You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > First nations, Métis and Inuit young people > Overrepresentation

Overrepresentation of Young Aboriginal People in Residential Care

Throughout our consultations we heard many service providers and community organizations express concern about the overrepresentation of First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth in residential care, especially in the child welfare and youth justice sectors. Aboriginal youth comprise 3.4% of the Ontario youth population but have represented approximately 9% of youth admissions annually since 2008/09 (Youth Justice Services Division, 2015). The overall number of self-identified Aboriginal youth admitted to detention or custody has declined by 20% from 2003/4 to 2012/13, albeit at a lower rate than the overall decline in youth in detention or custody; as a result, the proportion of Aboriginal youth admitted to detention or custody has increased during the same period from 10% to 12%. (calculations based on slide 6 of Youth Justice Services deck entitled The Youth Criminal Justice Act and Programs and Services for Aboriginal Youth In Ontario, June 2015).

The Ministry generally does not report on trends with respect to Aboriginal youth involved in the child welfare sector. According to information collected as part of the annual Crown Ward reviews, the Ministry reported that in 2013 15.5% of Crown Wards were identified as Aboriginal. The report to Canada’s Premier’s on Aboriginal children in care states that “in Ontario 3% of the child population under age 15 is Aboriginal, and 21% of the children in care are Aboriginal children living off-reserve”. In a recent analysis of people identified as foster children by respondents to the 2011 National Household Survey, Sinha and Wray (2015) examined disparities between the rates of Aboriginal and Non-Aboriginal foster children. In Ontario, First Nations children were 12 times more likely to be identified as foster children than were non-Aboriginal children: 3.1% of First Nations children were identified as being in foster care compared to 0.25% of non-Aboriginal children. Similar disparities have been noted in the Ontario Incidence Study of Reported Child Abuse and Neglect which found that 9% of investigations involved Aboriginal children, whereas less than 4% of the Ontario’s children and youth are Aboriginal (Fallon, Van Wert, Trocmé, et al., 2015).

Given the extent and persistence of the problem of overrepresentation, the Panel was surprised that there was limited reporting and analysis with respect to young Aboriginal people in residential care. The youth justice sector has made important strides in disaggregating youth justice statistics on the basis of Aboriginal status as identified by youth; disaggregated trend data are not, however, available from the child welfare sector. The first two recommendations from the recently released Truth and Reconciliation Commission report speak to the critical importance of documenting and understanding problems related to overrepresentation for First Nations children and youth (1) reported to child welfare because of neglect and (2) placed in out-of-home care (Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, 2015).

Monitoring rates and patterns of overrepresentation is very important. Without such analyses important differences over time and between groups are easily missed. Failure to disaggregate statistics by placement type, can for example mask important differences with respect to the use of kinship, customary and other forms of alternative out-of-home placements. Placements in Aboriginal foster homes may need to be distinguished from placements in non-Aboriginal homes. Tracking changes over time can identify incremental shifts in practices and policies that may not be otherwise noticed. In Alberta, for example, using provincial child welfare placement data, Alberta’s Child and Youth Advocate was able to show that while the overall number of placements had plateaued and was starting to decrease, what was actually happening was that the number of non-First Nations placements had been decreasing while the number of First-Nations placements was continuing to increase at an alarming rate. The policies and programs that had been developed to help curtail out-of-home placements appeared to be having their desired impact for non-First Nations children and youth but were not effectively reaching First Nations children and families. As confirmed by the recent Canadian Human Rights finding of discriminatory practices, the systematic Federal government underfunding of on reserve community based family support services is one of the drivers of this over-representation of young First Nations people in residential care.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Jeunes des Premières nations, Métis et Inuits placés en milieu résidentiel > Surreprésentation

Surreprésentation des jeunes autochtones dans le système de services en milieu résidentiel

Au cours des consultations, de nombreux fournisseurs de services et organismes communautaires ont exprimé leurs préoccupations concernant la surreprésentation des jeunes des Premières Nations, métis et inuits dans le système de services en milieu résidentiel, en particulier dans les secteurs du bien-être de l’enfance et de la justice pour la jeunesse. Les jeunes autochtones représentent ainsi 3, 4 p. 100 des jeunes de l’Ontario, mais ils comptabilisent environ 9 p. 100 des admissions annuelles au sein des services en milieu résidentiel depuis 2008-2009 (Division des services de justice pour la jeunesse, 2015). Le nombre total de jeunes autochtones qui se sont déclarés comme placés sous garde ou détenus a certes diminué de 20 p. 100 entre 2003-2004 et 2012-2013, mais cette baisse est moins rapide que celle de l’ensemble des jeunes placés dans des établissements de garde et de détention. En conséquence, la proportion de jeunes autochtones placés sous garde ou en détention a augmenté de 10 à 12 p. 100, sur la même période (d’après les calculs basés sur la diapositive 6 de la présentation des Services de justice pour la jeunesse relative à la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents et aux programmes et services destinés aux jeunes autochtones de l’Ontario, datée de juin 2015).

