You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Safe and Caring Places for Children and Youth: Ontario’s Blueprint for Building a New System of Licensed Residential Services, July 2017 > How will we get there

How We Will Get There – Building a New Child and Youth-Centred Service System

This Blueprint lays out our immediate and short-term actions and outlines our longer-term plans. We are not waiting. We have started by modernizing the legislation that governs licensed residential care. It is essential that the work to improve residential services is collaborative, given the differing and complementary roles and responsibilities of the ministry and our sector partners. The commitment of all partners working together will be central to achieving these changes. For more information see Appendix C: Roles, Responsibilities and Modernized Legislation.

In Partnership...

The Ontario Association of Children's Aid Societies and the Association of Native Child and Family Service Agencies of Ontario are undertaking immediate work, with a specific focus on Indigenous children and youth, to:

Short-Term Actions

Pillar 1: Safe and Healthy Places

We begin this work with a focus on making sure that children and youth are living in safe, healthy and welcoming places, and addressing some of the key factors youth told us will improve their everyday experiences and outcomes.

To immediately support the safety and health of children and youth in residential care we are:

In addition, we are improving oversight by:

Pillar 2: A Sense of Belonging

All children and youth need to feel like they belong. The second pillar of our Blueprint focuses on our commitment to establish new standards to improve the quality of care provided by licensees so that children and youth see a difference in their daily experiences. For the first time in the province, we will define quality of care in regulation. We will set minimum expectations related to quality of care, and monitor compliance.

Our framework for quality of care, including the development of regulations, will be based directly on the work of the Residential Services Youth Panel and the quality of care domains they developed.

Youth are key partners in the journey to reform residential services. We want to make sure they are aware of what we are committing to in this Blueprint to improve their everyday experiences. For this reason, we are releasing a child- and youth-friendly resource that uses clear and accessible language so that children and youth can understand what changes are coming in the immediate, short- and long-term as a part of this reform. This resource will be available in English and French and several Indigenous languages (Oji-Cree, Ojibway and Inuktitut).

In addition, we will:

Youth: In Their Own Words

"Youth need the ability to have control and agency in the decisions that are being made about them. Feeling like you have impact in your plan of care such as choosing which school you go to or what activities you participate in goes a long way."

Pillar 3: Places and Services to Meet the Needs of Children and Youth

We are also taking action immediately within the current legislative framework, the Child and Family Services Act, to better meet the needs of children and youth in licensed residential care. We are:

To set the foundation for transformational change within the residential services sector in the short-term, we will:

Youth: In Their Own Words

"Youth should be connected to resources, services, opportunities in the greater community to help shape identity. Belonging is connected to feeling like you have a place in your greater community."

BACK TO TOP


Long-Term Actions

Our short-term work will enhance the services currently provided to children and youth. Our long-term work will build from there, to create a new child and youth-centred service system.

The three quality pillars for reform will continue to guide this work. We will continue to leverage transformations underway in the mental health, child welfare, special needs, and youth justice sectors.

1. Effective Service System Planning and Management

Equipped with a greater clarity of definition and scope of residential services, we will develop a provincial service model that will take into account the appropriate variety and distribution of licensed residential services across the province. This work incorporates four major initiatives.

  1. Defining the scope of licensed residential services

    A wide variety of service providers are licensed to provide care. We will further define the specific types of residential care requiring a licence while continuing to explore service delivery approaches that focus on prevention.

    Through the Ontario Indigenous Children and Youth Strategy, we will work with Indigenous partners to develop specific approaches focused on residential services that meet the unique needs of Indigenous children, youth, families and communities. This will result in First Nations, Métis, Inuit and urban Indigenous communities having greater ability to care for, and make decisions regarding their children and youth.

  2. A provincial approach to service delivery

    Working with our sector partners, we will develop a provincial approach to the planning and delivery of services. This approach will be guided by the principle of prevention and focused on making sure that the right services are available to children and youth at the right time and as close to their home community as possible. As part of this work, we will examine current and emerging trends such as bed capacity, patterns of service provision, and program access and availability.

    Residential services will also be examined to address equitable distribution and to support children and youth to remain in their home communities, particularly for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit children and youth.

    Youth: In their Own Words

    "Systems need to work together. Different workers are assigned to help young people with different things – for example, tutor, mental health worker, et cetera. But if all these supports worked together to create a coordinated plan, the care would go in one direction and be better. Mental health and education need to work together in this sense especially.”

