You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) > Standards for All Phases of Child Protection Service Delivery

Standards for All Phases of Child Protection Service Delivery

Overview

This standard sets out requirements which are relevant to all the phases of child protection services described in this document. In other words, they are not specific to any one particular phase of service described in standards 1-8 (e.g. from the receipt of the referral to the closure of a case). In particular, this standard includes requirements with respect to the following:

  1. Consultation with First Nations
  2. French Language Services
  3. Cultural, Religious and Regional Differences
  4. Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  5. Permanency Planning
  6. Supervisory consultation: Departures from the standards, placement decisions and ADR
  7. Contemporaneous case notes

Intent

The intent of this standard is to highlight key requirements CASs are expected to adhere to throughout the delivery of child protection services. Some of these requirements relate to the objectives of the Child Welfare Transformation Agenda (MCYS, 2005) including alternatives to court, permanency planning, and accountability. Others relate to legislated requirements regarding the provision of services to Indian and Native children and Francophone families in Ontario.

*For the purposes of this document, the term First Nations refers to an Indian Band or Native community under the CFSA; “Indian” and “Native” are terms used in the CFSA. Where the term “Aboriginal” is used in this document it refers to:

[A] collective name for the original peoples of North America and their descendants. The Canadian constitution recognizes three groups of Aboriginal people: Indians (commonly referred to as First Nations), Métis and Inuit. These are three distinct peoples with unique histories, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs (Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, 2015).

Standards for All Phases of Child Protection Service Delivery

Standard
A. Consultation with First Nations

In accordance with the Child and Family Services Act (CFSA), there are a number of legislated requirements with respect to consulting with or providing notification to a child’s Band or a representative chosen by the child’s Band or Native community in the case of a child who is an Indian or Native person. In particular, the following are matters affecting Indian or Native children for which a CAS is required to consult with or notify the Band or Native community3 :

3 Note that this is not an exhaustive list of requirements to consult with or notify First Nations Bands contained in the CFSA but rather represents those that a particular case may involve during the phases of service described in standards 1-8. Section 213 of the CFSA includes additional requirements for CASs to regularly consult with Bands or Native communities with respect to certain matters affecting Indian and Native children. Please see the CFSA and regulations for additional information.
*If a CAS exercises these two noted powers, the CAS is required to provide notice to a representative chosen by the child’s Band or Native community by the end of the next day after exercising the power to request that a case consultation occur as soon as practicable but no later than:
Practice Notes
Consultation with First Nations

Consultation with First Nations in the case of Indian and Native children during various points of child protection service is consistent with the following additional purpose of the CFSA:

To recognize that Indian and Native people should be entitled to provide, wherever possible, their own child and family services, and that all services to Indian and Native children and families should be provided in a manner that recognizes their culture, heritage and traditions and the concept of the extended family (s.1(2)(5)).

Involving the Band or a representative chosen by the Band at key case decision making points identified in the CFSA reinforces the importance of First Nation involvement in child welfare matters affecting Indian and Native children.

Wherever possible, it is best practice to make direct contact with the Band or a representative chosen by the Band when consultation is required (e.g. via telephone or in person). First Nations people in Ontario may live on or off-Reserve (e.g. they may reside in urban centres). The majority of the First Nations population in Ontario lives off-Reserve (Government of Canada, 2011); however this does not negate the importance of engaging the Band in service planning. The worker may also need to seek out culturally appropriate services for families from Aboriginal agencies operating in neighbouring jurisdictions if none are available in the home community.

When a child who is eligible for membership with a First Nation, or is a member of a First Nation, is believed to be in need of protection and in need of a placement with an alternative caregiver, Formal Customary Care is a placement option which should be considered. It is an alternative to court-related processes and court-ordered care for Indian and Native children that enables them to remain connected to their culture and communities. For further information please see:

Formal Customary Care: A Practice Guide to Principles, Processes and Best Practices, Ministry of Children and Youth Services (2013).

Developing and adhering to local protocols between CASs and local First Nations can encourage collaboration and positive working relationships with First Nations communities, and clarify processes and procedures with respect to consultation and notification in matters affecting Indian and Native children. Protocols are also helpful in providing a clear understanding of roles and responsibilities of both CASs and First Nations staff in supporting First Nations children and their families. Additional best practices can involve encouraging the family to work with the Band, engaging the Band early on in a CAS’s involvement with the family, and linking the family with culturally appropriate services. The Band and community representatives are well positioned in regards to planning for the care of First Nations children and in identifying culturally appropriate supports for the child and his/her family.

