You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) > Standards for All Phases of Child Protection Service Delivery > 3- Conducting a Safety Assessment and Developing a Safety Plan

Standard 3 Conducting a Safety Assessment and Developing a Safety Plan

Overview

This standard outlines expectations for CASs in conducting an assessment of imminent threats to the safety of children and developing a safety plan to mitigate immediate safety threats during a child protection investigation. A safety assessment is an assessment of the present conditions, the danger resulting from those conditions and the interventions currently needed to protect the child. This standard includes requirements with respect to the following:

Intent

The intent of this standard is to ensure that during a child protection investigation, universal screening for present and imminent threats to the safety of children is undertaken in a timely manner. It is also intended that whenever a safety threat is identified, a safety plan is developed immediately to mitigate it. This standard encourages the involvement and engagement of the child’s immediate and extended family, and community supports in the identification of safety threats and safety planning where appropriate.

Standard #3 Conducting a Safety Assessment and Developing a Safety Plan

Standard
Conducting a Safety Assessment

An assessment of safety threats is conducted for all investigations at the point of the first face-to-face contact within the response time for all referrals assigned for an investigation (on both new and ongoing cases).

For family-based investigations including out-of-home care by relatives, community members, a foster home or a formal customary care home, a safety assessment is conducted in accordance with the safety assessment tool in the Ontario Child Protection Tools Manual. It is conducted in collaboration with the family in order to determine if any of the safety threats described in the safety assessment tool are present in the family.

For institutional investigations, a safety assessment tool is not available for assessments of safety threats. Despite this, every institutional investigation requires an assessment of immediate safety threats, although different factors are considered8 and the outcome is to be recorded as a narrative in the case record.

8 See Appendix A for a list of factors which are considered.

As part of the assessment of safety threats:

*Of note, other children being cared for in the home, who have not been reported to have been abused or neglected and whose immediate safety is not reported to be compromised, can be interviewed or observed at a later time, subsequent to the first face-to-face contact but before the completion of the investigation.

If the information found in the referral or the safety assessment indicates the possibility of injuries or the need for medical care, a medical examination will be arranged within 24 hours of receipt of the information. The result of the examination is documented in the case record.

When no safety threats are present, the worker reviews the safety assessment with a supervisor on the next working day.

Developing a Safety Plan

Whenever a safety threat is identified it is mandatory to develop a safety plan immediately following the assessment of safety threats. The protection of a child assessed to be unsafe is non-negotiable. The safety plan must secure the safety of the referred child and any other children being cared for in the setting.

Whenever possible and consistent with the child’s safety, the child protection worker actively involves the family and/or extended family members and/or community members and/or the child’s Band or Native community if the child is Indian or Native, in identifying safety threats, developing and implementing a safety plan, and monitoring and assessing its progress.

The adequacy of a safety plan is assessed by a supervisor and approved prior to its implementation.

A safety plan is monitored until:

A new safety assessment must be conducted whenever there is a change in the ability of existing safety interventions to mitigate safety threats.

Documentation

The formal documentation of the safety assessment and plan is to be completed within five (5) days of the first face-to-face contact.

Discontinuing an Investigation without a Safety Assessment or a Risk Assessment

An investigation (initial or subsequent) can be discontinued with supervisory approval without a safety assessment or a risk assessment having been completed if, upon first face-to-face contact, the referral information is found to be clearly wrong.

Closing a Case Immediately Following a Safety Assessment

An initial** family-based investigation can be concluded with supervisory approval immediately following a safety assessment without a risk assessment being conducted if the initial interviews yield information that maltreatment has clearly not occurred and the following criteria are met:

When concluding an investigation with a safety assessment and without a risk assessment, the documentation requirements for concluding an investigation (see standard #5) are followed.

**Of note, this option is not available for new investigations on cases already receiving child protection service.
Practice Notes
Conducting the Safety Assessment

A safety assessment conducted with the family will indicate whether a child is safe at the time of the assessment based on the worker’s direct observations of the family conditions, behaviours, attitudes, emotions or situation. Assessing safety is grounded in gathering comprehensive and accurate (credible) information about a family, specifically about behaviours, attitudes, emotions, intent or situations that have become immediately threatening to a child and are likely to result in injury, or significant pain and suffering, or extreme fear. The analysis of the information gathered should be guided by a cautious evaluation of the facts with child safety being paramount, while being respectful of the parent/caregiver.

The safety assessment should not rely solely on reports by clients. Similarly, the safety plan should not rely primarily on clients’ promises to change their behaviour.

