You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) > Standards for All Phases of Child Protection Service Delivery > 7- Ongoing Service Case Management

Standard 7 Ongoing Service Case Management

Overview

When the investigation disposition is to transfer a case to ongoing services, the focus of ongoing services is on protecting child(ren) and engaging families in CAS services and other community supports in order to reduce the likelihood of future harm to child(ren). This standard includes a number of requirements related to the provision of ongoing services, in particular with respect to the following:

Intent

The intent of the standard is to ensure a collaborative and respectful assessment of the family’s strengths and needs is undertaken and a service plan developed to guide the subsequent interventions intended to mitigate risk to the child (or children). It is intended that engagement with the family is undertaken on a continual basis during the provision of ongoing services to monitor the child’s safety and well-being and to provide support to the family. The child protection services provided to the family are meant to be purposeful, goal-oriented, and outcomes focused. It is intended that the appropriateness of the services and the family’s progress is reviewed and evaluated at regular intervals.

The standard promotes the engagement of the family during the assessment, service planning and decision making processes. Emphasis is placed on ensuring the family understands the child protection concerns, the outcome of all assessments, what their child protection worker and all others participating in the service plan will do to resolve the child protection concerns, and how the family’s progress will be measured. There is also a continuous focus on the child’s need for a safe, stable, reliable and permanent placement.

Standard #7 Ongoing Service Case Management

Standard
The First Month of Ongoing Services

The focus of the first month of ongoing child protection services is on:

Monitoring the Safety Plan

If there have been changes to any of the safety threats identified in the safety assessment completed during the investigation or in the ability of the interventions to assure safety, the ongoing child protection worker will together with the family develop an alternative safety plan. Any new safety plan which is developed is approved by a supervisor prior to its implementation and documented on the next working day.

Conducting the Family and Child Strengths and Needs Assessment

An assessment of the family’s and the child’s strengths and needs is completed on every case receiving ongoing protection service prior to the development of the service plan. The assessment assists in developing a service plan that utilizes family strengths and targets areas of need.

The results of the family and child strengths and needs assessment are discussed with the family during the service planning process.

Developing a Service Plan

The child protection worker who will implement and manage the service plan develops the service plan with the family within the context of a family-centred conference. The initial service plan is completed within thirty (30) days of the completion of the investigation, or within thirty (30) days of the date of the case transfer following the initial investigation.

It is anticipated that the vast majority of these conferences will be facilitated by the family’s own worker, who invites the child, family and their chosen circle of support in regular service planning and review. CASs are also required to have a family-centred conferencing model available for case planning purposes, and policies and procedures related to its use. The use of traditional conferencing/healing models or methods (e.g. talking circles) is preferable for Aboriginal children and their families.

Participants in the service planning process include:

The service plan minimally contains:

Ongoing Service Case Management (After the first month and beyond)

Following the development of the initial service plan with the family, the service plan is implemented and managed. The role of the worker is to:

The minimum standard for visits with families in their home is once per month. However, more frequent visits should take place in certain circumstances. When deciding whether more frequent visits are required the worker considers:

The frequency of visits is also reviewed by the child protection worker and their supervisor during supervision.

The child victim(s) is/are interviewed privately either at home or in another setting. Non-verbal children are directly observed in their own home environment and particularly as they interact with their parent/caregiver.

Unannounced visits are required when:

Reviews, Consultations or Approvals by the Supervisor

Every ongoing child protection case is reviewed in a supervision session minimally once every six (6) weeks. Cases with a higher degree of risk or complexity are reviewed more often.

Case Review and Evaluation

Formal case review and evaluation takes place every six (6) months following the development of the initial service plan. The formal review requires completion of the following assessments:

Information collected by the child protection worker from the family and collaterals regarding the family’s progress throughout the case management process will be reviewed in the context of a family-centred conference which involves all family members and their support persons who participated in the service plan, including other service providers whenever possible. The unavailability of other service providers will not delay the service plan review.

A service plan is also reviewed and revised when the reunification tools have been completed and the child will or has been reunited with his or her family.