En général, le ministère ne publie pas de rapport sur les tendances relatives aux jeunes autochtones pris en charge par le système de bien-être de l’enfance. Toutefois, d’après les renseignements recueillis dans le cadre des examens annuels du statut des pupilles de la Couronne, le ministère a déclaré qu’en 2013, 15, 5 p. 100 des pupilles de la Couronne étaient identifiés comme étant autochtones. Le rapport aux premiers ministres des provinces et territoires sur le bien-être des enfants autochtones indique qu’en « Ontario, les enfants autochtones forment 3 % de la population des enfants de moins de 15 ans, mais 21 % des enfants confiés aux services sociaux sont des enfants autochtones qui ne vivent pas dans une réserve ». Dans une récente analyse portant sur les enfants signalés comme placés en famille d’accueil par les personnes interrogées lors de l’Enquête nationale par foyer réalisée sur le sujet en 2011, Sinha et Wray (2015) se sont attachés à observer les disparités entre Autochtones et non-Autochtones parmi les enfants confiés à des familles d’accueil. En Ontario, les enfants des Premières Nations étaient ainsi 12 fois plus susceptibles d’être accueillis en famille d’accueil que des enfants non autochtones : 3, 1 p. 100 des enfants des Premières Nations étaient identifiés comme placés en famille d’accueil, contre 0, 25 p. 100 pour les enfants non autochtones. L’Étude ontarienne sur l’incidence des signalements de cas de violence et de négligence envers les enfants a fait état de disparités similaires, en indiquant que 9 p. 100 des enquêtes concernaient des enfants autochtones alors que moins de 4 p. 100 des enfants et des jeunes de l’Ontario sont autochtones (Fallon, Van Wert, Trocmé, et coll., 2015).

Au vu de l’ampleur et de la persistance de ce problème de surreprésentation, le Comité s’est étonné du nombre limité de rapports et d’analyses sur les jeunes autochtones bénéficiant de services en milieu résidentiel. Le secteur de la justice pour la jeunesse a réalisé d’importants progrès dans ce domaine, en distinguant, dans ses statistiques, les jeunes qui se déclarent autochtones. Une telle ventilation des données n’est, toutefois, pas disponible pour le secteur du bien-être de l’enfance. Les deux premières recommandations présentées dans le récent rapport de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation portent sur l’importance cruciale de la documentation et de la compréhension des problèmes liés à la surreprésentation pour les enfants et les jeunes des Premières Nations (1) faisant l’objet d’un signalement de négligence auprès des services de bien-être de l’enfance et (2) placés hors de leur domicile (Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, 2015).

La surveillance des taux et des tendances de surreprésentation est capitale. Sans ces analyses, des différences importantes entre groupes et dans le temps peuvent facilement passer inaperçues. L’absence de ventilation des statistiques par type de placement peut ainsi masquer d’importantes différences entre la garde par une personne ayant un lien de parenté, les soins conformes aux traditions et d’autres options de placement hors du domicile. Il pourrait donc se révéler utile de distinguer les placements en foyer d’accueil autochtone des placements en foyer d’accueil non autochtone. Un suivi temporel des changements pourrait, par ailleurs, permettre d’identifier des évolutions graduelles de pratiques et de politiques qui n’auraient peut-être pas pu être repérées autrement. En Alberta, par exemple, les données provinciales relatives aux placements réalisés par les services de bien-être de l’enfance ont permis à l’intervenant de l’Alberta en faveur des enfants et des jeunes de montrer qu’en dépit d’un nombre total de placements amorçant une baisse après avoir atteint un palier, le nombre de placements d’enfants des Premières Nations continue, en réalité, à croître de manière inquiétante, même si le nombre de placements d’enfants n’appartenant pas aux Premières Nations diminue effectivement. Les politiques et les programmes élaborés dans l’optique de limiter les placements hors du domicile semblent avoir produit l’effet escompté chez les enfants et les jeunes n’appartenant pas aux Premières Nations, contrairement aux enfants et aux familles des Premières Nations. Comme le confirme une récente reconnaissance de pratiques discriminatoires, contraires aux droits de la personne au Canada, les fonds systématiquement insuffisants accordés par le gouvernement fédéral aux services de soutien communautaire aux familles vivant dans des réserves expliquent, en partie, cette surreprésentation des jeunes des Premières Nations dans le système de services en milieu résidentiel.