You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) > Standards for All Phases of Child Protection Service Delivery > 5- Concluding a Child Protection Investigation

Standard 5 Concluding a Child Protection Investigation

Overview

This standard outlines requirements for CASs related to the conclusion of a child protection investigation, in particular, with respect to the following:

Intent

The standard focuses on ensuring investigations are thorough, comprehensive and timely and supports a thorough, structured, guided and collaborative process for case decision making at the conclusion of an investigation. It is intended that the investigation disposition decision is appropriate based on the unique needs of children (for safety) and their families (for support) and that all relevant parties are notified of the investigation outcome.

Standard #5 Concluding a Child Protection Investigation

Standard
Criteria for Concluding an Investigation

A family-based child protection investigation is concluded when all information is gathered to determine whether:

An institutional child protection investigation is concluded when sufficient information is gathered to determine whether:

Child protection investigations may also be concluded when all reasonable efforts have been made to collect evidence and continuing the investigation would yield no new information.

The decision to conclude an investigation is made in consultation with a supervisor.

Timeframes for Concluding an Investigation and Extensions

A child protection investigation is to be concluded within forty-five (45) days of receipt of the referral. However, the quality and thoroughness of the investigation shall not be compromised in order to meet the 45 day timeline (e.g. in situations where the case is complex and/or the CAS requires more time to customize the investigation to address the unique needs of children and their families). When the investigation cannot be concluded within 45 days, it is within the supervisor’s discretion to extend the timeframe up to 60 days from the date of referral. The reasons for the extension are documented in the case record.

Key Decisions

Three key decisions are to be made within the context of a full case review and analysis of all relevant information obtained through the referral and during the investigation, including the child welfare history, with the supervisor prior to the conclusion of an investigation:

  1. The Verification Decision

    The verification decision is whether it is more probable than not that the originally alleged or new child protection concerns (including harm or risk of harm) have occurred or currently exist. Child protection concerns may be “verified,” “not-verified” or “inconclusive.”

  2. The Determination about whether the Child is in Need of Protection (for family-based investigations only)

    This is the CAS’s opinion of whether the child is in need of protection according to the grounds set out in s. 37(2) of the CFSA.

  3. The Investigation Disposition

    The investigation disposition is the decision about what services (if any) will be provided to the family at the conclusion of the investigation.

Cases that reach a determination that a child is in need of protection are eligible for ongoing child protection services. Cases that do not reach a determination that a child is in need of protection are closed or provided with other (non-protection) child welfare services, or linked to formal and/or informal resources in the community. Some cases may require no follow-up services.

Notification

Notification of the outcome of the investigation is provided to the child alleged to be in need of protection (if appropriate based on the child’s age and developmental level), the caregiver(s) of the child, the child’s worker, an administrator of the institutional setting, the worker responsible for oversight of the community caregiver, and the person alleged to have caused the child protection concerns within fourteen (14) days of the decision to conclude the investigation that is made with the supervisor. Notification can occur to the family as a whole or to each family member individually, depending on the case circumstances.

In the case of an Indian or Native child, if at the completion of a child protection investigation there is a determination that a child is in need of protection and the investigation disposition is to provide ongoing child protection services, the CAS consults with a representative chosen by the child’s Band or Native community about the provision of services to the child and his/her family.

Documentation

In addition to the documentation completed during the course of an investigation that is included in standards 1-4, the following documentation is to be contained in the case record at the conclusion of the investigation:

This documentation is submitted for supervisory approval within the established timeframe for the conclusion of the investigation from the date of referral (e.g. within 45 days or 60 days in the case of an extension).

For cases that will be transferred to ongoing child protection services, the documentation submitted at the conclusion of the investigation is approved by the supervisor within seven (7) days of receipt of the completed case documentation.

For cases that will not be receiving ongoing child protection services, the documentation submitted at the conclusion of the investigation is approved by the supervisor within fourteen (14) days of receipt of the completed case documentation.

Practice Notes
The Verification Decision

Evidence collected during an investigation may be complex and contradictory in some cases. It is the responsibility of the child protection worker (in conjunction with the police, where appropriate) to obtain as much reliable evidence as possible. In determining whether a child protection concern (including harm or risk of harm) is verified, the worker and supervisor consider all information obtained during the investigation and determine which information is relevant to be used as evidence to verify the concern(s) or not.