Concurrent Planning

At the time of the first case review and all subsequent reviews following a child being placed in out-of-home care, it is critical to consider what the prognosis is for the family to achieve reunification. If the protection concerns and needs of the family are significant, the family has made little or no progress in achieving its goals/objectives and the prognosis is poor, an alternate permanent plan is developed with the family. A reunification assessment guides these decisions. It is important to involve all interested extended family members, relatives or other family support persons including a representative chosen by the Band. The worker should conduct a thorough, continuous search for persons who may commit to participation in a permanent plan for the child. Wherever possible, the child should be placed with a family who is willing to work cooperatively with the child’s parent/primary caregiver toward reunification but is also willing to become the child’s permanent family if needed.

Case Review or Termination Documentation

At the time of case review or termination, the following documentation is to be contained in the case record:

New Referral regarding a Case Receiving Ongoing Children’s Aid Society Service

When new referrals about protection concerns are received on a case receiving ongoing services (which do not relate to a known incident or condition for which the family is already receiving service), standard #1 applies to the assessment of the referral and in determining the referral disposition.

When a child protection investigation is conducted on a case receiving ongoing child protection services, it is planned and conducted in accordance with standard 2. The worker also:

*The service plan is updated only when new risk factors have emerged. The current service plan is enhanced to specifically manage these new risk factors until the next regularly scheduled service plan review.
Practice Notes
Intensity of Service during the First Month of Ongoing Services

The ongoing child protection worker’s level of contact with the family is generally highest during the first month of ongoing service. The first month of ongoing services is the foundation for all subsequent casework decisions and activities (interventions). An effective use of self by the worker is required to engage families in CAS services and with community supports.

The Assessment and Service Planning Process

The worker gathers all information that can assist in formulating an accurate and comprehensive assessment of the family’s and the child’s strengths as well as any issues or risk factors that may affect child safety. The worker seeks to be holistic in his/her approach, obtaining knowledge and understanding of the child and family. This is done by considering the family’s uniqueness, including ethnicity, culture, religion, regional differences and relationship to the family’s extended family and community.

The assessments completed at the ongoing stage of service will incorporate information from:

Family and Child Strengths and Needs Assessment

The family and child strengths and needs assessment is designed to assist the worker to identify the presence of caregiver and child strengths and resources as well as to identify the underlying needs of family members that are associated with safety threats or longer-term risk of maltreatment.

The process of assessment is an interactive one that includes all members of the family, extended family (where appropriate) and any community service providers who have been involved with the family in the past and present. The child protection worker engages the family in a dialogue, using the process of completing the family and child strengths and needs assessment to help the family identify its strengths, challenges/needs and goals regarding change. The information gathered while completing the assessment is analyzed, and interpreted by the worker and reviewed with a supervisor.

The child protection worker formulates an assessment of the child and family by:

Link Between Assessment and Service Planning

Prior to the worker and family developing specific interventions, there must be a complete and thorough examination and understanding of the family functioning that includes the family’s strengths and needs. The assessments which are completed will support the development of a service plan that can target the areas of need. Through reassessments, the family strengths and needs assessment tool permits workers to assess changes in family functioning and the impact of service provision.

The worker analyzes the information gathered through the assessment process, and shares this analysis with the family prior to or at the time of the service planning process. The worker encourages a full discussion of the analysis.

The service plan is the link between assessment and intervention. It is an action plan that guides the family, child protection worker, other service providers and all casework activities toward well-defined goals and outcomes against which progress can be measured over time.

The Service Planning Process

The result of the service planning process is a service plan document that is a record of clear and measurable goals, objectives and activities that are assigned to the participants, with timeframes for completion.

When explaining the concept of service planning, the worker:

The process of completing the service plan includes an honest, open and clear discussion between the child protection worker and the family that results in the identification of specific goals, activities and outcomes for the family to achieve. The service plan process provides a vehicle for sharing issues and looking for solutions. Together, the worker and the family identify intervention strategies and services that would assist in the reduction and/or elimination of risk, and would increase the safety and well-being of the child. The service plan also provides a way to measure the family’s progress.

