a lieu avec le parent/responsable qui est l’agresseur présumé pour :

Techniques d’entrevue médico-légales

Des techniques d’entrevue médico-légales sont employées dans toute discussion sur la protection de l’enfance. Ces techniques visent à obtenir une déposition valide, impartiale et complète en ce qui concerne les allégations ou les sources de mauvais traitements ou de négligence. Dans le cas des enfants, l’entrevue doit être adaptée à leur stade de développement quant à la mémoire et au langage.

Au cours de l’entrevue médico-légale :

Des outils de formation complémentaires concernant l’entrevue médico-légale sont offerts par l’entremise de l’AOSAE. De plus, se reporter à la section « Références » (Lamb and Poole, 1998).

Collecte de renseignements et d’indices supplémentaires

Il est utile d’obtenir des renseignements et de recueillir des indices auprès d’autres professionnels qui travaillent avec l’enfant et/ou la famille pour établir la crédibilité du signalement voulant que l’enfant ait besoin de protection et du reste de l’information réunie au cours des entrevues d’enquête. Ces renseignements peuvent également aider à réaliser l’évaluation de l’enfant/la famille et à effectuer la planification/prise de décision relatives au dossier.

La SAE peut tenter d’obtenir des renseignements avec le consentement de la personne qui en fait l’objet.

La SAE peut aussi chercher à obtenir des documents pertinents en consultation avec un avocat-conseil et tenter de déterminer s’il est possible de réunir de l’information en vertu des dispositions suivantes de la LSEF :

Approche conventionnelle

L’approche conventionnelle est appropriée :

Pour les signalements qui demandent l’approche conventionnelle, le processus d’enquête est plus structuré et se déroule en général dans l’ordre suivant :

  1. Contact en personne avec l’enfant présumé victime et entrevue menée à l’aide de méthodes qui correspondent au stade de développement de l’enfant et à sa capacité de communiquer, à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur du foyer de l’enfant, au su ou à l’insu du parent/responsable et avec ou sans son consentement, selon les circonstances;
  2. Entrevues avec tous les autres enfants qui habitent au domicile, sauf avec tout enfant qu’il n’est pas possible d’interroger en raison de son stade de développement ou de sa capacité de communiquer, auquel cas une observation directe de l’enfant est effectuée;
  3. Entrevues avec le parent ou le responsable non contrevenant;
  4. Entrevues avec les témoins (habituellement en personne mais sinon, au téléphone);
  5. Collecte de renseignements auprès de tierces parties;
  6. Entrevues avec la personne qui est présumée avoir infligé des mauvais traitements à l’enfant ou avoir mis l’enfant à risque.

Bien que l’approche conventionnelle soit plus structurée et soit souvent déterminée par les protocoles de la SAE/police, elle devrait être personnalisée le plus possible sans que cela nuise à la sécurité de l’enfant ni à l’intégrité des éléments probants. Il est nécessaire de faire des efforts pour que l’enquête conventionnelle soit aussi axée que possible sur la famille.

Dans les cas où l’enquête est menée conjointement avec la police et où un parent/responsable est l’auteur présumé des mauvais traitements, les parents/responsables ne sont habituellement pas contactés avant les entrevues. Les protocoles autorisés de la SAE avec les services de police locaux peuvent permettre de déterminer le lieu des entrevues.

Approche personnalisée

L’approche personnalisée est utilisée le plus possible dans les cas de moindre gravité, car elle offre de meilleures possibilités de faire participer le client et de créer des relations préposé-client qui amélioreront la sécurité de l’enfant. La recherche sur les modèles d’intervention adaptée indique que cette approche est une méthode plus efficace pour obtenir la collaboration des enfants et des familles.

L’approche personnalisée met l’accent sur une méthode plus souple et plus individualisée pour pénétrer dans le système familial. La protection de l’enfant est assurée au moyen d’une évaluation continue de la sécurité et du risque, et l’approche demeure personnalisée pendant toute la durée d’ouverture du dossier. Le plan d’enquête personnalisé nécessite des décisions concernant les points suivants :

Ordre de déroulement des entrevues pendant l’enquête

Il est important de travailler en coopération avec la famille autant que possible, et il est préférable d’obtenir le consentement des parents ou de les prévenir d’avance que la SAE interrogera l’enfant si cela ne compromet pas la sécurité de ce dernier. Le but principal demeure toujours la sécurité et la protection de l’enfant. Pour déterminer l’ordre dans lequel se déroulent les entrevues d’enquête, il est important de tenir compte des points suivants :

Visites planifiées ou inopinées

La décision de faire des entrevues planifiées ou inopinées pendant l’enquête sera fondée sur les points suivants :

Avec l’approche personnalisée, les visites planifiées sont recommandées sauf si l’on a des raisons de croire qu’elles ne constituent pas le meilleur moyen d’assurer la sécurité immédiate de l’enfant. Les visites planifiées peuvent être perçues par la famille comme étant plus respectueuses et peuvent ainsi maximiser les chances de faire participer le parent/responsable à une discussion sur les préoccupations présumées et sur les solutions possibles.