It is critical that all evidence suggesting that a child was not maltreated be considered as thoroughly as evidence suggesting that child maltreatment did occur.

The verification decision is made in a conference involving, at minimum, the child protection worker and supervisor. All relevant information obtained throughout the investigation is reviewed.

A child protection concern should not be deemed as “not verified” merely because:

Where a child and/or parent deny that an alleged incident occurred, the worker uses his or her knowledge and skills to determine whether the denial is credible. The information obtained throughout the investigation will provide a basis for making these determinations. The absence of risk factors and the presence of a number of family strengths may lend credibility to the denial.

“Balance of Probabilities or More Probable Than Not” The verification decision is made on the basis of a balance of probabilities. The child protection worker assesses the evidence to make a decision about whether the original or new child protection concerns are more likely to be true than not true. In assessing the evidence, the worker must consider two issues:

  1. Whether the evidence gathered and reviewed by the child protection worker is credible.

    Credible evidence is defined as evidence that is trustworthy, believable and dependable, thus reliable.

  2. Whether the evidence gathered and reviewed by the child protection worker is persuasive.

    Credible evidence is considered persuasive when, after carefully reviewing and weighing all the evidence, the child protection worker finds the weight of the evidence supports a clear conclusion that either the originally alleged or new child protection concerns have not occurred or are not present/do not currently exist, or that the originally alleged or new child protection concerns have occurred or are present/currently exist.

Deciding That Evidence Is “Inconclusive”

A verification decision of inconclusive means that a CAS cannot determine based on the balance of probabilities that a child protection concern(s) can be verified or not. In order to make this decision the CAS would have had to exhaust all information sources during the investigation and still be unable to conclude with any degree of certainty that the balance is tipped one way or another in favour of verifying or not verifying child protection concerns. This conclusion is not used as a default for cases where the decision to verify or not to verify is difficult to make.

Child Abuse Register

Where an allegation of child abuse has been verified, the guidelines for reporting to the Child Abuse Register are to be followed (see References (MCYS, 1987)) (see also s. 75(3) of the CFSA and Regulation 71, s.2). Cases of verified neglect should not be reported to the Register, unless they meet the reporting criteria for abuse, namely, that the child has suffered harm within the meaning of CFSA s. 37(2)(a), (c), (e), (f), (f.1) or (h).

Determination about whether the Child is in Need of Protection

The determination about whether a child is in need of protection is based on broader grounds, including risk of future harm (e.g. in the longer term), than the verification decision and requires a greater use of analysis and judgment.

A determination about whether a child is in need of protection is made in a conference involving, at a minimum, the child protection worker and supervisor. All relevant information obtained throughout the investigation is reviewed to inform this determination. The child protection worker analyzes the outcomes of all administered assessments, the behaviours, conditions, strengths and needs that are present and explores their current impact on the child, and how likely they are to result in abuse or neglect in the future. The use of any one assessment tool to make this determination is inappropriate.

A child is generally in need of protection when he/she has suffered or is likely to suffer some form of maltreatment as a result of an act of commission or omission by his/her parent or caregiver. “Likely to suffer” connotes a degree of predictability or reliability supporting that conclusion.

Risk of maltreatment exists on a continuum, from low to high risk. The determination that a child is in need of protection is different than simply a judgment that there is some risk in the family, as some risk of maltreatment is present in every family, even if it is very low.

Both the safety assessment and risk assessment are helpful in structuring and guiding this decision. Because the safety assessment is more narrowly focused than the risk assessment, and identifies imminently threatening conditions with potentially severe results, a determination during or at the conclusion of an investigation that a child is unsafe will generally result in a determination that a child is in need of protection.

Although a risk assessment is a relevant and valuable clinical tool, it is not sufficient in and of itself to support a determination that a child is in need of protection. An overall risk rating of high or very high will generally (but not always) result in a determination that a child is in need of protection.

