You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Introduction

Introduction

The Residential Services Panel (the Panel) was brought together by the Ministry of Children and Youth Services in July 2015 to conduct a system-wide review of the Province’s child and youth residential services system, including foster and group care, children and youth mental health residential treatment, and youth justice facilities. The Panel reviewed foundational materials supplied by the Ministry, including previous reviews, background briefing documents, as well as publicly available information about comparator systems and sectors in Ontario, across Canada, and international jurisdictions. Consultations were also held with stakeholders and partners across the province representing young people, families, caregivers, front line and agency management staff, professional associations and government staff. A total of 865 people participated in the consultations, including 264 young people.

The Panel’s report presents findings and recommendations aiming to improve the experience and outcomes of young people living in residential care. Our review and recommendations are centered on improving the everyday experience of young people living in residential services and on developing a meaningful, sustainable and consistent framework for developing outcome measures based on relevant and cross-sector outcome indicators.

The provision of residential services for some of the most vulnerable children and youth in our society is fundamentally important. Collectively and collaboratively we must ensure that the experience of young people in out-of-home care and their long term outcomes are such that the opportunities for a rich and meaningful life are just as real for young people facing enormous adversities as they are for those living in the relative comfort and safety of their family homes.

Throughout its review and consultations the Panel encountered many individuals who are dedicated to the ideals of high quality residential care. Many service providers strive to provide the best care possible, and government staff are committed to designing a system that delivers positive outcomes for children and youth. We acknowledge the efforts and interests of the Ministry in improving residential services in Ontario. The Ministry has demonstrated a commitment to improvement, implementing significant changes in recent years to the non-residential settings of the child welfare, children and youth mental health and youth justice sectors. The Ministry has consulted broadly over the past ten years and has further demonstrated its commitment to seek excellence by commissioning an independent Residential Services Review Panel.

Despite the best intentions of those working in the sector, and the recommendations received over the years, the quality of young people’s everyday experiences, and their outcomes remain uncertain. The Panel learned of significant systemic and cultural barriers to fostering the quality of care required to contribute to positive everyday experiences and long term outcomes, and identified a lack of consistent mechanisms embedded in residential services across sectors that would ensure the highest possible quality of care for children and youth.

Nine key themes emerged throughout the review and consultation process that highlighted these barriers and framed the recommendations of the Panel.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Introduction

Introduction

Le Comité consultatif pour les services en établissement (le Comité) a été mis sur pied par le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse en juillet 2015 dans le but d’effectuer un examen du système provincial de services en milieu résidentiel pour les enfants et les jeunes dans son ensemble, en incluant les familles d’accueil, les foyers de groupe, les centres de santé mentale pour enfants et jeunes et les établissements du système de justice pour la jeunesse. Le Comité a étudié des ressources de base remises par le ministère, notamment des examens précédents et des documents d’information, ainsi que des sources d’information publiques comparant les systèmes et les secteurs en Ontario, au Canada et à l’échelle internationale. Des séances de consultation ont également été organisées auprès d’intervenants et de partenaires provinciaux représentant les jeunes, les familles, les aidants, les travailleurs de première ligne et les gestionnaires des organismes, les associations professionnelles et le personnel ministériel. Au total, 865 personnes ont participé aux consultations, dont 264 jeunes.

Le rapport du Comité présente des conclusions et des recommandations visant à améliorer l’expérience et les résultats des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel. Notre examen et nos recommandations sont axés sur l’amélioration de l’expérience quotidienne des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel et sur l’élaboration d’un cadre de mesure des résultats constructif, durable et uniforme reposant sur des indicateurs intersectoriels pertinents.

La prestation de services en milieu résidentiel auprès des enfants et des jeunes parmi les plus vulnérables de notre société revêt une importance fondamentale. Nous devons œuvrer de concert pour veiller à ce que l’expérience des jeunes pris en charge hors de leur domicile et leurs résultats à long terme soient tels que les chances de ces jeunes confrontés à de terribles épreuves de vivre une vie significative et enrichissante seront tout aussi réelles que celles des jeunes qui vivent dans la sécurité et le confort relatifs de leur domicile familial.

Tout au long de son examen et de ses consultations, le Comité a rencontré beaucoup de personnes qui défendent les idéaux d’une haute qualité des services en milieu résidentiel. Bon nombre de fournisseurs de services s’efforcent d’offrir les meilleurs soins possible, et le personnel ministériel a la volonté de concevoir un système permettant aux enfants et aux jeunes d’obtenir des résultats positifs. Nous saluons les efforts entrepris par le ministère et l’intérêt qu’il manifeste en faveur de l’amélioration des services en milieu résidentiel en Ontario. Le ministère a fait preuve d’engagement en la matière, en apportant ces dernières années des changements significatifs aux services hors milieu résidentiel dans les secteurs du bien-être de l’enfance, de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes et de la justice pour la jeunesse. Le ministère a mené de vastes consultations au cours des dix dernières années et a illustré encore une fois sa volonté de viser l’excellence en mandatant la création d’un comité consultatif indépendant pour les services en établissement.

Malgré les intentions exemplaires manifestées par les intervenants du secteur et les recommandations formulées au fil des ans, la qualité des expériences quotidiennes vécues par les jeunes reste une zone d’ombre, tout comme leurs résultats. Le Comité a pris connaissance d’obstacles systémiques et culturels importants qui entravent la hausse de qualité des services indispensable pour offrir des expériences quotidiennes et des résultats à long terme positifs, et a remarqué l’absence de mécanismes uniformes, intégrés aux services en milieu résidentiel dans l’ensemble des secteurs, qui permettraient de garantir le niveau maximal de qualité des services pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Neuf thèmes majeurs mettant en évidence ces obstacles sont ressortis au cours du processus d’examen et de consultation et ont servi de cadre aux recommandations du Comité.