Culturally Respectful Services

It is important for child protection workers to engage with and support Aboriginal communities (including First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities) in a culturally respectful manner. This includes both having appropriate knowledge of the unique cultures of which families are a part, the history of Aboriginal peoples in Ontario and respect for diversity within Aboriginal populations. It also involves having an understanding of one’s own world view and potential biases, and continually reflecting on how this can impact interactions with clients.

Standard
B. French Language Services

In accordance with the CFSA, there is a legislated requirement for CASs to, where appropriate, make services to children and their families available in the French language.

In addition, the French Language Services Act (FLSA) requires that some designated CASs provide services in French to Francophone clients.

Practice Notes

It is important for CASs to offer French services to Francophone clients as per the legislated requirements and also because it is good practice for meeting the needs of vulnerable Francophone children and families. Some important factors to consider are that:

It is a best practice for CASs to actively offer services in both official languages from the moment they begin interacting with the public/clients, and throughout the provision of child protection services.

Standard
C. Cultural, Religious and Regional Differences

In accordance with the CFSA, an additional purpose of the Act, so long as it is consistent with the best interests, protection and well-being of children, is:

To recognize that, wherever possible, services to children and their families should be provided in a manner that respects cultural, religious and regional differences.

Practice Notes
Diversity

Ontario has significant diversity with respect to cultures and religions and also contains vast regional differences. It is important for child welfare professionals to have an overall awareness of the diverse backgrounds of the families served in each community and in particular, to engage families in dialogue about their backgrounds. Families’ lived experiences can have an impact on their world views and in particular how they raise their children.

Working and developing partnerships with community agencies serving specific cultural or religious groups can also enhance understanding and awareness of the backgrounds of the client populations CASs serve in their communities. It can also assist CASs in providing culturally appropriate supports to families.

Anti-Oppression Approach

An Anti-oppression (AO) approach includes an analysis of power imbalances based on race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation and identity, ability, age, class, geographic location and other social factors. These factors can affect one’s social location, and in particular their access to power, privilege and resources. Those from marginalized social locations may not have the same access to power and resources as more dominant groups, and they can often be overrepresented in child welfare and other social service systems (OACAS, August 2010).

In order to address power imbalances, child welfare professionals should continuously reflect on their own social location so as to not inadvertently act in ways that recreate patterns of systemic oppression during their interactions with families. Some key strategies for working from an AO approach are to take into consideration the impact of historical and systemic oppression on marginalized groups, authentically listen to families’ identified needs, and to not take the position of “expert” when working with families (ibid.). Furthermore, “AO work also involves those who have privilege becoming allies of those who do not, by sharing power and creating authentic collaboration” (ibid, p.9).

Standard
D. Alternative Dispute Resolution

If at any time during the provision of child protection services, it appears that a child is or may be in need of protection under the CFSA a CAS shall consider whether a prescribed method of Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) could assist in resolving any issue related to the child or a plan for the child’s care.

Practice Notes

ADR is a strategy to streamline court processes and encourage alternatives to court. It focuses on a more strengths-based, inclusive and collaborative approach to resolving child protection disputes, and encourages the involvement and support of the family, and may include extended family, and the community, in planning and decision-making for children. Although a CAS is required to consider the use of ADR (CFSA s.20.2), the use of ADR is voluntary and must be undertaken with consent of all participants (please see MCYS policy directive on ADR for further information).

Standard
E. Permanency Planning

Throughout the provision of child protection services, the CAS actively attempts to involve all interested relatives or members of the child’s extended family or community, including a representative chosen by the Band (where the child is Indian or Native) in planning for the child where appropriate. The CAS continually searches for persons who may commit to participation in planning for, and supporting the child and makes attempts to engage them in the service delivery process as appropriate.

Practice Notes
Permanency Planning

This approach to permanency planning is consistent with the following additional purposes of the CFSA to recognize that children’s services should be provided in a manner that:

Some of the benefits of engaging in early permanency planning are:

Standard
F. Supervisory Consultation: Departures, Placement Decisions and ADR

Supervisors must approve any departures from the Child Protection Standards for which worker discretion is not provided for in standards 1-8.