Similarly, while a referral eligibility screening tool such as the Eligibility Spectrum assists in deciding about the severity of the incident or condition that has been verified, it should not be used on its own to drive the decision about whether a child is in need of protection, as severity is not the sole factor that requires consideration.

Investigation Disposition

The investigation disposition decision is made in a conference involving, at a minimum, the child protection worker and supervisor. All relevant information obtained throughout the investigation is reviewed to inform the disposition.

When a case is being closed, the child protection worker considers if services or resources in the community will prevent or reduce risk of future maltreatment to the child. If so, the child and family are provided with information about, or referred to, appropriate resources.

In the case of Indian or Native children, the conclusion of an investigation is an opportunity to engage the Band, community representatives, and/or extended family members where appropriate so that they may support the family on a go forward basis in their community. Encouraging the family to work with the Band can facilitate the process of linking the family with culturally appropriate services. The Band and other community representatives are well positioned in regards to identifying other culturally appropriate supports which may be beneficial for the child and his/her family.

Notification

Prior to the conclusion of an investigation, persons who were the subjects of a child protection investigation are informed that information regarding the investigation has been recorded in the society’s records and that some or all of the information will be placed on the provincial database for use in child protection services, including by other service providers.

When providing notification regarding the outcome of the investigation when it is concluded, consideration should be given to the potential impact on the victims of providing this information to the perpetrator (e.g. in situations of domestic violence, child abuse). This could include consulting with the victim(s) first about how the information shared could affect the perpetrator’s behaviour, what information should be shared, and what should be kept confidential to minimize risk to potential victims. Additional safety planning with victims may be needed.

Documentation

The case summary and analysis documentation at the conclusion of the investigation is clinically focussed, culminating in required case work decisions. The more detailed information about contacts with children, their families and other collaterals, and the steps taken during the investigation are contained in contemporaneous case notes in the case record.

When an Investigation Involves More Than One CAS

When an investigation has involved more than one CAS, it is best practice for the CAS which led the investigation to conclude the investigation in accordance with Standard #5. The CAS which assisted with the investigation shares all of the relevant information obtained and any assessments completed during the investigation with the CAS leading the investigation so that it can make the key decisions at the conclusion of the investigation and complete the required investigation conclusion documentation.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016) > Normes > 5- Fermeture d’une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance

Norme no 5 Fermeture d’une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance

Introduction

Vue d’ensemble

La présente norme énonce les exigences à l’endroit des SAE concernant la fermeture d’une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance, en particulier quant aux points suivants :

Objectif

La norme vise à garantir que l’enquête est approfondie, exhaustive et menée en temps opportun, et qu’elle appuie un processus minutieux, structuré, stratégique et collaboratif pour favoriser la prise de la décision concernant le dossier à la fin de l’enquête. L’objectif est de parvenir à une décision qui soit adaptée aux besoins particuliers des enfants (sécurité) et des familles (soutien), et que toutes les parties concernées soient avisées des résultats de l’enquête.

Norme
Critères de fermeture de l’enquëte

On ferme l’enquête sur la protection de l’enfance dans le milieu familial une fois que tous les renseignements ont été réunis pour établir si :

On ferme l’enquête sur la protection de l’enfance dans le milieu institutionnel si les renseignements recueillis permettent d’établir que :

On peut également mettre fin à l’enquête sur la protection de l’enfance lorsque toutes les mesures raisonnables ont été prises pour recueillir des preuves, et que l’on a la certitude que la poursuite de l’enquête ne révélerait aucun nouveau renseignement.

La décision de fermer une enquête est prise en consultation avec le superviseur.

Délais d’exécution pour la fermeture de l’enquëte et prolongations

L’enquête sur la protection de l’enfance doit se dérouler et prendre fin dans un délai de quarante-cinq (45) jours après la réception du signalement. Cela dit, il serait inacceptable de respecter ce délai de 45 jours au détriment de la qualité et l’exhaustivité de l’enquête (p. ex., dans les situations où le cas est complexe et/ou lorsque la SAE a besoin de plus de temps pour adapter son enquête aux besoins particuliers des enfants et des familles). Lorsqu’il est impossible de terminer l’enquête en 45 jours, le superviseur peut, à sa discrétion, prolonger le délai jusqu’à un maximum de 60 jours après la date du signalement. Les motifs de la prolongation sont consignés dans le dossier.

