You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Safe and Caring Places for Children and Youth: Ontario’s Blueprint for Building a New System of Licensed Residential Services, July 2017 > Minister's Message

Minister’s Message

The greatest responsibility of government is to care for children and youth. For the young people who come into care, residential services can be a long-term or temporary home. Whether it is foster care, customary care, a group home, or another form of care, I want that home to be a place where young people feel loved, respected, cared for, and safe.

That is why I am releasing Safe and Caring Places for Children and Youth: Ontario’s Blueprint for Building a New System of Licensed Residential Services.

Many youth have worked with my ministry, shared their lived experiences, and advocated for transformation. We have heard you. This Blueprint would not have been possible without the insight and efforts of our partners in the community, across government, and most importantly, our children and youth.

The advocacy and collaboration with the Residential Services Youth Panel, Indigenous partners, the Child and Youth Residential Services Review Panel, the Residential Services Reference Group and the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth have been invaluable. Your words and recommendations are at the heart of this Blueprint, and will continue to form the basis of our efforts as we move forward with implementing these comprehensive transformations.

It is my job and the responsibility of government to support all young people in Ontario so that they have the services and support they need, when they need them, and as close to home as possible. Along with the Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017, we are working across government to support the delivery of services that are culturally appropriate and strengthen children’s rights. The work we do must empower children and youth and celebrate and respect their individuality - their age, where they live, their gender identity, their sexual orientation, their race, their culture, their religion, and all aspects of their identity that make them unique.

It will take time to achieve this, but we are committed to continuing to build up child and youth-centred residential services in Ontario to empower those who need protection and support.

Michael Coteau
Minister of Children and Youth Services

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Des lieux sûrs et bienveillants pour les enfants et les jeunes : plan directeur de l’Ontario pour la création d’un nouveau système pour les services en établissement agréés, juillet 2017 > Message du ministre

Message du ministre

La plus grande responsabilité incombant au gouvernement est de prendre soin des enfants et des jeunes. Pour les jeunes qui sont pris en charge, les services en établissement peuvent tenir lieu de foyer à long terme ou temporaire. Qu’il s’agisse d’une famille d’accueil, de soins conformes aux traditions, d’un foyer de groupe ou d’une autre forme de services, je tiens à ce que ce foyer soit un lieu où les jeunes se sentent aimés, respectés, pris en charge et en sécurité.

C’est la raison pour laquelle je publie Des lieux sûrs et bienveillants pour les enfants et les jeunes – Plan directeur de l’Ontario pour la création d’un nouveau système pour les services en établissement agréés.

De nombreux jeunes ont travaillé avec mon ministère, raconté leurs expériences de vécu et milité en faveur d’une réorganisation. Nous vous avons entendus. Ce plan directeur n’aurait pas pu voir le jour sans les idées et les efforts de nos partenaires au sein de la communauté, du gouvernement tout entier et, par-dessus tout, des enfants et des jeunes.

L’action et la collaboration du Comité des jeunes en matière de services en établissement, des partenaires autochtones, du Comité consultatif d’examen des services en établissement, du Groupe de référence en matière de services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes et du Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes sont inestimables. Vos paroles et vos recommandations se trouvent au coeur de ce plan directeur et continueront de servir de base à nos efforts de mise en oeuvre progressive de ces réorganisations complètes.

Il en va de mon devoir et de la responsabilité du gouvernement d’appuyer tous les jeunes de l’Ontario afin qu’ils disposent des services et du soutien dont ils ont besoin et ce, lorsqu’ils en ont besoin et le plus près possible de chez eux. Outre la Loi de 2017 sur les services à l’enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille, nous travaillons avec l’ensemble du gouvernement à favoriser la prestation de services culturellement adaptés et à renforcer les droits des enfants. Le travail que nous accomplissons doit valoriser les enfants et les jeunes, et célébrer et respecter leur individualité, leur âge, leur lieu de vie, leur identité sexuelle, leur orientation sexuelle, leur race, leur culture, leur religion, de même que toutes les facettes de leur identité qui les rendent uniques.

Il nous faudra du temps pour y parvenir, mais nous sommes déterminés à édifier des services en établissement axés sur l’enfant ou le jeune en Ontario, dans le but de donner des moyens à celles et ceux qui ont besoin de protection et de soutien.

Michael Coteau
Ministre des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse