You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Quality of care > Introduction

Introduction

The theoretical and research-informed literature on residential care is quite consistent in the assessment of what contributes to a high quality of care in out-of-home placement settings. Given the ubiquity of attachment issues, trauma and post-traumatic stress, and lived experiences of abuse, neglect and abandonment, the core ingredient of meaningful, effective and ethical care in residential settings is the presence of strong caregiver-young person relationships (Brendtro, 2015; Fewster, 2014; Garfat, 2008; Gharabaghi & Stuart, 2013; Smith, Fulcher & Doran, 2013). Virtually all therapeutic approaches to care in out-of-home settings reinforce the critical importance of relational practice, and the closely associated presence of empathy, as building blocks for developmental assets and resilience (Phelan, 2015; Ungar, 2002; 2004). Some researchers, and some advocates, have argued compellingly that especially in the context of young people facing adversity, quality of care cannot be understood fully outside of the context of love, a fundamental developmental need and entitlement of children and adolescents (PACY, nd.; Ungar, 2015). A comprehensive child welfare handbook on resilience with a strong Canadian focus but contributions from global scholars, provides multiple contexts of resilience promotion in child welfare, all linked to relational practices and a strong expression of caring and love (Flynn, Dudding, & Barber, 2006).

Historically, quality of care considerations have for more than a century been tied to the emotional context of living away from home, and the necessity for human connection and a sense of belonging. Jane Addams wrote about this in 1909 in the context of Hull House, a settlement community in Chicago; Janus Korczack (1925) described his institutional home for young Jewish boys in Poland in the 1920s and 1930s in the context of love, rights, and youth participation; August Aichhorn used relational connections and fostering belonging in his work with ‘Wayward Youth’ in the 1930s; Fritz Redl and David Wineman (1957) identified the necessity of relationships and empathy in residential care in their work in Detroit in the late 1940s; and Bruno Bettelheim called for a Home for the Heart in 1974.

Currently, the Panel notes that there are no consistent mechanisms embedded in residential services across sectors that ensure the highest possible quality of care for children and youth, notwithstanding efforts on the part of many service providers to improve quality of care on an on-going basis. In recent years, MCYS has commissioned several initiatives to improve the quality of specific aspects of residential care, such as food and cultural competence (Healthy Eating Matters, 2008a; Achieving Cultural Competence, 2008b). Across all residential services, the government-operated licensing process serves to ensure compliance on the part of residential operators based on a set of standards that cover physical upkeep of the residence, completeness of client files, and the overall compliance of policy and procedures with Ministry standards (MCYS, 2015c). Youth justice custody facilities have additional licensing standards specific to that sector. There is broad agreement amongst MCYS staff, service providers and young people that the licensing process is neither designed to nor does it in practice measure quality of care.

A second mechanism in place in much of the children and youth mental health sector and some of the privately operated residential services is the accreditation process. While this process is generally seen as a quality improvement process, there is limited evidence that it in fact serves to improve quality in residential services, and research literature related to accreditation and its role in quality improvement shows mixed results. The Panel was unable to confirm differences in the quality of services provided based on whether or not an organization is accredited, and noted that organizations with the same level of accreditation appear to have variable capacity to deliver high end services. Furthermore, several agencies in the children and youth mental health sector, as well as CAS or society-operated residential services and most private service providers are not in fact accredited (Alkhenizan & Shaw, 2012; Bell, Robinson, & See 2013; Coll, Sass, Freeman, Thobro, & Hauser, 2013).

The everyday experience of young people in out-of-home care is impacted first and foremost by the quality of care provided in residential services. Such quality of care is a function of a wide range of factors that include the quality of human resources, the relationships among young people and between young people and care givers, the physical infrastructure of residential programs, the appropriateness of program routines, rules, and activities, and also the quality and accessibility of food, the attention to identity and developmental growth, the levels of physical and emotional safety, and the on-going connections to family, kin, friends and community (Anglin, 2003; Burns, 2006; Cairns, 2002; Smith, 2009). At the level of every day experience for young people living in residential services, the Panel was particularly impacted by the many stories of young people outlining rules, routines and program structures that appear archaic, controlling and compliance-focused, and bear little resemblance to the otherwise empathetic and friendly mission and vision statements of residential service providers. The general themes in these stories were often confirmed by observations by CAS workers with placements and licensing specialists with experience in a range of group homes.

At this time, the Panel notes that there are no universal, or even common, set of indicators, standards or concepts that might lend themselves to the measurements of quality of care in residential services across sectors, although some indicators are commonly utilized in specific service sectors (American Association of Children’s Residential Centers, nd). Given the rich diversity of service providers, it is not inherently problematic that measurement of universal indicators across sectors is limited, although the Panel believes that some foundational indicators can be articulated (see Chapter 10, Indicators). More concerning is the incongruence between what organizations say they do and what is observable at the level of everyday experience.