Décisions clés

Trois décisions clés doivent être prises avec le superviseur avant la fin de l’enquête, dans le contexte d’un examen complet du dossier et d’une analyse de tous les renseignements importants qui ont été réunis lors du signalement et pendant l’enquête, y compris les antécédents liés au bien-être de l’enfance :

  1. Décision de vérification

    La décision de vérification est une décision selon laquelle on détermine s’il est probable que les risques invoqués à l’origine ou nouvellement allégués relativement à la sécurité d’un enfant (y compris les préjudices ou les risques de préjudice) aient existé ou existent actuellement. Les risques pour la sécurité de l’enfant sont © vérifiés », « non vérifiés » ou « non concluants ».

  2. Détermination du besoin de protection de l’enfant (dans une enquête sur le milieu familial seulement)

    La SAE indique si, à son avis, l’enfant a besoin de protection selon les motifs énoncés au par. 37 (2) de la LSEF.

  3. Décision résultant de l’enquëte

    La décision résultant de l’enquête est la décision qui est prise relativement aux services qui seront fournis (le cas échéant) à la famille à la fin de l’enquête.

Tout dossier dans lequel on détermine que l’enfant a besoin de protection est admissible à la prestation de services continus de protection de l’enfance. Les dossiers pour lesquels il n’est pas déterminé que l’enfant a besoin de protection sont fermés ou donnent lieu à la prestation d’autres services de bien-être de l’enfance non rattachés à la protection, ou encore à la recommandation de ressources officielles ou informelles de la communauté. Certains dossiers ne nécessitent aucun service de suivi.

Notification

Les résultats de l’enquête sont communiqués à l’enfant qui est présumé avoir besoin de protection (s’il est approprié de le faire vu l’âge et le stade de développement de l’enfant), à la personne responsable de l’enfant, au préposé de l’enfant, à un administrateur de l’institution, au préposé chargé de superviser l’aidant communautaire et à la personne qui est présumée être à l’origine du besoin de protection de l’enfant, dans les quatorze (14) jours suivant la décision qui est prise avec le superviseur de fermer l’enquête. La notification peut viser la famille entière ou chacun de ses membres individuellement, selon les circonstances.

Si l’enfant est Indien ou Autochtone, et si, à l’issue d’une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance, il est déterminé qu’il a besoin de protection et que la décision résultant de l’enquête est de fournir des services continus de protection de l’enfance, la SAE consulte un représentant choisi par la bande ou la communauté autochtone de l’enfant au sujet de la prestation de services à l’enfant et à sa famille.

Documentation

Outre les documents qui sont remplis au cours de l’enquête et qui sont mentionnés dans les normes 1 à 4, le dossier doit contenir la documentation suivante à la fin de l’enquête :

La documentation doit être soumise à l’approbation du superviseur dans les délais prévus pour la fermeture de l’enquête à partir de la date du signalement (c.-à-d. dans un délai de 45 jours, ou de 60 jours s’il y a prolongation).

Pour les dossiers qui seront transférés en vue de la prestation de services continus de protection de l’enfance, la documentation complète qui est présentée à la fin de l’enquête doit être approuvée par le superviseur dans les sept (7) jours suivant sa réception.

Pour les dossiers qui ne donneront pas lieu à la prestation de services continus de protection de l’enfance, la documentation complète qui est présentée à la fin de l’enquête doit être approuvée par le superviseur dans les quatorze (14) jours suivant sa réception.

Conseils pratiques
Décision de vérification

Il peut arriver que des éléments probants recueillis pendant une enquête soient complexes et contradictoires. Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance (conjointement avec la police, au besoin) a la responsabilité de recueillir les preuves les plus concrètes possible. Afin de déterminer si les risques pour la sécurité de l’enfant (y compris les préjudices ou les risques de préjudice) sont vérifiés ou non, le préposé et le superviseur étudient tous les renseignements obtenus pendant l’enquête et retiennent ceux dont l’utilisation sera la plus pertinente.

