You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Safe and Caring Places for Children and Youth: Ontario’s Blueprint for Building a New System of Licensed Residential Services, July 2017 > Appendix

Appendix A: Developing the Blueprint

Residential Services Review Panel

In May 2016, the Residential Services Review Panel provided advice to the ministry in its report, Because Young People Matter. The panel’s mandate was to build on the foundational work of previous reviews and reports, and to provide advice on improvements to residential services for children and youth. The review provided a crucial perspective on the needs of children and youth in residential settings. The panel made recommendations in 10 key areas focusing on improving the everyday experiences of children and youth, including quality of care, which were critical in shaping this Blueprint.

The provision of residential services for some of the most vulnerable children and youth in our society is fundamentally important. Collectively and collaboratively, we must ensure that the experience of young people in out-of-home care and their long-term outcomes are such that the opportunities for a rich and meaningful life are just as real for young people facing enormous adversities as they are for those living in the relative comfort and safety of their family homes.”

(Residential Services Review Panel, Because Young People Matter, 2016, p.6)

The Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth

The Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth undertook extensive engagement with youth with lived experience. The voices of these young people were captured in the report, Searching for Home: Re-imagining Residential Care. The report and its recommendations were also influential in developing this Blueprint.

The Child and Youth Residential Services Reference Group

The reference group, comprised of representatives from the mental health, child welfare, special needs, and youth justice sectors, including the voice of an Indigenous partner, helped to shape and frame the Blueprint. There was a strong commitment of the reference group to ensure the voices and needs of children and youth are at the core of our reforms. Our continued partnership and collaboration will be essential as we implement this Blueprint.

The Residential Services Youth Panel

Together with the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth, we established a panel of young people with lived experience of residential services to share their stories and help define quality of care.

These remarkable young people helped to shape our understanding of what high-quality care means to children and youth in residential services. Their voices, experiences and expectations serve as a cornerstone of this Blueprint. Every dimension of this Blueprint for reform is anchored by the work of the youth panel. The youth panel’s input into this Blueprint can be found in its entirety in its report Envisioning Better Care for Youth: Our Input to the Blueprint.

We will continue to engage with these young people as we move forward.

Our thanks and best wishes for a bright and successful future to:

The youth panel members have been identified here in their chosen manner.

Youth: In Their Own Words

"Nothing about us, without us."

BACK TO TOP


Appendix B: Guiding Principles

Anti-oppression and inclusion

Cultural relevance, diversity and accessibility

Consistent, responsive and high quality care

Strong oversight and a commitment to improvement

Respect for the knowledge, customs and rights of First Nations, Métis, Inuit and urban Indigenous communities

Child and youth voice at the centre, with a family-focused approach

Services in the right place, at the right time, for as little time as necessary

Data-driven transparency and accountability

A home for now

BACK TO TOP


Appendix C: Roles, Responsibilities and Modernized Legislation

Roles and Responsibilities

The Ministry of Children and Youth Services has an overall responsibility for licensing, including enforcement and compliance, currently under the Child and Family Services Act. The ministry licenses service providers to deliver residential services. The ministry does not directly provide services to children and youth, except in the case of youth justice and the Child and Parent Resource Institute.

Licensees are responsible for operating in compliance with the requirements of the Child and Family Services Act. They have a responsibility to provide residential care in a manner that promotes children and youth’s health, safety and welfare.

Agencies, such as Children’s Aid Societies and Indigenous Child Well-being Societies, place children and youth in licensed residential settings. They are responsible for choosing a placement for the child or youth appropriate to their needs that also meets all requirements of the Child and Family Services Act. The placing agency is responsible for the planning and continuity of services while the child or youth is in care.

Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017

The Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017, which received Royal Assent on June 1, 2017, is an important step towards achieving the transformation envisioned within the three quality pillars. This legislation focuses our attention on children and youth — on their voices, their opinions and their goals, not just the issues facing them. It sets the course for bold changes to residential services in Ontario, including enhancing our licensing and oversight mechanisms and strengthening adherence to new expectations. The ministry will also develop an implementation and training plan to support the sector to put these new changes in place.

The act strengthens the rights of children and youth, supports enhancements to the quality of services, improves the consistency of supports offered to children, youth and their families, and increases the accountability and oversight of service providers.

The act also acknowledges Ontario’s unique relationships with First Nations, Métis, Inuit and urban Indigenous communities and provides opportunities for their involvement and decision-making in the care of their children and youth. The act will help to make services more inclusive and culturally appropriate for all children and youth, including Indigenous and Black children and youth, so that every child receives the best possible support.Under the act, children and youth will have the right to:

The legislation also sets new rules about privacy, protection and information sharing between service providers in order to, among other things, give children, youth and families more control over how their personal information is shared among service providers, and to help them avoid having to tell their story repeatedly.