The child protection worker develops a service plan by:

Although achieving the agreement of the family to the service plan significantly improves the chances of its successful implementation, it should be noted that the child protection worker will not endorse any plans that he/she does not feel would adequately address child safety simply for the sake of achieving agreement with the family.

Family-Centred Conferencing

The child-focused and family-centred approach to service delivery is both a philosophy and a practice that supports active and meaningful participation of families and their support system in case planning and when service decisions are being made. Family-centred conferencing is rooted in the premise that family input in the design and provision of service is important and is valued. The philosophy recognizes that families are “experts” in knowing what interventions will be most supportive to them. It also believes that individuals within a family have strengths upon which they can draw as they work toward positive change that will influence and improve child safety as well as the family’s overall well-being.

In keeping with the values of family-centred practice, various forms of conferencing including Aboriginal healing traditions and talking circles are encouraged as techniques to ensure that the child protection worker and the family together actively participate in the development of the service plan. Such conferencing may also be used more generally at points throughout the duration of service. There is a wide range of family involvement models available to use when developing a service plan with the family. Within that range of options, it is important to select and implement the most appropriate conferencing choice. Case conferencing enables the extended family, community and professionals to come together directly with the child and family to openly discuss concerns, identify strengths, and seek realistic solutions. These discussions result in a service plan that contains specific and deliberate expectations allowing progress to be measured.

Family-centred conferences should be used for situations requiring significant decisions in the life of a case, such as:

The level of complexity of a case will determine what type of family-centred conference will be most helpful based on the worker’s clinical analysis. It is best practice to use a neutral facilitator in cases involving:

Implementing, Managing and Reviewing the Service Plan

Implementing and managing the service plan involves continuous, purposeful and focused discussion with the family members. The family’s ability and willingness to follow the action plan and meet the goals laid out in the service plan may vary from time to time. It is important for the child protection worker and family to have honest and open dialogue when this occurs. It may be that the service plan requires adjustment to better fit the relevance to, and/or needs of, the child and family circumstance at a particular time.

The child protection worker provides service and supports to the family and assists them to access the services that were identified as being required in the service plan. The worker needs to have a good knowledge of the family’s community and services or resources that are available.

There may be a need for the CAS to conduct home visits more frequently than the minimum standard of once per month. Frequency of visits should be reviewed in supervision and decisions made based on the unique circumstances of the case. For example, more frequent visits should take place:

The child protection worker formally reviews the service plan with the family every six (6) months to assess the family’s progress. Together the worker and the family will:

The child protection worker keeps the family and all other participants in the service plan informed of any changes to the service plan. Doing so will ensure that all the participants in the service plan clearly understand the common goals and objectives of the plan, and what is expected of each participant.

When a Subsequent Investigation on an Ongoing Case is not Required

New information about a known incident or condition that may provide additional information about a child and family’s strengths and needs does not require a child protection investigation. It is discussed with the family at the next possible opportunity as part of the ongoing assessment process, and integrated in the reassessment at the time of the next formal review.

Option to Complete a New Safety Assessment when Changing Circumstances

A safety assessment may be implemented at any point during ongoing service provision in situations where changing circumstances known to induce stress have been identified (e.g. loss of income, moves and illness of caregiver or child, a change in family composition such as a new caregiver or the loss of a protective caregiver from the home). If new safety threats are identified, a safety plan is implemented to mitigate those safety threats.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016) > Normes > 7- Gestion des cas bénéficiant de services continus

Norme no 7 Gestion des cas bénéficiant de services continus

Introduction

Vue d’ensemble

Quand, à la suite de l’enquête, on décide de transférer le dossier d’un enfant pour qu’il reçoive des services continus, ces services visent surtout à protéger l’enfant et à permettre à la famille de bénéficier de services de la SAE et d’autres mécanismes de soutien offerts dans la communauté afin de réduire le risque de préjudice futur pour l’enfant. La présente norme comprend un certain nombre d’exigences relatives à la prestation de services continus, en particulier à l’égard des éléments suivants :

Objectif

La norme a pour objectif de veiller à ce que les points forts et les besoins de la famille soient évalués dans un esprit de collaboration et de manière respectueuse, et qu’un plan de services soit élaboré pour orienter les interventions de façon à réduire le risque pour l’enfant (ou les enfants). Elle vise à ce que l’engagement pris auprès de la famille soit maintenu tout au long de la prestation des services continus afin de veiller à la sécurité et au bien-être de l’enfant et d’offrir un soutien à la famille. Les services de protection de l’enfance fournis à la famille sont déterminants et ils sont axés sur les objectifs et les résultats. Selon la norme, le caractère approprié des services et les progrès réalisés par la famille doivent être examinés et évalués de manière régulière.