If at any time during the provision of child protection services, the placement of a child in out-of-home care with extended family or community members (in or out of society care) or in a CAS placement is contemplated, the worker consults with a supervisor in regards to the situation. Similarly, a worker should consult with a supervisor when considering the use of ADR in a particular case.

Practice Notes

Supervisors play an important role in ensuring that any departures from the standards are linked to increased safety for the child and/or to better meeting the unique needs of the child and family. The primary focus of child protection service is always the safety and well-being of the child. It should be recognized however, that standards cannot anticipate all of the unique and often complex needs of every child in Ontario. The standards should always be applied in a manner that protects each child receiving service from a CAS, even if a departure from a standard is required to achieve that outcome. Departures from the standards for reasons beyond the control of the worker (e.g. the child and family are unavailable for interviews) are also acceptable if reviewed and approved by a supervisor.

The involvement of supervisors in key decisions affecting the safety and permanency of children contributes to enhancing the objectivity of child protection casework decisions, and the quality of the services delivered to children and their families.

Standard
G. Contemporaneous Case Notes

The child protection worker documents detailed information about the child and his or her family that is relevant to the delivery of child protection services and which is obtained through any contact, either internal or external to the CAS in contemporaneous case notes. At minimum, contemporaneous case notes must contain:

Furthermore, all significant case-specific content discussed with a supervisor is documented in contemporaneous case notes (by the worker or the supervisor).

Practice Notes

It is intended that detailed information about contacts with children, their families and other collaterals that take place during the provision of child protection services is contained in contemporaneous case notes in the case record. Case notes are to be completed in a timely manner (e.g. within 24 hours) after the contact takes place to ensure their accuracy given the impact that the length of time that has elapsed may have on the child welfare professional’s independent recollection of significant events.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Normes de la protection de l'enfance en Ontario (2016) > Normes

Normes associées à toutes les étapes de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance

Introduction

Vue d’ensemble

Les présentes normes établissent les exigences pertinentes pour toutes les étapes de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance qui sont décrits dans ce document. Autrement dit, elles ne visent aucune étape particulière des services décrits aux normes 1 à 8 (c-à-d. de la réception du signalement jusqu’à la fermeture du dossier), et établissent plutôt les exigences liées aux points suivants :

  1. Consultation avec les Premières Nations
  2. Services en français
  3. Différences culturelles, religieuses et régionales
  4. Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED)
  5. Planification de la permanence
  6. Consultation de supervision : dérogations aux normes, décisions liées au placement et RED
  7. Notes contemporaines versées au dossier

Objectif

Les présentes normes visent à souligner les exigences clés auxquelles les SAE doivent répondre pendant la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance. Certaines de ces exigences se rapportent aux objectifs de la Stratégie de renouvellement des services de bien-être de l’enfance (MSEJ, 2005), y compris les solutions de rechange au règlement devant le tribunal, la planification de la permanence et la responsabilisation, alors que d’autres concernent des exigences législatives liées à la prestation de services aux enfants indiens et autochtones, ainsi qu’aux familles francophones en Ontario.

*Aux fins du présent document, l’expression « Premières Nations » désigne dans la LSEF une bande indienne ou une communauté autochtone. Les termes « indien » et « autochtone » sont employés dans la LSEF. Dans le présent document, le terme « autochtone » désigne :

[L]es premiers peuples d'Amérique du Nord et leurs descendants. La Constitution canadienne reconnaît trois groupes de peuples autochtones : les Indiens (souvent appelés « Premières Nations »), les Métis et les Inuits. Ces trois groupes distincts ont leur propre histoire ainsi que leurs propres langues, pratiques culturelles et croyances (Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada, 2015).

