You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Governance > Jurisdictional Review

Jurisdictional Review

The Panel conducted a review of publicly available information about the governance models utilized by several other jurisdictions nationally and internationally. Jurisdictions within and outside of Canada were examined, including British Columbia, Alberta, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, New Brunswick, California, New York, Wisconsin, the United Kingdom, Israel, and Australia. The review included both a comprehensive literature search as well as consultations with key informants from various jurisdictions. Overall, we did not find an alternative governance model for which there was clear and compelling evidence that it ought to be implemented in Ontario. Many jurisdictions appear to be grappling with the difficult question of how to best govern and oversee residential services for children and youth, and ensure that residential service providers are delivering effective and high-quality services for young people. Some best and promising practices were nevertheless identified from the inter-jurisdictional review, which have informed some of the Panel’s recommendations. For example, centralization of standards and placement information appear to allow for greater oversight on the system of services, and framing standards and evaluations from the perspective of children and youth appears to support quality assurance in a meaningful way.

The Panel also explored Ontario exemplars including the Long Term Care (Ministry of Health and Long Term Care) and Child Care (Ministry of Education) sectors. These local exemplars serve vulnerable populations in a residential or care setting similar to residential services for children and youth, and are perceived to have modern governance structures and regulatory frameworks in place. Both sectors have legislatively-enabled practices that the Panel considers to be best practices and which have influenced the recommendations of the Panel related to governance.

The Panel also reviewed many previous reports on residential services in Ontario over the past decade and found remarkably consistent findings to our own. The Bay Report (2006), The Blueprint for Fundamental Change (2013), and We Are Your Sons and Daughters (2007) all presented recommendations along the themes of Oversight, Accountability, Service Delivery, and Funding based on identification of issues very similar to those noted by the Panel. All of these reports put forth general recommendations about strengthening oversight and accountability within the Ministry. Specific recommendations around enhanced licensing through unannounced inspections and progressive enforcement strategies, greater consistency in application of standards, and, a focus on quality within an accountability framework were found in all.

On the themes of oversight and accountability, The Bay Report (2006) recommended that the Ministry establish a more consistent approach to governance and accountability and that it should consider undertaking a review of all tools currently in use to determine how they could be strengthened by clarifying accountability, expectations and reporting requirements. It recommended a review of licensing, contracting arrangements and financial reporting. The Bay Report (2006) went on to recommend that licensing be developed into a more effective tool to better provide for quality services in residential settings. It indicated that this could include developing progressive enforcement strategies, incentives for quality, and greater powers in granting and removing a license. Other interim progressive measures such as more effective use of random inspections could also be implemented.

The Blueprint for Fundamental Change (2013) echoed these recommendations, calling for the Ministry to improve oversight to ensure that children and youth have consistent, high quality care within a clear licensing and accountability framework. It urged the Ministry to consider additional methods of oversight such as unannounced inspections. The Report on the CFSA Review (2015a) also provided recommendations related to oversight and accountability, including greater consistency in application of standards, regardless of geography, and a more robust system of inspections and enforcement including more frequent and unannounced visits. It also proposed that OPRs be subject to significantly more rigorous oversight, inspection, assessment and/or review.

In addition to licensing-related recommendations, previous reports also spoke to the need for a public website to provide information about residential services as key to improving oversight and accountability. The Bay Report (2006) suggested that a publicly available inventory of residential services be established as the basis for a central bed registry for each community area. The report indicated that this would facilitate a more integrated approach to service planning, and support placement decisions. The Report on the CFSA Review (2015a) also recommended public reporting on quality, safety, compliance and other performance measures to foster clearer and more transparent performance expectations.

Various reports also made recommendations around how to include quality into oversight and accountability frameworks and mechanisms, however, no consistent approach is found among the reports. The Bay Report (2006) focuses its recommendations on the early stages of assigning roles and responsibilities for quality between the Ministry and service providers, suggesting that a key role for the Ministry could be the development of standards of care, quality indicators, and outcomes. We Are Your Sons and Daughters (2007) tackles quality from an operational perspective, recommending the establishment of a regulatory body to develop and enforce standards of care with a focus on quality for all residential settings. And The Report on the CFSA Review (2015a) seeds the notion of continuous quality improvement rather than continuing to focus on minimum standards.