In developing a framework for ensuring excellence in quality of care with the appropriate oversight, the Panel seeks to ensure that residential services are engaged in on-going quality improvement activities, while at the same time are subject to a much more transparent and accountable system of validating their claims related to quality of care.

The Panel is especially interested in significantly increasing transparency of quality of care issues in residential services. Families, young people themselves, and placing agencies and workers currently have very little meaningful information about quality of care in any given residential setting upon which to base a placement decision. The current service system has evolved without appropriate oversight, accountability or incentives to consistently focus on quality of care considerations and the everyday experiences of young people living in out-of-home care.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Qualité des services > Introduction

Introduction

La littérature théorique et fondée sur la recherche consacrée aux services en milieu résidentiel évalue de manière plutôt cohérente les éléments contribuant à une haute qualité des services dans le cadre des placements hors du domicile. Étant donné la prédominance des problèmes d’attachement, de traumatisme et de stress post-traumatique, et les expériences de mauvais traitements, de négligence et d’abandon, l’ingrédient central d’une prise en charge en milieu résidentiel constructive, efficace et éthique s’avère l’instauration de relations solides entre l’aidant et le jeune (Brendtro, 2015; Fewster, 2014; Garfat, 2008; Gharabaghi & Stuart, 2013; Smith, Fulcher & Doran, 2013). La quasi­totalité des approches thérapeutiques hors du domicile souligne l’importance cruciale des pratiques relationnelles et de la manifestation connexe d’empathie, qui conditionnent l’acquisition des ressources nécessaires à la croissance et à la résilience (Phelan, 2015; Ungar, 2002; 2004). Certains chercheurs et intervenants ont présenté des arguments convaincants attestant que la qualité des services reçus par les jeunes, en particulier ceux qui se trouvent dans une situation difficile, ne peut pas être interprétée en excluant toute notion d’amour, s’agissant d’un besoin fondamental pour bien grandir et d’un droit reconnu des enfants et des jeunes (IPEJ, s.d.; Ungar, 2015). Un manuel complet consacré au bien-être de l’enfance, dont l’axe d’étude présente une forte dominante canadienne, mais qui s’appuie sur les contributions de chercheurs du monde entier, évoque une multitude de contextes propices à la résilience dans ce secteur, tous en lien avec les pratiques relationnelles et l’instauration d’un climat de bienveillance et d’amour (Flynn, Dudding, & Barber, 2006).

Historiquement, les considérations relatives à la qualité des services sont associées depuis plus d’un siècle au contexte émotionnel inhérent au fait de vivre loin de chez soi, et à la nécessité de nouer des rapports humains et d’acquérir un sentiment d’appartenance. Jane Addams a écrit sur le sujet en 1909 dans le contexte de Hull House, un rassemblement communautaire à Chicago; Janus Korczack (1925) a décrit son foyer institutionnel pour les jeunes garçons juifs de Pologne dans les années 1920 et 1930 en évoquant les notions d’amour, de respect des droits et de participation des jeunes; August Aichhorn a utilisé les liens relationnels et la promotion de l’appartenance dans son travail sur Wayward Youth dans les années 1930; Fritz Redl et David Wineman (1957) ont mis en évidence le caractère nécessaire des relations et de l’empathie dans les services en milieu résidentiel au cours de leur travail à Detroit à la fin des années 1940; et Bruno Bettelheim a lancé un appel en faveur d’un « foyer pour le cœur » (A Home for the Heart) en 1974.

Actuellement, le Comité remarque l’absence de mécanismes uniformes, intégrés aux services en milieu résidentiel dans l’ensemble des secteurs et permettant de garantir le niveau maximal de qualité des services pour les enfants et les jeunes, malgré les efforts mis en œuvre par de nombreux fournisseurs de services pour améliorer la qualité des services de façon continue. Ces dernières années, le MSEJ a mis sur pied diverses initiatives visant l’amélioration de la qualité concernant certains aspects spécifiques des services en milieu résidentiel, comme l’alimentation et les compétences culturelles (Manger sainement, c’est important, 2008a; Mettre en pratique les compétences culturelles, 2008b). À l’échelle de tous les services en milieu résidentiel, le processus de délivrance des permis administré par le gouvernement sert à garantir que les exploitants respectent un ensemble de normes régissant l’entretien des locaux du foyer, la tenue de dossiers complets sur les clients, et la conformité générale des politiques et procédures aux normes du ministère (MSEJ, 2015c). Les établissements de garde du système de justice pour la jeunesse sont assujettis à des normes supplémentaires propres à ce secteur en matière de délivrance des permis. Le personnel du MSEJ, les fournisseurs de services et les jeunes s’accordent à dire que le processus de délivrance des permis n’est pas conçu pour mesurer la qualité des services et n’est pas utilisé à cette fin dans la pratique.