Norme
A. Consultation avec les Premières Nations

Conformément à la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille (LSEF), dans le cas d’un enfant indien ou autochtone, un certain nombre d’exigences législatives sont associées à la consultation ou à la notification de la bande de l’enfant ou d’un représentant choisi par la bande ou la communauté autochtone de l’enfant. En particulier, les points suivants sont des questions qui touchent les enfants indiens ou autochtones et pour lesquelles la SAE est tenue de consulter ou d’aviser la bande ou la communauté autochtone 3:

3 Il est à noter que cette liste n’est pas une liste exhaustive des exigences qui se trouvent dans la LSEF concernant la consultation ou la notification des bandes des Premières Nations, mais plutôt une liste des exigences qui peuvent être liées à un cas particulier pendant les étapes de service décrites aux normes 1 à 8. L’article 213 de la LSEF stipule des exigences additionnelles selon lesquelles les SAE doivent régulièrement consulter les bandes ou les communautés autochtones en ce qui concerne certaines questions touchant les enfants indiens et autochtones. Pour en savoir davantage, se reporter à la LSEF et à son Règlement.
*Si une SAE exerce ces deux pouvoirs, elle est tenue de notifier le représentant choisi par la bande ou la communauté autochtone de l’enfant avant la fin du jour suivant l’exercice du pouvoir pour demander qu’ait lieu une consultation sur le cas dès que possible mais au plus tard :

Conseils pratiques

Consultation avec les Premières Nations

La consultation avec les Premières Nations dans le cas des enfants indiens et autochtones à divers moments de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance est conforme aux autres objets suivants de la LSEF :

Reconnaître que les populations indiennes et autochtones devraient avoir le droit de fournir, dans la mesure du possible, leurs propres services à l’enfance et à la famille, et que tous les services fournis aux familles et aux enfants indiens et autochtones devraient l’être d’une façon qui tient compte de leur culture, de leur patrimoine, de leurs traditions et du concept de la famille élargie (disposition 5 du par. 1 (2)).

L’inclusion de la bande ou du représentant choisi par la bande aux moments clés de la prise de décision qui sont indiqués dans la LSEF renforce l’importance du rôle des Premières Nations dans les questions qui touchent le bien-être des enfants indiens et autochtones.

Dans la mesure du possible, la pratique exemplaire consiste à entrer directement en rapport avec la bande ou le représentant choisi par la bande (p. ex., par téléphone ou en personne) lorsqu’une consultation est requise. En Ontario, les membres des Premières Nations vivent dans une réserve ou hors réserve (p. ex., dans des centres urbains). La majorité vit hors réserve (gouvernement du Canada, 2011); cependant, cette situation ne diminue en rien l’importance de faire participer la bande à la planification des services. Le préposé devra peut-être aussi s’adresser à des agences autochtones des territoires de compétence voisins afin d’obtenir des services appropriés sur le plan culturel pour les familles si de tels services n’existe pas dans la communauté.

Lorsqu’un enfant est admissible à devenir membre ou est membre d’une Première Nation, et qu’il est considéré comme ayant besoin d’être protégé et d’être placé auprès d’une personne responsable, les soins conformes aux traditions sont une option qui devrait être envisagée. Cette solution de rechange qui évite les processus judiciaires et les ordonnances de la cour permet aux enfants indiens et autochtones de demeurer en contact avec leur culture et leur communauté. Pour en savoir davantage, lire : Soins structurés conformes aux traditions : Guide des principes, méthodes et meilleures pratiques, ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse (2013).

L’élaboration et l’observation de protocoles locaux entre les SAE et les Premières Nations peut favoriser la collaboration et des relations de travail positives avec les communautés des Premières Nations, en plus de clarifier les méthodes et les procédés relatifs à la consultation et à la notification dans les questions qui touchent à des enfants indiens et autochtones. Les protocoles facilitent également la compréhension des rôles et responsabilités du personnel des SAE et des Premières Nations afin de soutenir les enfants des Premières Nations et leurs familles. Entre autres pratiques exemplaires, on peut aussi encourager la famille à travailler avec la bande, faire appel à la bande dès le début de l’intervention de la SAE auprès de la famille, et diriger la famille vers des services adaptés sur le plan culturel. La bande et les représentants communautaires sont bien placés pour aider à planifier les soins aux enfants des Premières Nations et à trouver des soutiens culturellement adaptés pour l’enfant et sa famille.