Developing a Safety Plan

The development and implementation of a safety plan is likely the most significant intervention during the investigation phase of service. A safety plan includes interventions intended to mitigate immediate safety threats, but is not expected to remediate or resolve longer-term risks of maltreatment. The child protection worker’s role in developing the safety plan is both supportive/collaborative and assertive in ensuring that a child is protected.

Family and community strengths should be utilized to develop the safety plan. These might include:

Wherever possible and appropriate, the child(ren) in the family should be involved in the development of the safety plan.

The following factors should be considered in assessing the adequacy of the plan:

Monitoring the Safety Plan

The process of monitoring the safety plan is continuous for as long as it is in place. The worker evaluates its effectiveness each time that new information about the family is received.

Monitoring involves:

Consent to a Medical Examination

If a medical examination is arranged, it is preferable that the worker and the child be accompanied by the child’s parent or legal guardian. If this is not possible, the worker should request the parent/caregiver’s written consent to have the child examined. If these alternatives are not available or appropriate, the child should be apprehended so that the medical examination may proceed.

If the child has the capacity to consent to medical treatment, the child’s decision to accept or reject medical treatment may not be overridden.

Discontinuing an Investigation without a Safety Assessment or a Risk Assessment

Occasionally, a CAS receives a referral that upon first face-to face contact is found to be clearly wrong and the investigation should be discontinued. This is not a referral where the protection concerns are not verified. For example, the CAS receives a report that preschoolers are being routinely left unsupervised, but upon attending at the home finds that there are only adolescents living there and no pre-schoolers are cared for in the home.

The decision to discontinue an investigation is recommended by the worker to the supervisor. If the supervisor approves the decision, the investigation is discontinued and the reasons are documented.

Closing a Case Immediately Following a Safety Assessment

Occasionally a situation may warrant the closure of an investigation without the completion of a risk assessment when the criteria outlined in standard #3 have been met. For example, a CAS receives a report that a child has bruising as a result of being inadequately supervised. If the worker attends the home and finds no evidence of bruising, is able to conduct all required investigative steps, determines the child to be safe through a safety assessment, there are no other risk factors (e.g. child welfare history) or concerns present and the family demonstrates considerable strengths.

The decision to close an investigation without a risk assessment is recommended by the worker to the supervisor. If the supervisor approves the decision, the investigation is concluded and the documentation requirements for concluding an investigation outlined in Standard #5 are to be followed.

When an Investigation Involves More Than One CAS

Sometimes an investigation may involve more than one CAS. In these situations, the CASs involved must jointly determine which agency will be responsible for completing the safety assessment and developing a safety plan when a safety threat is identified in accordance with Standard #3.

Typically it is best practice for the CAS in the jurisdiction where the child victim(s) is/are currently located to conduct the safety assessment and develop the safety plan in consultation with the other CAS. It may also be more practical for the CAS in the jurisdiction where the child victim(s) is/are currently located to arrange and document the medical examination of the child(ren) (if required).

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016) > Normes > 3- Conduite d’une évaluation de la sécurité et élaboration d’un plan de sécurité

Norme no 3 Conduite d’une évaluation de la sécurité et élaboration d’un plan de sécurité

Introduction

Vue d’ensemble

La présente norme explique quelles sont les attentes à l’égard des SAE quant à l’évaluation des menaces imminentes pour la sécurité des enfants et à l’élaboration d’un plan de sécurité permettant d’atténuer des menaces immédiates au cours d’une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance. L’évaluation de la sécurité comporte une évaluation des circonstances actuelles, du danger qui résulte de ces circonstances et des interventions qui sont requises pour protéger un enfant. La présente norme comprend notamment des exigences sur les points suivants :

Objectif

La présente norme a pour objectif de faire en sorte que pendant l’enquête sur la protection de l’enfance, un dépistage systématique des menaces présentes et imminentes pour la sécurité des enfants soit entrepris rapidement. Il est également prévu que si une menace pour la sécurité est découverte, un plan de sécurité sera immédiatement élaboré pour l’atténuer. La norme préconise la participation et la coopération de la famille immédiate et de la famille élargie de l’enfant, ainsi que l’aide de la communauté afin de déterminer les menaces pour la sécurité et de planifier les mesures de sécurité, au besoin.

Norme
Conduite d’une évaluation de sécurité

Une évaluation des menaces pour la sécurité est effectuée dans le cadre de toutes les enquêtes au moment du premier contact en personne et à l’intérieur du délai d’intervention pour tous les signalements qui donnent lieu à une enquête (tant pour les nouveaux dossiers que les dossiers en cours).