Il est essentiel d’étudier minutieusement tous les éléments probants, aussi bien ceux qui indiquent que l’enfant n’a pas été maltraité que ceux qui laissent croire à l’existence des mauvais traitements.

La décision de vérification est prise au cours d’une conférence à laquelle doivent assister au moins le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et le superviseur. Tous les renseignements pertinents recueillis pendant l’enquête sont examinés.

Les risques pour la sécurité de l’enfant ne devraient pas être considérés comme « non vérifiés » simplement parce que :

Lorsqu’un enfant et/ou un parent nient que le prétendu incident se soit produit, le préposé se sert de ses connaissances et de ses compétences pour établir si le déni est digne de foi. Les renseignements obtenus pendant l’enquête formeront la base de ses conclusions. L’absence de facteurs de risque et la présence d’un certain nombre de points forts dans la famille pourront donner de la crédibilité au déni.

Prépondérance des probabilités ou probabilité la plus grande La décision de vérification est prise en fonction du critère de la « prépondérance des probabilités ». Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance évalue les éléments probants pour décider si les risques invoqués à l’origine ou nouvellement allégués relativement à la sécurité d’un enfant sont probablement fondés ou non. Lorsqu’il évalue les éléments probants, le préposé doit tenir compte de deux points :

Décision à l’effet que la preuve n’est pas concluante

La SAE peut décider que la preuve est non concluante lorsque la prépondérance des probabilités ne lui permet pas de déterminer si les risques pour la sécurité de l’enfant sont vérifiables ou non. La SAE en arrive à cette décision si, après avoir passé en revue toutes les sources d’information possibles au cours de l’enquête, elle se trouve quand même dans l’impossibilité de conclure avec certitude que les données mises en balance penchent davantage d’un côté que de l’autre afin de vérifier l’existence ou l’inexistence des risques pour la sécurité de l’enfant. Cette conclusion n’est pas une conclusion « par défaut » pour les cas où la décision de vérification est difficile à prendre.

Registre des mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants

Lorsque les allégations de mauvais traitements à l’égard d’un enfant sont vérifiées, on doit suivre les lignes directrices relatives au signalement au Registre des mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants (se reporter à la section « Références » (MSEJ, 1987), ainsi qu’au par. 75 (3) de la LSEF et au Règlement 71, art. 2). Les cas de négligence vérifiés ne devraient pas être signalés au Registre, à moins qu’ils satisfassent aux critères de signalement pour mauvais traitements, à savoir que la négligence a causé un préjudice réel à l’enfant au sens des alinéas 37 (2) a), c), e), f), f.1) ou h) de la LSEF.

Détermination du besoin de protection de l’enfant

La détermination du besoin de protection de l’enfant est fondée sur des motifs plus généraux que la décision de vérification, y compris le risque de préjudice futur (c.-à-d. à long terme), et requiert davantage d’analyse et de jugement.

Cette détermination s’effectue au cours d’une conférence à laquelle participent, à tout le moins, le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et le superviseur. Tous les renseignements pertinents recueillis pendant l’enquête sont examinés pour éclairer cette détermination. Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance analyse les résultats de toutes les évaluations effectuées, les comportements, les conditions, les points forts et les besoins constatés, et examine leurs effets actuels sur l’enfant et la probabilité qu’ils entraînent des mauvais traitements ou de la négligence dans l’avenir. L’utilisation d’un seul outil d’évaluation ne suffit pas pour arriver à cette détermination.

En général, un enfant a besoin de protection s’il a subi ou est susceptible de subir des mauvais traitements sous une forme quelconque à la suite d’un acte commis ou omis par son parent ou son responsable. L’expression © risque de subir » sous-entend qu’un certain degré de prévisibilité ou de fiabilité soutient cette conclusion.

Le risque de mauvais traitements est évalué selon un continuum qui va de faible à élevé. La détermination voulant qu’un enfant ait besoin de protection diffère de la simple opinion qu’il existe un certain risque dans la famille, car le risque de mauvais traitements est présent dans chaque famille, même s’il est très faible.