La famille est encouragée à participer aux processus d’évaluation, de planification des services et de prise de décisions. La norme vise à permettre à la famille de comprendre les préoccupations à l’égard de la protection de l’enfant, les résultats des évaluations, les mesures que le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et tous les autres intervenants qui participent à la planification des services prendront pour résoudre les risques associés à la protection de l’enfant, et la faoon dont les progrès de la famille seront mesurés. L’accent est également mis sur la nécessité de procurer à l’enfant un placement sécuritaire, stable, fiable et permanent.

Norme
Le premier mois de la prestation des services continus

Au cours du premier mois, les services de protection continus de l’enfant sont axés sur :

Suivi du plan de sécurité

S’il remarque des changements à l’une des menaces pour la sécurité constatées dans l’évaluation de la sécurité qui a été effectuée durant l’enquête ou aux chances de succès des interventions visant à assurer la sécurité de l’enfant, le préposé aux services de protection continus mettra sur pied, avec la famille, un plan de sécurité parallèle. Tout nouveau plan de sécurité qui est élaboré doit être approuvé par un superviseur avant sa mise en œuvre et versé au dossier le jour ouvrable suivant.

évaluation des points forts et des besoins de la famille et de l’enfant

Pour chaque enfant qui reçoit des services de protection continus, on procède à une évaluation des points forts et des besoins de la famille et de l’enfant avant l’élaboration du plan de services. L’évaluation permet d’élaborer un plan de services qui tient compte des points forts de la famille et qui cible les besoins constatés.

Les résultats de l’évaluation des points forts et des besoins de la famille et de l’enfant font l’objet d’une discussion avec la famille durant le processus de planification des services.

élaboration d’un plan de services

Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance responsable de la mise en œuvre et de la gestion du plan de services élabore le plan de services avec la famille dans le cadre d’une consultation familiale. Le plan de services initial est achevé dans les trente (30) jours suivant la fin de l’enquête ou dans les trente (30) jours suivant la date de transfert du dossier à la suite de l’enquête initiale.

Il est prévu que la grande majorité de ces consultations soient facilitées par le préposé de la famille, qui invite l’enfant, la famille et leur cercle de soutien à participer régulièrement à la planification et à l’examen des services. Les SAE doivent aussi avoir un modèle de consultation axé sur la famille à des fins de planification, ainsi que des politiques et des directives relatives à leur utilisation. Il est préférable de se servir des modèles ou des méthodes de consultation/guérison traditionnels (p. ex., des cercles de dialogue) dans le cas des enfants autochtones et de leurs familles.

Les participants au processus de planification des services sont, notamment, les suivants :

Un plan de services doit au moins contenir :

Gestion des cas bénéficiant de services continus (à partir de la fin du premier mois)

Après l’élaboration du plan de services initial avec la famille, le plan est mis en œuvre et fait l’objet d’une gestion. Le préposé doit alors :

La norme prescrit des visites auprès des familles à leur domicile au moins une fois par mois. Toutefois, des visites plus fréquentes devraient avoir lieu dans certaines circonstances. Pour décider si des visites plus fréquentes sont nécessaires, le préposé tient compte des éléments suivants :

La fréquence des visites fait également l’objet d’un examen par le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et son superviseur durant le processus de supervision.

L’enfant qui est la victime présumée est interrogé en privé, soit à son domicile, soit dans un autre endroit. Les enfants qui parlent très peu sont observés directement dans leur milieu familial, et en particulier lorsqu’ils interagissent avec leur père ou leur mère/responsable principal.

