You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Voice > Introduction

Introduction

The importance of young people having a voice in the decisions and experiences that impact them and in their everyday life has long been recognized both in scholarly literature and in the work of service providers across child and youth serving sectors. The concept of ‘doing with’ rather than ‘doing to’ or ‘doing for’ young people is often cited as a way of distinguishing the construction of young people as subjects versus objects. Inherently, to the extent that treatment approaches are based in medical models of service provision, the risk of continuing the construction of young people as objects exists (AACRC, 2014; Allan et al., 2011; Brendtro & Larson, 2004; Child Fund Australia, 2012).

Government strategic directions, service plans developed by child and youth serving agencies, and previous Panels and consultations have cited the need for a coherent and meaningful strategy to ensure that young people are active participants in their experience in out-of-home care. The Blueprint for Fundamental Change to Ontario’s Child Welfare System (2013), identifies as essential and urgent that the group care system is evaluated to make sure that it focuses on the best outcomes for youth, starting with a process that listens to the voices of youth in and from care. In addition, a recent report from Kinark Child and Family Services (2015) states that empowering youth to be equal decision-makers in their own treatment is particularly important in health-related fields, including residential treatment programs, where traditional structures have created inherent power differentials between youth and caregiving adults. Young people themselves have consistently stated that the opportunity to have a direct involvement and a meaningful role in the decisions that affect them is of critical importance.

The recognition that young people’s voices are important stands in contrast with the expert-driven nature of much of the residential services system. We heard from young people that major decisions that have a direct and often life altering impact on young people continue to be made without their direct involvement, or without a significant weighing of the perspectives presented by young people. A recent draft report from Children and youth mental health Ontario (CMHO, 2015), for example, proposes a significant restructuring of the children and youth mental health system, including residential treatment services, without reference to young people’s voices at all. This in spite of the report acknowledging the critical importance and extensive evidence related to the benefits of youth participation and engagement in their involvement with services (p.9). Young people and CAS-based Children’s Services Workers indicated to the Panel that this often includes placement decisions, where young people often have no role in determining either the type of placement or the specific service provider they may prefer.

Notable contexts in which the voices of young people are key include the development of programs and services for young people in out-of-home care, the governance and accountability frameworks for such services, the design - including the rules, procedures and physical design of programs and services - as well as the treatment, relationships and caring that unfolds in programs and services. Of great importance is the active involvement and joint decision-making between young people, families and professionals in the context of major transitions, such as the transition into out-of-home care, the transition between placements, and the transition out of out-of-home care, including into emerging adulthood.

The Panel was told that the issue of voice extends beyond the participation of young people in their own lives; within the residential service sector, the voices of direct care providers (residential front line staff, foster parents, youth services officers) also have often not found opportunities to be heard and to have their perspectives fully integrated into decision-making. Similarly, the voices of families, including parents, siblings, grandparents and extended family or kin are often very peripheral to the expert-driven approaches in service design and governance.

In spite of shortcomings, the Panel is impressed with several initiatives aiming to ensure the inclusion of young people in the design of residential services and feedback about young people’s everyday experience. A longstanding example of this is the Youth Amplifiers who work with the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth to consult with young people in care to ensure that their experiences in care are known by others. Other examples include New Mentality, a youth group and program in the children and youth mental health sector, and YouthCan, a youth group in the child welfare sector that works to represent the voices and experiences of young people in care. The Panel supports these aforementioned initiatives, and moving forward feels that it is important for young people who are not likely to join such groups to be given alternative opportunities to have their voices heard.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Voix > Introduction

Introduction

L’importance de faire entendre la voix des jeunes en ce qui a trait aux décisions et aux expériences ayant un impact sur eux et sur leur vie quotidienne est depuis longtemps reconnue dans la littérature savante et dans le travail des fournisseurs de services au sein des secteurs intervenant auprès des enfants et des jeunes. L’idée d’« agir avec » les jeunes au lieu de « leur faire subir » ou de « faire pour eux » est souvent citée comme un moyen de les traiter comme des sujets et non comme des objets. Intrinsèquement, dans la mesure où les approches de traitement sont fondées sur des modèles médicaux de prestation des services, le risque existe de perpétuer cette vision des jeunes « objets » (AACRC, 2014; Allan et coll., 2011; Brendtro & Larson, 2004; Child Fund Australia, 2012).