  3. More effective data and information management

    A new approach to data and information will focus on developing performance indicators to help measure quality across the three quality pillars. They will be publicly reported and inform best practice and continuous improvement in agencies’ placement and programming decisions. They will also support the development of a risk-based approach to licensing, and service providers’ enhanced ability to monitor children and youth across residential placements to better support continuity of care.

    We will examine data that is currently collected, identify what data or information may be needed to measure quality as defined in our new framework, and move forward on standardizing specific data elements across child and youth sectors that provide residential services.

  4. A comprehensive funding review

    The current approach to funding residential services for children and youth is complex. We are committed to creating greater consistency, transparency and equity in funding services.

    To this end, we will undertake a funding review of residential services. It will include an examination of what is currently being funded and to what level, an assessment of the cost of service and the current funding models (including per diems and special rate agreements).

    Any new funding approaches will be in line with proposed changes to service planning and delivery of residential services that are evidence-based and outcomes-focused. A funding review of youth justice services will take into account the unique judicial context within which the sector operates.

2. Accountability and Oversight

We are taking action to improve the quality of care in licensed residential settings in Ontario by strengthening and modernizing licensing, compliance and enforcement. The ministry will:

3. Workforce Development

Some children and youth accessing residential services may have mental health or behavioural challenges, psychiatric disorders, complex medical conditions and/or developmental disabilities. Staff in residential care settings must be competent, skilled, engaged and caring in order to effectively meet the needs of these children and youth.

Therefore, we will develop an action plan that will explore:

The provision of foster care and culturally appropriate placement options are also critical components of residential services, and maintaining an adequate number of foster parents must be a priority. Individuals who are motivated to take on this crucial role in a young person’s life must be supported. Therefore, we will develop a provincial plan to modernize foster care in Ontario, in partnership with stakeholders and youth, including enabling a strong voice for foster parents and clarifying the rules and procedures for fostering. It will address barriers for the recruitment of foster parents from Black and other uniquely situated communities, and caregivers from Indigenous communities.

Youth: In Their Own Words

"Staff in facilities need better training and understanding of the systems of child welfare and how they intersect. All parties involved must understand the intersection between the systems – like child welfare, education, health care access, and public transit."

BACK TO TOP

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Des lieux sûrs et bienveillants pour les enfants et les jeunes : plan directeur de l’Ontario pour la création d’un nouveau système pour les services en établissement agréés, juillet 2017 > Comment nous y parviendrons

Comment nous y parviendrons – Édification d’un nouveau système de services axés sur l’enfant ou le jeune

Ce plan directeur guide nos mesures immédiates et à court terme, et décrit nos projets à plus long terme. Nous ne sommes pas dans l’attente. Nous avons commencé par moderniser la loi qui régit les services en milieu résidentiel agréés. Il est primordial que les travaux d’amélioration des services en établissement soient collaboratifs compte tenu des responsabilités et des rôles différents mais complémentaires assumés par le ministère et ses partenaires du secteur. L’engagement de tous les partenaires à oeuvrer de concert sera central en vue de réaliser ces changements. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter l'annexe C : Rôles, responsabilités et modernisation de la législation.

En partenariat...

L’Association ontarienne des sociétés de l’aide à l’enfance et l’Association of Native Child and Family Service Agencies of Ontario entreprennent des travaux immédiats visant spécifiquement les enfants et les jeunes autochtones, et consistant à :

Mesures à court terme

Premier pilier : Des lieux sûrs et sains

Nous entamons ces travaux en nous attachant à veiller à ce que les enfants et les jeunes vivent dans des lieux sûrs, sains et accueillants, et à aborder certains des facteurs clés qui, d’après les jeunes, amélioreront leurs expériences quotidiennes et leurs résultats.

Pour favoriser immédiatement la sécurité et la santé des enfants et des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel, nous :

En outre, nous améliorons la surveillance en :

Deuxième pilier : Un sentiment d’appartenance

T ous les enfants et jeunes ont besoin de sentir qu’ils ont leur place. Ce deuxième pilier de notre plan directeur met l’accent sur notre promesse de fixer de nouvelles normes visant à améliorer la qualité des services offerts par les titulaires de permis afin que les enfants et les jeunes constatent une différence dans leurs expériences quotidiennes. Pour la première fois dans la province, nous définirons la qualité des services par le biais d’un règlement. Nous fixerons des attentes minimales en la matière et contrôlerons la conformité.