Par ailleurs, il peut se révéler nécessaire de faire des visites inopinées :

Choix du lieu des entrevues

Le premier contact en personne avec le parent/responsable de l’enfant peut se produire à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur du domicile de l’enfant selon les circonstances. Le choix du lieu de l’entrevue sera basé sur une étude des points suivants :

Les entrevues avec d’autres témoins peuvent se dérouler en personne ou au téléphone (selon ce qui est le plus pratique et approprié dans la situation).

Sécurité du préposé à la protection de l’enfance

Bien que des problèmes puissent surgir à n’importe quel moment de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance, les menaces et les situations instables risquent davantage de se produire pendant l’enquête et les situations de crise. La première chose à faire pour assurer la sécurité du préposé à la protection de l’enfance est d’évaluer le degré de risque que présente la situation avant le premier contact en personne; cette évaluation se fait en fonction des renseignements recueillis par la personne chargée du tri préliminaire. La deuxième chose à faire consiste à effectuer une planification qui permettra de réduire au minimum les risques pour la sécurité du préposé et de fournir les services de protection de l’enfance conformément aux politiques de la SAE sur la sécurité des préposés.

Changement d’approche

Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance continue d’évaluer le déroulement de l’enquête pour déterminer si l’approche retenue demeure la plus appropriée.

Il est nécessaire de modifier l’approche ou d’en changer complètement si elle n’est plus appropriée. On se fonde sur les critères établis à la norme no 2 pour arriver à cette conclusion. Il est essentiel que le préposé à la protection de l’enfance possède les compétences nécessaires pour pouvoir passer continuellement d’une approche à l’autre. Le préposé doit se sentir également à l’aise dans les rôles de soutien et d’autorité qui sont propres à l’exercice de son métier dans le domaine de la protection de l’enfance.

Si le préposé a planifié une approche personnalisée, mais que l’enquête révèle qu’un acte criminel a été perpétré contre l’enfant, il en informe immédiatement la police et opte pour l’approche conventionnelle. De même, si le préposé a planifié une approche personnalisée mais que ses tentatives d’intervention restent vaines et qu’il est incapable d’obtenir de la famille le degré de coopération qui lui permettrait de déterminer si le besoin de protection existe, l’enquête passe alors à une approche plus conventionnelle.

Si l’approche conventionnelle est d’abord retenue mais que l’enquête de la police permet de conclure qu’aucun acte criminel n’a été perpétré contre l’enfant et que la famille collabore, l’approche devrait alors devenir personnalisée le plus rapidement possible. En général, une fois que le préposé a réussi à obtenir des éléments probants et des renseignements suffisants pour assurer la sécurité de l’enfant, l’intervention devrait se faire selon une approche personnalisée pour arriver, avec la collaboration de la famille, à trouver des solutions et à envisager des changements positifs.

Mesures de protection de l’enfant pendant l’enquête

Pendant le déroulement de l’enquête, le préposé étudie tous les moyens appropriés d’assurer la sécurité de l’enfant, y compris :

Enquêtes faisant appel à plus d’une SAE

Il arrive qu’une enquête fasse appel à plus d’une SAE. Dans une telle situation, les SAE déterminent ensemble qui assumera la direction de l’enquête et établira le plan d’enquête. Elles décident aussi de la SAE qui sera responsable d’effectuer les démarches d’enquête expliquées à la norme n o 2.

Voici par exemple comment les étapes de l’enquête peuvent être réparties entre deux SAE : Lorsque la victime présumée se trouve sur le territoire de compétence de la SAE A et que la SAE B dirige l’enquête, il peut être plus pratique de charger la SAE A de mener les entrevues avec la victime présumée si la SAE B en fait la demande. De même, si la personne responsable non contrevenante se trouve sur le territoire de compétence de la SAE A, il peut être plus pratique de faire mener l’entrevue par la SAE A. Si l’agresseur présumé se trouve sur le territoire de compétence de la SAE B, il peut être opportun pour la SAE B d’interroger cette personne, d’aviser la police locale et de collaborer avec les autorités (p. ex., si un acte criminel présumé a été commis contre un enfant).

Points à considérer concernant la violence familiale

Lorsque l’enquête vise une situation qui comporte un élément de violence familiale possible, il peut être nécessaire d’accorder une attention supplémentaire à la planification de mesures de sécurité à l’égard des adultes et des enfants victimes de violence. à ce sujet, les outils de formation qui sont offerts par l’entremise de l’AOSAE peuvent contenir des conseils pratiques complémentaires (se reporter à la section « Références »).

Les enquêtes portant sur des incidents de violence familiale devraient aussi être conformes aux ententes locales de collaboration entre les SAE et le secteur de la violence faite aux femmes (VFF).