Les orientations stratégiques du gouvernement, les programmes élaborés par les organismes de services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, les rapports précédents d’autres comités et nos consultations ont mis en avant la nécessité d’instaurer une stratégie cohérente et constructive pour que les jeunes deviennent acteurs de leur expérience de la prise en charge hors du domicile. Le Plan directeur visant un changement fondamental du système de bien-être de l’enfance de l’Ontario (2013) indique qu’il est essentiel et urgent qu’on évalue le réseau des foyers de groupe pour s’assurer que celui-ci met l’intérêt supérieur des jeunes au centre de ses préoccupations et que les voix des jeunes pris en charge et ayant quitté la prise en charge sont entendues. En outre, un rapport récent publié par Kinark Child and Family Services (2015) souligne l’importance, dans les domaines liés à la santé, de donner aux jeunes le pouvoir d’intervenir à parts égales dans les décisions concernant leur traitement, notamment dans le cadre des programmes de traitement en milieu résidentiel où les structures traditionnelles ont créé un déséquilibre naturel des pouvoirs entre les jeunes et les aidants adultes. Les jeunes eux-mêmes se sont accordés à dire qu’il est crucial d’avoir l’occasion d’intervenir directement et de jouer un rôle important dans les décisions qui les touchent.

Cette reconnaissance quant à l’importance d’écouter la voix des jeunes s’oppose à la nature experte vers laquelle s’oriente majoritairement le système de services en milieu résidentiel. Les jeunes nous ont fait savoir que certaines décisions capitales ayant un impact direct sur eux, et souvent synonymes d’un bouleversement dans leur vie, continuent d’être prises sans leur participation directe, ou sans accorder un poids important aux points de vue qu’ils expriment. Un rapport préliminaire récent émanant de Santé mentale pour enfants Ontario (2015), par exemple, propose une réorganisation majeure du système de services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes, y compris des services de traitement en milieu résidentiel, sans faire aucune mention de la voix des jeunes. Pourtant, ce rapport reconnaît l’importance cruciale et les avantages de la participation des jeunes, données probantes à l’appui, dans la prestation des services (p. 9). Les jeunes et les travailleurs des services à l’enfance des SAE ont expliqué au Comité que cela concerne souvent les décisions de placement, les jeunes n’ayant pas voix au chapitre quant au type de placement ou au fournisseur de services qui leur conviendrait le mieux.

Il est notamment essentiel de faire entendre la voix des jeunes dans les contextes suivants : élaboration des programmes et des services destinés aux jeunes pris en charge hors du domicile; cadres de gouvernance et de reddition de comptes régissant lesdits services; conception des programmes et services (y compris des règles, procédures et structures); traitement, relations et soutiens mis en place dans le cadre des programmes et services. Il est très important de permettre la participation active des jeunes et la prise des décisions d’un commun accord entre les jeunes, les familles et les professionnels au moment des transitions majeures, comme l’admission au sein du système de prise en charge hors du domicile, le transfert entre les placements, et la fin de la prise en charge hors du domicile, y compris l’entrée dans l’âge adulte.

Les participants ont expliqué au Comité que la question de la voix dépasse le cadre de la participation des jeunes dans leur propre vie; au sein du secteur des services en milieu résidentiel, les fournisseurs de services directs (personnel de première ligne, parents de famille d’accueil, agents des services aux jeunes) n’ont souvent pas l’occasion de s’exprimer eux non plus et de faire peser leur avis dans la prise des décisions. De même, la voix des familles, y compris des parents, des frères et sœurs, des grands-parents et de la famille étendue ou des personnes ayant un lien de parenté, reste souvent en périphérie des approches dirigées par les experts en matière de conception et de gouvernance des services.

Malgré les lacunes, le Comité est impressionné par diverses initiatives visant à inclure les jeunes dans la conception des services en milieu résidentiel et à obtenir une rétroaction sur leur expérience quotidienne. C’est le cas des porte­parole des jeunes qui collaborent de longue date avec le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes afin de faire connaître le vécu des jeunes pris en charge. Citons également le groupe de jeunes New Mentality, une initiative menée dans le secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, et YouthCan, un groupe de jeunes dans le secteur du bien-être de l’enfance qui s’efforce de faire entendre la voix des jeunes pris en charge et de partager leurs expériences. Le Comité appuie les initiatives susmentionnées, et juge qu’il est important à l’avenir de donner d’autres occasions de s’exprimer aux jeunes qui ont peu de chances de rejoindre de tels groupes.