Notre cadre de qualité des services, y compris l’élaboration de dispositions réglementaires, reposera directement sur le travail du Comité des jeunes en matière de services en établissement et les domaines de qualité des services qu’ils ont dégagés.

Les jeunes sont des partenaires clés sur le parcours de réforme des services en établissement. Nous souhaitons nous assurer qu’ils ont connaissance des promesses que nous faisons dans ce plan directeur afin d’améliorer leurs expériences quotidiennes. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous publions une ressource conviviale pour les enfants et les jeunes dans un langage clair et accessible, afin qu’ils soient en mesure de comprendre quels changements se profilent dans l’immédiat, à court ou à long terme, dans le cadre de cette réforme. Cette ressource sera disponible en français et en anglais et dans plusieurs langues autochtones (oji-cri, ojibwa et inuktitut).

De plus, nous :

Les jeunes : avec leurs mots à eux

« Les jeunes ont besoin d’avoir la possibilité d’exercer un contrôle et une influence sur les décisions prises à leur sujet. Le sentiment d’avoir un impact sur votre programme de soins, par exemple en choisissant votre école ou vos activités, aide beaucoup. »

Troisième pilier : Des lieux et services pour répondre aux besoins des enfants et des jeunes

Nous prenons également des mesures immédiates en accord avec le cadre législatif actuel, soit la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille, en vue de mieux répondre aux besoins des enfants et des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel agréés. Nous :

Dans le but de jeter les bases du changement organisationnel au sein du secteur des services en établissement, à court terme, nous :

Les jeunes : avec leurs mots à eux

« Les jeunes devraient être aiguillés vers des ressources, services, possibilités dans la communauté élargie pour contribuer à façonner leur identité. L’appartenance est liée au sentiment d’avoir une place au sein de la communauté élargie. »

HAUT


Mesures à long terme

Nos travaux à court terme amélioreront les services actuellement offerts aux enfants et aux jeunes. Nos travaux à long terme tableront dessus pour créer un nouveau système de services axés sur l’enfant ou le jeune.

Les trois piliers en matière de qualité de la réforme continueront d’orienter ce travail. En outre, nous continuerons de tirer parti des réorganisations en cours au sein des secteurs de la santé mentale, du bien-être de l’enfance, des besoins particuliers et de la justice pour la jeunesse.

1. Planification et gestion efficaces du système de services

Forts d’une plus grande clarté dans la définition et le périmètre des services en établissement, nous concevrons un modèle de services provincial qui tiendra compte de l’éventail et de la répartition appropriés des services en établissement agréés dans toute la province. Cette tâche compte quatre initiatives majeures.

  1. Définition du périmètre des services en établissement agréés

    Une grande variété de fournisseurs de services sont agréés en vue d’offrir des services. Nous définirons plus en détail les types de services en milieu résidentiel spécifiques qui devraient être tenus de détenir un permis, tout en continuant d’étudier des approches de prestation des services mettant l’accent sur la prévention.

    Par le biais de la Stratégie ontarienne pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones, nous travaillerons en collaboration avec nos partenaires autochtones pour élaborer des approches axées sur les services en établissement répondant aux besoins singuliers des enfants, des jeunes, des familles et des communautés autochtones. Cela renforcera la capacité des communautés des Premières Nations, métisses, inuites et autochtones vivant en milieu urbain de prendre soin de leurs enfants et jeunes, et de prendre les décisions les concernant.

  2. Une approche provinciale de la prestation des services

    En travaillant avec nos partenaires du secteur, nous élaborerons une approche provinciale de la planification et de la prestation des services. Cette approche sera guidée par le principe de la prévention et consistera à veiller à ce que les bons services soient offerts aux enfants et aux jeunes au bon moment, et ce, aussi près de leur collectivité d’attache que possible. Dans le cadre de ces travaux, nous examinerons les tendances actuelles et émergentes en matière de capacité, de schémas de prestation des services, d’accès aux programmes et de disponibilité des programmes.

    Les services en établissement seront aussi examinés afin d’assurer une répartition équitable et de permettre aux enfants et aux jeunes de rester dans leur collectivité d’origine, tout particulièrement les enfants et les jeunes des Premières Nations, métis et inuits.