Un second mécanisme est en place dans une grande partie du secteur des services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes et dans certains services en milieu résidentiel administrés par le secteur privé : il s’agit du processus d’accréditation. Si ce dernier est généralement considéré comme un moyen d’amélioration de la qualité, peu de données probantes attestent qu’il améliore effectivement la qualité des services en milieu résidentiel, et les travaux de recherche portant sur l’accréditation et sur son rôle en faveur de la qualité montrent des résultats mitigés. Le Comité n’est pas parvenu à confirmer que les différences de qualité entre les services fournis étaient liées au fait qu’un organisme soit ou non accrédité, et a constaté qu’à niveau d’accréditation égal, les organismes n’ont pas tous la même capacité à assurer des services haut de gamme. En outre, plusieurs organismes du secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, de même que les services en milieu résidentiel offerts par des SAE ou administrés par une société et la plupart des fournisseurs de services privés, ne sont pas accrédités dans les faits (Alkhenizan & Shaw, 2012; Bell, Robinson, & See 2013; Coll, Sass, Freeman, Thobro, & Hauser, 2013).

L’expérience quotidienne des jeunes pris en charge hors du domicile varie principalement et avant tout en fonction de la qualité des services fournis en milieu résidentiel. Ladite qualité des services repose sur un vaste éventail de facteurs dont la qualité des ressources humaines, les relations entre les jeunes et avec les aidants, l’infrastructure physique des programmes de services en milieu résidentiel, l’adéquation des routines, des règles et des activités au sein du programme, ainsi que la qualité et l’accessibilité de l’alimentation, l’attention accordée à l’identité et à la croissance épanouie des jeunes, les degrés de sécurité physique et émotionnelle, et le maintien des liens avec la famille, les personnes ayant un lien de parenté, les amis et la collectivité (Anglin, 2003; Burns, 2006; Cairns, 2002; Smith, 2009). En ce qui concerne l’expérience quotidienne des jeunes bénéficiant de services en milieu résidentiel, le Comité a été particulièrement touché par leurs nombreux récits décrivant des règles, des routines et des structures de programme visiblement archaïques, axées sur le contrôle et la conformité, sans ressemblance avec les énoncés de mission et de vision des fournisseurs de services, tournés vers l’empathie et la convivialité. Les thèmes généraux ressortant de ces témoignages ont souvent été confirmés par les observations émanant de travailleurs des sociétés d’aide à l’enfance à l’égard des placements et de responsables de la délivrance des permis ayant l’expérience de divers foyers de groupe.

À ce stade, le Comité constate qu’il n’existe pas d’ensemble universel, ni même commun, d’indicateurs, de normes ou de concepts susceptibles de servir à mesurer la qualité des services en milieu résidentiel fournis dans l’ensemble des secteurs, bien que certains indicateurs soient couramment utilisés dans des secteurs de service donnés (American Association of Children’s Residential Centers, s.d.). Au vu de la riche diversité des fournisseurs de services, il n’est pas problématique en soi que l’utilisation d’indicateurs universels recouvrant l’ensemble des secteurs soit limitée, même si le Comité est convaincu qu’il est possible d’instaurer des indicateurs de base (voir le chapitre 10 consacré aux indicateurs). Le plus inquiétant est la divergence entre les actions que les organismes déclarent mettre en œuvre et la réalité observée à travers l’expérience quotidienne.

Avec l’élaboration d’un cadre visant l’excellence des services et la surveillance adaptée de la qualité, le Comité cherche à s’assurer que les services en milieu résidentiel agissent en faveur de l’amélioration continue de la qualité, tout en les assujettissant à un système bien plus transparent et responsable permettant de valider leurs affirmations en matière de qualité des services.

Le Comité accorde une attention particulière au renforcement de la transparence eu égard aux problèmes de qualité des services dans les services en milieu résidentiel. Les familles, les jeunes eux-mêmes et les organismes de placement, ainsi que leur personnel, disposent actuellement de très peu de renseignements utiles quant à la qualité des services fournis dans un milieu résidentiel donné sur lesquels fonder une décision de placement. Le système de services actuel a évolué sans s’accompagner d’une surveillance appropriée, d’une responsabilisation ou de mesures d’encouragement permettant de se concentrer de façon cohérente sur les enjeux touchant la qualité des services et les expériences quotidiennes des jeunes pris en charge hors de leur domicile.