The act provides a framework for strengthening and modernizing oversight for licensed residential settings for children and youth and for enhancing the quality of care provided in those settings. These changes help to better promote the health, safety, and wellbeing of children and youth in licensed residential care.

One notable provision enhances the authority to conduct unannounced licensing inspections by allowing a broader range of inspectors to conduct them. This will support the monitoring of residential services to assess compliance with licensing requirements. The act will enhance the criteria to obtain and keep a licence for residential settings, as well as the criteria for refusing to issue, renew or revoke a licence.

Collectively, these changes are intended to strengthen safety, quality of care and accountability of licensed residential services. These changes will enable the related regulatory, policy, program and operational changes detailed in this Blueprint.

BACK TO TOP

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Des lieux sûrs et bienveillants pour les enfants et les jeunes : plan directeur de l’Ontario pour la création d’un nouveau système pour les services en établissement agréés, juillet 2017 > Annexe

Annexe A : Élaboration du plan directeur

Comité consultatif d’examen des services en établissement

En mai 2016, le Comité consultatif d'examen des services en établissement a donné des conseils au ministère dans son rapport, Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent. Le mandat du comité consistait à tabler sur les travaux de base réalisés dans le cadre des examens et rapports précédents, et de donner des conseils en vue d’améliorer les services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes. L’examen a offert un point de vue essentiel sur les besoins des enfants et des jeunes en milieu résidentiel. Le comité a formulé des recommandations dans 10 secteurs majeurs qui mettaient l’accent sur l’amélioration de l’expérience quotidienne des enfants et des jeunes, y compris la qualité des services, lesquelles ont contribué à donner forme à ce plan directeur.

« La prestation de services en milieu résidentiel auprès des enfants et des jeunes parmi les plus vulnérables de notre société revêt une importance fondamentale. Nous devons oeuvrer de concert pour veiller à ce que l’expérience des jeunes pris en charge hors de leur domicile et leurs résultats à long terme soient tels que les chances de ces jeunes confrontés à de terribles épreuves de vivre une vie significative et enrichissante seront tout aussi réelles que celles des jeunes qui vivent dans la sécurité et le confort relatifs de leur domicile familial. »

(Comité consultatif d’examen des services en établissement, Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent, 2016, p. 6)

Le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes

Le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes a entamé un vaste dialogue avec des jeunes ayant un vécu. La voix de ces jeunes a été capturée dans le rapport À la recherche d'un chez-soi : Réimaginer les services en établissement et en milieu résidentiel. Le rapport et ses recommandations ont également eu une influence sur l’élaboration de ce plan directeur.

Le Groupe de référence en matière de services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes

Le groupe de référence, constitué de représentants des secteurs de la santé mentale, du bien-être de l’enfance, des besoins particuliers et de la justice pour la jeunesse, y compris la voix d'un partenaire autochtone, contribué à façonner le plan directeur et à lui donner un cadre. Le groupe de référence était fermement résolu à faire en sorte que les besoins et la voix des enfants et des jeunes soient au coeur de nos réformes. Tandis que nous mettrons en oeuvre ce plan directeur, il sera essentiel de maintenir notre partenariat et de poursuivre notre collaboration.

Le Comité des jeunes en matière de services en établissement

De concert avec le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes, nous avons mis sur pied un comité de jeunes ayant un vécu des services en établissement afin qu’ils racontent leurs histoires et contribuent à définir la qualité des services.

Ces jeunes gens remarquables ont contribué à façonner notre vision de ce que des services d’excellente qualité représentaient pour les enfants et les jeunes recevant des services en établissement. Leur voix, leurs expériences et leurs attentes servent de pierre angulaire à ce plan directeur. Chacune des facettes de la réforme qu’il renferme est ancrée dans les travaux du comité des jeunes. Nous poursuivrons notre dialogue avec ces jeunes à mesure que nous progresserons. L’apport de ce dernier pour les besoins de ce plan directeur peut être consulté en intégralité dans son rapport, Envisager une meilleure prise en charge des jeunes : Notre contribution au plan directeur.

Nous adressons nos remerciements et tous nos voeux de réussite à :

Les membres du comité des jeunes se sont identifiés de la manière de leur choix.

