You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Safe and Caring Places for Children and Youth: Ontario’s Blueprint for Building a New System of Licensed Residential Services, July 2017 > The Blueprint

The Blueprint

Our vision

High quality residential services in Ontario will effectively meet the needs of children, youth and families, contribute to lasting, positive outcomes and enable the fulfilment of each person’s individual and unique potential.

Guiding Principles

The reform is underpinned by the following guiding principles. They reflect the voices of young people and guide the changes outlined to achieve quality of care as defined by youth themselves.

The guiding principles are described in Appendix B: Guiding Principles.

Three Quality Pillars for Reform

Enhancing the quality of care that children and youth receive is at the heart of this reform. The success of these changes will be measured by how children and youth experience services and the fulfilment of their individual and unique potential.

PILLAR 1: Safe and Healthy Places

Children and youth are physically safe. The physical space in which services are provided is welcoming and meets the needs of children and youth, including food, shelter and clothing, in the context of what is culturally appropriate for them. Their physical space supports their ability to thrive and to be healthy. It provides space for play and leisure in a comfortable and caring environment.

PILLAR 2: A Sense of Belonging

All children and youth in residential care feel at home, are supported to form and maintain attachments, and to be the best they can be. They are supported by caring, qualified adults to have a sense of stability, continuity and hope for the future. Children and youth are supported to have a voice in decision-making about their care, and matters that affect them. Residential settings are inclusive and accepting places that provide culturally appropriate services to meet the needs of a diverse population.

PILLAR 3: Places and Services to Meet the Needs of Children and Youth

All children and youth have the right placement at the right time. Access to services is as close to home as possible, and appropriate for their needs. A range of services are in place in the community to meet their needs. Decisions about their care are made with them using sound clinical and evidence-informed practice and high quality data. Multi-sector professionals work together to support them moving into, through and out of residential services.

BACK TO TOP


In Their Own Words: A Youth Developed Definition of Quality of Care

The Residential Services Youth Panel told us specifically what quality of care means to them. We will use their quality of care domains to anchor our thinking as we develop regulations and policies on all aspects of licensed residential services. Their work will also guide the training of staff working in the residential services sector. It will help us to begin new conversations about the quality of care children and youth are receiving in licensed residential settings.

"The purpose of the domains is to demonstrate the most important areas of quality of care identified by the panel members. These six domains provide an overview of the key elements that must be visibly, reliably, and consistently present in the lives of young people in residential care at all times. These domains will ensure that the experience in care is a positive one ... These domains come from lived experiences, and are what we wish we had."
(Excerpt from Envisioning Better Care for Youth: Our Input Into the Blueprint (2017).)

Quality of Care Domains Elements
Voice, Rights and Communications
  • Voice and Choice Resulting in Action
  • Understanding and Upholding the Rights of Children and Youth
  • Complaints Mechanisms
  • Access to the Internet and Technology
Homes and Ongoing Support
  • Informed Placement Decisions
  • Continuity of Care
  • Supported Transitions
Individual Paths and Fulfilment
  • Individualization
  • Plans While in Care
  • Life Skills
  • Outcomes
Belonging, Relationships and Accepting Environments
  • Sense of Belonging
  • Respect and Dignity
  • Meaningful Relationships
  • Safety and Accessibility
  • Transparency of Rules/Procedures
Identity and Culturally Relevant Care
  • Self-Identification
  • Cultural Respect and Knowledge
  • Connection to Community(ies)
Service Providers and Caregivers
  • Positive Relationships
  • Recruitment and Qualifications
  • Training
  • Accountability

The youth panel’s input to this Blueprint can be found in its entirety in its report Envisioning Better Care for Youth: Our Input Into the Blueprint (2017).

BACK TO TOP

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Des lieux sûrs et bienveillants pour les enfants et les jeunes : plan directeur de l’Ontario pour la création d’un nouveau système pour les services en établissement agréés, juillet 2017 > Plan directeur

Plan directeur

Notre vision

Les services en établissement d’excellente qualité offerts en Ontario permettront réellement de satisfaire les besoins des enfants, des jeunes et des familles, d’obtenir des résultats positifs et durables, et de réaliser le potentiel individuel unique de tout un chacun.

Principes directeurs

La réforme est étayée par les principes directeurs suivants. Ils font écho à la voix des jeunes et orientent les changements définis en vue d’atteindre la qualité des services définie par les jeunes eux-mêmes.

Les principes directeurs sont décrits à l’annexe B : Principes directeurs.