Finally, previous reports have given some attention to funding considerations related to residential services. No report makes a recommendation around a new funding model. Both The Bay Report (2006) and The Report on the CFSA Review (2015a) however do note the inconsistencies in both the approach to and the impact of per diem rate setting across regions, and strongly suggest that there be a review. Both reports also suggest looking at anchoring per diems to an evaluation metric such as need, or performance.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Gouvernance > Examen comparatif des compétences

Examen comparatif des compétences

Le Comité a procédé à l’examen de tous les renseignements publics disponibles concernant les modèles de gouvernance adoptés par d’autres territoires de compétence à l’échelle nationale et internationale, notamment la Colombie-Britannique, l’Alberta, le Québec, la Saskatchewan, le Manitoba, la Nouvelle-Écosse, Terre-Neuve, le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Californie, l’État de New York, le Wisconsin, le Royaume-Uni, Israël et l’Australie. Cet examen s’appuyait sur une analyse documentaire complète et sur la consultation d’informateurs clés au sein des divers territoires. Dans l’ensemble, aucun autre modèle de gouvernance n’a offert de manière claire et convaincante des données probantes favorables à sa mise en œuvre en Ontario. Bon nombre de territoires de compétence peinent à trouver le moyen d’assurer au mieux la gouvernance et la surveillance des services en milieu résidentiel pour les enfants et les jeunes, et de garantir la prestation efficace et la qualité des services fournis aux jeunes. Certaines pratiques exemplaires et prometteuses ont néanmoins été identifiées lors de cet examen, et ont éclairé quelques­unes des recommandations du Comité. Par exemple, la centralisation des normes et des renseignements relatifs aux placements semble favoriser une meilleure surveillance du système de services, et l’élaboration des normes et des évaluations du point de vue des enfants et des jeunes offre un moyen constructif d’appuyer l’assurance de la qualité.

Le Comité s’est également penché sur des exemples locaux, dont le secteur des soins de longue durée (ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée) et le secteur de la garde d’enfants (ministère de l’Éducation) en Ontario. Ces derniers servent des populations vulnérables dans un milieu résidentiel ou un centre de soins semblable à celui des services en milieu résidentiel pour les enfants et les jeunes, et ont instauré des structures de gouvernance et des cadres réglementaires jugés modernes. Ils appliquent tous deux des pratiques régies par la loi, que le Comité considère comme exemplaires et qui ont influé sur ses recommandations en matière de gouvernance.

Le Comité a également étudié de nombreux rapports précédents portant sur les services en milieu résidentiel de l’Ontario publiés au cours de la dernière décennie et constaté que leurs conclusions étaient remarquablement en accord avec les siennes. Le rapport Bay (2006), le Plan directeur visant un changement fondamental du système de bien-être de l’enfance de l’Ontario (2013) et We Are Your Sons and Daughters (2007) ont tous formulé des recommandations sur les thèmes de la surveillance, de la responsabilisation, de la prestation des services et du financement, fondées sur l’identification de problèmes de fond très similaires à ceux observés par le Comité. Tous ces rapports ont mis en exergue des recommandations générales visant à renforcer la surveillance et la responsabilisation au sein du ministère. Le Comité a également constaté la présence systématique de recommandations portant spécifiquement sur l’amélioration du processus de délivrance des permis par le biais d’inspections non annoncées et de stratégies d’exécution progressive, sur l’application plus cohérente des normes et sur l’élaboration d’un cadre de reddition de comptes fondé sur la qualité.