S’il s’agit d’une enquête sur le milieu familial, y compris s’il y a prise en charge hors du domicile par des parents, des membres de la communauté, une famille d’accueil ou un foyer offrant des soins structurés conformes aux traditions, une évaluation de la sécurité est menée à l’aide de l’outil d’évaluation de la sécurité qui se trouve dans le Manuel des outils de la protection de l’enfance de l’Ontario. Le processus se déroule en collaboration avec la famille afin d’établir si les menaces pour la sécurité décrites dans le document existent au sein de la famille.

Pour les enquêtes sur un milieu institutionnel, il n’existe aucun outil d’évaluation permettant d’évaluer les menaces pour la sécurité. Malgré cela, dans toute enquête sur un milieu institutionnel, il faut procéder à une évaluation des menaces immédiates pour la sécurité, bien que l’on doive prendre d’autres facteurs en considération8 et consigner les résultats sous forme narrative dans le dossier.

8 Se reporter à l’annexe A pour voir la liste des facteurs qui sont pris en considération.

Dans le cadre de l’évaluation des menaces pour la sécurité :

*Il est à noter que les autres enfants habitant au même domicile qui n’ont pas fait l’objet d’un rapport de mauvais traitements ni de négligence et dont la sécurité immédiate ne semble pas menacée peuvent être interrogés ou observés ultérieurement, après le premier contact en personne mais avant la fin de l’enquête.

Si les renseignements contenus dans le signalement ou l’évaluation de la sécurité indiquent la possibilité de blessures ou la nécessité d’obtenir des soins médicaux, on fixe un examen médical dans les 24 heures suivant la réception des renseignements. Les résultats de l’examen seront consignés au dossier.

En l’absence de toute menace pour la sécurité, le préposé révise l’évaluation de la sécurité avec un superviseur le jour ouvrable suivant.

élaboration d’un plan de sécurité

Lorsqu’une menace pour la sécurité est signalée, il est obligatoire d’élaborer immédiatement un plan de sécurité après l’évaluation de la menace en question. La protection d’un enfant considéré comme en danger n’est pas négociable. Le plan de sécurité doit assurer la sécurité de l’enfant signalé et de tout autre enfant habitant au même domicile.

Si possible et dans le but d’assurer la sécurité de l’enfant, le préposé à la protection de l’enfance obtient la participation de la famille, de membres de la famille élargie, de membres de la communauté et/ou de membres de la bande ou de la communauté autochtone si l’enfant est Indien ou Autochtone, afin de cerner les menaces pour la sécurité, d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre un plan de sécurité, et d’en suivre et évaluer les progrès.

Le superviseur évalue et approuve la qualité des mesures du plan de sécurité avant sa mise en œuvre.

Le plan de sécurité est supervisé :

Une nouvelle évaluation de la sécurité doit avoir lieu s’il se produit un changement dans l’efficacité des interventions pour atténuer les menaces.

Documentation

Les documents officiels qui accompagnent l’évaluation et le plan de sécurité doivent être remplis dans les cinq (5) jours suivant le premier contact en personne.

Cessation d’une enquëte sans évaluation de la sécurité ni évaluation des risques

On peut mettre fin à une enquête (initiale ou subséquente) avec l’approbation du superviseur sans avoir mené d’évaluation de la sécurité ni d’évaluation des risques si, dès le premier contact en personne, les renseignements relatifs au signalement se révèlent clairement erronés.

Fermeture du dossier tout de suite aprês l’évaluation de la sécurité

On peut mettre fin à une enquête initiale** sur le milieu familial avec l’approbation du superviseur immédiatement après l’évaluation de la sécurité et sans procéder à une évaluation des risques si les premières entrevues révèlent qu’aucun mauvais traitement n’a été infligé et que la situation répond aux critères suivants :

**Il est à noter que cette option n’est pas possible dans le cas d’une nouvelle enquête sur un dossier qui donne déjà lieu à la prestation de services de protection de l’enfance.)

Pour fermer une enquête après l’évaluation de la sécurité mais sans faire d’évaluation des risques, on doit suivre les exigences relatives à la documentation pour fermer une enquête (se reporter à la norme n o 5).

Conseils pratiques
Conduite d’une évaluation de sécurité

L’évaluation de la sécurité qui est menée auprès de la famille permet de voir si l’enfant est en sécurité au moment où le préposé procède à l’observation directe des conditions de vie, des comportements, des attitudes, des émotions ou de la situation de la famille. L’évaluation de la sécurité est fondée sur la collecte de renseignements complets et précis (crédibles) sur la famille, plus particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux comportements, attitudes, émotions, objectifs ou situations qui représentent des menaces immédiates pour l’enfant et qui risquent de causer à ce dernier des blessures, des souffrances et douleurs considérables ou une peur extrême. L’analyse des renseignements recueillis devrait être guidée par une évaluation prudente des faits, en tenant la sécurité de l’enfant comme primordiale et en respectant le parent/responsable.