Services respectueux de la culture

Il importe que les préposés à la protection de l’enfance se comportent de manière respectueuse de la culture dans tous leurs rapports avec les communautés autochtones (Premières Nations, Métis et Inuits). Dans ce but, il faut notamment posséder des connaissances pertinentes sur les différentes cultures et sur l’histoire des peuples autochtones en Ontario, et respecter la diversité au sein des populations autochtones. Le préposé doit aussi comprendre ses propres points de vue du monde et ses propres préjugés éventuels, et s’interroger continuellement sur la façon dont ils peuvent modifier ses relations avec les clients.

B. Services en français

Conformément à la LSEF, les SAE sont tenues, le cas échéant, d’offrir des services en français aux enfants et aux familles.

En outre, selon la Loi sur les services en français (LSF), certaines SAE désignées sont tenues de fournir des services en français aux clients francophones.

Conseils pratiques

Il importe que les SAE offrent des services en français aux francophones parce que la loi l’exige, mais aussi parce que cette mesure constitue une bonne pratique pour répondre aux besoins des enfants et des familles francophones vulnérables. Quelques facteurs importants à prendre en considération :

La pratique exemplaire consiste pour la SAE à offrir des services dans les deux langues officielles dès le début des rapports avec les membres du public/clients, et tout au long de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance.

C. Différences culturelles, religieuses et régionales

Conformément à la LSEF, dans la mesure où il est compatible avec l’intérêt véritable de l’enfant, sa protection et son bien-être, l’un des objets additionnels de la loi est de :

Reconnaître que, dans la mesure du possible, les services fournis à l’enfance et à la famille devraient l’être d’une faoon qui respecte les différences culturelles, religieuses et régionales.

Conseils pratiques

Diversité

L’Ontario offre une grande diversité de cultures et de religions, et présente également d’importantes différences régionales. Il importe que les professionnels du bien-être de l’enfance possèdent des connaissances générales sur les divers milieux des familles de chaque communauté et en particulier, qu’ils dialoguent avec les familles au sujet de leurs origines. Le vécu des familles peut influer sur leurs points de vue du monde et surtout, sur leur façon d’élever leurs enfants.

La collaboration et l’établissement de partenariats avec des organismes communautaires qui travaillent auprès de groupes culturels ou religieux particuliers peuvent aussi permettre de mieux comprendre le milieu dont proviennent les clients des SAE dans les communautés. De plus, cette coopération peut aider les SAE à fournir une aide appropriée sur le plan culturel.

Approche de lutte contre l’oppression

Une approche de lutte contre l’oppression comprend une analyse du déséquilibre des pouvoirs selon la race, l’ethnicité, le sexe, l’orientation et l’identité sexuelles, la capacité, l’âge, la classe, la situation géographique et d’autres facteurs sociaux. Ces facteurs peuvent influer sur la situation sociale de la personne, et en particulier sur l’accès au pouvoir, aux privilèges et aux ressources. Les personnes issues de milieux sociaux marginalisés n’ont peut-être pas le même accès au pouvoir et aux ressources que les groupes plus dominants, et on constate souvent que leur groupe est surreprésenté dans les réseaux du bien-être de l’enfance et d’autres services sociaux (AOSAE, août 2010).

Afin de corriger ce déséquilibre des pouvoirs, les professionnels du bien-être de l’enfance devraient continuellement réfléchir à leur propre situation sociale afin d’éviter de reproduire par mégarde tout comportement pouvant perpétuer des modèles d’oppression générale au cours des interactions avec les familles. Parmi les stratégies clés qui permettent de travailler conformément à une approche anti-oppression, il est conseillé de prendre en considération les conséquences de l’oppression historique et générale qui est exercée à l’endroit des groupes marginalisés, d’être à l’écoute des besoins exprimés par les familles et de ne pas se poser en « expert » lorsqu’on travaille auprès des familles (ibid.). De plus, « dans une approche anti-oppression, les personnes qui bénéficient de privilèges deviennent les alliées de celles qui n’en bénéficient pas en partageant le pouvoir et en créant une collaboration authentique » (ibid., p. 9).

D. Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED)

Si, à un moment quelconque de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance, il devient apparent que l’enfant a besoin ou pourrait avoir besoin de protection en vertu de la LSEF, la SAE doit déterminer si une méthode prescrite de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) pourrait aider à résoudre tout problème relatif à l’enfant ou à concevoir un plan de soins pour l’enfant.

