You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Unique contexts and geographies > Implications for Recommendations

Implications for Recommendations

Significant leadership is required in order to create fundamental change in child and youth residential services across sectors and across the province. Notwithstanding efforts on the part of some service providers to become more responsive to the needs of young people in unique contexts, the overall level of competence and activity in this context is insufficient, uncoordinated, generally ad hoc, and therefore unsustainable and unlikely to create change. Consistent with Ontario’s commitment to social justice and egalitarian values, there is an imperative to address the needs and experiences of these young people.

There is a need to enhance the cultural competence of all residential services in relation to the diverse identities and developmental contexts of young people, in partnership with young people themselves. The development of measurable indicators in conjunction with the enhancement of cultural competence will work to ensure visible progress in this area.

The Panel is concerned about the challenges related to moving between residential services and non-residential supports, programs and preventative interventions in the specific contexts of young people focused on their gender, racial, or ethnic cultural identities.

The residential services system must ensure the protection and maintenance of the rights and well-being of all young people, and specifically those who are identified as having complex special needs. The voice of young people with complex special needs must inform the provision of these services.

Co-ordinated approaches to respond to emerging issues, such as the sex trades, are required. This will require a significant focus on capacity-building mechanisms to enhance inter-sector collaboration and rapid response to issues and trends that put extremely vulnerable young people at imminent risk of harm.

Currently, there does not appear to be sufficient demographic data on the self-reported identity of young people living in residential care to meaningfully plan around the needs of particular cultural, racialized or other groups, or the emergence of new groups based on demographic changes (eg: Muslim youth). In partnership with the relevant community, consideration must be given to develop capacity for data collection and reporting in a transparent manner on the number of young people impacted within specific groups.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Géographies et contextes particuliers > Répercussions sur les recommandations

Répercussions sur les recommandations

Un leadership significatif est requis pour procéder à une réforme profonde des services en milieu résidentiel pour les enfants et les jeunes dans l’ensemble des secteurs et de la province. Malgré les efforts déployés par certains fournisseurs de services pour devenir plus sensibles aux besoins des jeunes évoluant dans des contextes particuliers, le savoir-faire et le degré d’action globaux dans ce milieu sont insuffisants, non coordonnés, généralement circonstanciels et, par conséquent, non viables et peu susceptibles de susciter le changement. En vue de respecter l’engagement de l’Ontario à l’égard de la justice sociale et des valeurs égalitaires, il est impératif de satisfaire les besoins de ces jeunes et d’améliorer leurs expériences.

Il est nécessaire d’accroître le savoir-faire culturel lié aux identités diverses des jeunes et aux différents contextes dans lesquels ils se sont développés, et ce, en partenariat avec les jeunes eux-mêmes et dans tous les services en milieu résidentiel. La conception d’indicateurs mesurables combinée à l’amélioration du savoir-faire culturel contribuera à garantir des progrès visibles dans ce domaine.

Le Comité est préoccupé par les défis liés à la transition des services en milieu résidentiel aux services de soutien, programmes et interventions préventives hors milieu résidentiel, compte tenu des contextes particuliers de jeunes focalisés sur leur identité sexuelle, raciale ou ethnoculturelle.

Le système de services en milieu résidentiel doit assurer la protection et le maintien des droits et du bien-être de tous les jeunes, en particulier ceux identifiés comme ayant des besoins particuliers complexes. Ces derniers doivent orienter la prestation de ces services de leur propre voix.

L’adoption d’approches coordonnées pour répondre aux problèmes émergents, comme le commerce du sexe, est indispensable. Cela nécessitera de prêter une grande attention aux mécanismes de renforcement de la capacité afin d’améliorer la collaboration intersectorielle et de réagir rapidement aux problèmes et aux tendances faisant courir aux jeunes extrêmement vulnérables des risques immédiats de préjudice.

À l’heure actuelle, les données démographiques sur l’identité déclarée par les jeunes placés en milieu résidentiel ne sont pas suffisantes pour élaborer des plans valables relativement aux besoins des groupes culturels, racialisés ou autres groupes spécifiques, ou à l’émergence de nouveaux groupes au gré des changements démographiques (p. ex., les jeunes musulmans). Il faut envisager de développer, en partenariat avec la communauté visée, la capacité de collecter en toute transparence des données sur le nombre de jeunes touchés au sein des groupes spécifiques et de publier des rapports à ce sujet.