    Les jeunes : avec leurs mots à eux

    « Les systèmes doivent fonctionner de concert. Différents travailleurs sont chargés d'aider les jeunes à différents égards, par exemple une tutrice, un travailleur en santé mentale, et cetera. Mais si tous ces soutiens travaillaient ensemble pour élaborer un programme coordonné, les soins iraient dans la même direction et seraient meilleurs. Les secteurs de la santé mentale et de l’éducation, en particulier, doivent collaborer en ce sens. »

  3. Une gestion plus efficace des données et des renseignements

    Une nouvelle approche relative aux données et aux renseignements mettra l’accent sur l’élaboration d’indicateurs de rendement pour aider à évaluer la qualité sur l’ensemble des trois piliers en la matière. Ils feront l’objet de rapports publics et guideront les organismes afin qu’ils adoptent des pratiques exemplaires et améliorent constamment la prise de décisions relatives aux programmes et aux placements. Ils appuieront également l’élaboration d’une approche axée sur les risques de la délivrance de permis, et renforceront la capacité des fournisseurs de services de suivre les enfants et les jeunes d’un placement en milieu résidentiel à l’autre afin de favoriser la continuité des services.

    Nous analyserons les données qui sont actuellement recueillies, identifierons quels renseignements ou données sont susceptibles d’être requis pour évaluer la qualité telle que définie dans notre nouveau cadre, et procéderons à la normalisation d’éléments de données spécifiques entre les secteurs des services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse fournissant des services en établissement.

  4. Un examen complet du financement

    L’approche actuelle en matière de financement des services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes est complexe. Nous sommes déterminés à renforcer la cohérence, la transparence et l’équité du financement des services.

    À cette fin, nous entreprendrons un examen du financement des services en établissement. Il comprendra un examen de ce qui est actuellement financé et à quel niveau, et une évaluation du coût des services et des modèles de financement actuels (y compris les taux quotidiens et les ententes de tarifs spéciaux).

    Toute nouvelle approche en matière de financement sera alignée sur les changements qu’il est proposé d’apporter à la planification et à la prestation de services en établissement fondés sur des données probantes et axés sur les résultats. Un examen du financement des services de justice pour la jeunesse tiendra compte du contexte judiciaire unique au sein duquel opère le secteur.

2. Responsabilisation et surveillance

Nous prenons des mesures visant à améliorer la qualité des services en milieu résidentiel agréés en Ontario, et ce, en renforçant et en modernisant la délivrance de permis, la conformité et l’application de la loi. Le ministère :

3. Perfectionnement de la main-d’oeuvre

Certains enfants et jeunes qui intègrent les services en établissement sont atteints de troubles de la santé mentale ou du comportement, de troubles psychiatriques, de problèmes médicaux complexes et/ou de déficiences intellectuelles. Le personnel des milieux résidentiels doit être compétent, qualifié, engagé et bienveillant afin de répondre efficacement aux besoins de ces enfants et jeunes.

C’est pourquoi nous élaborerons un plan d’action visant à :

La disponibilité d’options de placement en famille d’accueil et de placement culturellement adapté constitue également une composante essentielle des services en établissement, le maintien d’un nombre suffisant de parents de famille d’accueil devant être une priorité. Les personnes déterminées à assumer ce rôle crucial dans la vie d’un jeune doivent être soutenues. C’est pourquoi, nous élaborerons un plan provincial de modernisation du placement en famille d’accueil en Ontario, en partenariat avec les intervenants et les jeunes, consistant notamment à accorder une voix forte aux parents de famille d’accueil et à clarifier les règles et procédures pour assumer ce rôle. Il éliminera les obstacles au recrutement de parents de famille d’accueil au sein des communautés noires et d’autres communautés dont la situation géographique est particulière, ainsi qu’au recrutement de fournisseurs de soins issus de communautés autochtones.

Les jeunes : avec leurs mots à eux

« Le personnel des établissements a besoin d’une meilleure formation et d’une meilleure connaissance des systèmes de bien-être de l’enfance et de la façon dont ils s’entrecroisent. Toutes les parties prenantes doivent connaître les points d’intersection entre systèmes, comme le bien-être de l’enfance, l’éducation, l’accès aux soins de santé et le transport en commun. »

HAUT