Conseils pratiques

Le RED est une stratégie permettant de rationaliser les processus judiciaires et de favoriser des solutions de rechange. Axé sur une méthode inclusive et fondée sur la collaboration et les points forts pour résoudre les différends en matière de protection de l’enfance, il encourage la famille, et peut-être même la famille élargie et la communauté, à participer à la planification et à la prise de décision. Bien que la SAE soit tenue d’envisager le RED (art. 20.2 de la LSEF), cette méthode est volontaire et doit être entreprise avec le consentement de tous les participants (pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter la directive du MSEJ sur le RED).

E. Planification de la permanence

Pendant la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance, la SAE déploie des efforts pour faire participer à la planification tous les parents ou tous les membres intéressés de la famille élargie ou de la communauté de l’enfant, y compris un représentant choisi par la bande (si l’enfant est Indien ou Autochtone), le cas échéant. La SAE demeure continuellement à la recherche de personnes qui sont disposées à s’engager dans la planification et le soutien relatifs à l’enfant, et s’efforce de les faire participer au processus de prestation des services, selon les besoins.

Conseils pratiques

Planification de la permanence

Cette approche de planification de la permanence est conforme aux objets additionnels suivants de la LSEF, qui sont de reconnaître que les services à l’enfance devraient être fournis d’une façon qui, à la fois :

La planification précoce de la permanence présente notamment les avantages suivants :

F. Consultation de supervision : dérogations aux normes, décisions liées au placement et RED

Le superviseur doit autoriser toute dérogation aux Normes de la protection de l’enfance pour toute question qui n’est pas laissée à la discrétion du préposé dans les normes 1 à 8.

Si, à un moment quelconque de la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance, on envisage le placement d’un enfant en soins hors domicile auprès de membres de la famille élargie ou de la communauté (avec ou sans soins de la société) ou auprès d’une société d’aide à l’enfance, le préposé doit consulter le superviseur concernant la situation. De même, le préposé devrait consulter le superviseur s’il envisage l’emploi du RED dans un dossier particulier.

Conseils pratiques

Le superviseur joue un rôle important pour faire en sorte que toute dérogation aux normes permette d’accroître la sécurité de l’enfant et/ou de mieux répondre aux besoins particuliers de l’enfant et de la famille. Le but principal des services de protection de l’enfance reste toujours la sécurité et le bien-être de l’enfant. Il faut toutefois reconnaître que les normes ne peuvent pas prévoir tous les besoins uniques et souvent complexes de chaque enfant en Ontario. Les normes devraient toujours être appliquées de manière à protéger chaque enfant qui reçoit des services d’une SAE, même s’il se révèle nécessaire de déroger à une norme pour arriver au résultat désiré. Les dérogations aux normes qui surviennent pour des raisons indépendantes de la volonté du préposé (p. ex., l’enfant et la famille ne sont pas disponibles pour des entrevues) sont également acceptables si elles sont examinées et approuvées par un superviseur.

La participation du superviseur aux décisions clés touchant la sécurité et la permanence des enfants contribue à rehausser l’objectivité des décisions liées aux dossiers de protection de l’enfance, ainsi que la qualité des services fournis aux enfants et à leurs familles.

G. Notes contemporaines versées au dossier

Le préposé à la protection de l’enfance réunit, au sujet de l’enfant et de sa famille, des renseignements détaillés qui sont pertinents pour la prestation des services de protection en faisant appel à tout contact à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur de la SAE. Ces renseignements constituent les notes contemporaines versées au dossier et doivent comprendre au moins les éléments suivants :

En outre, tout le contenu important qui est propre au dossier et dont il est discuté avec un superviseur est consigné dans les notes contemporaines versées au dossier (par le préposé ou par le superviseur).

Conseils pratiques

Il est prévu que les renseignements détaillés sur les contacts avec les enfants, leurs familles et d’autres intervenants qui ont lieu pendant la prestation des services de protection de l’enfance doivent figurer dans les notes contemporaines versées au dossier. Les notes doivent être consignées rapidement (moins de 24 heures) après que le contact a lieu pour garantir leur exactitude, étant donné que le temps écoulé pourrait modifier les souvenirs que le professionnel du bien-être de l’enfance conservera de tout événement important.