Il peut se révéler nécessaire de faire des visites inopinées :

Examens, consultations et approbations du superviseur

Chaque dossier actif de protection de l’enfance est examiné dans le cadre d’une séance de supervision au moins toutes les six (6) semaines. Les cas qui comportent un plus haut niveau de risque ou de complexité sont examinés plus souvent.

Processus d’examen et d’évaluation du cas

Un processus d’examen et d’évaluation du cas est effectué tous les six (6) mois suivant la préparation du plan de services initial. Il faut avoir terminé les évaluations suivantes avant d’effectuer l’examen officiel :

Les renseignements que la famille et les intervenants ont fournis au préposé sur les progrès réalisés par la famille tout au long du processus de gestion du cas sont examinés à l’occasion d’une consultation familiale à laquelle assistent tous les membres de la famille et les proches qui ont participé à l’élaboration du plan de services, y compris, dans la mesure du possible, d’autres fournisseurs de services. La non-disponibilité d’autres fournisseurs de services ne retarde pas l’examen du plan de services.

Un plan de services fait aussi l’objet d’un examen et d’une révision quand les outils de réunification sont prêts et que l’enfant est sur le point de retourner dans sa famille ou y est retourné.

Planification parallèle

Lors du premier examen du cas et à l’occasion de tous les autres examens effectués à la suite du placement d’un enfant hors du domicile, il est essentiel d’examiner les possibilités de réunir l’enfant à sa famille. Si les risques pour la sécurité de l’enfant et les besoins de la famille sont importants, si la famille n’a pratiquement pas fait de progrès dans l’atteinte de ses buts et objectifs et si le pronostic n’est pas prometteur, un autre plan permanent est élaboré avec la famille. Une évaluation de la réunification orientera ces décisions. Il est important d’y faire participer tous les membres intéressés de la famille élargie, les parents ou les autres personnes-ressources de la famille, y compris un représentant choisi par la bande. Le préposé devra procéder à une recherche rigoureuse et continue pour trouver des personnes susceptibles de s’engager à participer à un plan permanent pour l’enfant. Dans la mesure du possible, l’enfant devrait être placé dans une famille disposée à travailler à la réunification avec le parent/responsable principal de l’enfant, mais qui est également désireuse de devenir la famille permanente de l’enfant au besoin.

Documents nécessaires à l’examen ou à la fermeture d’un dossier

Au moment de l’examen ou de la fermeture d’un dossier, les documents suivants doivent figurer au dossier :

Nouveau signalement concernant un enfant recevant des services continus d’une SAE

à la réception de nouveaux signalements concernant un enfant qui reçoit des services de protection continus (lorsque ces signalements ne sont pas reliés à un incident connu ou à des circonstances pour lesquels la famille reçoit déjà des services), la norme no 1 s’applique à l’évaluation du signalement et à la décision concernant le signalement.

Quand une enquête sur la protection d’un enfant qui reooit des services continus de protection est menée, elle est planifiée et effectuée conformément à la norme no 2. Le préposé doit aussi :

* Le plan de services est mis à jour seulement si de nouveaux facteurs de risque sont apparus. Le plan de services est alors modifié pour tenir compte précisément de ces nouveaux facteurs de risque jusqu’à la prochaine révision prévue du plan.
Conseils pratiques
Intensité des services durant le premier mois de la prestation des services continus

En général, les contacts entre le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et la famille sont très fréquents pendant le premier mois de la prestation des services continus. C’est en effet au cours du premier mois que toutes les décisions sont prises concernant le cas et que toutes les activités (interventions) sont mises en œuvre. Il faut beaucoup d’engagement personnel de la part du préposé pour obtenir la participation des familles aux services de la SAE et de la communauté.

Processus d’évaluation et de planification des services

Le préposé recueille tous les renseignements qui peuvent l’aider à formuler une évaluation précise et complète des points forts de la famille et de l’enfant, de même que de tout problème ou facteur de risque qui peut nuire à la sécurité de l’enfant. Le préposé vise une approche holistique; il cherche à connaître et à comprendre l’enfant et la famille. Il y arrive en étudiant le caractère unique de la famille, y compris son ethnicité, sa culture, ses croyances religieuses, ses particularités régionales et ses liens avec la famille élargie et la communauté.