Les jeunes : avec leurs mots à eux

« Rien sur nous, sans nous. »

HAUT


Annexe B : Principes directeurs

Lutte contre l'oppression et inclusion

Pertinence culturelle, diversité et accessibilité

Cohérence, réactivité et excellence des soins

Surveillance étroite et importance accordée à l'amélioration

Respect du savoir, des traditions et des droits des communautés des premiéres nations, des métis et des inuits

Voix de l'enfant ou du jeune au coeur d'une approche focalisée sur la famille

Prestation des services au bon endroit au bon moment, seulement pour la durée nécessaire

Transparence et responsabilisation grâce aux données

Un foyer pour l'instant

HAUT


Annexe C : Rôles, responsabilités et modernisation de la législation

Rôles et responsabilités

Le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse assume la responsabilité globale liée à la délivrance de permis, y compris les activités de mise à exécution et de mise en conformité prévues par la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille. Le ministère procède à l’agrément de fournisseurs de services qui assurent la prestation des services en établissement. Il ne fournit pas directement de services aux enfants et aux jeunes, sauf dans le secteur de la justice pour la jeunesse et au sein de l’Institut des ressources pour les enfants et les parents.

Il incombe aux titulaires de permis d’exercer leur activité conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille. Ils ont la responsabilité de fournir des services en milieu résidentiel d’une manière favorisant la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être de l’enfant.

Les organismes tels que les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance et les sociétés de bien-être de l’enfance autochtone placent les enfants et les jeunes dans des milieux résidentiels agréés. Il leur incombe de choisir, pour l’enfant ou le jeune, un placement qui répond à la fois à ses besoins et aux exigences de la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille. L’organisme de placement est chargé d’assurer la planification et la continuité des services pour la durée de la prise en charge de l’enfant ou du jeune.

Loi de 2017 sur les services à l’enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille

La Loi de 2017 sur les services à l’enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille (la Loi), qui a reçu la sanction royale le 1er juin 2017, est une étape importante pour réaliser la réorganisation envisagée au sein de nos trois piliers en matière de qualité. Elle focalise notre attention sur les enfants et les jeunes, sur leur voix, leurs opinions et leurs buts, et non sur les seuls problèmes auxquels ils sont confrontés. Elle ouvre la voie à d’ambitieux changements au sein des services en établissement de l’Ontario, y compris l’amélioration de nos mécanismes de délivrance de permis et de surveillance et le renforcement du respect des nouvelles attentes. Le ministère élaborera un plan de mise en oeuvre et de formation pour aider le secteur à apporter ces nouveaux changements.

La Loi renforce les droits des enfants et des jeunes, favorise l’amélioration de la qualité des services, accroît la cohérence des soutiens offerts aux enfants, aux jeunes et à leurs familles, et augmente la responsabilisation et la surveillance des fournisseurs de services.

En outre, la Loi prend acte des relations uniques qu’entretient l’Ontario avec les communautés des Premières Nations, métisses, inuites et autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, et offre l’occasion de les impliquer dans la prise en charge de leurs enfants et jeunes, et dans la prise des décisions connexes. Elle contribuera à rendre les services plus inclusifs et culturellement adaptés pour tous les enfants et tous les jeunes, y compris les enfants et les jeunes autochtones et noirs, afin que chaque enfant reçoive le meilleur soutien possible.

En vertu de la Loi, les enfants et les jeunes auront le droit :

La loi établit également de nouvelles règles concernant le respect de la vie privée, la protection et l’échange de renseignements entre fournisseurs de services, notamment dans le but de donner aux enfants, aux jeunes et aux familles davantage de contrôle sur les modalités de divulgation de leurs renseignements personnels entre les fournisseurs de services, et d’aider les familles en évitant qu’elles aient continuellement à raconter leur histoire.

La Loi encadre le renforcement et la modernisation de la surveillance des milieux résidentiels agréés pour les enfants et les jeunes, et l’amélioration de la qualité des services qui y sont offerts. Ces modifications contribuent à favoriser la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être des enfants et des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel agréés. Une disposition importante renforce le pouvoir d’effectuer des inspections inopinées concernant la délivrance de permis en permettant à une plus grande diversité d’inspecteurs de les mener, ce qui permettra de contrôler les services en établissement en vue d’évaluer leur conformité aux exigences en la matière. La Loi renforcera les critères d’obtention et de conservation du permis pour les milieux résidentiels, de même que les critères de refus de délivrance, de renouvellement ou de révocation d’un permis.

Prises ensemble, ces modifications visent à renforcer la sécurité, la qualité des services et la responsabilisation des services en établissement agréés. Elles appuient les changements connexes à apporter aux dispositions réglementaires, aux politiques, aux programmes et aux opérations qui sont détaillés dans ce plan directeur.

HAUT