Sur les thèmes de la surveillance et de la responsabilisation, le rapport Bay (2006) recommandait au ministère d’instaurer une approche plus uniforme en matière de gouvernance et de responsabilisation et d’envisager un examen de tous les outils actuellement utilisés afin de déterminer comment les renforcer en clarifiant les mécanismes de reddition de comptes, les attentes et les exigences en matière de production de rapports. Il recommandait un examen du processus de délivrance des permis, des dispositifs de passation des contrats et de la production de rapports financiers. Le rapport Bay (2006) recommandait en outre l’élaboration d’un outil plus efficace de délivrance des permis afin de mieux assurer la prestation de services en milieu résidentiel de qualité. Il précisait qu’une possibilité serait d’inclure des stratégies d’exécution progressive et des mesures d’encouragement en faveur de la qualité, ou de prévoir l’octroi de plus grands pouvoirs en matière de délivrance et de retrait des permis. D’autres mesures progressives intermédiaires, comme l’utilisation plus efficace des inspections aléatoires, pouvaient aussi être mises en œuvre.

Le Plan directeur visant un changement fondamental du système de bien-être de l’enfance de l’Ontario (2013) faisait écho à ces recommandations, appelant le ministère à améliorer la supervision pour s’assurer que les enfants et les jeunes reçoivent des services uniformes et de haute qualité à l’intérieur d’un cadre clair d’accréditation et de reddition de comptes. Il incitait le ministère à envisager d’autres méthodes de surveillance comme les inspections non annoncées. Le rapport de l’examen de la LSEF (2015a) formulait également des recommandations en matière de surveillance et de reddition de comptes, soulignant la nécessité d’une plus grande uniformité dans l’application des normes, quelle que soit la situation géographique, au moyen d’un système plus solide d’inspection et d’exécution comprenant des visites inopinées plus fréquentes. Il proposait également que les ressources externes rémunérées soient soumises à un système beaucoup plus rigoureux de contrôle, d’inspection, d’évaluation et/ou d’examen.

Outre les recommandations relatives à la délivrance des permis, les rapports précédents citaient également la création d’un site Web public regroupant les renseignements ayant trait aux services en milieu résidentiel à titre de mesure essentielle pour améliorer la surveillance et la responsabilisation. Le rapport Bay (2006) suggérait qu’un inventaire des services en milieu résidentiel soit dressé et mis à la disposition du public pour servir de base à un registre central des places disponibles dans chaque région de la collectivité, invoquant que cela faciliterait l’instauration d’une approche plus intégrée en matière de planification des services et permettrait d’étayer les décisions de placement. Le rapport de l’examen de la LSEF (2015a) recommandait également la reddition publique de comptes sur la qualité, la sécurité, la conformité et d’autres mesures de rendement, à l’appui d’attentes plus claires et plus transparentes en matière de rendement.

Divers rapports formulaient également des recommandations quant aux moyens de prendre en compte la qualité dans les cadres et les mécanismes de surveillance et de reddition de comptes, mais aucune approche cohérente n’est ressortie de leur analyse. Le rapport Bay (2006) axe ses recommandations sur les premiers stades avec une répartition des rôles et des responsabilités touchant la qualité entre le ministère et les fournisseurs de services, suggérant qu’un rôle majeur du ministère pourrait consister à élaborer des normes de soins, des indicateurs de la qualité et des résultats. We Are Your Sons and Daughters (2007) se penche sur la qualité d’un point de vue opérationnel, en recommandant la création d’un organisme de réglementation chargé d’élaborer et d’appliquer des normes de soins axées sur la qualité dans tous les services offerts en milieu résidentiel. Le rapport de l’examen de la LSEF (2015a) aborde quant à lui la notion d’amélioration continue de la qualité, en lieu et place du maintien de normes minimales.

Enfin, les rapports précédents ont également émis des avis sur le financement des services en milieu résidentiel, mais aucune recommandation ne porte sur un nouveau modèle de financement. Le rapport Bay (2006) et le rapport de l’examen de la LSEF (2015a) soulignent toutefois un manque d’uniformité concernant l’approche de fixation des tarifs et l’impact des taux quotidiens entre les régions, et suggèrent fortement la réalisation d’un examen à cet égard. Les deux rapports envisagent également d’assujettir les taux quotidiens à une évaluation comme la mesure du besoin ou du rendement.