Les trois piliers en matière de qualité de la réforme

L’amélioration de la qualité des services dont bénéficient les enfants et les jeunes se trouve au coeur de notre réforme. Le succès de ces changements sera mesuré à l’aune de l’expérience qu’auront les enfants et les jeunes des services ainsi que de la réalisation de leur potentiel individuel et unique.

Premier pilier : Des lieux sûrs et sains

Les enfants et les jeunes sont physiquement en sécurité. L’espace physique dans lequel les services en établissement sont offerts est accueillant et satisfait les besoins essentiels des enfants et des jeunes, à savoir de la nourriture, un abri et des vêtements, et ce, dans un contexte qui leur est culturellement adapté. Leur espace physique favorise leur épanouissement et leur santé. Il leur offre un espace de jeu et de loisirs au sein d’un environnement sûr et bienveillant.

Deuxième pilier : Un sentiment d’appartenance

Tous les enfants et les jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel se sentent chez eux, et sont encouragés à tisser et à maintenir des liens et à donner le meilleur d’eux-mêmes. Ils sont encouragés par des adultes bienveillants et qualifiés à développer un sentiment de stabilité, de continuité et de foi en l’avenir. Les enfants et les jeunes sont encouragés à exprimer leur avis dans le cadre des décisions ayant trait à leurs services et aux questions qui les concernent. Les milieux résidentiels sont des lieux inclusifs et ouverts, qui fournissent des services culturellement adaptés aux besoins d’une population diverse.

Troisième pilier : Places and Services to Meet the Needs of Children and Youth

Tous les enfants et les jeunes sont placés au bon endroit au bon moment. L’accès aux services est aussi proche de leur domicile que possible, et il est adapté à leurs besoins. Une gamme de services au sein de la collectivité est à même de répondre à leurs besoins. Les décisions concernant leurs services sont prises avec eux selon une pratique clinique saine et fondée sur des données probantes et des données d’excellente qualité. Les professionnels de plusieurs secteurs travaillent ensemble pour les aider lorsqu’ils intègrent les services en établissement, pendant qu’ils les reçoivent et lorsqu’ils les quittent.

HAUT


Avec leurs mots à eux : une définition de la qualité des services élaborée par les jeunes

Les membres du Comité des jeunes en matière de services en établissement nous ont précisément dit ce que signifiait pour eux la qualité des services. Nous utiliserons leurs domaines en la matière comme point d’ancrage de notre réflexion lorsque nous élaborerons des dispositions réglementaires et des politiques relatives au moindre aspect des services en établissement agréés. Leur travail guidera également la formation du personnel travaillant dans le secteur des services en établissement. Il nous aidera à entamer de nouveaux dialogues au sujet de la qualité des services que les enfants et les jeunes reçoivent au sein des milieux résidentiels agréés.

« L’objet des domaines est de faire état des composantes de qualité des services les plus importantes identifiées par les membres du comité. Ces six domaines donnent un aperçu des éléments clés qui doivent être visiblement et invariablement présents, de manière fiable, à tout moment dans la vie des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel. Ils garantiront que l’expérience des services soit une expérience positive ... Ils découlent d’expériences de vécu, et correspondent à ce que nous aimerions avoir. »
(Extrait du rapport Envisager une meilleure prise en charge des jeunes : Notre contribution au plan directeur (2017))

Domaines de qualité des services Éléments
Voix, droits et communications
  • Voix et choix se soldant par des actes
  • Connaissance et respect des droits des enfants et des jeunes
  • Mécanismes de plainte
  • Accès à Internet et aux technologies
Foyers et soutien continu
  • Décisions de placement éclairées
  • Continuité des services
  • Soutien dans les transitions
Chemins individuels et épanouissement
  • Individualisation
  • Plans pendant le placement
  • Aptitudes à la vie quotidienne
  • Résultats
Appartenance, relations et milieux ouverts
  • Sentiment d’appartenance
  • Respect et dignité
  • Relations profondes
  • Sécurité et accessibilité
  • Transparence des règles/procédures
Identité et services culturellement pertinents
  • Auto-identification
  • Respect et connaissance de la culture
  • Lien avec la ou les communauté(s)
Fournisseurs de services et aidants
  • Relations positives
  • Recrutement et qualifications
  • Formation
  • Responsabilisation

L’apport du comité des jeunes pour les besoins de ce plan directeur peut être consulté en intégralité dans son rapport Envisager une meilleure prise en charge des jeunes : Notre contribution au plan directeur (2017).

HAUT