L’évaluation de la sécurité et l’évaluation des risques sont deux outils utiles pour structurer et orienter cette décision. étant donné que l’évaluation de la sécurité est plus rigoureuse que l’évaluation des risques et qu’elle permet de déceler des menaces imminentes et susceptibles d’avoir des conséquences graves, si l’on détermine dans le courant ou à la fin d’une enquête que l’enfant n’est pas en sécurité, il sera également déterminé, en général, que l’enfant a besoin de protection.

Bien que l’évaluation des risques constitue un outil clinique pertinent et précieux, elle ne suffit pas en soi pour déterminer si l’enfant a besoin de protection. Lorsque l’évaluation globale révèle que le risque est élevé ou très élevé, il est habituellement déterminé (mais pas toujours) que l’enfant a besoin de protection.

De même, bien qu’un outil d’admissibilité des signalements tel que les échelles d’admissibilité soit utile pour juger de la gravité de l’incident ou des circonstances qui ont été vérifiés, il ne devrait pas être employé seul pour déterminer si l’enfant a besoin de protection, puisque le degré de gravité n’est pas le seul facteur dont on doit tenir compte.

Décision résultant de l’enquête

La décision résultant de l’enquête est prise au cours d’une conférence à laquelle doivent assister au moins le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et le superviseur. Tous les renseignements pertinents recueillis pendant l’enquête sont examinés pour éclairer cette décision.

Au moment de fermer un dossier, le préposé à la protection de l’enfance tente de déterminer si les services ou les ressources de la communauté permettront de prévenir ou de réduire le risque de mauvais traitements futurs à l’égard de l’enfant. Si la réponse est affirmative, l’enfant et sa famille reooivent de l’information sur les ressources appropriées ou sont dirigés vers les organismes concernés.

Dans le cas des enfants indiens ou autochtones, la fin de l’enquête est l’occasion d’établir un dialogue avec la bande, des représentants de la communauté et/ou des membres de la famille élargie le cas échéant, pour que ces personnes puissent soutenir la famille au sein de la communauté dans l’avenir. Il est également utile d’encourager la famille à travailler avec la bande afin de faciliter le processus qui consiste à la diriger vers des services adaptés sur le plan culturel. Les membres de la bande et d’autres représentants de la communauté sont bien placés pour offrir une aide adaptée à la culture et pouvant bénéficier à l’enfant et à sa famille.

Notification

Avant la conclusion de l’enquête sur la protection de l’enfance, on avise les personnes qui ont fait l’objet de cette enquête que les renseignements obtenus par ce moyen ont été consignés dans les dossiers de la SAE et qu’ils seront également versés en tout ou en partie dans la banque de données provinciale afin d’être accessibles aux services de protection de l’enfance, y compris à d’autres fournisseurs de services.

En ce qui concerne la notification donnée au sujet du résultat de l’enquête, il est conseillé de songer aux répercussions que la communication de cette information à l’agresseur pourrait avoir sur les victimes (p. ex., dans les situations de violence familiale ou de mauvais traitements infligés à des enfants). Par exemple, on peut d’abord consulter la victime pour savoir de quelle faoon l’information communiquée pourrait modifier le comportement de l’agresseur, et quels seraient les renseignements à révéler et les renseignements à tenir confidentiels afin de réduire les risques au minimum. Il pourra aussi être nécessaire de planifier d’autres mesures de sécurité avec la victime.

Documentation

Le sommaire du dossier et la documentation d’analyse qui sont produits à la fin de l’enquête sont fondés sur des évaluations cliniques et orientent les décisions qui doivent être prises dans le traitement du dossier. Les renseignements plus détaillés qui concernent les contacts avec les enfants, leurs familles et d’autres intervenants ainsi que les démarches entreprises pendant l’enquête figurent dans les notes contemporaines versées au dossier.

Enquête faisant appel à plus d’une SAE

Lorsqu’une enquête a fait appel à plus d’une SAE, la pratique exemplaire veut que la SAE ayant dirigé l’enquête soit chargée d’y mettre fin, conformément à la norme no 5. La SAE qui a aidé à l’enquête communique tous les renseignements pertinents qu’elle a réunis et toutes les évaluations qu’elle a réalisées à la SAE qui dirige l’enquête pour lui permettre de prendre les décisions clés et de remplir les documents requis à la fin de l’enquête.