L’évaluation de la sécurité ne devrait pas être fondée uniquement sur le compte rendu d’un client. De même, le plan de sécurité ne devrait pas reposer principalement sur la promesse d’un client de modifier son comportement.

élaboration d’un plan de sécurité

L’élaboration et la mise en œuvre d’un plan de sécurité sont probablement l’intervention la plus importante à l’étape de l’enquête pour la prestation des services. Le plan de sécurité comprend des interventions destinées à atténuer les menaces immédiates pour la sécurité, mais il n’est pas censé éliminer les risques de maltraitance à plus long terme. Dans l’élaboration de ce plan, le préposé à la protection de l’enfance joue un rôle de soutien et de collaboration, en plus de veiller de faoon dynamique à la protection de l’enfant.

Pour élaborer le plan de sécurité, on peut s’appuyer sur les points forts de la famille et de la communauté, par exemple :

Dans la mesure du possible, les enfants de la famille devraient participer à l’élaboration du plan de sécurité.

On doit tenir compte des facteurs suivants pour évaluer la qualité du plan :

Suivi du plan de sécurité

Le processus de suivi du plan de sécurité se déroule pendant aussi longtemps que le plan est en place. Le préposé en évalue l’efficacité chaque fois qu’il reooit de nouveaux renseignements sur la famille.

Le suivi comprend :

Consentement à un examen médical

Si un examen médical est prévu, il est préférable que le préposé et l’enfant soient accompagnés par le parent ou le tuteur légal de l’enfant. Si cela est impossible, le préposé devrait obtenir le consentement écrit du parent/responsable pour faire examiner l’enfant. Si ces options se révèlent impossibles ou inappropriées, l’enfant devrait être appréhendé pour passer son examen médical.

Si l’enfant est apte à consentir à un traitement médical, sa décision d’accepter ou de refuser le traitement sera respectée et il ne sera pas possible d’y déroger.

Cessation d’une enquête sans évaluation de la sécurité ni évaluation des risques

Il peut arriver qu’une SAE reooive un signalement qui se révèle clairement erroné au premier contact en personne, ce qui motive la cessation de l’enquête. Dans ce cas, il ne s’agit pas d’un signalement pour lequel on ne procède pas à la vérification nécessaire. Si une SAE reçoit par exemple un signalement voulant que des enfants d’âge préscolaire soient laissés fréquemment sans surveillance, mais qu’une visite à la résidence révèle que seuls des adolescents y vivent et qu’aucun enfant d’âge préscolaire n’habite les lieux, le préposé recommande au superviseur de mettre fin à l’enquête. Si le superviseur approuve la décision, l’enquête prend fin et les raisons sont consignées au dossier.

Fermeture du dossier tout de suite après l’évaluation de la sécurité

Il arrive que les circonstances justifient la fermeture d’une enquête sans que soit effectuée une évaluation des risques, lorsque la situation répond aux critères établis à la norme n o 3. Par exemple, une SAE est avisée qu’un enfant a des ecchymoses parce qu’il n’est pas bien supervisé. Si le préposé se rend au domicile et ne trouve aucun signe d’ecchymose sur l’enfant, qu’il réussit à faire toutes les démarches d’enquête requises, qu’il détermine grâce à l’évaluation de la sécurité que l’enfant est en sécurité, qu’il n’existe pas d’autres facteurs de risque (p. ex., antécédents liés au bien-être de l’enfant) ni de préoccupations et que la famille montre des points forts importants, le préposé recommande au superviseur de fermer l’enquête sans faire d’évaluation des risques. Si le superviseur approuve la décision, l’enquête est fermée de manière conforme aux exigences expliquées à la norme n o 5 relativement aux documents requis pour fermer une enquête.

Enquête faisant appel à plus d’une SAE

Il arrive qu’une enquête fasse appel à plus d’une SAE. Dans de telles circonstances, les SAE concernées doivent désigner conjointement l’agence qui sera responsable d’effectuer l’évaluation de la sécurité et d’élaborer le plan de sécurité lorsqu’une menace pour la sécurité est découverte conformément à la norme n o 3.

Habituellement, la pratique exemplaire veut que la SAE du territoire de compétence où se trouve l’enfant qui est la victime présumée soit chargée de mener l’évaluation de la sécurité et d’élaborer le plan de sécurité en consultation avec les autres SAE. En outre, il sera peut-être plus pratique de faire organiser et consigner l’examen médical de l’enfant (le cas échéant) par la SAE du territoire de compétence où se trouve l’enfant.