Les évaluations réalisées lorsqu’un enfant reooit des services continus comprendront des renseignements tirés des éléments suivants :

évaluation des points forts et des besoins de la famille et de l’enfant

L’évaluation des points forts et des besoins de la famille et de l’enfant vise à aider le préposé à déterminer qui est la personne responsable et quels sont les points forts et les ressources de l’enfant, de même qu’à préciser les besoins sous-jacents des membres de la famille qui sont impliqués dans les menaces pour la sécurité ou les risques de mauvais traitements à plus long terme.

Le processus d’évaluation est interactif et fait participer tous les membres de la famille, de la famille élargie (au besoin) et des fournisseurs de services communautaires qui ont aidé la famille dans le passé et qui continuent de travailler avec elle. Le préposé instaure un dialogue avec la famille en se servant de l’évaluation des points forts et des besoins de la famille et de l’enfant pour aider la famille à déceler ses points forts, ses problèmes/besoins et ses objectifs à l’égard d’un changement. Les renseignements recueillis pendant l’évaluation sont analysés et interprétés par le préposé, puis examinés par le superviseur.

Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance formule une évaluation de l’enfant et de la famille en :

Lien entre l’évaluation et la planification des services

Avant d’élaborer des interventions précises avec la famille, le préposé doit examiner en détail et comprendre en profondeur le fonctionnement de la famille, y compris ses points forts et ses besoins.

Les évaluations qui sont effectuées permettront l’élaboration d’un plan de services qui ciblera les besoins constatés. Grâce aux réévaluations, l’outil d’évaluation des points forts et des besoins de la famille permet au préposé d’analyser les changements survenus dans le fonctionnement de la famille et leurs répercussions sur la prestation des services.

Le préposé analyse les renseignements recueillis durant le processus d’évaluation et les communique à la famille avant le processus de planification de services ou en même temps. Le préposé invite la famille à discuter de l’analyse.

Le plan de services est le lien entre l’évaluation et l’intervention. C’est un plan d’action qui guide la famille, le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et les autres fournisseurs de services, et qui oriente toutes les activités de traitement du dossier vers des objectifs et des résultats bien définis dont les progrès se constatent au fil du temps.

Processus de planification des services

Résultant du processus de planification des services, le plan de services constitue un document aux objectifs clairs et mesurables, et il contient des buts à réaliser et des tâches que les participants doivent accomplir selon les délais voulus.

Lorsqu’il décrit le concept de la planification des services, le préposé :

Le processus de planification des services comprend une discussion honnête, ouverte et franche entre le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et la famille; cette discussion permet de préciser les objectifs, les activités et les résultats que la famille doit réaliser. Le processus permet d’échanger des points de vue sur les problèmes et de rechercher des solutions. Ensemble, le préposé et la famille déterminent des stratégies d’intervention et des services qui permettront de réduire et/ou d’éliminer les risques, et d’augmenter la sécurité et le bien-être de l’enfant. Le plan de services est également un moyen de mesurer les progrès accomplis par la famille.

Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance met un plan de services sur pied :

Si le fait d’amener la famille à s’entendre sur le plan des services améliore sensiblement les chances de succès, il est à noter que le préposé à la protection de l’enfance n’acceptera aucun plan qui, selon lui, ne permettrait pas d’assurer la sécurité de l’enfant simplement dans le but d’arriver à une entente avec la famille.

Consultation axée sur la famille

La prestation des services axés sur l’enfant et la famille tient à la fois de la philosophie et de la pratique. Cette approche encourage la participation active et sincère des familles et de leur réseau de soutien dans la planification des activités et la prise de décisions concernant les services. La consultation axée sur la famille est fondée sur le principe selon lequel l’apport familial à l’élaboration et à la prestation des services est important et apprécié. La philosophie reconnaît que les familles font figure d’© experts » pour connaître la nature des interventions les plus susceptibles d’être efficaces et que chacun des membres d’une famille peut, grâce à ses points forts, amener des changements positifs qui augmenteront le niveau de sécurité de l’enfant, de même que le bien-être général de toute la famille.

