You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Introduction > Organization of the Report

Organization of the Report

The report is organized into ten chapters, each one centered on a significant theme that emerged through the Panel’s review process and consultations. Each chapter describes the current situation, articulates issues based on evidence from materials, consultations and jurisdictional reviews where applicable, and concludes with the implications of these issues on the recommendations put forth in the final section of this report. The chapters are organized to flow from themes that impact all young people in residential care across all sectors, to those that particularly affect specific populations. The chapters are:

  1. Governance – a focus on the structures and mechanisms that affect the oversight of, accountability for, and service delivery of residential services.

  2. Voice – a focus on the fundamental importance of youth voice, engagement and participation in all aspects of residential service provision.

  3. Quality of Care – a focus on the need for quality to be the foundation of service delivery and experience, and governance of residential care.

  4. Continuity of Care - a focus on the need to look at residential care as a journey that requires continuity of care, a focus on transitions, and an overall perspective of the trajectory of care over time, both at the individual and system levels.

  5. Data and Information – a focus on the data needs and analytical capacity required to evaluate how young people are doing in residential care.

  6. Human Resources – a focus on the need to ensure that those tasked with caring for vulnerable young people are best equipped to do so.

  7. Youth Justice – a focus on issues and opportunities in the secure and open custody and detention sector specifically.

  8. First Nations, Métis and Inuit Young People In Residential Care – a discussion about the importance of ensuring that a specific partnership strategy be considered regarding residential care in an Aboriginal context.

  9. Unique Contexts and Geographies - a focus on how residential care intersects with young people who identify their life context in unique ways, such as young people who identify as Black Youth, as Lesbian, Gay, Bi-Sexual, Transgender, Queer, or 2-spirited (LGBTQ2S), and those who have been identified by the system as having complex special needs. The issue of young people recruited into the Sex Trades is a component of this chapter, as is the impact of unique geographies on residential services and care.

  10. Service and Outcome Indicators – an identification of key indicators related to the evaluation of service providers, everyday experiences, and long term outcomes of young people living in out-of-home care.

The final section of the report is a Recommendations Package which includes recommendations that flow from the themes identified across all chapters, a perspective on the way in which implementation of recommendations can be phased, and the financial considerations associated with the recommendations collectively. The report concludes with the Panel’s Call to Action.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Introduction > Organisation du rapport

Organisation du rapport

Ce rapport se divise en dix chapitres consacrés chacun à un thème majeur ressorti du processus d’examen et des consultations du Comité. Chaque chapitre fait d’abord un état des lieux, puis expose les problèmes de fond mis en évidence à partir des ressources, des consultations et de l’examen comparatif des compétences, le cas échéant, avant de conclure sur les répercussions qu’ont ces problèmes de fond sur les recommandations formulées dans la dernière partie de ce rapport. Les chapitres sont organisés en partant des thèmes ayant un impact sur l’ensemble des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel, tous secteurs confondus, pour finir sur les questions touchant certaines populations en particulier, selon l’ordre suivant :

  1. Gouvernance : étude des structures et mécanismes ayant trait à la surveillance, à la responsabilisation et à la prestation des services en milieu résidentiel.
  2. Voix : point sur l’importance fondamentale de faire entendre la voix des jeunes et de favoriser leur participation dans tous les aspects de la prestation des services en milieu résidentiel.
  3. Qualité des services : point sur la nécessité de placer la qualité au cœur de la prestation des services, de l’expérience des bénéficiaires et de la gouvernance des services en milieu résidentiel.
  4. Continuité des services : point sur la nécessité d’envisager les services en milieu résidentiel sous l’angle d’un parcours requérant une continuité des services, une attention particulière accordée aux transitions, et une vision globale du continuum des services dans le temps, à la fois sur le plan individuel et à l’échelle du système.
  5. Données et renseignements : étude des besoins en matière de données et des capacités d’analyse requises pour évaluer la situation des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel.
  6. Ressources humaines : point sur la nécessité de veiller à la compétence des personnes auxquelles est confiée la prise en charge des jeunes vulnérables.
  7. Justice pour la jeunesse : étude des problèmes de fond et des possibilités propres au secteur des établissements de garde et de détention en milieu fermé et ouvert.
  8. Jeunes des Premières Nations, métis et inuits placés en milieu résidentiel : discussion sur l’importance de prévoir une stratégie de partenariat spécifique à l’intention des Autochtones recevant des services en milieu résidentiel.
  9. Géographies et contextes particuliers : point sur la manière dont les services en milieu résidentiel prennent en compte les jeunes dont l’identité s’inscrit dans un contexte particulier, notamment les jeunes noirs, les jeunes LGBTBQ (lesbiennes, gais, bisexuels, transgenres, bispirituels et queers) et les jeunes identifiés par le système comme ayant des besoins particuliers complexes. Ce chapitre aborde également le problème des jeunes se livrant au commerce du sexe, ainsi que l’impact de la situation géographique sur les services en milieu résidentiel.
  10. Indicateurs des services et des résultats : identification des indicateurs clés permettant d’évaluer les fournisseurs de services, les expériences quotidiennes et les résultats à long terme des jeunes pris en charge hors du domicile.