Conformément aux valeurs centrées sur la famille, on encourage l’utilisation de diverses formes de consultation, notamment les séances autochtones traditionnelles de guérison et les cercles de dialogue, pour veiller à ce que le préposé à la protection de l’enfance et la famille puissent participer ensemble à l’élaboration du plan de services. Ces consultations peuvent également être utiles à certaines étapes de la prestation des services. Il existe une vaste gamme de modèles de participation familiale que l’on peut utiliser pour mettre sur pied un plan de services avec la famille. Il est important de choisir et de mettre en œuvre le type de consultation le plus approprié. La consultation permet à la famille élargie, à la communauté et aux professionnels de se réunir avec l’enfant et sa famille pour discuter ouvertement des préoccupations, découvrir les points forts et tenter de trouver des solutions réalistes. Ces discussions mènent à un plan de services qui comporte des attentes précises et réfléchies permettant de mesurer les progrès.

Une consultation familiale est organisée dans les cas qui requièrent des décisions importantes :

Le niveau de complexité d’un dossier déterminera le type de consultation axée sur la famille qui se révélera la plus utile selon l’analyse clinique du préposé. Il est conseillé de recourir aux services d’un facilitateur neutre dans les cas qui comportent :

Mise en œuvre, gestion et examen du plan de services

La mise en œuvre et la gestion du plan de services suppose des discussions continues, réfléchies et focalisées avec les membres de la famille. La capacité et la bonne volonté de la famille à se conformer au plan d’action et à réaliser les objectifs décrits au plan de services peuvent parfois varier. Il est alors important que le préposé et la famille entretiennent un dialogue honnête et ouvert. Le plan de services nécessitera peut-être un ajustement pour répondre de manière plus pertinente aux besoins dictés par la situation de l’enfant et de la famille à un moment précis.

Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance fournit des services et un soutien à la famille et l’aide à accéder aux services considérés comme étant nécessaires dans le plan de services. Il doit bien connaître la communauté de la famille et les services ou les ressources auxquels elle a accès.

Il se peut que la SAE voie la nécessité d’effectuer des visites au domicile d’une famille plus d’une fois par mois, qui est la norme minimale prescrite. La fréquence des visites doit être déterminée avec le superviseur et les décisions devraient être prises en fonction des situations particulières. Par exemple, des visites plus fréquentes doivent être effectuées dans les circonstances suivantes :

Avec la famille, le préposé à la protection de l’enfance examine officiellement le plan de services tous les six (6) mois afin d’évaluer ses progrès. Ensemble, le préposé et la famille :

Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance informe la famille et tous les autres participants au plan de services de tout changement au plan. Ainsi, tous les participants comprendront clairement les buts et objectifs communs du plan de services et ce qui est attendu de chaque participant.

Inopportunité d’ouvrir une enquête subséquente sur un dossier en cours

Il n’est pas nécessaire de procéder à une enquête sur la protection de l’enfance lorsqu’on découvre de nouveaux renseignements sur les points forts et les besoins d’un enfant et de sa famille en ce qui concerne un incident ou une situation déjà connus. On en discute plutôt avec la famille dès que possible dans le cadre du processus d’évaluation continue, et les renseignements sont intégrés à la réévaluation au moment de l’examen officiel suivant.

Possibilité d’effectuer une nouvelle évaluation de la sécurité quand les circonstances changent

On se sert du processus d’évaluation de la sécurité si l’on constate, lors de la prestation de services continus, des changements susceptibles de créer du stress (p. ex., perte de revenus, déménagement ou maladie du responsable de l’enfant ou de l’enfant lui-même; changement à la structure familiale, par exemple, l’arrivée d’un nouveau responsable de l’enfant ou le départ du domicile de la personne qui protégeait l’enfant). Si de nouvelles menaces pour la sécurité sont détectées, un plan de sécurité est mis en œuvre afin de réduire ces menaces.